Austin programs Sept. 29-30 will spotlight watershed stakeholder engagement

AUSTIN–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Watershed Planning Program is hosting two training programs for water and natural resources professionals Sept. 29-30 in Austin. The first program, “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips that Won’t Break the Bank,” will be held from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Sept. 29 at the Texas Commission on Environmental […]

Just in time for school: New pest control calculator now available for maintenance professionals

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact Janet Hurley, 877-747-6872, 972-952-9213, ja-hurley@tamu.edu DALLAS – Maintenance professionals gearing up for the start of school now have a new tool to help defend students from the inevitable summer influx of undesirables roaming the halls. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s new integrated pest management website, http://ipmcalculator.com, offers […]

AgriLife Extension announces new riparian restoration publication

‘Riparian Restoration on Farms and Ranches in Texas’ is now available COLLEGE STATION – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service official has announced the release of “Riparian Restoration on Farms and Ranches in Texas,” which is now available. The new publication, which has been given the identification number WF-010, can be downloaded free at http://www.agrilifebookstore.org/product-p/ewf-010.htm or […]

Texas A&M AgriLife Urban Water Program team invited ‘down under’ to share successes

Dallas team will present at International Horticulture Congress 2014 in Brisbane DALLAS – A team of urban water experts from the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Dallas has been asked to share their successes in conserving and protecting urban water resources at the International Horticulture Congress 2014 from Aug. 17-22 in Brisbane, […]

AgriLife Extension slates Water Expo Aug. 16 in Wolfforth

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Vikram Baliga, 806-775-1680, Vikram.baliga@ag.tamu.edu   WOLFFORTH – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Water Expo 2014 from 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Aug. 16 in collaboration with the City of  Wolfforth. The event will take place at the Lubbock Indoor Courts, 7806 County Road 7050, in Wolfforth, […]

AgriLife Research study: Mesquite a complementary biofuel feedstock

Aids in economics, greenhouse gas emission reduction Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seong Park, 940-552-9941, scpark@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tong Wang, 940-552-9941, tong.wang@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jim Ansley, 940-552-9941, jansley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@tamu.edu VERNON – As requirements grow for use of cellulosic biofuels to meet the energy needs of the nation, researchers look at potential […]

New mosquito-borne viral disease found in South Central Texas

AgriLife Extension entomologists: Avoidance, exclusion, repellents best practical defense SOUTH CENTRAL TEXAS — Chikungunya, a viral disease transmitted by mosquitoes, has been identified in five Texas counties — four of them in South Central Texas — and may become endemic to the state, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists. As far as the […]

Drought-stricken trees offer study platform for AgriLife Research scientists

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Vogel, 979-845-5580, Jason_vogel@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Severe drought across Texas since 2011 has produced a unique opportunity for Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists to gain a greater understanding of the decaying process of trees and the effects […]

Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan Accepted by EPA

Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Phyllis Dyer, 940-552-9941, pmdyer@ag.tamu.edu VERNON–The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan as meeting the agency’s guidelines for watershed-based plans and effectively outlining a strategy to reduce nonpoint source pollution in the watershed, according to a Texas Water Resources Institute official. “This acceptance comes after […]

Texas well-owner training set for Aug. 20 in Refugio

REFUGIO — Anyone interested in private water well management in the Copano Bay watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 20 in Refugio. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. at the Refugio County Community Center, 305 Swift St., said Drew Gholson, […]