AgriLife Extension slates Water Expo Aug. 16 in Wolfforth

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Vikram Baliga, 806-775-1680, Vikram.baliga@ag.tamu.edu   WOLFFORTH – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Water Expo 2014 from 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Aug. 16 in collaboration with the City of  Wolfforth. The event will take place at the Lubbock Indoor Courts, 7806 County Road 7050, in Wolfforth, […]

AgriLife Research study: Mesquite a complementary biofuel feedstock

Aids in economics, greenhouse gas emission reduction Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seong Park, 940-552-9941, scpark@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tong Wang, 940-552-9941, tong.wang@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jim Ansley, 940-552-9941, jansley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@tamu.edu VERNON – As requirements grow for use of cellulosic biofuels to meet the energy needs of the nation, researchers look at potential […]

New mosquito-borne viral disease found in South Central Texas

AgriLife Extension entomologists: Avoidance, exclusion, repellents best practical defense SOUTH CENTRAL TEXAS — Chikungunya, a viral disease transmitted by mosquitoes, has been identified in five Texas counties — four of them in South Central Texas — and may become endemic to the state, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists. As far as the […]

Drought-stricken trees offer study platform for AgriLife Research scientists

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Vogel, 979-845-5580, Jason_vogel@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Severe drought across Texas since 2011 has produced a unique opportunity for Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists to gain a greater understanding of the decaying process of trees and the effects […]

Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan Accepted by EPA

Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Phyllis Dyer, 940-552-9941, pmdyer@ag.tamu.edu VERNON–The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan as meeting the agency’s guidelines for watershed-based plans and effectively outlining a strategy to reduce nonpoint source pollution in the watershed, according to a Texas Water Resources Institute official. “This acceptance comes after […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 20 in Refugio

REFUGIO — Anyone interested in private water well management in the Copano Bay watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 20 in Refugio. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. at the Refugio County Community Center, 305 Swift St., said Drew Gholson, […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 19 in Robstown

ROBSTOWN — Anyone interested in private water well management in the Nueces River watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 19 in Robstown. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. at the Johnny Calderon Building, 710 E. Main St., said Drew Gholson, […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 7 in Yoakum

YOAKUM— Anyone interested in private water well management in the Lavaca or Guadalupe River watersheds is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 7 in Yoakum. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1–5 p.m. at the St. Joseph Catholic Church, 210 Schrimscher St.in Yoakum, said Drew […]

Rainwater harvesting program Aug. 12 in Seguin should ‘capture’ interest

SEGUIN – The “Rainwater Harvesting for Homeowners” program will be held from 10 a.m.-noon Aug. 12 at the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority’s River Annex, 905 Nolan St. in Seguin, said program coordinators. The training is free and open to the public, and light refreshments will be served. The program is a joint effort of the Geronimo […]

AgriLife Extension agent helps shrimpers haul in deadly catch

PORT OF BROWNSVILLE  –  Like hunters anxiously awaiting the start of deer season, shrimp boats from Louisiana, Alabama and Mississippi recently converged near the mouth of the Rio Grande along the southern Gulf Coast. They were there to join local shrimpers for the opening of the Texas shrimp harvest season, according to Tony Reisinger, Texas […]