Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Water well owner training set for Aug. 18 in Crowley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CROWLEY — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 18 in Crowley. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Crowley Recreation Center, 405 S. Oak St., said Drew Gholson, Texas […]

Water quality monitoring plan development focus of July 28-29 workshop in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring Plan workshop for watershed coordinators and other water professionals July 28-29 in Austin. The workshop will be from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. July 28 and from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. […]

Two communicators named to guide Texas A&M AgriLife entities

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Two professionals have joined Texas A&M AgriLife to manage marketing and communications plans, according to Dr. Mark Hussey, vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences for the Texas A&M University System. Lara Kohl Burhenn is the new communications and marketing manager for the Texas A&M […]

Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

Water quality training July 12 in Killeen will focus on Lampasas River

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenber@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu Heidi Prude, 254-933-5305, heidi.prude@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – A free Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Lampasas River and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. July 12 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in Killeen. […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership to hold meeting June 23

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO–The Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will host a steering committee meeting June 23 to discuss the latest draft update to the Arroyo Colorado Watershed Protection Plan, said Jaime Flores, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program coordinator for the Texas Water Resources Institute. The meeting is set for 5-7 p.m. in […]

Science on a Sphere offers fun, free educational experience in College Station this summer

Contact: Rebecca Hamilton, 979-845-3792, rebecca.hamilton@ag.tamu.edu            COLLEGE STATION — Science on a Sphere on the Texas A&M campus offers 500 new ways to see Earth and other planets, said exhibit organizers. The interactive demonstration, one of only three traveling SOS exhibits in the world, will be available free to the public now through Aug. 15 at the […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]