Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]

AgriLife Extension’s South Plains District names new agents

  Wes Utley returns to Hockley County, Wade Howard transfers from Central Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service announced the addition of two agriculture and natural resources agents to its 20-county South Plains district. Wes Utley has resumed his former position as […]

AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team wins national 4-H wool judging contest

  National FFA contest top honor goes to Hondo FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu     SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H wool judging team nabbed the top spot to win the 56th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held recently in Sonora.   The contest and its […]

Range, brush program set for July 7 in Brownwood

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a range and brush management program beginning at 4 p.m. July 7 at the Brown County Fairgrounds, 4206 U.S. Highway 377 South in Brownwood. Scott Anderson, AgriLife Extension agent in Brown County, said the […]

New discovery may improve future mosquito control

  AgriLife Research scientist’s  paper outlines a new mechanism of sugar feeding aversion Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Patricia Pietrantonio,  979-845-9728, p-pietrantonio@tamu.edu                 COLLEGE STATION – Major rainfall across most of Texas triggering hordes of mosquitos coupled with seemingly constant mosquito-related Zika virus media reports from around the globe may have set the […]

AgriLife Extension sets June 17 beef cattle marketing, economics program in Abilene

  Program is final segment of the Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conclude their new Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series June 17 with Session 3, Marketing and Economics. The session will be at Abilene […]

AgriLife Extension’s Living Waters Conference July 13 in Junction

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Sam Silvers, 325-446-2620, gssilvers@ag.tamu.edu             JUNCTION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Living Waters Conference from 8 a.m.-2 p.m. July 13 at the Coke Stevenson Center, 440 N. U.S. Highway 83 in Junction. “We’ve had a wonderful spring with abundant moisture, but we […]

AgriLife Extension sets Texas Water Star Conference series in June

   Abilene, Midland, San Angelo to host water saving programs Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct three Texas Water Star Conferences in West Texas during June. Marvin Ensor, AgriLife Extension regional program leader at San Angelo, said the […]

Taylor retires after 32 years as superintendent of AgriLife Research station at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Charles “Butch” Taylor, 325-387-3217, angora@sonoratx.net               SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora just celebrated its 100 year anniversary and for almost half that time, its current superintendent has been a mainstay at the 3,462-acre facility south of Sonora.            But after a 45-year history […]