Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

Water quality training July 12 in Killeen will focus on Lampasas River

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenber@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu Heidi Prude, 254-933-5305, heidi.prude@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – A free Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Lampasas River and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. July 12 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in Killeen. […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership to hold meeting June 23

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO–The Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will host a steering committee meeting June 23 to discuss the latest draft update to the Arroyo Colorado Watershed Protection Plan, said Jaime Flores, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program coordinator for the Texas Water Resources Institute. The meeting is set for 5-7 p.m. in […]

Science on a Sphere offers fun, free educational experience in College Station this summer

Contact: Rebecca Hamilton, 979-845-3792, rebecca.hamilton@ag.tamu.edu            COLLEGE STATION — Science on a Sphere on the Texas A&M campus offers 500 new ways to see Earth and other planets, said exhibit organizers. The interactive demonstration, one of only three traveling SOS exhibits in the world, will be available free to the public now through Aug. 15 at the […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers develop dietary cancer prevention strategies related to stem cells

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-0419, r-chapkin@tamu.edu Eunjoo Kim, 979-845-0448, kim10023@tamu.edu Robert Fuentes, 979-845-0448, nfuentes2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife scientists have found a way to use novel combinations of dietary compounds to selectively delete damaged stem cells and suppress cancer-causing cell signaling. “This research is necessitated by the fact […]

Texas A&M to break ground on 7-acre outdoor classroom

Texas A&M’s first large-scale public teaching garden joins national network of high-quality university gardens Contacts: Dr. Doug Welsh, 979-862-1697, dougwelsh@tamu.edu Michaela Catalena, 979-458-5714, catalena@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION  – Thanks to the generous donations of former students and friends, Texas A&M University will break ground June 17 in College Station on the institution’s first large-scale public […]

Schroeder receives President’s Award for Academic Advising

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ashlea Schroeder, senior academic advisor in the department of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station, recently received the 2016 President’s Award for Academic Advising. The award recognizes individuals who have exhibited qualities and practices that distinguish the nominee as an outstanding academic […]

Watershed courses June 13-14 will spotlight stakeholder engagement in Dallas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu DALLAS – The Texas Watershed Planning Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife Research are co-hosting a two-course series on watershed stakeholder engagement for water and natural resources professionals June 13-14 in Dallas. “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips […]