It’s shaping up to be a jubilee quail year

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – From seemingly teetering on the brink of extinction to roaring back with a vengeance, wild quail seem to have made a miraculous comeback across Texas, said one wildlife expert. “The 2015-16 quail season is going to be the best we’ve […]

Nesting habitat is vital to healthy quail populations

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, Becky.Ruzicka@tamu.edu      DALLAS – Maintaining a healthy wild quail population hinges on the success of their annual production, because they are short lived and have a high mortality rate, said a Texas quail expert. “Without large numbers of new birds being added to […]

Wild pig management video series set for initial release Aug.18

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576 ,s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Mark Tyson, 979-845-4698, mark.tyson@ag.tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is aggressively taking steps to keep landowners abreast of the state’s ever-increasing feral hog population. A recent step is The Wild Pig Management Video Series. Mark Tyson and Josh Helcel, AgriLife Extension associates with […]

Couple ‘pays it forward’ through their wildlife operation

September 16 tour of Albany’s Trail Ranch to highlight upcoming statewide quail fete Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu   ALBANY – Practicing what they preach and what they’ve learned best describes Justin and Tamara Trail, owners of the Trail Ranch, a wildlife operation near Albany. Dr. Dale Rollins, […]

Chronic Wasting Disease program set Aug. 11 in Hondo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Derrick Drury, 830-741-6180, derrick.drury@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu HONDO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, in cooperation with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, will conduct a townhall-style informational program on chronic wasting disease from 4-7 p.m. Aug. 11 at the St. Paul Lutheran Church, 1303 Ave. […]

Dove program set for Aug. 25 near Coleman

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Palmer, 325-625-4519, m-palmer@tamu.edu COLEMAN – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a dove program on Aug. 25 at the Lake Coleman Volunteer Fire Department Community Center, 140 Scenic Drive in Coleman. “Coleman County traditionally has some of the best dove hunting in the state, and with dove […]

Wild Pig Management Workshop set for Aug.18 in Palo Pinto County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Helcel, 254-248-0562,  josh.helcel@ag.tamu.edu   PALO PINTO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Wild Pig Management Workshop for landowners and the general public from 7:45 a.m.-2 p.m. Aug. 18 at the AgriLife Extension office, 221 S. 5th Ave., Palo Pinto. “Many landowners are well aware […]

Dove Management Seminar set for Aug. 6 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu   ABILENE – With a banner hunting year shaping up thanks to bountiful rains over much of Texas, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is ushering in dove season with a Dove Management Seminar Aug. 6 in Abilene. The program, to be held at the […]

AgriLife Extension names new wildlife specialist

Dr. John Tomecek is headquartered at San Angelo Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Dr. John Tomecek as the new wildlife specialist headquartered at San Angelo. Dr. Jim Cathey, AgriLife Extension associate department head in the department of wildlife […]

AgriLife Extension sets Garza County Quail Appreciation Day

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Greg Jones, 806-495-4400, gw-jones@tamu.edu POST – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Quail Appreciation Day beginning at 8:30 a.m. May 28 at the Chimney Creek Ranch, 598 Chimney Creek Road near Post. “The goal of the program is to instill an appreciation and understanding of the […]