Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 3

AgriLife Extension specialist: Recent rainfall improved soil conditions for the bulk of Texas’ cotton fields By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION — Most cotton fields in southern and eastern portions of the state are faring well and recent rains have improved soil moisture indexes in portions of West […]

Searcy selected incoming president-elect of the American Society of Ag and Biological Engineers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, ssearcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the biological and engineering department at Texas A&M University, College Station, has been selected as the president-elect of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Searcy will begin a three-year term at the close of […]

Military caregiving workshop May 4 to focus on communication

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Communication ‘In the Crunch’” is the next monthly military caregiving professional development webinar offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Military Program. The 60-minute webinar will begin at 10 a.m. May 4. The event is free and open […]

Georgetown 4-H team advances to national model rocketry finals

4-H Trail Blazers will travel to Washington D.C. for Team America Rocketry Challenge By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Janecka, wajsaj86@gmail.com GEORGETOWN — Members from the Georgetown 4-H Trail Blazers have qualified to compete in the national finals of the 14th annual Team America Rocketry Challenge. The team of Mark Janecka, Joshua Thayer and […]

Texas Rural Leadership Program conference set for June

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-45-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Ronnie McDonald, 979-845-7808, r-mcdonald@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — “Leading Together” is the theme for the Texas Rural Leadership Program conference set for June 21-23 at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk in San Antonio, according to Ronnie McDonald, program director. “This is an opportunity for people to meet fellow Texans who are […]

Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

Wildlife Symposium slated for May 11 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-224-0366, dale.rankin@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – A Wildlife Symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. May 11 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Atascosa County, 25 E. 5th St. in Leming. The symposium on wildlife is being coordinated by AgriLife Extension offices in […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]

AgriLife Research station at Sonora celebrated 100-year birthday in style

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu              SONORA – Mild temperatures and azure blue skies over recently rain-kissed green pastures all came together April 23 to greet the almost 400 supporters of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station who helped celebrate the facilities’ 100-year anniversary.            “It was a great day,” said […]