Texas crop, weather for Aug. 4, 2015

High plains cotton still late but catching up some with hot weather Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton in the Texas South Plains and Rolling Plains typically remained two to four weeks behind in development, but current weather patterns are helping, said cotton agronomists. “You can almost hear the cotton growing out […]

‘Exciting times’ in the cattle business moving forward

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course features cattle market outlook, trends Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As temperatures in College Station reached 100 degrees during Monday’s opening general session of the 61st Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course, it could also accurately describe a red-hot cattle market the past two years. “These […]

Natural cocktail used to prevent, treat disease of wine grapes

COLLEGE STATION — It’s happy hour at a lab in College Station. The cocktail of choice, developed by scientists with Texas A&M AgriLife Research, is one that stops or prevents the deadly Pierce’s disease on wine grapes. The discovery could turn a new leaf on the multimillion-dollar U.S. wine industry. Hear, hear. The study, published […]

Big Country Beef Conference set Aug. 20 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Big Country Beef Conference is set for Aug. 20 in Abilene. The biennial conference starts with registration at 7:30 a.m. in the Big Country Hall next to the AgriLife Extension offices located on the grounds of the Taylor […]

Commercial, recreational fruit growers to gather in College Station Oct. 5-7

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Monte Nesbitt, 979-862-1218, MLNesbitt@tamu.edu Dr. Russ Wallace, 806-746-4052, rwwallace@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The fourth annual Texas Fruit Conference will bring together commercial and recreational growers to hear the latest on production challenges and successes,  according to Monte Nesbitt, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist in College Station. The event […]

Brush management webinar Aug. 6 will address unintended consequences

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Wayne Hanselka, 361-960-9102, wayne@trminternational.net COLLEGE STATION – The “Unintended Consequences of Brush Management” will be the topic of the Aug. 6 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar […]

East Texas forage conference set Aug. 28

Regional conference to be held at Yamboree Fairgrounds in Gilmer Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu GILMER – The East Texas regional forage conference will be held 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Aug. 28 at the Yamboree Fairgrounds in Gilmer. Programming will focus on helping producers increase yields and lower costs, with presentations to address the […]

Women landowners focus of Oct. 5-6 natural resource conference in Fredericksburg

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – “Women – Taking the Reins in Natural Resource Management,” a two-day conference aimed specifically at women in the Edwards Plateau, will take place in Fredericksburg Oct. 5-6 at the Inn on Barons Creek. The conference, funded by […]

Feral Hog Management Workshop set for Sept. 4 at Brazos County Expo complex

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu BRYAN – A Feral Hog Management Workshop will be offered from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Sept. 4 at the Brazos County Expo complex, 5827 Leonard Road in Bryan. The program is free, but $15 for a catered lunch. RSVP for the meal by Aug. […]

QuickBooks course set for Aug. 26-27 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course on Aug. 26-27 in Amarillo. The training will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 W. […]