Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold meeting on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting July 7 in Palacios for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios Watershed stakeholder meeting will be at 1:30 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, 209 Lucas […]

Water quality training July 12 in Killeen will focus on Lampasas River

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenber@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu Heidi Prude, 254-933-5305, heidi.prude@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – A free Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Lampasas River and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. July 12 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in Killeen. […]

Youth summer camps focus on natural environment

AgriLife Extension, others offer nature-education camps in San Antonio By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, Ruby.Zavala@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The water cycle, plant biology and composting were among the topics and related activities presented at the Youth Summer Garden Day Camp held recently at the Pan American Branch Library in San Antonio. […]

Composting with worms will be topic of July 16 program at Zilker Botanical Gardens

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Easy Composting with Worms, one of the Saturday Seminars at Zilker Botanical Gardens, will be held from 10 a.m.- noon July 16 at the gardens, located at 2220 Barton Springs Road, Austin. The program is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Self-draining parking lots topic of Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership workshop June 25

HARLINGEN – An educational workshop on redesigning parking lots to collect, filter and redirect stormwater will be held June 25, according to program organizers. Municipalities and all others interested are invited to attend the free workshop, according to Jaime Flores, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program coordinator for the Texas Water Resources Institute in Weslaco. […]

AgriLife Extension experts team up for Earth-Kind turfgrass trials in North Texas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Matt Elmore, 972-952-9220, matthew.elmore@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-540-2019, s-george3@tamu.edu Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts has initiated the first research trials on ornamental turfgrass varieties applying Earth-Kind landscaping principles, which emphasize environmental responsibility through water conservation and limited […]

AgriLife Extension slates aquaponics workshop June 21 in Corpus Christi

CORPUS CHRISTI – As a follow-up to last year’s introductory course, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Nueces and San Patricio counties has scheduled a workshop, Aquaponics 206: Building the System, from 1-4 p.m. June 21. It will be held at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 10345 State Highway 44 in […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will hold June 25 workshop for wetlands project

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu HARLINGEN — An educational workshop on the Ramsey Park Wetland Expansion project will be held June 25, according to program organizers. The free workshop will be from  8 a.m.- noon at the Hugh Ramsey Nature Park, 1001 S. Loop 400 in Harlingen. It will be presented by the Arroyo Colorado […]