Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Water well owner training set for Aug. 18 in Crowley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CROWLEY — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 18 in Crowley. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Crowley Recreation Center, 405 S. Oak St., said Drew Gholson, Texas […]

Dr. Douglas Tolleson named to AgriLife Research station post at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Douglas Tolleson, 325-387-3168, Douglas.Tolleson@ag.tamu.edu            SONORA – After more than three decades, the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora is changing leadership.            Dr. Douglas Tolleson, who is no stranger to the Texas A&M University System or its AgriLife Research or Texas A&M […]

Energy department grants $2.5M for biorefinery waste use, renewable bioproduct study

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joshua Yuan, 979-845-3016, syuan@neo.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Department of Energy has granted $2.5 million for a Texas A&M AgriLife Research study to find ways to use biorefinery waste to make new, marketable products. “In the biorefinery field, we have a saying: You can make anything but […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]

AgriLife Research remote sensing technology aims to solve critical crop diseases

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Alex Thomasson, 979-458-3598, thomasson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sensor technology could possibly solve many challenges of crop production,  and Texas A&M AgriLife Research faculty are aggressively attempting to find new solutions. Dr. Alex Thomasson, an AgriLife Research biological and agricultural engineer, and Dr. Seth Murray, AgriLife Research corn breeder, […]

Water quality monitoring plan development focus of July 28-29 workshop in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring Plan workshop for watershed coordinators and other water professionals July 28-29 in Austin. The workshop will be from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. July 28 and from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. […]

New potato variety to be featured at field day July 21 near Springlake

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-219-3388, jcmiller@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – The annual Potato Field Day in the High Plains featuring the Texas A&M University AgriLife Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program will be July 21. The program is jointly hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Bruce Barrett, owner of Barrett Farm. […]

Growing better tomatoes topic of Aug. 5 workshop

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Kevin Crosby, 979-845-7012, k-crosby@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — A workshop on tomato production improvement will be held from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 5, according to Dr. Kevin Crosby, Texas A&M AgriLife Research horticulturist in College Station. The free workshop will be held at the Texas A&M Horticultural Teaching, Research and […]

Wheat harvest, research successful in the High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Something can be learned from every wheat harvest, but Texas A&M AgriLife Research wheat breeder Dr. Jackie Rudd said it is just “fun” to see the success of this year’s bounty. After four years of drought, a battle with stripe rust and […]