Accurate diagnosis is the first step in addressing turfgrass problems

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu TYLER –  Calls have been pouring into Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent Chad Gulley’s office from homeowners whose grass is not faring well. Lawns are thinning, showing brown spots and showing other signs of pests and diseases, Gulley […]

Texas youth statewide to participate in One Day 4-H on Oct. 8

Thousands of 4-H’ers will be involved in hundreds of community service projects Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Chris Boleman, 979-845-1211, cboleman@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1211, t-lepley@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – On Oct. 8, thousands of youth and adults throughout the state involved   in Texas 4-H will participate in hundreds of community service projects statewide […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Sept. 27

Weather patterns likely mean warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  The Texas state climatologist said an expected La Niña winter weather pattern would probably not emerge and there likely will be warmer and drier conditions on average into 2017. Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, state climatologist, […]

AgriLife Extension engineer awarded double honors during summer meeting

  Dr. Dana Porter named engineer of the year, receives group’s president’s citation Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dana Porter, 806-746-6101, d-porter@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service engineer who said she much prefers nominating colleagues for honors, received two of her own during the 2016 Annual International Meeting of the […]

Planting sorghums early might help reduce sugarcane aphid damages

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, EBynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Every year is a learning year right now for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists and anyone else dealing with the sugarcane aphid, both on grain sorghum and forage sorghum in the Texas High Plains. “We have a lot more information about […]

Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Carr Ranch Gathering Oct.21 at the Bill and Dusty Carr Sale Facility, 6720 Farm-to-Market Road 97. The facility is located 8 miles west of Floresville. The program is free. Registration will be […]

Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — September has been designated National Preparedness Month and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is supporting preparedness efforts by offering tips to Texans on how they can prepare for and recover from a disaster or emergency. “This is a particularly good […]

Armyworms are on the march

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Armyworms are now on the march, decimating huge swaths of Texas crops and pastures, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist at San Angelo.                 Dr. Charles Allen said reports of damage are streaming into his office and to […]

Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School will be presented from 6-8 p.m. Oct. 18 at the Whitley Theological Center, 285 Oblate Drive in San Antonio. The school is being conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County, the Prairie […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]