Libo Shan recognized by U.S. plant biologists societywith Charles Albert Shull Award

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact:  Dr. Libo Shan, lshan@tamu.edu,  979-845-8818 COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Libo Shan of College Station, Texas A&M AgriLife Research molecular biologist, has earned the Charles Albert Shull Award from the American Society of Plant Biologists. “I feel extremely honored to be selected as the recipient of this prestigious award,” Shan […]

AgriLife Research study: Mesquite a complementary biofuel feedstock

Aids in economics, greenhouse gas emission reduction Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seong Park, 940-552-9941, scpark@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tong Wang, 940-552-9941, tong.wang@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jim Ansley, 940-552-9941, jansley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@tamu.edu VERNON – As requirements grow for use of cellulosic biofuels to meet the energy needs of the nation, researchers look at potential […]

Media Advisory: 60th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 4-6

Media Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 60th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course is scheduled Aug. 4-6 on the campus of Texas A&M University. Multiple sessions throughout the three-day event will focus on beef cattle production, management, market outlook and the future of the industry. During the general session scheduled for […]

Searcy elected to Texas Plant Protection Association board

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, s-searcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the department of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M University, has been elected to the Texas Plant Protection Association board of directors. “We are extremely pleased to have Dr. Searcy join our group of outstanding […]

Improving soil health, no-till practices topic of Aug. 14 four-county field day

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – A Rolling Plains field tour, “Practices to Improve Soil Health and Soil/Water Conservation,” will be held Aug. 14 by Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Natural Resources Conservation Service and local Soil and Water Conservation districts. Registration will begin at […]

Drought-stricken trees offer study platform for AgriLife Research scientists

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Vogel, 979-845-5580, Jason_vogel@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Severe drought across Texas since 2011 has produced a unique opportunity for Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists to gain a greater understanding of the decaying process of trees and the effects […]

AgriLife Research putting designer potatoes on the menu to boost consumption

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-845-3828, cmiller@ag.tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – A decline in overall potato consumption has Texas A&M AgriLife Research breeders working on “designer” spuds that meet the time constraints and unique tastes of a younger generation. Dr. Creighton Miller, AgriLife Research potato breeder from College Station, recently conducted the Texas […]

Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan Accepted by EPA

Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Phyllis Dyer, 940-552-9941, pmdyer@ag.tamu.edu VERNON–The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan as meeting the agency’s guidelines for watershed-based plans and effectively outlining a strategy to reduce nonpoint source pollution in the watershed, according to a Texas Water Resources Institute official. “This acceptance comes after […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 20 in Refugio

REFUGIO — Anyone interested in private water well management in the Copano Bay watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 20 in Refugio. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. at the Refugio County Community Center, 305 Swift St., said Drew Gholson, […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 19 in Robstown

ROBSTOWN — Anyone interested in private water well management in the Nueces River watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 19 in Robstown. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. at the Johnny Calderon Building, 710 E. Main St., said Drew Gholson, […]