Private Pesticide Applicator Training set for July 15 in Midland

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact:  Rebel Royall, 432-354-2381, r-royall@tamu.edu MIDLAND – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Private Pesticide Applicator Training from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. July 15 at the AgriLife Extension office in Midland County, 2445 E. U.S. Highway 80 in Midland. Rebel Royall, AgriLife Extension agent in Glasscock County who […]

Rio Grande Valley grain sorghum growers escape sugarcane aphid damage

WESLACO  —  Nature and science teamed up this year to minimize insect damage on grain sorghum now being harvested in the Lower Rio Grande Valley, according to an expert with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr. Raul Villanueva, an entomologist at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Weslaco, said predicted high […]

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers investigate salmonella in Texas feedlots

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Matt Taylor, 979-862-7678, matthew.taylor@agnet.tamu.edu Dr. Jason Gill, 979-458-9286, jason.gill@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A study examining the presence of salmonella in beef cattle feedyards was the focus of a series of studies by Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists and faculty in the department of animal science at Texas A&M […]

Water well training set for July 18 in Brazoria

BRAZORIA — Anyone interested in private water-well management in the Bastrop Bayou watershed area is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training July 18 in Brazoria. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 10 a.m.–noon at the Friends of the River Community Center at 20450 County Road 510-B. […]

AgriLife Extension’s Medina County 4-H team nabs national wool judging honors

National FFA winner is Seminole FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Medina County 4-H senior wool judging team took top honors for their efforts in winning the 55th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held in Sonora. The contest and its sister event, the 15th annual National […]

Heavy grasshopper infestations warrant treatment

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Farmers and homeowners alike are battling against a heavy infestation of grasshoppers in the High Plains, and while tiny now, without treatment they could double in size, numbers and amount of damage. “Looks like it could be a bad year for grasshoppers,” […]

Texas water laws will be topic of July 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – “Texas Water: Basic Law and Current Hot Topics” will be the subject of the July 2 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range […]

Texas crop, weather for June 30, 2015

Much of peach crop excellent quality, quantity Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As predicted in March, this year’s peach crop is turning out to be one of the best in many years. In March, Dr. Larry Stein, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist at Uvalde, noted that peaches throughout the state had […]

Stocker cattle program set for July 8 in West

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane McLellan, 254-757, s-mclellan@tamu.edu WEST  – A stocker cattle program is set for July 8 at the West Auction Barn, 20645 N. Interstate Highway 35 in West. The program is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in McLennan, Limestone, Bell, Bosque, Hill and Coryell counties. […]

Back-to-back annual canola conferences set for July in Oklahoma and Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cneely@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Two days of canola conferences in neighboring states, Oklahoma and Texas, will provide producers an in-depth look at the crop that is generating a growing interest. Canola has grown in popularity among Rolling Plains producers in the […]