Earth-Kind trials bring touch of nature to downtown Rockwall

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Williams, 972-204-7660, twilliam@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-952-9217, steve.george@ag.tamu.edu ROCKWALL – Between the Rockwall County Courthouse and Rockwall County Library and their adjacent parking lots, an Earth-Kind research garden provides a welcome reminder of natural beauty amidst the concrete and asphalt. “We have planted 23 different cultivars of dwarf […]

Who’s been sleeping in my cave?

Research reveals porcupines prominent in many South Central Texas caves    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Roel Lopez, 210-277-0292, roel@tamu.edu Andrea Montalvo, 210-687-8898, aem595@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Researchers studying the impact of small mammals on cave habitats with endangered invertebrate species got a prickly surprise when they discovered large numbers of porcupines parading in […]

Soil and Irrigation Conservation Workshop slated Aug. 24 in Weslaco

WESLACO – Agricultural producers throughout the Rio Grande Valley are invited to spend half a day with experts on new technologies in soil and water management, funding opportunities and financial technical support for farming operations, organizers said. The Soil Health and Irrigation Conservation Workshop will be held from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 24 […]

Seminar Sept. 22 in Austin will address Zika and mosquito management

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County is presenting an informational seminar on Zika from 10 a.m. to noon Sept. 22 at its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The seminar is free and open to the public. It will […]

Educating the public about Zika is now AgriLife Extension’s ‘priority-one’

  Unprecedented  statewide campaign involves all Texas county staffs Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, m-merchant@tamu.edu  or Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu                   COLLEGE STATION – Educating the public to protect themselves from Zika has become “priority one” for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, a state leader said.  AgriLife Extension […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop set for Aug. 25 in Gainesville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu GAINESVILLE – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop in the upper Trinity River watershed will be held Aug. 25 at the Landmark Bank Center, 1112 E. California St. in Gainesville. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service workshop will be from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. […]

Final summer meeting slated on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting Aug. 9 for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios Watershed stakeholder meeting will be from 1:30-4 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, 209 Lucas Ave. in […]

Water quality monitoring plan development focus of July 28-29 workshop in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring Plan workshop for watershed coordinators and other water professionals July 28-29 in Austin. The workshop will be from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. July 28 and from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. […]

Brush control no help for water supplies, lake sedimentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bradford Wilcox, 979-458-1899, BWilcox@tamu.edu Dr. Matthew Berg, 979-450-9671, mbergtamu@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION – Brush control has many benefits, including restoration of wildlife habitat and potentially improved livestock grazing, but water supply enhancement should not necessarily be considered one of them. That’s the conclusion of a new Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]