Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation increases support of AgriLife Research programs in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, c-long@tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M AgriLife Research programs in Overton will expand with generous support from a long-time benefactor – the Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation. The foundation’s board of directors and the administration of AgriLife Research announced that a 446-acre farm on Texas Highway 135 […]

Developing technology offers researchers advancement without man hours, machine harvesting

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s been said a picture is worth a thousand words. But for Dr. Seth Murray, the images captured by an unmanned aerial vehicle or self-propelled ground vehicle could be worth more than a thousand man hours. The images can then lead to […]

Sugarcane aphid research aimed at planting timing, variety selection

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The “whens” and the “whats” of the sugarcane aphid are fueling the research of Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, Texas A&M AgriLife entomologist. For example, when are they most damaging, and what grain sorghum varieties do they prefer? With the support of Texas Grain […]

Who’s been sleeping in my cave?

Research reveals porcupines prominent in many South Central Texas caves    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Roel Lopez, 210-277-0292, roel@tamu.edu Andrea Montalvo, 210-687-8898, aem595@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Researchers studying the impact of small mammals on cave habitats with endangered invertebrate species got a prickly surprise when they discovered large numbers of porcupines parading in […]

Texas A&M working with industry to strengthen vegetable production program

Retailers express need for locally grown produce Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas retailers want locally grown produce, and Texas A&M AgriLife is working to make that happen. Dr. Bill McCutchen, Texas A&M AgriLife Research executive associate director in College Station, and Joseph Bunting, United Supermarkets produce […]

AgriLife researcher takes close look at ‘inflamm-aging’

Study examines role of ghrelin receptor in fat tissue inflammation and insulin resistance   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yuxiang Sun, 979-862-9143, Yuxiang.Sun@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists have proposed that inflammation is the harbinger of aging and central to the aging process, a phenomenon described as ‘inflamm-aging,’ said Dr. Yuxiang Sun. Sun, a faculty […]

Annual AgriLife ram test will start Sept. 12

     Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu  SAN ANGELO – The 2016-2017 annual Ram Performance Test conducted by Texas A&M will begin Sept. 12 with delivery of the Rambouillet rams to the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, north of San Angelo on […]

Patil honored as fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society

Contact: Dr. Bhimu Patil, 979-458-8090, b-patil@email.tamu.edu RECIFE, Brazil — Dr. Bhimu Patil, director of Texas A&M University’s Vegetable and Fruit Improvement Center in College Station, has been named a fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society for “his exceptional research and international collaborations in the area of produce, health, food and nutritional security.” Patil was keynote […]

Health benefits of beef brisket discussed at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas barbecue is famous for beef brisket and as a bonus for barbecue fans, it has many healthful traits, said Dr. Stephen Smith, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist. Ground beef produced from the brisket contains high levels of oleic acid, which increases levels of HDL or good […]

Soil and Irrigation Conservation Workshop slated Aug. 24 in Weslaco

WESLACO – Agricultural producers throughout the Rio Grande Valley are invited to spend half a day with experts on new technologies in soil and water management, funding opportunities and financial technical support for farming operations, organizers said. The Soil Health and Irrigation Conservation Workshop will be held from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 24 […]