Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

AgriLife Extension’s Taylor County Marketing Club invites producers to annual December meeting

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, ext.286, w-thompson@tamu.edu   ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Taylor County Marketing Club will host their annual December program, inviting anyone interested in agriculture to join the session, organizers said. “This year’s format is a little different than […]

AgriLife Extension offers estate planning workshop in Menard

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787,  lbrown@ag.tamu.edu   MENARD – The Texas AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm and ranch estate planning workshop from 9 a.m.-noon on Dec. 4 in the Murchison/Whitehead Memorial Building in Menard. Lisa Brown, AgriLife Extension agent in Menard County, said the featured speaker for […]

Trans-Pecos Big Buck tourney set for Nov. 28-Dec.15

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lainie Koch, 432-284-0048, jekoch@ag.tamu.edu   VAN HORN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Culberson County and the town of Van Horn will again conduct their popular Trans-Pecos Big Buck Tournament from Nov. 28-Dec.15, said an AgriLife Extension contest official. Lainie Koch, AgriLife Extension agent in […]

AgriLife Extension’s South Plains district hires three new county agents

  New agents added in Terry, Parmer and Scurry counties   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has added three new county agents to the South Plains district’s 20-county roster, said the district’s administrator. “Ronda White became the new AgriLife Extension family […]

AgriLife Extension sets second round of South Plains farm bill decision-aid meetings

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – The second round of farm bill decision-aid meetings conducted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service county agents across the South Plains during the next two months will begin Nov. 25, said a keynote speaker for the meetings. Dr. Jackie […]

Multi-county Land and Livestock Conference set for Dec. 3 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Brady Rose Evans, 325-732-4304, Brady.Evans@ag.tamu.edu Trevor Dickschat, 325-597-1295, trevor.dickschat@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4737, lisa.brown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Land and Livestock Conference on Dec. 3 at the Heart of Texas Event Center, 804 San Angelo Highway, Brady. The program, to be conducted […]

AgriLife Extension Range and Pasture Update Workshop set for Nov. 18 in Sonora

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Range and Pasture Workshop on Nov. 18 at the Sutton County Civic Center, 1700 N. Crockett Ave. in Sonora. The workshop, a joint program among the AgriLife Extension offices in […]

Texas A&M AgriLife garners USDA grants

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research have received $937,345 in grant monies from the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture for integrated pest management work, according to a recent […]

Two Lubbock-based Texas A&M AgriLife staffers garner national recognition

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dana Porter, 806-746-6101, d-porter@tamu.edu Jim Bordovsky, 806-746-6101, j-bordovsky@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – Helping farmers to better use microirrigation systems to sustainably irrigate their land during dry times has earned national recognition for two Texas A&M AgriLife staffers at Lubbock.     Dr. Dana Porter, Texas A&M AgriLife […]

AgriLife Extension sets more farm bill decision-aid meetings

  West Central, Far West Texas producers targeted Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel are blanketing the state with educational meetings for farmers on the intricacies of the new farm bill and West Texas is no exception, according to one of the […]