Master Beekeeper program continues with fall testing Nov. 3 in Belton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mary Reed, 979-845-9713 or by email at mary.reed@tamu.edu BELTON — The Texas Master Beekeepers certification program’s fall test is open for apprentice and advanced level testing Nov. 3 in Belton, according to Texas Master Beekeeping Board member Mary Reed. The exam will be held at the Bell County Expo […]

Backyard Basics Expo helps people learn self-reliance, preserve the past

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the Oppenheimer Academic Center at San Antonio College. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, emphasizes self-reliance and the production, preparation and […]

Chickens in Your Backyard program hatches Oct. 13 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-845-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will host a Chickens in Your Backyard program from 10 a.m. – noon Oct. 13 at its office at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. “Many people benefit from the fun and rewarding experience of […]

Texas AgrAbility agriculture program to be held Oct. 15 in Laredo

Free workshop designed for current, veteran military service members, others LAREDO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, in cooperation with the Texas AgrAbility Project and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, will present an agriculture workshop for active duty and veteran military service members Oct. 15 in Laredo. The free workshop, From Battleground to Breaking Ground: […]

Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

Borlaug Institute collaborating with other agricultural institutions to help Afghan farmers

Contact: Dr. Tim Davis, 979-847-5887, t-davis5@tamu.edu Dr. Elsa Murano, 979-845-4164, elsa.murano@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Over the past two years, the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, has been working with other U.S. land-grant universities to help improve the lives and livelihoods of farmers in Afghanistan. Through the U.S. Agency […]

Program for beginner farmers and gardeners set for Sept. 22-23

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – An educational event for beginning farmers and gardeners is set for Sept. 22-23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053 N. in Overton. The Beginning Farmer and Gardener Conference will feature several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Small grain production programs to be Aug. 30 in Uvalde, Aug. 31 in Rio Medina

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Swift, 830-278-9151, ext. 281, twswift@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present two opportunities for small grain producers to attend production programs. The first will be Aug. 30 at the Uvalde County Fairplex Auditorium, 122 Veterans Lane in Uvalde.  The second will be Aug. 31 […]

East Texas Garden Lecture Series will continue Sept. 10 in Tyler

 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Learn your beneficial and pest insects Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu TYLER — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Smith County will continue its 2016 East Texas Garden Lecture Series Sept. 10 with a program on beneficial and pest insects. Erfan […]

Landowner considerations will be focus of Sept. 20 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Bexar County Extension Beef Cattle Committee will present a Considerations for Landowners program from 6-8 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Bexar County. The office is located in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square business […]