AgriLife Extension helping Texans prepare for hurricane season

Variety of hurricane preparation/recovery materials available through Texas EDEN COLLEGE STATION – In conjunction with National Hurricane Preparedness Week May 24-30 and other efforts, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is reminding the state’s residents of its many disaster and emergency-related materials available. “With hurricane season approaching, this is a key time for AgriLife Extension […]

Phenotyping wheat breeding lines takes on new look

AgriLife Research program designs time-saving machine Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Srirama Krishna Reddy, 806-677-5600, skreddy@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Gathering millions of data points from thousands of wheat breeding lines across Texas is now as simple as riding a bike – or pushing one, in this case. Dr. Jackie […]

AgriLife Extension, Texas Beef Council to conduct Beef 706 program in Alpine

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu ALPINE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, the Texas Beef Council, and Sul Ross State University will conduct Beef 706, a free quality assurance program organizers say is designed to help growers raise a safe, top quality product […]

Rains create management decisions for corn producers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact:  Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.Bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ron French, 806-677-5600, rdfrench@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Rain is a double-edged sword right now for agricultural producers, especially corn producers, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel in Amarillo. “It’s important for producers to realize that they still have options for corn as […]

Sonora readies for 78th Annual Wool and Mohair Show slated for June 16-18

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The 78th Annual Wool and Mohair Show, held in conjunction with the 55th National 4-H Wool Judging, the 15th FFA Wool Judging contests and a plethora of other ranch-related youth judging competitions, is set for June 16-18 in the Sutton County […]

Prescribed burning workshop set for Aug. 6-8 near Sonora

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ray Hinnant, 979-820-1778, ray.hinnant@gmail.com SONORA – The Academy for Ranch Management is offering a basic prescribed burning workshop Aug. 6-8 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Sonora Station located on State Highway 55 between Sonora and Rocksprings. The basic course is open to those wanting to learn about the […]

Texas State Chemist headquarters set to expand in College Station

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Office of the Texas State Chemist, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, is expanding its headquarters at Texas A&M University in College Station, adding more than 10,000 square-feet of laboratory testing facilities and an underground containment system, agency officials said. A groundbreaking ceremony was held recently […]

AgriLife Extension names Garrett Cline new Runnels County agent

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu BALLINGER – Garrett Cline has been named the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Runnels County. The announcement was made by Runnels County Judge Barry Hilliard and Marty Gibbs, AgriLife Extension district administrator at San Angelo. “We’re very pleased […]

AgriLife Extension sets final ‘Generation Next: Our Turn to Ranch School’ program

June 4-5 program in San Angelo targets heirs wishing involvement in the family ranch Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-657-7317, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO —  The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct their final “Generation Next: Our Turn to Ranch School” program June 4-5 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and […]

Crockett County Ag Producers Workshop slated for May 21 in Ozona

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Aaron Renfroe, 325-392-2721, arenfroe@ag.tamu.edu OZONA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Crockett County Ag Producers Workshop from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. May 21 at the Crockett County Convention Center in Ozona. “This will be a very ranch-focused workshop,” said Aaron Renfroe, AgriLife Extension agent in Crockett […]