Collett named Stiles Farm Foundation manager

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ryan Collett has been appointed the new manager of the Stiles Farm Foundation effective April 1, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service administrators. “The Stiles Farm is a diverse operation serving Blacklands producers throughout Central and South Central Texas that allows producers the opportunity to see […]

Expert: Beef cattle producers advised to get grazing leases in writing

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell-Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu FORT WORTH – Surprisingly, some grazing leases are simple verbal agreements, but for both parties’ protection it is always best to get the agreement in writing, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service law specialist. Tiffany Dowell-Lashmet recently gave an overview of grazing leases […]

AgriLife Extension agent not new to Potter County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lizabeth Gresham, 373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – After two years of serving Potter County as the Prairie View A&M University Cooperative Extension Program family and consumer sciences agent, Lizabeth Gresham will take on the same position with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for the county, according to an AgriLife […]

New AgriLife Extension agronomist hired for Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agronomist to serve the Rolling Plains area, and she will office at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center south of Vernon. Dr. Mark McFarland, AgriLife Extension […]

2015 Backyard Basics Expo gives attendees a taste of self-reliance

SAN ANTONIO — More than 200 people participated in the 2015 Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the James Madison High School Agriscience Magnet Program facility in San Antonio, said event coordinators. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, featured educational opportunities, as well as products and services related to the production, […]

Grass-fed beef conference scheduled May 28-29 in College Station

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, rmachen@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With consumer interest heightening about where food comes from, grass-fed beef producers will have the opportunity to learn more about marketing opportunities and production trends during a May 28-29 conference in College Station. Dr. Rick Machen, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Pineywoods Cattle Congress set April 17 in San Augustine County

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-312-3199, rd-burns@tamu.edu SAN AUGUSTINE – This year’s Pineywoods Cattle Congress on April 17 will address strategies on the new economics of beef cattle production, said Cary Sims, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for Angelina County. “With cattle prices at historical highs, the first topic of the day will focus on these […]

Texas crop, weather for March 31, 2015

Peach crop could be the best in years Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Conditions are so favorable for an outstanding Texas peach crop this year that he almost hates to talk about them lest he jinxes the crop, joked Dr. Larry Stein, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist for fruits, nuts and […]

Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland

Organizers urge enthusiasts to mark calendars now for event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu MIDLAND – Whether you’re a roper, a pleasure rider or enjoy some other aspect of horsemanship, the Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland will have topics of interest for everyone, organizers […]

Sorghum pricing offers producers opportunity to maximize profits

Experts: Water management key to profitability Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.Bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dana Porter, 806-746-6101, dporter@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu DIMMITT – Higher prices for grain sorghum due to greater overseas demand from China are creating an opportunity for producers if the crop is properly managed, according to […]