Septic system maintenance workshop set for Sept. 21 in Goldthwaite

Training is part of Lampasas River Watershed Protection Plan Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu KILLEEN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Lampasas River Watershed Partnership are offering a free training on septic system maintenance for homeowners from 6-8 p.m. Sept. 21. The class will be held at the […]

Nation’s researchers team up to improve, protect roses

COLLEGE STATION — People should be able to stop and smell the roses, not spray them, said Dr. David Byrne, Texas A&M AgriLife Research rose breeder in College Station. Byrne is part of two national specialty crop research projects aimed at toughening up roses’ ability to ward off diseases and other pestilences. He cited surveys […]

Livestock outlook, horticulture marketing highlight A&M ag economics tailgate Sept. 12

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging Issues in Livestock and Horticulture Marketing will be the featured seminar presentation scheduled from 1:30-2:30 p.m. Sept. 12 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities at the AgriLife Center in College Station. The AgriLife […]

Being a graduate student away from a university can stink but in a good way

BEAUMONT — The whiff of stink bugs was expected. Walking through farm fields in southeast Texas, an entomologist mainly uses vision to spot insects and relies on years of education and field experience to mentally catalog which are good bugs and which will sicken a farmer’s crop into devastation. But stink bugs are different. They, […]

Entomologists sniff out new stink bug to help soybean farmers control damage

BEAUMONT — Entomologists in Texas got a whiff of a new stink bug doing economic damage to soybeans in Texas and are developing ways to help farmers combat it, according to a report in the journal Environmental Entomology. Various types of stink bugs have long been a problem on soybean crops, but when sweeps of […]

Salt marsh on Texas coast gets an AgriLife Research helping hand

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Rusty Feagin, 979-862-2612, feaginr@tamu.edu Thomas Huff, thomas2013@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Troubled salt marshes, a crucial component of the Texas coast, recently got a helping hand from Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Texas A&M University. The work was coordinated by Dr. Rusty Feagin, an AgriLife Research coastal scientist in the […]

Plant doctors get to the root of plant stress in rice

BEAUMONT — Sitting in an air-conditioned office at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Beaumont, it’s obvious: People work better indoors when temperatures outside climb to the 90s while the blazing sun shimmers through waves of humidity on nearby experimental rice plots. The rice plants, however, can’t go inside. So, they stress. […]

Back-to-back sheep, goat events offer unique educational opportunity

  San Angelo events set Aug. 28-29 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “Something for everybody interested in sheep and goat production” best describes dual educational events slated for Aug. 28-29 in San Angelo, organizers said. “Committees planning both events have been tasked with providing information specific […]

Ram test starts Sept. 14 at San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The 2015-2016 annual Ram Performance Test conducted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research will begin Sept. 14 with delivery of the Rambouillet rams to the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, north of San […]

Old World bollworm could pose serious threat to more than cotton and corn

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Charles Allen, 653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Greg Sword, 979-862-1702, gasword@tamu.edu Dr. Pat Porter, 806-746-6101, pporter@ag.tamu.edu    SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife entomologists are advising producers about the possible arrival of a potential major new pest of field crops and vegetables in the U.S. if its ominous track-record in […]