Warrens honored at ribbon-cutting, classroom-naming celebration at Texas A&M

COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M University’s department of agricultural leadership, education, and communications has named a classroom in the Agriculture and Life Sciences Building in honor of donors Ty and Ebony “Kesha” Warren. A ribbon cutting for the occasion was held Nov. 7. “The Ty ’03 and Ebony Warren Model Classroom will provide a vehicle […]

Water quality training Dec. 4 in Corpus Christi will focus on Oso Creek, Oso Bay

CORPUS CHRISTI – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality issues related to Oso Creek and Oso Bay will be held from 1-5 p.m. Dec. 4 in Room 106 of the Del Mar Economic Development Center, 3209 South StaplesSt. in Corpus Christi. The workshop is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and […]

Five inducted into Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Rister, 979-845-4911, e-rister@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Five business professionals were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University during a dinner and reception in Bryan. The inductees are Cody Catalena (‘97), Lynn Elliott (‘73), Larry Kokel […]

Texas A&M receives $1.4 million grant for woody plant encroachment research

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bradford Wilcox, 979-458-1899, BWilcox@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Plugging in the human factor to woody plant encroachment will be the focus of a $1.4 million grant awarded to a team led by Dr. Bradford Wilcox, Texas A&M AgriLife Research ecologist in the department of ecosystem science and management in College […]

Texas A&M soil and crop researchers, students recognized with awards

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Frank Hons, 979-845-3477, f-hons@tamu.edu Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists and students with Texas A&M University’s department of soil and crop sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will be recognized for their outstanding research during the annual meeting of the […]

Social media training set for Oct. 28-29 in Houston

HOUSTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Watershed Planning Program will present a social media workshop for natural resources professionals Oct. 28-29 at the Houston-Galveston Area Council, 3555 Timmons Lane, Suite 120, in Houston. “Content, Conversations and Discoverability – Quality Social Media Outreach for Natural Resource Professionals” will be held from 1-4 p.m. Oct. […]

Carpenter inducted into Meat Industry Hall of Fame

Contact: Maggie Tucker, 979-845-1542, maggie.tucker@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Zerle Carpenter, Texas A&M University professor emeritus of animal science and director emeritus of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, was recently inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame. Carpenter was among six inductees selected from more than 75 nominations encompassing all areas of red […]

Lost Water Conference will be Oct. 30 in San Antonio

Program will help water purveyors understand lost water issues, resources SAN ANTONIO — The Edwards Aquifer Regional Water Conservation Program is sponsoring a Lost Water Conference Oct. 30 in San Antonio for staff of municipal water utilities and other water suppliers in the Edwards Aquifer region. The conference will be from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at […]

Super microscope amplifies Texas A&M researchers look at loblolly pine genetics

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Nurul Faridi, 979-862-3908, nfaridi@tamu.edu Dr. Claudio Casola, 979-845-8803, ccasola@tamu.edu Dr. C. Dana Nelson, 228-832-2747, dananelson@fs.fed.us COLLEGE STATION – A super microscope may have researchers at the Texas A&M University ecosystem science and management department moving one step closer to writing the final chapter and verse on the genomics […]