AgriLife Extension sets ranchers workshop for March 25 in Coke County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Morgan Runyan, 325-453-2461, morgan.runyan@agnet.tamu.edu ROBERT LEE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a ranchers workshop from 6-8:30 p.m. March 25 at the Robert Lee Recreation Hall, 150 County Park Road in Robert Lee. Topics included in the program are land leasing, cattle herd health for summer […]

New Texas Crops Newsletter offered by AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is now offering a monthly Texas Crops Newsletter to provide timely and multi-discipline crop management information to Texas producers, consultants and allied industries. The inaugural newsletter was distributed Feb. 13, and each of the following […]

March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Private water well screenings set for March in Starr, Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties

COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will present water well screenings in March for Starr, Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties to give residents the opportunity to have their well water tested. The screenings are presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in these counties in partnership with the Texas Water Resources […]

Silage trials show forage type and variety selection key to yield and quality

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.Bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Ongoing Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service sorghum silage trials have revealed forage type and variety are key considerations to optimizing both quantity and quality, according to two specialists. Dr. Jourdan Bell, AgriLife Extension agronomist in Amarillo, said […]

2014 farm bill discussed in-depth at Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Industry leaders representing Texas’ major commodities as well as Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and university experts discussed and evaluated in detail the 2014 farm bill at the recent 2015 Ag Forum in Austin recently. The event marked 30 years of an open forum to discuss issues affecting […]

AgriLife Extension to present ‘From the Hitch Pin to the Closing Wheels’

Planter pro to highlight March 11 Castro County program Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Nancy Andersen, 806-647-4115,  nancy.andersen@agnet.tamu.edu DIMMITT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the planter clinic “From the Hitch Pin to the Closing Wheels” from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. March 11 at the Castro County Expo, 405 S.E. 4th St. […]

Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership offering free soil testing

SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership is offering free soil tests to area farmers, ranchers and homeowners, said Ward Ling, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program specialist in soil and crop sciences, College Station. “A soil test will give you the necessary information on what levels of nitrogen, phosphorus and other nutrients […]

Annual Ram Performance Test Field Day and Sale set for March 18 in San Angelo

AgriLife Extension’s new state sheep and goat specialist on program Writer: Steve Byrns 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The annual Ram Performance Test Field Day and Sale, conducted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been set for March 18 at the Texas […]