Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Turfgrass Field Day set for July 13 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Vikram Baliga 806-775-1680, vikram.b.baliga@gmail.com Robert Scott, 806-775-1680, rscott@ag.tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Lubbock is partnering with Texas Tech University’s department of plant and soil science to conduct their second annual Turfgrass Field Day July 13 in Lubbock. The event will start […]

AgriLife Extension’s Medina County 4-H team nabs national wool judging honors

National FFA winner is Seminole FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Medina County 4-H senior wool judging team took top honors for their efforts in winning the 55th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held in Sonora. The contest and its sister event, the 15th annual National […]

Sugarcane aphids make 2015 West Central Texas debut

AgriLife Extension expert advises due diligence in managing fast-moving pest Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Sugarcane aphid, the pest that devastated thousands of acres of grain and forage sorghum crops last year across the south, has again been spotted in West Central Texas, an expert warns. […]

Statewide Quail Symposium set for Sept. 16-18 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, Becky.Ruzicka@tamu.edu ABILENE – Organizers are urging quail enthusiasts to make plans to attend the Statewide Quail Symposium to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service on September 16-18. Plans are being finalized for the symposium, which will open with […]

Multi-agency San Saba County Conservation Expo set for July 16

Central Texas Conservation Partnership educational event to offer variety of topics Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Neal Alexander, 325-372-5416, n-alexander@tamu.edu SAN SABA – A mix of topics ranging from pecan tree management to fire ecology will be offered during the San Saba County Conservation Expo set from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. July 16 at the […]

Edible landscape is topic of AgriLife Extension program June 23 in Sterling City

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Chad Coburn, 325-378-3181, c-coburn@tamu.edu STERLING CITY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct an edible landscape program at 6 p.m. June 23 at the Sterling County Community Center in Sterling City. “Allison Watkins, AgriLife Extension horticulture agent in Tom Green County, will be our keynote speaker,” said […]

Range, pasture program set for July 6 in Brown County

Five Texas Department of Agriculture CEUs to be offered Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a range and pasture management program beginning at 5 p.m. July 6 at the Brown County Fairgrounds, 4206 U.S. Highway 377 South in Brownwood. “This program […]

Major sheep, goat events set Aug. 28-29 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Event organizers are urging producers to mark their calendars now so as not to miss two major upcoming sheep and goat industry educational opportunities slated for Aug. 28-29 at San Angelo. The first of the two is the annual Sheep and Goat […]

AgriLife Extension names new wildlife specialist

Dr. John Tomecek is headquartered at San Angelo Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Dr. John Tomecek as the new wildlife specialist headquartered at San Angelo. Dr. Jim Cathey, AgriLife Extension associate department head in the department of wildlife […]

Wet weather may trigger parasite problems for sheep/goat flocks

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – West Texas along with much of the state, has been in various stages of drought for so long that sheep and goat parasite problems may be the last thing on a producer’s mind. But with recent rains, stomach worms are likely […]