North Texas Farm-to-Table program brings local producers, buyers together

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Rick Maxwell, 903-737-2443, rick.maxwell@ag.tamu.edu McKINNEY – The North Texas Farm-to-Table program provides opportunities for local agricultural producers to meet with area restaurateurs, chefs and others, understand their needs  and provide them with fresh, high-quality locally grown agricultural items, program coordinators said. “North Texas […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 29

Conditions have gone from one extreme to the other for producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, c-trostle@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Many row crop producers around the state faced tough planting conditions, from cool ground temperatures to too much rain, that delayed or […]

Brush identification, control topic of July 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush Identification and Control Measures will be the name of a July 7 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas […]

Stiles Farm Field Day features drone technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu THRALL – The future of drone technology and its potential uses in Central Texas Blacklands farming operations were featured at the Stiles Farm Field Day held recently in Thrall. The field day, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, showcased the latest in technological […]

2016 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2016 Texas Agricultural Custom Rate survey of regional and state rates charged for custom agricultural operations. “Each year, AgriLife Extension receives many requests for prevailing rates for certain kinds of work […]

AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

Annual forage crop insurance sign-up deadline in July

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu\ AMARILLO – Although recent rains have livestock producers looking at green pastures, most know it can turn dry quickly and may want protection against drought loss on annual forage crops, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The first deadline to sign up for the Rainfall Index – […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]

AgriLife Extension’s South Plains District names new agents

  Wes Utley returns to Hockley County, Wade Howard transfers from Central Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service announced the addition of two agriculture and natural resources agents to its 20-county South Plains district. Wes Utley has resumed his former position as […]

AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team wins national 4-H wool judging contest

  National FFA contest top honor goes to Hondo FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu     SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H wool judging team nabbed the top spot to win the 56th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held recently in Sonora.   The contest and its […]