Earth-Kind trials bring touch of nature to downtown Rockwall

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Williams, 972-204-7660, twilliam@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-952-9217, steve.george@ag.tamu.edu ROCKWALL – Between the Rockwall County Courthouse and Rockwall County Library and their adjacent parking lots, an Earth-Kind research garden provides a welcome reminder of natural beauty amidst the concrete and asphalt. “We have planted 23 different cultivars of dwarf […]

Multi-county introduction to 4-H program to be held Aug. 30 in Luling

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Geri Kline, 830-672-8531, geri.kline@ag.tamu.edu LULING — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Bastrop, Caldwell, Gonzales and Guadalupe counties will present a 4-H 101 program from 6-8 p.m. Aug. 30 at the Luling Foundation Farm. The farm is located at 523 S. Mulberry in Luling. The program is […]

Who’s been sleeping in my cave?

Research reveals porcupines prominent in many South Central Texas caves    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Roel Lopez, 210-277-0292, roel@tamu.edu Andrea Montalvo, 210-687-8898, aem595@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Researchers studying the impact of small mammals on cave habitats with endangered invertebrate species got a prickly surprise when they discovered large numbers of porcupines parading in […]

AgriLife researcher takes close look at ‘inflamm-aging’

Study examines role of ghrelin receptor in fat tissue inflammation and insulin resistance   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yuxiang Sun, 979-862-9143, Yuxiang.Sun@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists have proposed that inflammation is the harbinger of aging and central to the aging process, a phenomenon described as ‘inflamm-aging,’ said Dr. Yuxiang Sun. Sun, a faculty […]

Cattle producers learn how to deal with smaller profit margins

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course attracts record attendance Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After two years of historic high cattle prices, a record 1,900 producers attending the Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course in College Station learned more about the current decline in prices and maintaining profitability despite declining profit margins. […]

Texas A&M scientist plays key role in new technology poised to make major cotton industry contribution

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Greg Sword, 979-862-1702, gasword@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION—The dream of many Texas cotton farmers plagued by dwindling irrigation water and drought might be to someday produce more fiber using the same amount of water. That dream is fast becoming reality now thanks to a commercially available seed treatment from […]

Texas Well Owner Network teaming up with Healthy South Texas

Collaboration to focus on well water screening in Brooks, Duval, Jim Hogg, Starr and Webb counties Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, Dboellstorff@tamu.edu John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will present water well screenings in August for Brooks, Duval, Jim Hogg, Starr and Webb counties to […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Water well owner training set for Aug. 18 in Crowley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CROWLEY — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 18 in Crowley. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Crowley Recreation Center, 405 S. Oak St., said Drew Gholson, Texas […]

Water quality monitoring plan development focus of July 28-29 workshop in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring Plan workshop for watershed coordinators and other water professionals July 28-29 in Austin. The workshop will be from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. July 28 and from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. […]