AgriLife Extension experts offer tips on grilling, food safety

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joyce Cavanagh 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jenna Anding, 979-847-9228, j-anding@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Summertime is prime time for grilling, and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts have some advice about both fire and food safety. “It’s extremely important that people take extra care if planning to grill outdoors, especially in open areas,” […]

Kingston trades AgriLife Extension position in Kent County for Parker County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jay Kingston, 817-598-6168, jkingsto@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – Jay Kingston, a longtime Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent in Kent County, has moved east to fill the same position in Parker County. “Jay brings 17 years of AgriLife Extension work experience to Parker County,” said Miles Dabovich, […]

Water well owner training set for Aug. 18 in Crowley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CROWLEY — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 18 in Crowley. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Crowley Recreation Center, 405 S. Oak St., said Drew Gholson, Texas […]

Summertime pond management requires planning and caution

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, b-higginbotham@tamu.edu OVERTON – Phone calls about out-of-control aquatic vegetation are a common midsummer occurrence, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife and fisheries specialist Dr. Billy Higginbotham. However, he said, pond owners should proceed with caution when treating aquatic weeds in ponds where fish are […]

Program set for July 26 in Seguin shows it’s not too early to plan for Christmas

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charla Bading, 830-303-3889, charla.bading@ag.tamu.edu SEGUIN — It’s never too early to plan for Christmas, and the Christmas in July Task Force of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Guadalupe County is presenting a program July 26 to prove it. “The six members of our task force […]

New AgriLife Extension assistant named in Taylor County

  Thomas Cunningham assumed agriculture and natural resources/4-H post July 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service named Thomas Cunningham the new AgriLife Extension assistant for agriculture and natural resources/4-H in Taylor County effective July 15. The announcement was made by AgriLife Extension […]

Avi-Lanche Jerseys to be featured at Southwest Dairy Day Oct. 20

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DALHART – The annual Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 20 at the Avi-Lanche Jerseys dairy will be hosted by the Richard Avila family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Avi-Lanche Jerseys is located north of Dalhart on U.S. Highway 385. “Southwest Dairy […]

Back-to-school shopping requires doing some homework

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION — Back-to-school shopping can be an expensive proposition, especially if you don’t plan ahead, said Joyce Cavanagh, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist in family and consumer sciences, College Station. Cavanagh said consumers should approach school shopping much like they do grocery shopping. “Parents […]

QuickBooks training set for August in Amarillo, September in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course Aug. 24-25 and Aug. 29-30 in Amarillo, and then again Sept. 8-9 in Lubbock. The two-day trainings will run from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day at […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]