Fishy vegetable production methods explained through aquaponics

COLLEGE STATION — If growing vegetables in a box with no soil and out of direct sunlight sounds a little fishy, well, it is. “Aquaponics” is a relatively new way of intensified farming that combines aquaculture and hydroponics, according to Dr. Joe Masabni of College Station, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service vegetable specialist. “We are […]

Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

Lost Water Conference will be Oct. 30 in San Antonio

Program will help water purveyors understand lost water issues, resources SAN ANTONIO — The Edwards Aquifer Regional Water Conservation Program is sponsoring a Lost Water Conference Oct. 30 in San Antonio for staff of municipal water utilities and other water suppliers in the Edwards Aquifer region. The conference will be from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at […]

AgriLife Extension website features new aquaculture-related videos

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Aquaculture Fisheries and Pond Management website unveiled last January has added four new video releases to their growing “school” of free pond management resources, said the site’s creator. Dr. Todd Sink, AgriLife […]

Texas A&M AgriLife center in Dallas wins 2014 WaterSense Excellence Award

LAS VEGAS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Dallas has been recognized with a 2014 WaterSense Excellence Award for Outreach and Education by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The center’s urban water team was honored recently at the WaterSmart Innovations Conference in Las Vegas for its commitment to water efficiency and […]

Private Land Stewardship Field Day set for Nov. 5 in Coryell County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Chelsea Dorward, 254-386-3919, chelsea.dorward@ag.tamu.edu Heath Lusty, 512-556-8271, rhlusty@ag.tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu   COPPERAS COVE – Two state agencies and one federal agency will conduct a multi-county Private Land Stewardship Field Day Nov. 5 at two sites in Coryell County. The collaborating agencies […]

AgriLife Extension offers Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Multi-county event set for Oct. 28 in Sonora Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Wildlife Ranches: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly on Oct. 28 at the Sutton County Civic Center in Sonora. Registration starts at 8:30 a.m., and […]

Super microscope amplifies Texas A&M researchers look at loblolly pine genetics

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Nurul Faridi, 979-862-3908, nfaridi@tamu.edu Dr. Claudio Casola, 979-845-8803, ccasola@tamu.edu Dr. C. Dana Nelson, 228-832-2747, dananelson@fs.fed.us COLLEGE STATION – A super microscope may have researchers at the Texas A&M University ecosystem science and management department moving one step closer to writing the final chapter and verse on the genomics […]

Lower Rio Grande Valley soil testing campaign runs through February

WESLACO  –  The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in the Lower Rio Grande Valley is offering its annual soil testing campaign through February, according to AgriLife Extension personnel. A campaign kickoff event has been scheduled for Oct. 16. “We’re encouraging all commercial agricultural producers in Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties to take part in this […]

Texas A&M institute reports new information about land conversion losses in Texas

Fifteen-year net loss from 1997-2012 exceeds 1 million acres AUSTIN — Texas experienced a net loss of nearly 1.1 million acres of privately owned farms, ranches and forests from 1997 to 2012, continuing the trend of rural land conversion and fragmentation in Texas, according to Dr. Roel Lopez, director of the Texas A&M Institute of […]