Small grain production programs to be Aug. 30 in Uvalde, Aug. 31 in Rio Medina

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Swift, 830-278-9151, ext. 281, twswift@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present two opportunities for small grain producers to attend production programs. The first will be Aug. 30 at the Uvalde County Fairplex Auditorium, 122 Veterans Lane in Uvalde.  The second will be Aug. 31 […]

East Texas Garden Lecture Series will continue Sept. 10 in Tyler

 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Learn your beneficial and pest insects Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu TYLER — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Smith County will continue its 2016 East Texas Garden Lecture Series Sept. 10 with a program on beneficial and pest insects. Erfan […]

Landowner considerations will be focus of Sept. 20 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Bexar County Extension Beef Cattle Committee will present a Considerations for Landowners program from 6-8 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Bexar County. The office is located in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square business […]

‘Managing for Today and Tomorrow’ course for farming women begins Sept. 1 in Fort Worth

Contacts: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946; fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – A new Annie’s Project course to educate farming women about transitioning farm and ranch operations to the next generation will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tarrant County on Sept. 1. “Creating a transition plan to make sure a farm continues as a […]

Backyard poultry biosecurity webinar set for Aug. 11

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946; fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – As we move into cooler temperatures this fall, backyard flock owners will step up biosecurity and best management practices to protect their flocks. “Cooler temperatures mean a renewed concern for lots of poultry diseases, especially avian influenza,” said Fred Hall, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in […]

Annual East Texas Regional Forage Conference set for Aug. 25 in Marshall

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Randy Reeves, 903-758-3345, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu MARSHALL — The annual East Texas Regional Forage Conference has been set for Aug. 25  in Marshall. The event is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service District 5 County Agricultural Agents Association. The conference begins at 8:30 a.m. with registration and ends at […]

Northeast Texas grape growers gather in Harleton to learn, share

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu HARLETON — Altus Koegelenberg, owner and operator of Enoch’s Stomp Vineyard and Winery in Harleton, planted his first vine in 2005 when growing wine grapes in East Texas was a fledgling idea. In little more than a decade, he has expanded the vineyard to include […]

East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference to offer tips, tricks for amateur and expert growers

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON — The inaugural East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference will offer professional and amateur producers tips on everything from wildlife management to vegetable and fruit production and marketing. The event will be Aug. 19 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, […]

AgriLife Extension in Bexar, Wilson counties to begin hay testing campaign

Samples submitted from Aug. 1-31 will be analyzed at reduced cost Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts:  Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.Womble@ag.tamu.edu Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO –The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Bexar and Wilson counties will hold a forage testing campaign for hay from Aug. 1-31. During this campaign, hay samples will […]

23rd Northeast Texas Horticulture Field Day a hit with horticulture enthusiasts

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – Master Gardeners Linda Brown and Brenda Kinney sat in the shade behind the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center’s main building, waiting for barbecue lunch to be served Thursday. The duo drove from Harrison County to join more than 250 attendees at […]