AgriLife Research station at Sonora celebrated 100-year birthday in style

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu              SONORA – Mild temperatures and azure blue skies over recently rain-kissed green pastures all came together April 23 to greet the almost 400 supporters of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station who helped celebrate the facilities’ 100-year anniversary.            “It was a great day,” said […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for May 5 in Pflugerville

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Roberto Vega, 512-990-6300, RobertoV@pflugervilletx.gov Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, DRichards@ag.tamu.edu PFLUGERVILLE–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.to 4 p.m. May 5 in Pflugerville for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Gilleland Creek watershed, coordinators said. The […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]

‘War of the plants’ being studied by AgriLife Research scientists

WESLACO   —  Two Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists are studying the virtual tug-of-war that takes place when a pathogen attacks a plant. In mid-battle, both aggressor, the pathogen, and the defending plant undergo dynamic changes to improve their chances of victory. Better understanding those changes could unlock new ways to improve plants by making them […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]

Rainwater harvesting program set for May 17 in Monahans

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu MONAHANS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a Healthy Lawns and Healthy Waters rainwater harvesting program May 17 in Ward County, said program coordinators. The event will be from 5:30-8:30 p.m. at the Ward County Convention Center, 400 E. 4th St. in […]

Tres Palacios Creek water quality meetings set for May

PALACIOS  —  The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting two meetings in May for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. Dr. Allen Berthold, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist at the institute in College Station, said an agricultural and wildlife nonpoint […]

AgriLife Research entomologist testing potato psyllids for insecticide resistance

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A growing resistance of potato psyllids to the neonicotinoid classification of insecticides has Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, Texas A&M AgriLife Research entomologist in Amarillo, looking to the future. The potato psyllid is a tiny insect with sucking, piercing mouthparts that transmits a disease […]

Time draws near for AgriLife Research station at Sonora’s 100-year celebration

  April 23 event to offer old-time fun, education and fellowship Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Barring catastrophic flooding or some other major event, the April 23 centennial celebration of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora will continue as planned coordinators said. “I suspect a […]

Water well trainings, screenings set for May in West Texas

COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer Texas Well Owner Network trainings and screenings in May for seven West Texas counties, said program coordinators. The Texas Water Resources Institute is partnering with AgriLife Extension and the Texas Well Owner Network on these programs, they said. “Private well owners in Texas are […]