Backyard Basics Expo helps people learn self-reliance, preserve the past

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the Oppenheimer Academic Center at San Antonio College. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, emphasizes self-reliance and the production, preparation and […]

Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

AgriLife Extension to present home food preservation workshop Oct. 1 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605, sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will present a food preservation workshop from 9:30 a.m.-noon Oct. 1 at its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The program will cover the basics of drying vegetables, fruits and herbs, said […]

AgriLife researcher takes close look at ‘inflamm-aging’

Study examines role of ghrelin receptor in fat tissue inflammation and insulin resistance   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yuxiang Sun, 979-862-9143, Yuxiang.Sun@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists have proposed that inflammation is the harbinger of aging and central to the aging process, a phenomenon described as ‘inflamm-aging,’ said Dr. Yuxiang Sun. Sun, a faculty […]

Summer activities help military 4-H kids focus on the future

Aug. 11, 2016 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nora Tapia, 210-631-0400, Nora.tapia@ag.tamu.edu David Wright, 254-774-6024, david.wright@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While many youth may spend too much of their summer indoors and put education on hold, those in the Military 4-H program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County have a summer […]

Church garden in Dallas helps people grow in togetherness

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stephen Hudkins, 214-952-0619,  Stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu Jeff Raska, 214-904-3050, jwraska@ag.tamu.edu Rev. Anthony Nolan, 214-288-0566, abnolan@sbcglobal.net Lisa Patterson, lisaapatterson@att.net DALLAS – More than plants have taken root in the raised beds situated behind Paradise Missionary Baptist Church. Along with the vegetables in the community garden at this house of worship in the […]

Williamson County residents invited to Step Up and Scale Down with 12-week program

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Williamson County will kick off a Step Up and Scale Down program Aug. 12 for county residents interested in getting to a healthier weight. The 12-week program consists of weekly lessons, weigh-ins and challenges to stay on […]

Mid-South Ruminant Nutrition Conference slated for Aug. 17-18 in Grapevine

Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu GRAPEVINE — The Mid-South Ruminant Nutrition Conference will be held Aug. 17-18 at the Embassy Suites Hotel, 2401 Bass Pro Drive in Grapevine. The program is presented by the Texas Animal Nutrition Council and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in cooperation with various cattle and dairy industry […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]

Lufkin program to help residents fight diabetes set for May 19-June 16

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Redus, 936-632-8239, joel.redus@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN — Diabetes is not curable, but it is manageable, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent Joel Redus, who serves Angelina County. AgriLife Extension will offer the Do Well, Be Well with Diabetes educational program in Angelina County to help […]