AgriLife researcher takes close look at ‘inflamm-aging’

Study examines role of ghrelin receptor in fat tissue inflammation and insulin resistance   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yuxiang Sun, 979-862-9143, Yuxiang.Sun@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists have proposed that inflammation is the harbinger of aging and central to the aging process, a phenomenon described as ‘inflamm-aging,’ said Dr. Yuxiang Sun. Sun, a faculty […]

Summer activities help military 4-H kids focus on the future

Aug. 11, 2016 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nora Tapia, 210-631-0400, Nora.tapia@ag.tamu.edu David Wright, 254-774-6024, david.wright@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While many youth may spend too much of their summer indoors and put education on hold, those in the Military 4-H program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County have a summer […]

Church garden in Dallas helps people grow in togetherness

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stephen Hudkins, 214-952-0619,  Stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu Jeff Raska, 214-904-3050, jwraska@ag.tamu.edu Rev. Anthony Nolan, 214-288-0566, abnolan@sbcglobal.net Lisa Patterson, lisaapatterson@att.net DALLAS – More than plants have taken root in the raised beds situated behind Paradise Missionary Baptist Church. Along with the vegetables in the community garden at this house of worship in the […]

Williamson County residents invited to Step Up and Scale Down with 12-week program

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Williamson County will kick off a Step Up and Scale Down program Aug. 12 for county residents interested in getting to a healthier weight. The 12-week program consists of weekly lessons, weigh-ins and challenges to stay on […]

Mid-South Ruminant Nutrition Conference slated for Aug. 17-18 in Grapevine

Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu GRAPEVINE — The Mid-South Ruminant Nutrition Conference will be held Aug. 17-18 at the Embassy Suites Hotel, 2401 Bass Pro Drive in Grapevine. The program is presented by the Texas Animal Nutrition Council and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in cooperation with various cattle and dairy industry […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]

Lufkin program to help residents fight diabetes set for May 19-June 16

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Redus, 936-632-8239, joel.redus@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN — Diabetes is not curable, but it is manageable, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent Joel Redus, who serves Angelina County. AgriLife Extension will offer the Do Well, Be Well with Diabetes educational program in Angelina County to help […]

East Austin Garden Fair to take root April 16

AUSTIN – The 10th annual East Austin Garden Fair: A Passion for Plants will take place from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. April 16 at the Parque Zaragoza Recreation Center, 2608 Gonzales St. in Austin. The fair is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Travis County Master Gardeners and Austin Parks and Recreation. […]

Study shows dried plums provide protection from bone loss due to radiation

COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Nancy Turner, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist in College Station, was one of a team of researchers who recently studied different interventions to protect from radiation-induced bone loss. Their paper, “Dried Plum Protects from Bone Loss Caused by Ionizing Radiation,” was recently published in Scientific Reports and can be found […]

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers receive cancer prevention research award

Chapkin, three others receive award to investigate colorectal cancer prevention COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Robert Chapkin, distinguished professor, Regents Professor and Texas A&M AgriLife Senior Faculty Fellow in the department of nutrition and food science, and three other Texas A&M researchers have received a research award for prevention and early detection of cancer. The award […]