Peanut breakthrough involved Texas A&M AgriLife scientists

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Burow, 806-746-6101, mburow@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK– A Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist said the recent release of the first peanut genome sequences to the public by the International Peanut Genome Initiative should have major effects on Texas peanut production for years to come.   “This release is important […]

Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture. Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention […]

First ‘Texas Mosquito Management’ manual readies municipalities for spring mosquito onslaught

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576,ctallen@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Professionals tasked with public health protection now have a new resource to help control disease-carrying mosquitoes thanks to a team of Texas entomologists. “The 66-page ‘Texas Mosquito Management’ manual is the first ever published on our state’s most notorious disease vector,” […]

Going wild at college

Flowers yield unexpected beauty between classes on Texas A&M campus         COLLEGE STATION – The perception that things can get wild on a college campus is proving to be true at Texas A&M University this semester.         But the wildness in this case is a field of flowers that have bloomed into […]

Texas A&M AgriLife to host Turfgrass, Landscape and Irrigation Expo

May 16 program to focus on ‘Water Efficiency in the Urban Environment’ Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ambika Chandra, 972-231-5362, a-chandra@tamu.edu Clint Wolfe, 972-231-5362, c-wolfe@tamu.edu DALLAS – Water resources continue to dwindle as drought conditions linger around the state, and the record summer heat, extreme winter cold and limited rain have played havoc […]

Kreuter receives Society for Range Management award for research

Contact: Dr. Urs Kreuter, 979-845-5583, urs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Urs Kreuter, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research rangeland scientist in College Station, received the Outstanding Achievement Award for Academia/Research at the 67th annual meeting of the Society for Range Management held recently in Orlando, Fla. The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented by the Society for […]

Chapkin and Savell honored as university distinguished professors at Texas A&M University

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty among seven new honorees  Writers: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Paul Schattenberg,  210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-4426, r-chapkin@tamu.edu Dr. Jeffrey Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drs. Robert Chapkin and Jeffrey Savell, both faculty members in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University in […]

Feet, fork and fingers: clue to health, longevity, national medical expert says

COLLEGE STATION — If a new medication came on the market to help one lose weight, increase exercise, stop smoking and prevent heart disease, cancer, stroke, respiratory illness and diabetes, people would flock to physicians for a prescription and buy stock in the company, one expert believes. But that’s not likely, according to Dr. David […]

Dickman named American Academy of Microbiology Fellow

COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Marty Dickman has been elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Dickman has been the Christine Richardson Professor of Agriculture and director of the  Institute for Plant Genomics and Biotechnology at Texas A&M University since 2006. He also is on the faculty of the plant pathology and microbiology […]