Bevers hanging up his AgriLife Extension marketing cap

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941 ext. 231, Stan.Bevers@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Stan Bevers has had a front row seat on the commodity and cattle market roller coaster for many years, but now he’s ready to step off. He will retire Aug. 31. Bevers has been an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate, seminar set Sept. 3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on the cotton, grain market outlook and a discussion on study abroad programs will be the featured seminar presentations scheduled from 10-11 a.m. Sept. 3 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities. The […]

Future Texas agriculture leaders begin two-year study

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program recently held in College Station Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Josh Louder stood in amazement, watching the speed and efficiency of local watermelons being sorted and packed by a team of personnel at a facility near College Station recently. Louder, like […]

Landowner considerations will be focus of Sept. 20 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Bexar County Extension Beef Cattle Committee will present a Considerations for Landowners program from 6-8 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Bexar County. The office is located in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square business […]

Financial preparedness ‘train-the-trainer’ workshop set for Aug. 30 in Weatherford

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 80-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kathy Smith, 817-598-6168, Kathy.Smith@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – “Your Money, Your Goals” is a train-the-trainer workshop to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Parker County. The workshop will be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Aug. 30 at the AgriLife Extension office, 604 N. Main St., […]

Texas A&M scientist plays key role in new technology poised to make major cotton industry contribution

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Greg Sword, 979-862-1702, gasword@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION—The dream of many Texas cotton farmers plagued by dwindling irrigation water and drought might be to someday produce more fiber using the same amount of water. That dream is fast becoming reality now thanks to a commercially available seed treatment from […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

QuickBooks training set for August in Amarillo, September in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course Aug. 24-25 and Aug. 29-30 in Amarillo, and then again Sept. 8-9 in Lubbock. The two-day trainings will run from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day at […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

Texas Forest Country planning Stronger Economies Together program

Contact: Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A group of East Texas counties in the Texas Forest Country region has been selected by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development to participate in the Stronger Economies Together program. The program is designed to help multi-county teams strengthen skills and resources for collaborating on economic […]