Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Big Country Beef Conference set Aug. 20 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Big Country Beef Conference is set for Aug. 20 in Abilene. The biennial conference starts with registration at 7:30 a.m. in the Big Country Hall next to the AgriLife Extension offices located on the grounds of the Taylor […]

Concho Valley Small Grain Workshop set for Aug. 19 in Lowake

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Joshua Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu LOWAKE – The Concho Valley Small Grain Workshop conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for Aug. 19 at the Lowake Community Center in Lowake. The community center is the red brick school building at 23860 Farm-to-Market Road 381. Registration starts […]

Wild Pig Management Workshop set for Aug.18 in Palo Pinto County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Helcel, 254-248-0562,  josh.helcel@ag.tamu.edu   PALO PINTO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Wild Pig Management Workshop for landowners and the general public from 7:45 a.m.-2 p.m. Aug. 18 at the AgriLife Extension office, 221 S. 5th Ave., Palo Pinto. “Many landowners are well aware […]

Dove Management Seminar set for Aug. 6 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu   ABILENE – With a banner hunting year shaping up thanks to bountiful rains over much of Texas, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is ushering in dove season with a Dove Management Seminar Aug. 6 in Abilene. The program, to be held at the […]

Expert: Chronic wasting disease containment demands vigilance, common sense

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – A positive case of chronic wasting disease was recently verified in a captive white-tailed deer in Medina County, and hunters are advised to learn precautionary measures. “Chronic Wasting Disease is a condition that affects the nervous system of deer, elk and […]

Plans are being finalized for two major sheep, goat events in San Angelo, Aug. 28-29

Back-to-back educational programs will address the changing industry Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – What organizers tout as the largest, most comprehensive sheep and goat production educational opportunity in recent times is coming to fruition.  A diverse and changing sheep and goat industry will highlight two back-to-back educational […]

Texas Master Naturalist program offers fall training opportunities

New applicants sought for volunteer program Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Pearl Meuth, 979-845-7294, mpmeuth@tamu.edu AUSTIN — Texas Master Naturalist program chapters across the state are conducting training classes this fall for volunteers wanting to learn about natural resource and conservation management. The Texas Master Naturalist program is comprised of 45 chapters across […]

AgriLife Extension names new Mason County agent

Micah Walker is new agriculture and natural resources hire Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576,s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu MASON – Micah Walker has been named the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for agriculture and natural resources in Mason County, according to a joint announcement made by Mason County Judge Jerry Bearden and Marty […]

Rain Barrel, Water Conservation Workshop slated Aug. 3 in Menard

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu MENARD – A hands-on rain barrel and water conservation workshop has been set from 9 a.m-noon Aug. 3 at the Murchison/Whitehead Memorial Youth Complex located just off U.S. Highway 190 West in Menard. The workshop is being conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Grazing Management Clinic set for Aug. 5 in Sonora

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The upcoming Grazing Management Clinic promises “grazing system solutions to improve grazing land, production, processes and function,” organizers said. The multi-agency clinic and tour is set for Aug. 5. The day will start with registration at 8:30 a.m. followed by the program from […]