Kay Ledbetter is an associate editor/communication specialist for Texas AgriLife Research and Texas AgriLife Extension Service in Amarillo & Vernon. She worked 23 years at the Amarillo Globe-News as a general assignments reporter, farm and ranch reporter and editor, and assistant regional editor before joining the Texas A&M System in 2005. She earned a bachelor of science degree at West Texas State University in Canyon. She is responsible for writing news releases and feature articles from science-based information generated or provided by Research & Extension faculty at the Texas AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Amarillo and at Vernon.

Back-to-back grain grading workshops set May 6-7 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The 25th consecutive year of grain grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will include two one-day trainings May 6-7, according to Dr. Steve Amosson, AgriLife Extension economist. Each day will begin with registration at 8:30 a.m. followed by […]

Arbor Day Horticulture Symposium set April 25 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – An inaugural Arbor Day Horticulture Symposium conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County is set for April 25. “This program was set up to try to aid home gardeners as we move into the spring and summer season,” said […]

‘Preserving the Harvest’ classes set for May in Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jeanene Montgomery, 806-537-3882, j-montgomery@tamu.edu PANHANDLE – A series of three “Preserving the Harvest” food preservation classes will be held during May by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service at the War Memorial Building, 500 Main St., Panhandle. The classes will begin at 9 a.m. and end around noon each day. […]

Cottage food handler class set for April 23 in Canyon

Amended law opens new markets for home-based food businesses Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Farrell, 806-468-5543, jrfarrell@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – Home cooks wanting to sell their products can attend a “Food Handlers Cottage Foods Class” accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on April 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Texas A&M AgriLife spring field day set May 14 at Chillicothe

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@aag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu Steven Sparkman, 940-663-5958, sdsparkman@tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Wheat, canola, triticale and cropping systems will be highlighted during a field day May 14 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Chillicothe Station, located south of Chillicothe on Farm-to-Market Road 392. The annual […]

Farm Bill Basics meeting set April 21 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 940-716-8610, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a “Farm Bill Basics” meeting April 21at the Region 9 Education Center, 301 Texas Loop 11 in Wichita Falls, according to David Graf, AgriLife Extension agent for Wichita County. “Even though there is a […]

Edwards Plateau ranchland program offered April 23-25 in Kerrville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu KERRVILLE –  “Protecting the Legacy of the Edwards Plateau” on April 23-25 in Kerrville will offer education to landowners and include Texas Department of Agriculture continuing education units, according to program planners. The three-day event, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and […]

Economics of using mesquite for electricity dependent on outside factors

AgriLife Research study identifies feasibility Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seong Park, 940-552-9941, scpark@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jim Ansley, 940-552-9941, jansley@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Using mesquite biomass for electricity generation may become economically feasible if ecological and agricultural factors are considered, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Research paper being published in the BioEnergy Research journal. […]

AgriLife Extension to host cattle, wildlife conference April 25 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: J.R. Sprague, 806-862-4601, h-sprague@tamu.edu Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, Scott.Strawn@ag.tamu.edu Michael Wilkes, 806-868-3191, mcwilkes@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – A Beef Cattle, Range and Wildlife Conference will be held April 25 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Hemphill County, 10865 Exhibition Center Road in Canadian. The AgriLife […]

Professional food manager certification training course set for April 14-15 in Dumas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sue Owens, 806-935-2593, csowens@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – A Professional Food Manager Certification Training course will be offered April 14-15 at the Moore County Annex, Room 100, 310 East First Street in Dumas, by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Moore County. Cost is $125 and includes training, materials and […]