Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

QuickBooks training set for August in Amarillo, September in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course Aug. 24-25 and Aug. 29-30 in Amarillo, and then again Sept. 8-9 in Lubbock. The two-day trainings will run from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day at […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

Texas Forest Country planning Stronger Economies Together program

Contact: Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A group of East Texas counties in the Texas Forest Country region has been selected by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development to participate in the Stronger Economies Together program. The program is designed to help multi-county teams strengthen skills and resources for collaborating on economic […]

North Texas Farm-to-Table program brings local producers, buyers together

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Rick Maxwell, 903-737-2443, rick.maxwell@ag.tamu.edu McKINNEY – The North Texas Farm-to-Table program provides opportunities for local agricultural producers to meet with area restaurateurs, chefs and others, understand their needs  and provide them with fresh, high-quality locally grown agricultural items, program coordinators said. “North Texas […]

AgriLife Extension law specialist: Agricultural leases need to be in writing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Get it in writing. That may be the single most important message conveyed at a series of Rancher Leasing Workshops, which culminated in Amarillo recently, according to presenters. The workshops were hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Oklahoma State University and […]

AgriLife Extension offers marketing assistance for agricultural entrepreneurs

WESLACO – Organizers say the first in a series of events designed to help new, small-acreage South Texas agricultural producers will begin later this month with the workshop, Marketing Strategies for Local Growers. The free workshop will be held from 5:30-8:30 p.m. June 30 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Weslaco, […]

Central America Summit to ponder sustainable food production

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Elsa Murano, 979-862-4551, eamurano@tamu.edu         FORT WORTH — A summit aimed at developing strategic recommendations on strengthening the agriculture sector in Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador will be conducted June 27-29, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture.         The Central America Summit: […]

Mazurkiewicz receives Medal of Merit from Republic of Poland

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, Regents Fellow and director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been awarded the Medal of Merit from the Republic of Poland. Mazurkiewicz was presented the highest honor given to […]

AgriLife Extension crop and livestock budget spreadsheets now available

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jerry Cornforth, 979-458-1804, cornforth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have updated crop and livestock budgets for 2016 to help farmers and ranchers plan and calculate expense and profit estimates for the current year. The budgets are available in spreadsheet format at http://bit.ly/1TZd7wA . “The […]