AgriLife Research scientist named Crop Science Society of America Fellow

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE — Dr. James P. Muir, Texas A&M AgriLife Research plant scientist Stepenville, has been named a Crop Science Society of America Fellow for 2014. The award will be formally presented at the society’s annual meeting, which will be held Nov. 3 in Long Beach, California. Being named a fellow […]

Texas A&M soil and crop researchers, students recognized with awards

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Frank Hons, 979-845-3477, f-hons@tamu.edu Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists and students with Texas A&M University’s department of soil and crop sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will be recognized for their outstanding research during the annual meeting of the […]

Aquaponics field day set for Nov. 7 in Weslaco

WESLACO – It’s a tidy little system that you can set up in your backyard, a commercial warehouse or on your desktop — on a real desk, not a computer — that produces both edible fish and vegetables, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Research expert in Weslaco. It’s called aquaponics, said Andrew “Andy” McArdle, a […]

Canola production part of presentation lineup at Texas Plant Protection Conference

Conference theme is future use of water and its impact on agriculture Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – Canola cropping practices will be featured at the Texas Plant Protection Association Conference scheduled Dec. 10-11 at the Brazos Center, 3232 Briarcrest Drive in Bryan. Dr. Clark Neely, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service small grains and […]

Texas A&M AgriLife Research-led zebra chip disease control effort honored by USDA

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu WASHINGTON – A multi-state effort led by Texas A&M AgriLife Research to control the potato psyllid and reduce losses from zebra chip disease of potato will be recognized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture-National Institute of Food and Agriculture. The federal program being honored […]

Social media training set for Oct. 28-29 in Houston

HOUSTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Watershed Planning Program will present a social media workshop for natural resources professionals Oct. 28-29 at the Houston-Galveston Area Council, 3555 Timmons Lane, Suite 120, in Houston. “Content, Conversations and Discoverability – Quality Social Media Outreach for Natural Resource Professionals” will be held from 1-4 p.m. Oct. […]

Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

Lost Water Conference will be Oct. 30 in San Antonio

Program will help water purveyors understand lost water issues, resources SAN ANTONIO — The Edwards Aquifer Regional Water Conservation Program is sponsoring a Lost Water Conference Oct. 30 in San Antonio for staff of municipal water utilities and other water suppliers in the Edwards Aquifer region. The conference will be from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at […]

Murano named director of Texas A&M AgriLife’s Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture

COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Elsa Murano, professor and president emerita of Texas A&M University, has been named director of the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture. She had been interim director since June 2012. “It is a great honor to be named director of an organization whose mission is to help improve the lives of […]