Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences awardees honored

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Almost 20 faculty, staff and students were recognized for their achievements in the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences during a  ceremony Sept. 29 at the AgriLife Center in College Station. “The faculty and staff honored this year are part of the reason that […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Wilting U.S. cut flower industry could perk up with more university research

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-3277, c-hall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. cut flower industry all but wilted over the past 20 years, but much of the loss stems from lack of progress, which could blossom under more university research, according to Jim Daly, keynoter at the Ellison Chair in International […]

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 29 in Nacogdoches

NACOGDOCHES — The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Sept. 29 in Nacogdoches for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Attoyac Bayou watershed. The morning session will be at the Courthouse Annex, 203 W. Main St. The afternoon […]

Cotton, grain outlook update discussed at Texas A&M tailgate event

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on cotton and grain markets were featured in seminar presentations at the recent Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate event prior to the Texas A&M-UCLA football game. The presentations were held at the AgriLife Center on the Texas A&M campus in College Station. […]

Future of flowers topic of Ellison floriculture fall lecture Sept. 12

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-3277, c-hall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Innovations Ensuring the Future of Flowers will be the topic for Jim Daly, featured speaker for the Ellison International Floriculture Chair Distinguished Lecture Series event, coordinators said. The lecture Sept. 12 begins with a 2 p.m. reception for Daly, Smithers-Oasis Floralife […]

Shafer selected as new head of recreation, park and tourism sciences department

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Scott Shafer, 979-845-3837, sshafer@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Scott Shafer has been appointed the new head of the department of recreation, park and tourism sciences in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station. Shafer succeeds Dr. Gary Ellis, who served as […]

Reappearance of rodent thought extinct causes warm, fuzzy frenzy among conservationists

Texas A&M faculty, students continue active role in international Red List work Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Thomas Lacher, 979-845-5750, tlacher@tamu.edu Nicolette Roach, 510-520-0649,  nroach@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – What do an international gathering of some 10,000 people, a small fuzzy animal thought to be extinct for a century and Texas A&M University have […]

Earth-Kind trials bring touch of nature to downtown Rockwall

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Williams, 972-204-7660, twilliam@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-952-9217, steve.george@ag.tamu.edu ROCKWALL – Between the Rockwall County Courthouse and Rockwall County Library and their adjacent parking lots, an Earth-Kind research garden provides a welcome reminder of natural beauty amidst the concrete and asphalt. “We have planted 23 different cultivars of dwarf […]

Multi-county introduction to 4-H program to be held Aug. 30 in Luling

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Geri Kline, 830-672-8531, geri.kline@ag.tamu.edu LULING — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Bastrop, Caldwell, Gonzales and Guadalupe counties will present a 4-H 101 program from 6-8 p.m. Aug. 30 at the Luling Foundation Farm. The farm is located at 523 S. Mulberry in Luling. The program is […]