Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Rekindled interest in prescribed fire sparks AgriLife Extension agent training

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu    SAN ANGELO – A rekindled interest in the use of prescribed fire as a tool for rangeland management has led a range expert to bring her agency’s personnel up to speed on the ancient practice. Dr. Morgan Russell, Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Permian Basin Cotton Conference slated March 1 in Big Spring

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu      Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu     BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Permian Basin Cotton Conference from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. March 1 at the G.C. Broughton Jr. Ag Complex in Big Spring. The complex is located at 2411 Echols […]

AgriLife Extension gears up for second Regional Sorghum Program

  Plainview event is set for March 3 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu PLAINVIEW – Plans are being finalized for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Regional Sorghum Program set for March 3 in Plainview. Danny Nusser, AgriLife Extension regional program leader for the North Region, said the free event […]

New AgriLife Extension entomologist fills South Plains post

  Dr. Suhas Vyavhare started Feb. 1 Writers: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-723-8446, suhas.vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Texas A&M University’s department of entomology and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomology project group announced the hiring of Dr. Suhas Vyavhare as the new AgriLife Extension cotton entomologist […]

AgriLife Extension names new Tom Green County 4-H agent

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Sherri “Jaye” Chasteen as the new 4-H youth development agent for Tom Green County effective Feb. 8. The announcement was made by Tom Green County Judge Steve Floyd and Marty Gibbs, AgriLife Extension […]

Two AgriLife Research entomologists co-author bedbug genome mapping paper

Editor’s note: the word bedbug in the journal article is split into two words, because that is the official common name recognized by the Entomological Society of America. However, AP style dictates it to be one word, hence it is one word throughout this release except in the official journal article title. Scientific journal Nature […]

AgriLife Extension names Kim Miles to Jones County family and consumer sciences post

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu ANSON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Kim Miles to the family and consumer sciences agent post in Jones County effective Feb. 1. The announcement was made by Jones County Judge Dale Spurgin and Marty Gibbs, AgriLife Extension’s West Central District administrator […]

High Plains Dairy Conference set for March 1-2 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu              LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, along with its counterparts in Oklahoma, New Mexico, Colorado and Kansas, will host the High Plains Dairy Conference set for March 1-2 at the Overton Hotel and Conference Center in Lubbock.            The conference […]

Yearlong AgriLife Extension wildlife educational series kicks off in San Angelo on Feb. 10

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu    SAN ANGELO – Two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service staffers are collaborating on a yearlong project aimed at providing wildlife education opportunities to West Texans. Josh Blanek, AgriLife Extension agent in Tom Green County, and Dr. John Tomecek, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist at […]

AgriLife Extension offers online wild pig distance education courses

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mark Tyson, 979-845-4698, mark.tyson@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is offering an online wild pig management course for landowners, land managers and others seeking information on feral swine. Mark Tyson, AgriLife Extension wildlife associate at College Station, said the course is divided into five […]