Beef Quality Assurance training set for June 21 in Center

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lane Dunn, 936-598-7744, jldunn@ag.tamu.edu CENTER — A Beef Quality Assurance Training will be held June 21 in Center. The training is a collaborative effort between the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and Texas Beef Council. The program will be held at the John […]

Pesticide applicator class set for June 8 in Tarrant County

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — Training for Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator licenses will be held June 8 in the Fort Worth Room at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County. Training begins promptly at 5:30 p.m. and will be completed by 9:30 p.m. “The four-hour training […]

Agricultural workshop for military slated for June 4 in Elmendorf

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Pilosi-Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, empilosi@ag.tamu.edu ELMENDORF — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, in cooperation with the Texas AgrAbility Project and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, will present an agriculture workshop designed for active duty and veteran military service members on June 4 in Elmendorf. The program will be held from 8 […]

Poultry program set for May 31 in Tarrant County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – A backyard poultry program will be held from 6-7:30 p.m. May 31 in the Fort Worth Room of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County, 200 Taylor St., Suite 500 in Fort Worth. The event is free and open […]

Multi-county field day emphasizes good land, animal stewardship

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu Jeff Hanselka, 830-303-3889, jeff.hanselka@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, robert.lyons@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Paschal, 361-265-9203. joe.paschal@ag.tamu.edu NEW BERLIN — “If I were to describe today’s event, I’d say it was beef cattle producers from four different counties getting together to learn how to be even better stewards […]

AgriLife Extension experts: Time for pecan growers to scout, treat for casebearer

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-267-9151, lstein@ag.tamu.edu Bill Ree, 979-845-6800, w-ree@tamu.edu UVALDE – Now is the time for pecan growers to look for and possibly spray to kill an insect pest that poses a threat to their crop, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts. “One of the most destructive infesting […]

Multi-county Beef Cattle Field Day set for May 13 in New Berlin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jeff Hanselka, 830-303-3889, j-hanselka@tamu.edu NEW BERLIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Wilson, Comal, Bexar and Guadalupe counties will host a Beef Cattle Field Day May 13 near New Berlin. Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m. and the field day will be held from 9 a.m. […]

Beef, forage symposium and cattleman’s meeting set for May 10 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Atascosa, Bexar, Frio and Wilson counties and the Atascosa Cattleman’s Association will present a Beef and Forage Educational Symposium and the association’s annual meeting May 10 in Leming. The symposium will be from 9 a.m. to […]

Agricultural workshop for military, others slated for May 7 in College Station

COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, in cooperation with the Texas AgrAbility Project and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, will present an agriculture workshop designed for active duty and veteran military service members May 7 in College Station. The free program will be from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. at Millican Reserve, 19851 Farm-to-Market […]

Small acreage farm equipment field day set April 30 in Cameron

  OVERTON — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a field day to discuss small equipment and production methods for small acreage farms. The event will be at Sand Creek Farm, 1552 County Road 267 in Cameron, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. April 30. Dr. Joe Masabni, AgriLife Extension vegetable specialist at […]