Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

23rd Northeast Texas Horticulture Field Day a hit with horticulture enthusiasts

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – Master Gardeners Linda Brown and Brenda Kinney sat in the shade behind the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center’s main building, waiting for barbecue lunch to be served Thursday. The duo drove from Harrison County to join more than 250 attendees at […]

Oak wilt, other tree diseases examined at program in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-54752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. David Appel, 979-845-8373, d-appel@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Tree diseases, with oak wilt taking center stage, were the focus of the Tree Disease Identification and Management program held recently at the Urban Ecology Center at Phil Hardberger Park in San Antonio. More than 120 people, […]

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold meeting on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting July 7 in Palacios for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios Watershed stakeholder meeting will be at 1:30 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, 209 Lucas […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]

Water quality training July 12 in Killeen will focus on Lampasas River

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenber@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu Heidi Prude, 254-933-5305, heidi.prude@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – A free Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Lampasas River and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. July 12 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in Killeen. […]

Central America Summit to ponder sustainable food production

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Elsa Murano, 979-862-4551, eamurano@tamu.edu         FORT WORTH — A summit aimed at developing strategic recommendations on strengthening the agriculture sector in Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador will be conducted June 27-29, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture.         The Central America Summit: […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership to hold meeting June 23

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO–The Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will host a steering committee meeting June 23 to discuss the latest draft update to the Arroyo Colorado Watershed Protection Plan, said Jaime Flores, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program coordinator for the Texas Water Resources Institute. The meeting is set for 5-7 p.m. in […]

New discovery may improve future mosquito control

  AgriLife Research scientist’s  paper outlines a new mechanism of sugar feeding aversion Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Patricia Pietrantonio,  979-845-9728, p-pietrantonio@tamu.edu                 COLLEGE STATION – Major rainfall across most of Texas triggering hordes of mosquitos coupled with seemingly constant mosquito-related Zika virus media reports from around the globe may have set the […]