Texas A&M soil and crop researchers, students recognized with awards

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Frank Hons, 979-845-3477, f-hons@tamu.edu Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists and students with Texas A&M University’s department of soil and crop sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will be recognized for their outstanding research during the annual meeting of the […]

AgriLife Extension sets more farm bill decision-aid meetings

  West Central, Far West Texas producers targeted Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel are blanketing the state with educational meetings for farmers on the intricacies of the new farm bill and West Texas is no exception, according to one of the […]

Pecos County pesticide workshop slated for Nov. 18 in Fort Stockton

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: David Disselhorst, 432-336-2541, david.disselhorst@ag.tamu.edu   FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Pecos County will conduct a Pesticide Management and Continuing Education Unit Workshop beginning at 8 a.m. Nov. 18 at the Pecos County Civic Center, 1674 Airport Drive in Fort Stockton. Individual […]

AgriLife Extension targets deer management calendar app in time for deer season

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Cathey, 979-845-7370, jccathey@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced a new deer management calendar app on the cusp of this year’s fast-approaching deer season. “The brand new White-tailed Deer Management Calendar is meant to help landowners, hunters and wildlife managers […]

Corn prices expected to edge up, could pressure fed cattle bids in 2015

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011,JMWelch@tamu.edu BRYAN  - Recent lower prices in corn could translate into fewer planted acres in 2015, potentially putting pressure on bids for beef cattle next year, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. However, Dr. Mark Welch, AgriLife Extension grains marketing economist in College […]

Texas crop, weather for Oct. 28, 2014

Sugarcane aphid here to stay in Texas Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Though the sugarcane aphid is manageable, it’s likely here to stay in South Texas and the rest of the state, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. The sugarcane aphid became a pest of sorghum for the first […]

Using the Internet to Grow Aquaculture Sales workshop slated for Dec. 11

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558,Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Aquaculturists serious about using the Internet and social media as an inexpensive way to bolster business should mark their calendars for the Dec. 11 workshop,  “Using the Internet to Grow Aquaculture Sales,” said the workshop’s coordinator. The workshop is being […]