Texas A&M University Stock Horse Team named 2014 National Champion

Contacts: Dr. Dennis Sigler, 979-862-3595, dsigler@tamu.edu Victoria Pilger, victoriapilger@tamu.edu LOVELAND, Colo. – The Texas A&M University Stock Horse team was named the 2014 National Champion Collegiate Stock Horse Team at the American Stock Horse Association Intercollegiate Championship Show held recently in Loveland, Colo. The Texas A&M team was undefeated throughout this season. The team also […]

‘The Housing Bomb’ seeks to change priorities

New book examines altering the housing/environment mind-set   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, Contacts: Dr. Tarla Rai Peterson, tarlarai@gmail.com Dr. Nils Peterson, 919-229-9519, http://www4.ncsu.edu/~mnpeters/ Dr. Jianguo Liu, 517-432-5025, liuji@msu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – If the authors of a recently published book have their way, “keeping up with the Joneses” may have more to do with who […]

Peanut breakthrough involved Texas A&M AgriLife scientists

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Burow, 806-746-6101, mburow@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK– A Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist said the recent release of the first peanut genome sequences to the public by the International Peanut Genome Initiative should have major effects on Texas peanut production for years to come.   “This release is important […]

Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture. Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention […]

First ‘Texas Mosquito Management’ manual readies municipalities for spring mosquito onslaught

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576,ctallen@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Professionals tasked with public health protection now have a new resource to help control disease-carrying mosquitoes thanks to a team of Texas entomologists. “The 66-page ‘Texas Mosquito Management’ manual is the first ever published on our state’s most notorious disease vector,” […]

Going wild at college

Flowers yield unexpected beauty between classes on Texas A&M campus         COLLEGE STATION – The perception that things can get wild on a college campus is proving to be true at Texas A&M University this semester.         But the wildness in this case is a field of flowers that have bloomed into […]

Texas A&M AgriLife to host Turfgrass, Landscape and Irrigation Expo

May 16 program to focus on ‘Water Efficiency in the Urban Environment’ Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ambika Chandra, 972-231-5362, a-chandra@tamu.edu Clint Wolfe, 972-231-5362, c-wolfe@tamu.edu DALLAS – Water resources continue to dwindle as drought conditions linger around the state, and the record summer heat, extreme winter cold and limited rain have played havoc […]

Kreuter receives Society for Range Management award for research

Contact: Dr. Urs Kreuter, 979-845-5583, urs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Urs Kreuter, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research rangeland scientist in College Station, received the Outstanding Achievement Award for Academia/Research at the 67th annual meeting of the Society for Range Management held recently in Orlando, Fla. The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented by the Society for […]

Chapkin and Savell honored as university distinguished professors at Texas A&M University

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty among seven new honorees  Writers: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Paul Schattenberg,  210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-4426, r-chapkin@tamu.edu Dr. Jeffrey Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drs. Robert Chapkin and Jeffrey Savell, both faculty members in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University in […]