MEDIA ADVISORY: Sources for information about historic Texas wildfires, agricultural impact

More than 1.4 million acres of land have burned in Texas since the beginning of the year due to wildfire. In addition to homes and personal property, the fires are having a major impact on agriculture in the state. Here are some sources available for news media covering the story:

Cattle need fresh water and feed after being stessed by fire. (Texas AgriLife Extension Service photo by Kay Ledbetter)

Cattle condition —

Dr. Ted McCollum, Texas AgriLife Extension Service livestock specialist, 806-677-5600, tmccollu@ag.tamu.edu

Dr. Ron Gill,  AgriLife Extension livestock specialist, 979-845-1541, rgill@ag.tamu.edu

Dr. Floron “Buddy” Faries, AgriLife Extension veterinarian, 979-845-4353, ffaries@cvm.tamu.edu

Economic impact on agriculture —

Dr. David Anderson, AgriLife Extension livestock economist, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu

Hay/fencing donations —

Riley Barnett, AgriLife Extension agent in Fisher County, 325-776-3259; 325-338-3557; rjbarnett@ag.tamu.edu

Scott Mauney, AgriLife Extension agent for Palo Pinto County, 940-659-1228, 940-659-8693, s-mauney@tamu.edu

Leslie Neve, AgriLife Extension agent for Stephens County, 254-559-2313, 254-246-0803 or l-neve@tamu.edu

Steve Sturtz, AgriLife Extension agent in Tom Green County, 325-659-6524, ssturtz@ag.tamu.edu

Heath Begeman, AgriLife Extension agent in Eastland County, 254-629-1093, whbegeman@ag.tamu.edu

Jason Miller, AgriLife Extension agent in Stonewall County, 940-989-3510, jbmiller@ag.tamu.edu

Logan Boswell, AgriLife Extension agent in Brewster/Jeff Davis counties, 432-437-6207, lboswell@tamu.edu

Norman Fryar, AgriLife Extension agent in Pecos County, 432-336-2541, mfryar@ag.tamu.edu

Smoke odor remedies —
Janie Harris, JHarris@ag.tamu.edu, AgriLife Extension housing and environment specialist, 979-847-8865

General wildfire information

texashelp.tamu.edu/
Photos, high resolution, free for use by news media:
http://bit.ly/f8RUBz

-30-

Print Friendly
Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest