Rainwater harvesting program Aug. 12 in Seguin should ‘capture’ interest

SEGUIN – The “Rainwater Harvesting for Homeowners” program will be held from 10 a.m.-noon Aug. 12 at the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority’s River Annex, 905 Nolan St. in Seguin, said program coordinators. The training is free and open to the public, and light refreshments will be served. The program is a joint effort of the Geronimo […]

Panhandle Ranch Management set Aug. 18 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu Dustin Sanders, 806-226-3021, dustin.sanders@ag.tamu.edu Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Panhandle Ranch Management” will be presented Aug. 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Potter, Randall, Armstrong and Oldham counties. The free program will begin with […]

AgriLife Extension agent helps shrimpers haul in deadly catch

PORT OF BROWNSVILLE  –  Like hunters anxiously awaiting the start of deer season, shrimp boats from Louisiana, Alabama and Mississippi recently converged near the mouth of the Rio Grande along the southern Gulf Coast. They were there to join local shrimpers for the opening of the Texas shrimp harvest season, according to Tony Reisinger, Texas […]

Miller elected to Texas Plant Protection Association Board of Directors

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Travis Miller, 979-845-7907, td-miller@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Travis Miller, interim associate director for state operations with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been elected to the board of directors for the Texas Plant Protection Association. “We are extremely pleased to have Dr. Miller join our group […]

New AgriLife Extension agent named in Sherman County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact; Alexa Reed, 806-366-2081, alexa.reed@ag.tamu.edu STRATFORD – Alexa Reed is returning to the Texas A&M family of state agencies in her new position as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Sherman County, effective Aug. 11, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in […]

Texas crop, weather for July 15, 2014

Sugarcane aphids found early in northeast Texas sorghum fields Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s not too late to control sugarcane aphids on northeast Texas sorghum fields, but it will be very soon, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. “The aphids just showed up here in northeast Texas the […]

AgriLife Extension’s Master Naturalist Program to offer volunteer training

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michelle Haggerty, 830-896-2504, mhaggerty@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas Master Naturalist program will offer volunteer training courses  conducted by 10 of their chapters across the state beginning in August, organizers said. The Texas Master Naturalist program has 44 Texas chapters whose goal is to develop a corps of well-informed volunteers […]

Longtime AgriLife Extension administrator to retire

Durham completes 35-year career Aug. 31 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Durham, 325-653-4576, ms-durham@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Michael “Scott” Durham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s district Extension director at San Angelo, will retire effective Aug. 31. Durham has served as district director since 1996. In that role, he has been responsible for providing […]

South Texas study results show Brahman, crossbred influence receive higher premiums

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Levi Russell, 361-265-9203, lrussell@tamu.edu CORPUS CHRISTI – Data from a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service South Texas study shows Brahman and British crossbred cattle add significant value to breeding stock in South Texas and performed best in terms of sale price. “The research here shows the value of […]

Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 8 at Del Rio Dairy near Friona

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu FRIONA – The date and location for the annual Southwest Dairy Day have been set, said Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension state dairy specialist in Dallas. This year it will be held Oct. 8 at the Del Rio Dairy near […]