High Country Beef and Range Management Update slated for May 6 in Marfa

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu MARFA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the High Country Beef and Range Management Update from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. May 6 at the Marfa National Bank, 301 S. Highland Ave. in Marfa. The multi-county program will be […]

Grant writing workshop helps researchers secure federal dollars

Contact. Dr. Craig Nessler, 979-845-8486, cnessler@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION— More than 70 researchers attended a recent grant writing workshop to obtain the necessary skills to successfully compete for and acquire large federal grants, officials said. The free workshop was hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research at the AgriLife Center at Texas A&M University, College Station. “In […]

Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at agricultural conference in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller will be one of several speakers at the 17th National Value-Added Agricultural Conference May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agricultural economics department at […]

AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Rebekah Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a third set of Quail Appreciation Days across Texas this spring for landowners, naturalists and others interested in actively stopping the decline of wild native quail through proper […]

Advanced metering infrastructure system workshops set for San Marcos, Waco

Contact: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu SAN MARCOS – Two advanced metering infrastructure system trainings for water utilities are set for May 6 in San Marcos and May 7 in Waco. The Texas Water Resources Institute, Texas A&M Engineering and Johnson Controls Inc. are sponsoring the workshops with the water institute and Johnson Controls presenting. The […]

Beef conference, tour set for April 28-29 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Hemphill County will host the 2015 Beef Conference and Ag Tour, which organizers hope will become an annual event, on April 28-29. “We wanted to create an event to assist cow/calf and beef producers with educational […]

Mill Creek watershed meeting set for April 27 in Bleiblerville

Contacts: Kara Matheney, 979-277-6212, kjmatheney@ag.tamu.edu Galen Roberts, 979-862-8070, galen.roberts@ag.tamu.edu   BLEIBLERVILLE — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board will have a meeting of the Mill Creek Watershed Partnership to continue the development of a watershed protection plan for Mill Creek. The meeting, which is free and open to […]

Wild turkey field day set for May 1 in Anderson County

AgriLife Extension, Texas Parks and Wildlife to conduct collaborative effort Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Truman Lamb, 903-723-3735, Truman.Lamb@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-865-2061, Andrew.James@ag.tamu.edu TENNESSEE COLONY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will conduct a multi-county Land Stewardship Practices for Wild Turkey Field Day from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. […]

Texas crop, weather for April 14, 2015

Cotton plantings a week to 10 days behind Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Only about 5 percent of Texas cotton is planted, down from the five-year average of 12 percent for this time of year, according to the latest weekly reports from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel across the state. But […]

AgriLife Extension plans insect scouting school April 23 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas Panhandle Scout School hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held April 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 Amarillo Blvd. West, Amarillo. The training is open to anyone interested in learning about […]