Texas A&M AgriLife Research-led zebra chip disease control effort honored by USDA

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu WASHINGTON – A multi-state effort led by Texas A&M AgriLife Research to control the potato psyllid and reduce losses from zebra chip disease of potato will be recognized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture-National Institute of Food and Agriculture. The federal program being honored […]

Social media training set for Oct. 28-29 in Houston

HOUSTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Watershed Planning Program will present a social media workshop for natural resources professionals Oct. 28-29 at the Houston-Galveston Area Council, 3555 Timmons Lane, Suite 120, in Houston. “Content, Conversations and Discoverability – Quality Social Media Outreach for Natural Resource Professionals” will be held from 1-4 p.m. Oct. […]

Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

Lost Water Conference will be Oct. 30 in San Antonio

Program will help water purveyors understand lost water issues, resources SAN ANTONIO — The Edwards Aquifer Regional Water Conservation Program is sponsoring a Lost Water Conference Oct. 30 in San Antonio for staff of municipal water utilities and other water suppliers in the Edwards Aquifer region. The conference will be from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at […]

Murano named director of Texas A&M AgriLife’s Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture

COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Elsa Murano, professor and president emerita of Texas A&M University, has been named director of the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture. She had been interim director since June 2012. “It is a great honor to be named director of an organization whose mission is to help improve the lives of […]

Stocker gains more than 2.5 pounds per head per day realized

Study compared rates of dry distiller’s grains of cattle on Tifton 85 Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu OVERTON – As cattle prices continue to soar, breaking all previous records, some might wonder why anyone would take animals off winter pasture at 800 to 850 pounds in mid to late May, and continue them on pasture […]

Super microscope amplifies Texas A&M researchers look at loblolly pine genetics

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Nurul Faridi, 979-862-3908, nfaridi@tamu.edu Dr. Claudio Casola, 979-845-8803, ccasola@tamu.edu Dr. C. Dana Nelson, 228-832-2747, dananelson@fs.fed.us COLLEGE STATION – A super microscope may have researchers at the Texas A&M University ecosystem science and management department moving one step closer to writing the final chapter and verse on the genomics […]

Water the focus of 2014 Texas Plant Protection Association conference in Bryan

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – Future use of water and its impact on agriculture will be the focus of the 2014 Texas Plant Protection Association conference scheduled Dec. 10-11 at the Brazos Center, 3232 Briarcrest Drive in Bryan. “Water availability is paramount for agricultural production and certainly is of utmost concern to everyone […]

Combating national rose rosette disease crisis focus of Texas study

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Byrne, 979-845-9500, dbyrne@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A tiny mite carried through the wind is threatening to take down the $400 million rose industry, and researchers from California to Pennsylvania are starting a five-year study to stop it.   “Garden roses, which form the cornerstone of the multi-billion dollar […]