Recent Stories

AgriLife Extension’s Taylor County Marketing Club invites producers to annual December meeting

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, ext.286, w-thompson@tamu.edu   ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Taylor County Marketing Club will host their annual December program, inviting anyone interested in agriculture to join the session, organizers said. “This year’s format is a little different than […]

AgriLife Extension offers estate planning workshop in Menard

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787,  lbrown@ag.tamu.edu   MENARD – The Texas AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm and ranch estate planning workshop from 9 a.m.-noon on Dec. 4 in the Murchison/Whitehead Memorial Building in Menard. Lisa Brown, AgriLife Extension agent in Menard County, said the featured speaker for […]

Trans-Pecos Big Buck tourney set for Nov. 28-Dec.15

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lainie Koch, 432-284-0048, jekoch@ag.tamu.edu   VAN HORN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Culberson County and the town of Van Horn will again conduct their popular Trans-Pecos Big Buck Tournament from Nov. 28-Dec.15, said an AgriLife Extension contest official. Lainie Koch, AgriLife Extension agent in […]

Experts: Think outside the box when selecting replacement cattle

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRENHAM – With cattle prices at record highs, ranchers looking to build back beef cattle herds need to take careful consideration of the composition of replacement heifers to yield top-quality calves, according to experts. About 200 cattle producers attended the recent 43rd South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic in Brenham, hearing […]

Article Archives