Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

AgriLife Extension sets more farm bill decision-aid meetings

  West Central, Far West Texas producers targeted Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel are blanketing the state with educational meetings for farmers on the intricacies of the new farm bill and West Texas is no exception, according to one of the […]

Pecos County pesticide workshop slated for Nov. 18 in Fort Stockton

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: David Disselhorst, 432-336-2541, david.disselhorst@ag.tamu.edu   FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Pecos County will conduct a Pesticide Management and Continuing Education Unit Workshop beginning at 8 a.m. Nov. 18 at the Pecos County Civic Center, 1674 Airport Drive in Fort Stockton. Individual […]

AgriLife Extension targets deer management calendar app in time for deer season

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Cathey, 979-845-7370, jccathey@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced a new deer management calendar app on the cusp of this year’s fast-approaching deer season. “The brand new White-tailed Deer Management Calendar is meant to help landowners, hunters and wildlife managers […]

Using the Internet to Grow Aquaculture Sales workshop slated for Dec. 11

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558,Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Aquaculturists serious about using the Internet and social media as an inexpensive way to bolster business should mark their calendars for the Dec. 11 workshop,  “Using the Internet to Grow Aquaculture Sales,” said the workshop’s coordinator. The workshop is being […]

AgriLife Extension sets South Plains farm bill decision-aid meetings

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service county agents will be conducting a series of farm bill decision-aid meetings across the South Plains during the next two months, said a keynote speaker for the meetings. Dr. Jackie Smith, AgriLife Extension economist at […]

Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

AgriLife Extension website features new aquaculture-related videos

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Aquaculture Fisheries and Pond Management website unveiled last January has added four new video releases to their growing “school” of free pond management resources, said the site’s creator. Dr. Todd Sink, AgriLife […]

Private Land Stewardship Field Day set for Nov. 5 in Coryell County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Chelsea Dorward, 254-386-3919, chelsea.dorward@ag.tamu.edu Heath Lusty, 512-556-8271, rhlusty@ag.tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu   COPPERAS COVE – Two state agencies and one federal agency will conduct a multi-county Private Land Stewardship Field Day Nov. 5 at two sites in Coryell County. The collaborating agencies […]

AgriLife Extension offers Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Multi-county event set for Oct. 28 in Sonora Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly on Oct. 28 at the Sutton County Civic Center in Sonora. Registration starts at 8:30 a.m., and […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 14 farm bill decision-making program in Roscoe

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Zachary Wilcox, 325-236-6912, s-wilcox@tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu   ROSCOE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a free farm bill decision-aid program for producers from 10 a.m.- noon Oct. 14 at the Roscoe Coop Gin in Roscoe. Zach Wilcox, AgriLife Extension agent in Nolan County, […]