Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Corn and Sorghum Field Day set Sept. 3 in Swisher County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3726, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu    KRESS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Swisher County Ag Committee will conduct a Corn and Sorghum Field Day beginning at 9 a.m. Sept. 3 near Kress. John Villalba, AgriLife Extension agent in Swisher County, said participants should meet at the Swisher […]

AgriLife Extension to offer three-part ‘lunch experience’ in Kimble County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu  Contact: Sam Silvers, 325-446-2620, gssilvers@ag.tamu.edu JUNCTION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Kimble County will offer a three-part Educational Lunch Experience from noon to 1 p.m. Sept. 22-24 in the Kimble County Courthouse in Junction. “Participants can choose to attend one or all of the presentations,” said […]

It’s shaping up to be a jubilee quail year

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – From seemingly teetering on the brink of extinction to roaring back with a vengeance, wild quail seem to have made a miraculous comeback across Texas, said one wildlife expert. “The 2015-16 quail season is going to be the best we’ve […]

Experts: Sugarcane aphids hit High Plains hard

  Treatment threshold is lowered to reduce damage Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pat Porter, 806-746-6101, p-porter@tamu.edu    Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu              LUBBOCK – Sugarcane aphids have wasted no time in making themselves at home and becoming firmly entrenched across the High Plains, prompting a change in some recommendations on treatment, […]

Second annual Ranch/Stock Horse Short Course set for Sept. 19 in Alpine

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contacts: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-295-0342, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu    Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu                ALPINE – West Texas horsemen should saddle up and head for the second annual Ranch/Stock Horse Short Course set for Sept. 19 at the San Antonio Livestock Exposition Arena or “SALE” Arena at Sul Ross State […]

Nesting habitat is vital to healthy quail populations

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, Becky.Ruzicka@tamu.edu      DALLAS – Maintaining a healthy wild quail population hinges on the success of their annual production, because they are short lived and have a high mortality rate, said a Texas quail expert. “Without large numbers of new birds being added to […]

Wild pig management video series set for initial release Aug.18

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576 ,s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Mark Tyson, 979-845-4698, mark.tyson@ag.tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is aggressively taking steps to keep landowners abreast of the state’s ever-increasing feral hog population. A recent step is The Wild Pig Management Video Series. Mark Tyson and Josh Helcel, AgriLife Extension associates with […]

Wildfire season is here

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-657-7317, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – Wildfire season is here and there’s fuel to burn.            That’s the assessment of Dr. Morgan Russell, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service range specialist at San Angelo. She said during the week of Aug. 9, the Texas A&M Forest Service responded […]

Back-to-back sheep, goat events offer unique educational opportunity

  San Angelo events set Aug. 28-29 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “Something for everybody interested in sheep and goat production” best describes dual educational events slated for Aug. 28-29 in San Angelo, organizers said. “Committees planning both events have been tasked with providing information specific […]

Ram test starts Sept. 14 at San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The 2015-2016 annual Ram Performance Test conducted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research will begin Sept. 14 with delivery of the Rambouillet rams to the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, north of San […]