Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation increases support of AgriLife Research programs in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, c-long@tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M AgriLife Research programs in Overton will expand with generous support from a long-time benefactor – the Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation. The foundation’s board of directors and the administration of AgriLife Research announced that a 446-acre farm on Texas Highway 135 […]

Bevers hanging up his AgriLife Extension marketing cap

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941 ext. 231, Stan.Bevers@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Stan Bevers has had a front row seat on the commodity and cattle market roller coaster for many years, but now he’s ready to step off. He will retire Aug. 31. Bevers has been an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Program for beginner farmers and gardeners set for Sept. 22-23

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – An educational event for beginning farmers and gardeners is set for Sept. 22-23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053 N. in Overton. The Beginning Farmer and Gardener Conference will feature several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Developing technology offers researchers advancement without man hours, machine harvesting

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s been said a picture is worth a thousand words. But for Dr. Seth Murray, the images captured by an unmanned aerial vehicle or self-propelled ground vehicle could be worth more than a thousand man hours. The images can then lead to […]

Fall armyworms are on the march

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Fall armyworms are on the march in parts of Texas. Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents in a few of the agency’s districts have reported increased armyworm activity in hayfields and pastures over the past few weeks. Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension forage […]

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate, seminar set Sept. 3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on the cotton, grain market outlook and a discussion on study abroad programs will be the featured seminar presentations scheduled from 10-11 a.m. Sept. 3 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities. The […]

Backyard Basics Expo set for Sept. 17 at Oppenheimer Academic Center

Workshops will emphasize homegrown, homemade foods   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Backyard Basics Expo from 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Sept. 17 at the San Antonio College Oppenheimer Academic Center, 1819 N. Main Ave. in San Antonio. The center is […]

Texas Master Naturalist program offers new printed curriculum

   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Pearl Meuth, 979-845-7294, mpmeuth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Master Naturalist program has a new training curriculum that’s hot off the press, a Texas A&M official said. Mary Pearl Meuth, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service associate at College Station who works with the statewide program affiliated […]

Beekeeping program slated for Sept. 8 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600 or drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will present To Bee or Not To Bee, an introductory program on beekeeping, from 10 a.m.-noon Sept. 8 at its office at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. Topics will include bee anatomy, society […]