Texas A&M soil and crop researchers, students recognized with awards

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Frank Hons, 979-845-3477, f-hons@tamu.edu Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists and students with Texas A&M University’s department of soil and crop sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will be recognized for their outstanding research during the annual meeting of the […]

Social media training set for Oct. 28-29 in Houston

HOUSTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Watershed Planning Program will present a social media workshop for natural resources professionals Oct. 28-29 at the Houston-Galveston Area Council, 3555 Timmons Lane, Suite 120, in Houston. “Content, Conversations and Discoverability – Quality Social Media Outreach for Natural Resource Professionals” will be held from 1-4 p.m. Oct. […]

Carpenter inducted into Meat Industry Hall of Fame

Contact: Maggie Tucker, 979-845-1542, maggie.tucker@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Zerle Carpenter, Texas A&M University professor emeritus of animal science and director emeritus of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, was recently inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame. Carpenter was among six inductees selected from more than 75 nominations encompassing all areas of red […]

Lost Water Conference will be Oct. 30 in San Antonio

Program will help water purveyors understand lost water issues, resources SAN ANTONIO — The Edwards Aquifer Regional Water Conservation Program is sponsoring a Lost Water Conference Oct. 30 in San Antonio for staff of municipal water utilities and other water suppliers in the Edwards Aquifer region. The conference will be from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at […]

Super microscope amplifies Texas A&M researchers look at loblolly pine genetics

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Nurul Faridi, 979-862-3908, nfaridi@tamu.edu Dr. Claudio Casola, 979-845-8803, ccasola@tamu.edu Dr. C. Dana Nelson, 228-832-2747, dananelson@fs.fed.us COLLEGE STATION – A super microscope may have researchers at the Texas A&M University ecosystem science and management department moving one step closer to writing the final chapter and verse on the genomics […]

Unplanned roommate becomes a lifesaver for Texas A&M graduate student

COLLEGE STATION — Nasie Constantino opted for an unplanned roommate shortly after moving to College Station to attend graduate school at Texas A&M University — and got a wise partner in the deal. Not only had Constantino never lived alone, but her degree work called for frequent trips alone to experimental corn fields where she […]

Texas A&M institute reports new information about land conversion losses in Texas

Fifteen-year net loss from 1997-2012 exceeds 1 million acres AUSTIN — Texas experienced a net loss of nearly 1.1 million acres of privately owned farms, ranches and forests from 1997 to 2012, continuing the trend of rural land conversion and fragmentation in Texas, according to Dr. Roel Lopez, director of the Texas A&M Institute of […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for Oct. 14 in Azle

AZLE–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will conduct a workshop from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 14 in Azle for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Eagle Mountain Lake watershed. The free workshop is co-presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County […]

Brush Busters program to be highlighted in Oct. 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact:  Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush management is a challenging problem for livestock producers and landowners throughout the state, but guidance will be offered at an Oct. 2 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Brush Busters” […]

Intensification focus of Eng Foundation Symposium

Cattle industry representatives hear latest research on expanding cowherd Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tryon Wickersham, 979-845-1541, tryon@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Record cattle prices resulting from all-time low cow numbers in the U.S. is signaling expansion among ranchers across the country, according to experts. However, land availability and available capital are challenges in […]