Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Texas Section, Society for Range Management annual meeting Oct. 7-9 at Marfa/Alpine

  Event will also include the Rancher’s Workshop slated for Oct. 6-7   Writer, Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu   MARFA – Educational field tours, international talks, a Rancher’s Workshop and social networking are all adding up to make the 65th Annual Texas Section, Society for Range Management’s annual meeting […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 7 farm bill decision-making program in Fort Stockton

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: David Disselhorst, 432-336-2541, david.disselhorst@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm bill producer education and decision aid program from 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Oct. 7 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Center, 1618 Airport Dr., Fort Stockton. “This program’s […]

AgriLife Extension names new feral hog/wildlife associate for Gatesville area

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Helcel, 254-248-0562, josh.helcel@ag.tamu.edu GATESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Josh Helcel as the new wildlife and fisheries associate at Gatesville, said Dr. Jim Cathey, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist in College Station. “Josh will provide educational programs and landowner assistance across the 13-county Cross […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 7 Beef Cattle and Range Tour at Post

Sept. 26, 2014       Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Greg Jones, 806-495-4400, gw-jones@tamu.edu   POST – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a multi-county Beef Cattle and Range Tour from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 7 at Post. The program will convene at the Post Community Center for the morning session, […]

Nature appreciation to highlight AgriLife Extension workshop

  Oct. 23 event set for Fort Davis   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-295-0342, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-249-0265, l-boswell@tamu.edu   FORT DAVIS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Presidio and Brewster/Jeff Davis counties and the Chihuahuan Desert Nature Center are collaborating on a Nature Appreciation Workshop set […]

AgriLife Extension names new District 7 administrator

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sg-ballabina@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Marty Gibbs as the new District Extension Administrator in District 7 effective Oct. 13. The announcement was made by Dr. Susan Ballabina, AgriLife Extension interim associate director for county programs […]

AgriLife Extension sets wheat/stocker cattle program for Oct. 14 in Cross Plains

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jerry Warren, 325-854-5835, jwarren@ag.tamu.edu Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu   CROSS PLAINS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a multi-county stocker cattle and wheat program beginning at 6 p.m. Oct. 14 at the Cross Plains Community Center, 108 North Beech St. in Cross Plains. The program […]

Sugarcane aphids confirmed on Southern High Plains

Floyd County find is region’s first   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, Contacts: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576,  ctallen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Pat Porter, 806-746-6101, p-porter@tamu.edu FLOYDADA — They’re hundreds of miles from the nearest sugarcane fields, nevertheless sugarcane aphids have now been positively identified in significant numbers on grain sorghum in Floyd County, said a Texas A&M AgriLife […]

AgriLife Extension sets two Concho Valley cotton field events

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Rick Minzenmayer, 325-365-5212,  r-minzenmayer@tamu.edu   BALLINGER – Concho Valley cotton producers will have two chances to learn what’s new in the West Texas cotton patch during upcoming field events in Runnels and Tom Green counties. The first is the Runnels County Turnrow Meeting set for 8:30 a.m. Sept. […]

Quail research ranch field day Sept. 26 to open on optimistic note

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu ROBY – “Restoration of Quail and Their Habitats” will be the theme of the 7th annual Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch Field Day set from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Sept. 26 at the ranch 11 miles west of Roby on U.S. Highway 180. The field […]