Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

AgriLife Extension sets South Plains farm bill decision-aid meetings

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service county agents will be conducting a series of farm bill decision-aid meetings across the South Plains during the next two months, said a keynote speaker for the meetings. Dr. Jackie Smith, AgriLife Extension economist at […]

Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

AgriLife Extension website features new aquaculture-related videos

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Aquaculture Fisheries and Pond Management website unveiled last January has added four new video releases to their growing “school” of free pond management resources, said the site’s creator. Dr. Todd Sink, AgriLife […]

Private Land Stewardship Field Day set for Nov. 5 in Coryell County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Chelsea Dorward, 254-386-3919, chelsea.dorward@ag.tamu.edu Heath Lusty, 512-556-8271, rhlusty@ag.tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu   COPPERAS COVE – Two state agencies and one federal agency will conduct a multi-county Private Land Stewardship Field Day Nov. 5 at two sites in Coryell County. The collaborating agencies […]

AgriLife Extension offers Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Multi-county event set for Oct. 28 in Sonora Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly on Oct. 28 at the Sutton County Civic Center in Sonora. Registration starts at 8:30 a.m., and […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 14 farm bill decision-making program in Roscoe

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Zachary Wilcox, 325-236-6912, s-wilcox@tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu   ROSCOE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a free farm bill decision-aid program for producers from 10 a.m.- noon Oct. 14 at the Roscoe Coop Gin in Roscoe. Zach Wilcox, AgriLife Extension agent in Nolan County, […]

Texas Section, Society for Range Management annual meeting Oct. 7-9 at Marfa/Alpine

  Event will also include the Rancher’s Workshop slated for Oct. 6-7   Writer, Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu   MARFA – Educational field tours, international talks, a Rancher’s Workshop and social networking are all adding up to make the 65th Annual Texas Section, Society for Range Management’s annual meeting […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 7 farm bill decision-making program in Fort Stockton

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: David Disselhorst, 432-336-2541, david.disselhorst@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm bill producer education and decision aid program from 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Oct. 7 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Center, 1618 Airport Dr., Fort Stockton. “This program’s […]

AgriLife Extension names new feral hog/wildlife associate for Gatesville area

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Helcel, 254-248-0562, josh.helcel@ag.tamu.edu GATESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Josh Helcel as the new wildlife and fisheries associate at Gatesville, said Dr. Jim Cathey, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist in College Station. “Josh will provide educational programs and landowner assistance across the 13-county Cross […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 7 Beef Cattle and Range Tour at Post

Sept. 26, 2014       Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Greg Jones, 806-495-4400, gw-jones@tamu.edu   POST – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a multi-county Beef Cattle and Range Tour from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 7 at Post. The program will convene at the Post Community Center for the morning session, […]