Pesticide applicator class set for June 8 in Tarrant County

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — Training for Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator licenses will be held June 8 in the Fort Worth Room at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County. Training begins promptly at 5:30 p.m. and will be completed by 9:30 p.m. “The four-hour training […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

New AgriLife Extension fact sheet gives buzz on indoor flies

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – It’s getting close to fly season again and a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication will help people identify different types of indoor flies, understand their biology and, most importantly, learn how to eliminate them. “Next to ants, flies may be […]

AgriLife Research triticale program moving forward with new lines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Baker, 806-677-5600, JBaker@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Triticale, a cross between wheat and rye, might be an “extending” option for producers grazing cattle in the Rolling Plains, said Jason Baker, Texas A&M AgriLife Research senior research associate in Amarillo, who has been studying the crop since 2002. “If you are […]

AgriLife, Rio Farms host South Texas row crops field day May 24

MONTE ALTO  –  As South Texas row crops producers prepare to harvest what could be above-average yields this year, they’ll be gathering at an annual field day soon to learn more about plant breeding efforts for the future and the commodity market, organizers say. The Grain Sorghum, Corn, Sesame and Soybean Field Day will be […]

AgriLife Extension offers food handler safety courses June 11 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, Edavis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct two food safety  programs accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on June 11. The courses, both with the same curriculum, will be taught from 9:30-11:30 a.m. and again from 1:30-3:30 […]

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course set for Aug.1-3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After a historic run in beef cattle prices, producers are left with many decisions regarding the future of the cattle market, consumer demand and long-term weather projections, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle expert. These topics and more […]

AgriLife Extension offers Southern High Plains Scout School

  ‘Bug scout’ training set May 25 in Lubbock Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-746-6101, Suhas.Vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Southern High Plains Scout School on May 25 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1102 E. Farm-to-Market Road 1294, Lubbock. The training, […]

Beef cattle topics subject of  AgriLife Extension program in Brownwood

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a regional beef cattle program June 16 at the Brown County Fairgrounds located at 4206 U.S. Highway 377 S. in Brownwood. Registration will start at 8:30 a.m. and the program will follow at […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 26 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – Pricing wheat and cattle at profitable levels has been challenging during 2016, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agricultural economist. The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference on July 26 will cover how producers in the […]