Stiles Farm Field Day features drone technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu THRALL – The future of drone technology and its potential uses in Central Texas Blacklands farming operations were featured at the Stiles Farm Field Day held recently in Thrall. The field day, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, showcased the latest in technological […]

AgriLife Extension law specialist: Agricultural leases need to be in writing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Get it in writing. That may be the single most important message conveyed at a series of Rancher Leasing Workshops, which culminated in Amarillo recently, according to presenters. The workshops were hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Oklahoma State University and […]

Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

2016 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2016 Texas Agricultural Custom Rate survey of regional and state rates charged for custom agricultural operations. “Each year, AgriLife Extension receives many requests for prevailing rates for certain kinds of work […]

23rd Northeast Texas Horticulture Field Day a hit with horticulture enthusiasts

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – Master Gardeners Linda Brown and Brenda Kinney sat in the shade behind the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center’s main building, waiting for barbecue lunch to be served Thursday. The duo drove from Harrison County to join more than 250 attendees at […]

AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

Oak wilt, other tree diseases examined at program in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-54752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. David Appel, 979-845-8373, d-appel@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Tree diseases, with oak wilt taking center stage, were the focus of the Tree Disease Identification and Management program held recently at the Urban Ecology Center at Phil Hardberger Park in San Antonio. More than 120 people, […]

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold meeting on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting July 7 in Palacios for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios Watershed stakeholder meeting will be at 1:30 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, 209 Lucas […]

Annual forage crop insurance sign-up deadline in July

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu\ AMARILLO – Although recent rains have livestock producers looking at green pastures, most know it can turn dry quickly and may want protection against drought loss on annual forage crops, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The first deadline to sign up for the Rainfall Index – […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]