Chronic wasting disease meetings set for Dalhart, Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Several chronic wasting disease informational meetings will be held in the Panhandle in September by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Animal Health Commission. These informational meetings, which will address chronic wasting disease management, new […]

Are red imported fire ants all bad?

Mostly, a Texas A&M-led team said, but not altogether Writer: Steve Byrns,  325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jessica Light, 979-458-4357, jlight2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Red imported fire ants have earned a justifiably bad rap across the south and most Texans would be hard put to name a single redeeming quality the ants have. But a team […]

Pathogens, insects in line to cause widespread post oak decline

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Appel, 979-845-8273, d-appel@tamu.edu Sheila McBride, 979-845-8032, s-mcbride3948@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — In the lush green landscape of a season with plentiful rain, memories of the record Texas drought of 2011 could fade. But hundreds of calls, emails and tree samples sent to the Texas Plant Diagnostic Lab in College Station […]

Backyard Basics Expo helps people learn self-reliance, preserve the past

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the Oppenheimer Academic Center at San Antonio College. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, emphasizes self-reliance and the production, preparation and […]

Results show water well testing in Texas is important

Contacts: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu ALICE  —  Results of recent private water well screenings in five South Texas counties underscored the importance of regular testing of private water wells, said a Texas Well Owner Network official. “Through these screenings, we identified several contaminants that could potentially cause illnesses or other […]

Water quality training Oct. 13 in McKinney to focus on Lavon Lake watershed

Contacts: Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Galen Roberts, 469-626-4637, groberts@ntmwd.com Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu MCKINNEY – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Lavon Lake watershed will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 13 at Myers Park and Event Center. The center is located at 7117 County Road 166 in McKinney. The […]

Water quality training Oct. 4 will focus on Lake O’ the Pines, Big Cypress watersheds

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Doug Weir, 903-665-2421, doug.weir@ag.tamu.edu Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, dr-reeves@tamu.edu JEFFERSON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and water management related to the Lake O’ the Pines and Big Cypress watersheds will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 4 at the Jefferson Tourism and Visitor Center, 305 E. Austin […]

Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

Smart Growth Workshop to be held Sept. 20 in Seguin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority will present the Smart Growth Workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Irma Lewis Seguin Outdoor Learning Center, 1865 U.S. Highway 90 E. in Seguin. The workshop is free and will […]