Subjects: All center issues/topics; Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; Entomology. Locations: San Angelo, Ft. Stockton, Pecos, Lubbock

Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland

Organizers: Speaker lineup includes the best in the business Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu MIDLAND – Horse enthusiasts of all genres should make tracks to the Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland, according to organizers who promise to feature some of the top equine experts […]

Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day set for May 16 in Winkler County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Caleb Eaton, 432-943-2682, cleaton@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Necessary, 432-524-1421, amanda.necessary@ag.tamu.edu Dena Floyd, 432-586-2593, dena.floyd@ag.tamu.edu KERMIT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. May 16 on the YT Ranch near Kermit. Caleb Eaton, AgriLife Extension agent in Ward County and […]

Rolling Plains Quail Appreciation Day set May 1 in Stamford

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jason Westbrook, 940-864-2658, jason.westbrook@ag.tamu.edu Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu   STAMFORD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Jones and Haskell counties will conduct the 2015 Rolling Plains Quail Appreciation Day from 8:30 a.m. – 3:45 p.m. May 1 at the Bunkhouse, located west of U.S. Highway […]

Veteran AgriLife Extension entomologist retires

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Rick Minzenmayer, 325-365-5212, r-minzenmayer@tamu.edu   BALLINGER – Richard “Rick” Minzenmayer, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service integrated pest management entomologist for Runnels and Tom Green counties, will retire April 27, culminating a 30-year career with the agency. Minzenmayer has held his current position, which also includes parts of Concho and […]

Big Country’s Multi-County Wheat Tour slated for May 1

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Multi-County Wheat Tour beginning at 8:30 a.m. May 1 at the Taylor County variety plots located off State Highway 351 on County Road 52, also known as Mesquite Lane. Robert Pritz, AgriLife Extension agent […]

High Country Beef and Range Management Update slated for May 6 in Marfa

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu MARFA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the High Country Beef and Range Management Update from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. May 6 at the Marfa National Bank, 301 S. Highland Ave. in Marfa. The multi-county program will be […]

AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Rebekah Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a third set of Quail Appreciation Days across Texas this spring for landowners, naturalists and others interested in actively stopping the decline of wild native quail through proper […]

Wild turkey field day set for May 1 in Anderson County

AgriLife Extension, Texas Parks and Wildlife to conduct collaborative effort Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Truman Lamb, 903-723-3735, Truman.Lamb@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-865-2061, Andrew.James@ag.tamu.edu TENNESSEE COLONY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will conduct a multi-county Land Stewardship Practices for Wild Turkey Field Day from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. […]

AgriLife Extension sets Plant Appreciation Day at quail ranch

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu     ROBY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Plant Appreciation Day May 29 at the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch, located 10 miles west of Roby on U.S. Highway 180. The day starts with registration at […]

Wolfforth Water Expo set for May 9

  ‘Water – It Matters’ is theme of AgriLife Extension, High Plains Water District event Writers: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Vikram Baliga, 806-775-1740, Vikram.Baliga@ag.tamu.edu   WOLFFORTH – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will help conduct the second annual Wolfforth Water Expo from 10:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 9 at Frenship High School. The event […]