Recent Stories

AgriLife Extension to offer two Hill Country ‘Facing the Quail Decline’ workshops

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Cathey, 979-845-7471, jccathey@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will co-conduct two “Facing the Quail Decline” workshops in Kerr and Mason counties in September. The programs will have similar formats, but speakers and topics will vary to fit […]

Two invasive brush species focus of Aug. 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Alyson McDonald, 432-336-8585, akmcdonald@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – “Huisache and Juniper – How to Treat!,” the next Texas Range Webinar conducted monthly by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit, is set for Aug. 7. This […]

New mosquito-borne viral disease found in South Central Texas

AgriLife Extension entomologists: Avoidance, exclusion, repellents best practical defense SOUTH CENTRAL TEXAS — Chikungunya, a viral disease transmitted by mosquitoes, has been identified in five Texas counties — four of them in South Central Texas — and may become endemic to the state, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists. As far as the […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Producers should initially sign up for new insurance option

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist said the only decision farmers need to make soon concerning the U.S. Department of Agriculture Risk Management Agency announcement Tuesday of counties covered under the new Supplemental Coverage Option insurance program is “go ahead […]

Article Archives