AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

Oak wilt, other tree diseases examined at program in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-54752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. David Appel, 979-845-8373, d-appel@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Tree diseases, with oak wilt taking center stage, were the focus of the Tree Disease Identification and Management program held recently at the Urban Ecology Center at Phil Hardberger Park in San Antonio. More than 120 people, […]

Annual forage crop insurance sign-up deadline in July

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu\ AMARILLO – Although recent rains have livestock producers looking at green pastures, most know it can turn dry quickly and may want protection against drought loss on annual forage crops, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The first deadline to sign up for the Rainfall Index – […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]

AgriLife Extension’s South Plains District names new agents

  Wes Utley returns to Hockley County, Wade Howard transfers from Central Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service announced the addition of two agriculture and natural resources agents to its 20-county South Plains district. Wes Utley has resumed his former position as […]

AgriLife Extension entomologists provide advice for women regarding Zika virus

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – Initially, the Zika virus was considered a “mild” disease, but public health officials have become increasingly concerned that pregnant women who contract Zika can pass the virus to their unborn babies, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

AgriLife Extension offers marketing assistance for agricultural entrepreneurs

WESLACO – Organizers say the first in a series of events designed to help new, small-acreage South Texas agricultural producers will begin later this month with the workshop, Marketing Strategies for Local Growers. The free workshop will be held from 5:30-8:30 p.m. June 30 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Weslaco, […]

AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team wins national 4-H wool judging contest

  National FFA contest top honor goes to Hondo FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu     SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H wool judging team nabbed the top spot to win the 56th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held recently in Sonora.   The contest and its […]

Water quality training July 12 in Killeen will focus on Lampasas River

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenber@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu Heidi Prude, 254-933-5305, heidi.prude@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – A free Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Lampasas River and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. July 12 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in Killeen. […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 21

Sun, heat and wind drying out soil around Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Josh McGinty, 361-265-9203, jmcginty@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Soil moisture indexes around the state are beginning to drop as higher temperatures and sunny days mark summer’s arrival. Heat, sun and wind all affect soil moisture as […]