Four inducted into Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry at Texas A&M

  Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Rister, 979-845-3801, e-rister@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Four business professionals were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University during a reception and dinner at the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM ’56 Equine Complex. Dr. Ed Rister, […]

Landing state and local government contracts topic of Edinburg training

EDINBURG  —  Business owners wanting to provide goods and services to state and local governments are encouraged to attend the upcoming Businesses in Development Certification Program beginning May 27 in Edinburg. Ronnie Zamora, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Willacy County, said the free program is designed to help Historically Underutilized Businesses, also […]

Future of the cattle market, trends to be featured at 2015 Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 3-5

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Historic high prices in the cattle market and future trends will be one of many important topics discussed in-depth at the 2015 Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled Aug. 3-5 at Texas A&M University in College Station. Dr. Darrell Peel, […]

HEB establishes endowment for Texas A&M department of agricultural economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – An endowment has been established by HEB in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University to provide fellowships for students pursuing graduate degrees and research in the economics of food supply chain management. A reception was held recently on […]

Local food production, cottage food laws highlighted April 16

Free training at College Station offered by AgriLife Extension Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A “Production, Marketing and Sales of Local Food” training will be held April 16 in the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM `56 Equine Complex at Texas A&M University in College Station. The event […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Texas Farmers encouraged to contact local Farm Service Agency office

Feb. 27 is deadline for base and yield information update Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas farmers are reminded to contact local U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency offices to update base and yield information by Feb. 27, as agriculture industry officials discussed the 2014 Farm Bill in depth at the recent Ag […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]

Local food training set for April 16 on Texas A&M campus

Focus on cottage foods, organic certification and publications Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A “Production, Marketing and Sales of Local Food” training will be held April 16 in the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM `56 Equine Complex at Texas A&M University in College Station. The event is […]