Watershed courses June 13-14 will spotlight stakeholder engagement in Dallas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu DALLAS – The Texas Watershed Planning Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife Research are co-hosting a two-course series on watershed stakeholder engagement for water and natural resources professionals June 13-14 in Dallas. “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips […]

AgriLife Extension sets June 2 gardening program in Mertzon

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2711, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu MERTZON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a gardening program from 2-4 p.m. June 2 at the Mertzon Community Center, 112 W. Duncan Ave. in Mertzon. Laci Kennedy, AgriLife Extension agent in Irion County, said the free program will feature Allison Watkins, […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 24

Rains continue to bring mixed bag to producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, c-gulley@tamu.edu TYLER — Each step farmer Malcolm Williams took into his pasture announced the presence of water and soft, saturated topsoil. He left his flatbed truck at the gate knowing it wouldn’t make it far […]

Pesticide applicator class set for June 8 in Tarrant County

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — Training for Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator licenses will be held June 8 in the Fort Worth Room at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County. Training begins promptly at 5:30 p.m. and will be completed by 9:30 p.m. “The four-hour training […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

New AgriLife Extension fact sheet gives buzz on indoor flies

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – It’s getting close to fly season again and a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication will help people identify different types of indoor flies, understand their biology and, most importantly, learn how to eliminate them. “Next to ants, flies may be […]

AgriLife, Rio Farms host South Texas row crops field day May 24

MONTE ALTO  –  As South Texas row crops producers prepare to harvest what could be above-average yields this year, they’ll be gathering at an annual field day soon to learn more about plant breeding efforts for the future and the commodity market, organizers say. The Grain Sorghum, Corn, Sesame and Soybean Field Day will be […]

AgriLife Extension offers food handler safety courses June 11 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, Edavis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct two food safety  programs accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on June 11. The courses, both with the same curriculum, will be taught from 9:30-11:30 a.m. and again from 1:30-3:30 […]