Backyard Basics takes flight with ‘Raising Chickens’ May 3 in Aransas County

ROCKPORT   –  The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer Backyard Basics – Raising Chickens, from 10 a.m. to noon May 3 to help residents learn the best ways to raise chickens in the Coastal Bend and to build community support for families who want to raise laying hens. The class will be held at […]

Lampasas River Watershed riparian workshop set May 2

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu HAMILTON — The Lampasas River Watershed Partnership will host a “Proper Functioning Condition Riparian Workshop” May 16 at the Texas Game Warden Training Center, 4363 Farm-to-Market Road 1047, in Hamilton. Registration starts at 8 a.m., and the program is free and open to the public. Workshop programming begins at 8:30 […]

Range and Wildlife Management Field Day set for May 6 in Coryell County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu Brian Hays, 254-865-2061, bhays@tamu.edu   GATESVILLE—The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a multi-county Range and Wildlife Management Field Day May 6 in Coryell County for landowners interested in managing both wildlife and livestock. The field day is from 8 […]

AgriLife Extension plans insect scouting school May 9 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The first Texas Panhandle Scout School hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held May 9 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 Amarillo Blvd. West, Amarillo. The training is open to anyone interested in learning […]

Shedding new light on coffee

World Coffee Research using near infrared spectroscopy to ‘reflect’ on coffee origins COLLEGE STATION — World Coffee Research, part of the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture at Texas A&M University in College Station, is hoping to shed new light on the origin of Yemeni coffee through a genetic diversity study in conjunction with Sana’a […]

Concho Sheep and Goat Production Clinic slated for May 20 in Eden

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Brady Rose Evans, 325-732-4304, brady.evans@ag.tamu.edu   EDEN – The Concho Sheep and Goat Production Clinic, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been set for May 20 at the Multi-Purpose Center in Eden. Registration begins at 8 a.m. followed by the program at 9 a.m. Adjournment is […]

Texas crop, weather for April 22, 2014

Most peaches, pecans undamaged by the freeze; jury still out on wheat Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – There were varied reports of damage to wheat, forages and fruit and nut crops from the hard freeze on April 15 from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel throughout the Central, Rolling Plains, South Plains […]

AgriLife Extension to host tomato, pepper workshop May 8 in Amarillo

Experts to discuss growing and preserving  Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Amy Wagner, 806-373-0713, aewagner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A “Growing Tomatoes and Peppers” workshop will be hosted at 6:30 p.m. May 8 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Potter County at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, […]

Texas A&M University Stock Horse Team named 2014 National Champion

Contacts: Dr. Dennis Sigler, 979-862-3595, dsigler@tamu.edu Victoria Pilger, victoriapilger@tamu.edu LOVELAND, Colo. – The Texas A&M University Stock Horse team was named the 2014 National Champion Collegiate Stock Horse Team at the American Stock Horse Association Intercollegiate Championship Show held recently in Loveland, Colo. The Texas A&M team was undefeated throughout this season. The team also […]