Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Wilting U.S. cut flower industry could perk up with more university research

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-3277, c-hall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. cut flower industry all but wilted over the past 20 years, but much of the loss stems from lack of progress, which could blossom under more university research, according to Jim Daly, keynoter at the Ellison Chair in International […]

More than 7,700 Texas jobs estimated to be added from expanded produce importation

COLLEGE STATION – Potential economic expansion of U.S. produce imports from Mexico could lead to an estimated 7,700 Texas jobs and an economic impact of $815.2 million to the Lone Star State. Economists with the Center for North American Studies at Texas A&M University in College Station conducted a study on the economic impacts of […]

Smart Growth Workshop to be held Sept. 20 in Seguin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority will present the Smart Growth Workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Irma Lewis Seguin Outdoor Learning Center, 1865 U.S. Highway 90 E. in Seguin. The workshop is free and will […]

New Texas A&M center to protect key international coffee industry

Writer: Jeff Pool, 979-845-6597, jeff.pool@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Leo Lombardini, 979-845-3763, l-lombardini@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Texas A&M University administrators and researchers are stepping up efforts to protect a worldwide multibillion dollar-a-year industry. Coffee is the main source of income for about 100 million people across the globe. The industry has a retail value estimated at $30-32 […]

Bevers hanging up his AgriLife Extension marketing cap

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941 ext. 231, Stan.Bevers@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Stan Bevers has had a front row seat on the commodity and cattle market roller coaster for many years, but now he’s ready to step off. He will retire Aug. 31. Bevers has been an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate, seminar set Sept. 3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on the cotton, grain market outlook and a discussion on study abroad programs will be the featured seminar presentations scheduled from 10-11 a.m. Sept. 3 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities. The […]

Future Texas agriculture leaders begin two-year study

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program recently held in College Station Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Josh Louder stood in amazement, watching the speed and efficiency of local watermelons being sorted and packed by a team of personnel at a facility near College Station recently. Louder, like […]

Landowner considerations will be focus of Sept. 20 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Bexar County Extension Beef Cattle Committee will present a Considerations for Landowners program from 6-8 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Bexar County. The office is located in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square business […]

Financial preparedness ‘train-the-trainer’ workshop set for Aug. 30 in Weatherford

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 80-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kathy Smith, 817-598-6168, Kathy.Smith@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – “Your Money, Your Goals” is a train-the-trainer workshop to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Parker County. The workshop will be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Aug. 30 at the AgriLife Extension office, 604 N. Main St., […]