Texas Master Naturalist program offers new printed curriculum

   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Pearl Meuth, 979-845-7294, mpmeuth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Master Naturalist program has a new training curriculum that’s hot off the press, a Texas A&M official said. Mary Pearl Meuth, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service associate at College Station who works with the statewide program affiliated […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 24

Recent rains likely to boost hay production outlook Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4008, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Good quality cuttings of hay could be in the future for hay producers across the state following widespread rains. Dr. Larry Redmon, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader, College Station, said spring […]

Mini agriculture conference set for Sept. 12 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – A Mini Ag Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is set for Sept. 12 at the Hemphill County Exhibition Center, 10865 Exhibition Center Road in Canadian. “This program is designed to provide beef producers as well as land and mineral […]

Sugarcane aphid research aimed at planting timing, variety selection

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The “whens” and the “whats” of the sugarcane aphid are fueling the research of Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, Texas A&M AgriLife entomologist. For example, when are they most damaging, and what grain sorghum varieties do they prefer? With the support of Texas Grain […]

Breeding soundness exams can prevent a financial wreck at the ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The importance of a breeding soundness exam in herd bulls can prevent costly revenue losses, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Stan Bevers, AgriLife Extension economist in Vernon, shared the data from a large New Mexico ranch recently during the 62nd Texas A&M Beef […]

Texas A&M working with industry to strengthen vegetable production program

Retailers express need for locally grown produce Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas retailers want locally grown produce, and Texas A&M AgriLife is working to make that happen. Dr. Bill McCutchen, Texas A&M AgriLife Research executive associate director in College Station, and Joseph Bunting, United Supermarkets produce […]

North Texas Wildlife Conference to help landowners hang on to their piece of Texas

  AgriLife Extension, Texas Land Conservancy set Sept. 16 event in Weatherford Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, John.Tomecek@ag.tamu.edu Jay Kingston, 817-598-6168  jkingsto@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – Organizers of the North Texas Conservation Easement Workshop aim to help rural landowners hang on to their piece of the state, organizers said. The conference will […]

Plan ahead for fall and winter forages

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Mid- and late August is a good time for producers to plan ahead for winter forages, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension forage specialist in Overton. Since most fall, winter and spring forages perform best when planted in late September through […]

Annual AgriLife ram test will start Sept. 12

     Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu  SAN ANGELO – The 2016-2017 annual Ram Performance Test conducted by Texas A&M will begin Sept. 12 with delivery of the Rambouillet rams to the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, north of San Angelo on […]