Water quality training May 7 in Kosse to focus on Navasota River

David Groschke, 254-729-5314, dwgroschke@ag.tamu.edu Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, michael.kuitu@ag.tamu.edu KOSSE – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality issues related to the Navasota River will be held from 1-5 p.m. May 7 at the Kosse Community Center, 200 Texas 14 in Kosse. The workshop is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Private water well screenings set for May in Llano, Mills counties

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will offer water well screenings in May for Llano and Mills counties to give residents the opportunity to have their well water tested. The screenings are presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in these counties in partnership with the […]

Advanced metering infrastructure system workshops set for San Marcos, Waco

Contact: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu SAN MARCOS – Two advanced metering infrastructure system trainings for water utilities are set for May 6 in San Marcos and May 7 in Waco. The Texas Water Resources Institute, Texas A&M Engineering and Johnson Controls Inc. are sponsoring the workshops with the water institute and Johnson Controls presenting. The […]

Mill Creek watershed meeting set for April 27 in Bleiblerville

Contacts: Kara Matheney, 979-277-6212, kjmatheney@ag.tamu.edu Galen Roberts, 979-862-8070, galen.roberts@ag.tamu.edu   BLEIBLERVILLE — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board will have a meeting of the Mill Creek Watershed Partnership to continue the development of a watershed protection plan for Mill Creek. The meeting, which is free and open to […]

Landowner’s Management Workshop offered in San Antonio

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Troy Luepke, 210-467-6575, Troy.Luepke@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — A Landowner’s Management Workshop will be held from 5:30-8:45 p.m. April 20 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Bexar County, 3355 Cherry Ridge, Suite 208, in San Antonio. “This workshop is intended to provide landowners helpful tips to combat […]

Landowner issue conference set May 8 in Lufkin

Topics to include estate planning, groundwater issues and fracturing facts Writer: Robert Burns, 903-312-3199, rd-burns@tamu.eduu LUFKIN – “The Value of Land,” a conference on issues affecting landowners, will be held May 8 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Angelina County, 2201 S. Medford Drive in Lufkin. Topics will include: — Issues Affecting […]

Natural resources, wildlife workshop set April 23-24 in Kerrville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – An extensive educational program on managing natural resources and wildlife is set for April 23-24 at the Inn of the Hills Resort and Conference Center in Kerrville. The conference, which will begin on April 23 with a […]

Irrigation classes slated for April in El Paso

EL PASO —  Two irrigation courses for professionals and others will be held in April in El Paso, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service instructors. The first, the Landscape Irrigation Auditing and Management Short Course, will be held April 14-15 at the TecH2O Center, 10751 Montana Ave. Classes will be held from 8:30 a.m.-5 […]

From cockroaches to parasitic wasps, creepy crawlers are for kids

COLLEGE STATION — A child calmly whispers all his life’s problems to the one who will listen. And in that moment, everything seems so much better. Perhaps the listener understands. Some days it seems like a crushing blow is around every corner.  After all, the one hearing this child’s woes is a bug. “I’ve seen […]

2015 Backyard Basics Expo gives attendees a taste of self-reliance

SAN ANTONIO — More than 200 people participated in the 2015 Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the James Madison High School Agriscience Magnet Program facility in San Antonio, said event coordinators. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, featured educational opportunities, as well as products and services related to the production, […]