Planting sorghums early might help reduce sugarcane aphid damages

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, EBynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Every year is a learning year right now for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists and anyone else dealing with the sugarcane aphid, both on grain sorghum and forage sorghum in the Texas High Plains. “We have a lot more information about […]

Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Carr Ranch Gathering Oct.21 at the Bill and Dusty Carr Sale Facility, 6720 Farm-to-Market Road 97. The facility is located 8 miles west of Floresville. The program is free. Registration will be […]

Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — September has been designated National Preparedness Month and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is supporting preparedness efforts by offering tips to Texans on how they can prepare for and recover from a disaster or emergency. “This is a particularly good […]

Armyworms are on the march

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Armyworms are now on the march, decimating huge swaths of Texas crops and pastures, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist at San Angelo.                 Dr. Charles Allen said reports of damage are streaming into his office and to […]

Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School will be presented from 6-8 p.m. Oct. 18 at the Whitley Theological Center, 285 Oblate Drive in San Antonio. The school is being conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County, the Prairie […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Anthrax cases in Kinney County spur reminder to area landowners about the disease

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Emily Grant, 830-563-2442, Emily.Grant@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomeček, 325-650-3520, tomecek@tamu.edu BRACKETVILLE – Reports of about 30 cases of anthrax in deer at a Kinney County ranch by the Texas Animal Health Commission has revived interest in understanding the disease and how to prevent its spread, […]

Master Beekeeper program continues with fall testing Nov. 3 in Belton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mary Reed, 979-845-9713 or by email at mary.reed@tamu.edu BELTON — The Texas Master Beekeepers certification program’s fall test is open for apprentice and advanced level testing Nov. 3 in Belton, according to Texas Master Beekeeping Board member Mary Reed. The exam will be held at the Bell County Expo […]

Chronic wasting disease meetings set for Dalhart, Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Several chronic wasting disease informational meetings will be held in the Panhandle in September by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Animal Health Commission. These informational meetings, which will address chronic wasting disease management, new […]

Child Passenger Safety Week ends with free car seats, expert advice

AgriLife Extension to conduct free child passenger safety seat checks Sept. 23 Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contact: Joanne Ureste, 956-383-1026, Joanne.Ureste@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO —  Children don’t do well in car accidents, and according to statistics from the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, auto accidents are one of the leading causes of death for children. […]