Meat goats prove worth in six-year market study

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Rob Hogan, 830-278-9151, rhogan@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – A six-year Texas A&M AgriLife study proved what many West Texas stockmen know; properly managed meat goats are valuable property, no matter how many you have.    Bill Thompson, Texas A&M AgriLife […]

National Sheep Improvement Program can boost commercial, purebred producer profits

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-657-7324, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Stud ram selection within most sheep breeds has pretty much been a case of “luck of the draw” for all but a handful of traits, said the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state sheep and goat specialist. Dr. Reid […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Are red imported fire ants all bad?

Mostly, a Texas A&M-led team said, but not altogether Writer: Steve Byrns,  325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jessica Light, 979-458-4357, jlight2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Red imported fire ants have earned a justifiably bad rap across the south and most Texans would be hard put to name a single redeeming quality the ants have. But a team […]

Pathogens, insects in line to cause widespread post oak decline

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Appel, 979-845-8273, d-appel@tamu.edu Sheila McBride, 979-845-8032, s-mcbride3948@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — In the lush green landscape of a season with plentiful rain, memories of the record Texas drought of 2011 could fade. But hundreds of calls, emails and tree samples sent to the Texas Plant Diagnostic Lab in College Station […]

Water quality training Oct. 4 will focus on Lake O’ the Pines, Big Cypress watersheds

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Doug Weir, 903-665-2421, doug.weir@ag.tamu.edu Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, dr-reeves@tamu.edu JEFFERSON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and water management related to the Lake O’ the Pines and Big Cypress watersheds will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 4 at the Jefferson Tourism and Visitor Center, 305 E. Austin […]

More than 7,700 Texas jobs estimated to be added from expanded produce importation

COLLEGE STATION – Potential economic expansion of U.S. produce imports from Mexico could lead to an estimated 7,700 Texas jobs and an economic impact of $815.2 million to the Lone Star State. Economists with the Center for North American Studies at Texas A&M University in College Station conducted a study on the economic impacts of […]

Texas A&M awards endowed professorship to Briske

COLLEGE STATION – The Thomas M. O’Connor Endowed Professorship has been awarded to Dr. David D. Briske in the Texas A&M University department of ecosystem science and management in College Station, effective Sept. 1. Briske has demonstrated a level of competence and leadership in rangeland science through scholarly and professional activities that is above and […]

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 29 in Nacogdoches

NACOGDOCHES — The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Sept. 29 in Nacogdoches for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Attoyac Bayou watershed. The morning session will be at the Courthouse Annex, 203 W. Main St. The afternoon […]

Texas A&M awards endowed professorship to Kreuter

COLLEGE STATION – The Joan Negley Kelleher Endowed Professorship has been awarded to Dr. Urs Kreuter in the Texas A&M University department of ecosystem science and management, effective Sept. 1. Kreuter has demonstrated a high level of competence and leadership in range science through scholarly and professional activities above and beyond that normally expected of […]