Tri-County Cattle Workshop set for Sept. 13 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 940-716-8610, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – Optimizing efficiency in cattle production will be the theme of the Tri-County Cattle Workshop hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Sept. 13 in Wichita Falls. “Cattle Feeding Decisions for Efficient Production Cost” is set for 6-8 p.m. in the Region 9 Education […]

Statewide AgriLife Extension weed specialist retires after 27 years

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul Baumann, p-baumann@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Weed problems in crops have been the focus of Dr. Paul Baumann for more than 27 years. But as of Aug. 31, he’ll be turning his interests to retirement. Baumann, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state weed specialist in College Station, […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 30

Pecan crops appear on track for slightly better than average year Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, lstein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Hit and miss rains and a bumper 2015 crop could mean a hit-or-miss 2016 for pecan producers around the state, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Larry […]

Aquatic vegetation identification, management focus of Sept. 1 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aquatic Vegetation Management will be the topic of a Sept. 1 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series […]

Cotton, peanut trials to be featured at Sept. 2 Collingsworth County Crops Tour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Katy White, 806-447-2313, katy.white@ag.tamu.edu WELLINGTON – The annual Collingsworth County Crops Tour, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be Sept. 2 at the Micah Carter Farm, located a mile south of Farm-to-Market Road 338 on County Road 240. The program begins at 9 a.m. There is […]

Concho Valley Wildlife Management Program to focus on white-tailed deer

  Workshop and tour slated for Sept. 23 in San Angelo Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO –  Hunting season is just around the corner, and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has set the multi-county Concho Valley Wildlife Management Program from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Sept. 23 in […]

Bevers hanging up his AgriLife Extension marketing cap

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941 ext. 231, Stan.Bevers@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Stan Bevers has had a front row seat on the commodity and cattle market roller coaster for many years, but now he’s ready to step off. He will retire Aug. 31. Bevers has been an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Program for beginner farmers and gardeners set for Sept. 22-23

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – An educational event for beginning farmers and gardeners is set for Sept. 22-23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053 N. in Overton. The Beginning Farmer and Gardener Conference will feature several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Fall armyworms are on the march

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Fall armyworms are on the march in parts of Texas. Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents in a few of the agency’s districts have reported increased armyworm activity in hayfields and pastures over the past few weeks. Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension forage […]

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate, seminar set Sept. 3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on the cotton, grain market outlook and a discussion on study abroad programs will be the featured seminar presentations scheduled from 10-11 a.m. Sept. 3 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities. The […]