New report: ‘Genetically engineered’ crops not adverse to environment or human health

Texas A&M scientist involved in extensive study Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Stelly, 979-845-2745, stelly@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Genetically engineered crops have not hurt the environment and are not adversely affecting human health, according to a comprehensive study coordinated by the National Academy of Sciences. “Genetically Engineered Crops, Experiences and Prospects” is […]

Watershed courses June 13-14 will spotlight stakeholder engagement in Dallas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu DALLAS – The Texas Watershed Planning Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife Research are co-hosting a two-course series on watershed stakeholder engagement for water and natural resources professionals June 13-14 in Dallas. “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips […]

Taylor retires after 32 years as superintendent of AgriLife Research station at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Charles “Butch” Taylor, 325-387-3217, angora@sonoratx.net               SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora just celebrated its 100 year anniversary and for almost half that time, its current superintendent has been a mainstay at the 3,462-acre facility south of Sonora.            But after a 45-year history […]

AgriLife Research scientist studies structures to boost tomato production in South Texas

WESLACO – To help revive the state’s sagging vegetable industry, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists in South Texas are looking at new cropping systems to improve and extend the tomato growing season. While the Rio Grande Valley’s fertile soils can produce tasty tomatoes for consumers, the harsh conditions of heat, insects and diseases can stand […]

AgriLife Research triticale program moving forward with new lines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Baker, 806-677-5600, JBaker@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Triticale, a cross between wheat and rye, might be an “extending” option for producers grazing cattle in the Rolling Plains, said Jason Baker, Texas A&M AgriLife Research senior research associate in Amarillo, who has been studying the crop since 2002. “If you are […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for May 24 in Arlington

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Fred Hall, 817-884-1941, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu Aaron Hoff, 817-493-5581, Hoffa@trinityra.org ARLINGTON–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. May 24 in Arlington for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Village Creek-Lake Arlington watershed, coordinators said. The […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

Wheat producers eye canola in crop rotations

AgriLife variety plots provide planting, seeding rate information Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941 ext. 207, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is conducting several studies on canola in both the Rolling Plains […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 10

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Dykes, 979-845-9714, mdykes@tamu.edu Beekeepers are as busy as their bees this spring COLLEGE STATION — Beekeepers have been making their annual rounds pollinating crops for Texas producers, according to Texas Apiary Inspection Service chief inspector Mark Dykes, College Station. Dykes said beekeepers typically trek to California in early […]

Fire Appreciation Day set for May 24 at Roby

  AgriLife Extension, Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch to host event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu              ROBY – A Fire Appreciation Day to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch is set from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. May 24. The […]