Kingston trades AgriLife Extension position in Kent County for Parker County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jay Kingston, 817-598-6168, jkingsto@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – Jay Kingston, a longtime Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent in Kent County, has moved east to fill the same position in Parker County. “Jay brings 17 years of AgriLife Extension work experience to Parker County,” said Miles Dabovich, […]

Summertime pond management requires planning and caution

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, b-higginbotham@tamu.edu OVERTON – Phone calls about out-of-control aquatic vegetation are a common midsummer occurrence, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife and fisheries specialist Dr. Billy Higginbotham. However, he said, pond owners should proceed with caution when treating aquatic weeds in ponds where fish are […]

New AgriLife Extension assistant named in Taylor County

  Thomas Cunningham assumed agriculture and natural resources/4-H post July 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service named Thomas Cunningham the new AgriLife Extension assistant for agriculture and natural resources/4-H in Taylor County effective July 15. The announcement was made by AgriLife Extension […]

Dr. Douglas Tolleson named to AgriLife Research station post at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Douglas Tolleson, 325-387-3168, Douglas.Tolleson@ag.tamu.edu            SONORA – After more than three decades, the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora is changing leadership.            Dr. Douglas Tolleson, who is no stranger to the Texas A&M University System or its AgriLife Research or Texas A&M […]

Avi-Lanche Jerseys to be featured at Southwest Dairy Day Oct. 20

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DALHART – The annual Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 20 at the Avi-Lanche Jerseys dairy will be hosted by the Richard Avila family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Avi-Lanche Jerseys is located north of Dalhart on U.S. Highway 385. “Southwest Dairy […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]

Athletic coach hired as new AgriLife Extension 4-H agent in Wichita County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Donny Gray, 940-716-8610, Donny.gray@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – Donny Gray may have spent years as a football coach, but he doesn’t expect to have a difficult time transitioning to his new position as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H youth development agent in Wichita County. “We are pleased to […]

AgriLife Research remote sensing technology aims to solve critical crop diseases

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Alex Thomasson, 979-458-3598, thomasson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sensor technology could possibly solve many challenges of crop production,  and Texas A&M AgriLife Research faculty are aggressively attempting to find new solutions. Dr. Alex Thomasson, an AgriLife Research biological and agricultural engineer, and Dr. Seth Murray, AgriLife Research corn breeder, […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

Northeast Texas grape growers gather in Harleton to learn, share

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu HARLETON — Altus Koegelenberg, owner and operator of Enoch’s Stomp Vineyard and Winery in Harleton, planted his first vine in 2005 when growing wine grapes in East Texas was a fledgling idea. In little more than a decade, he has expanded the vineyard to include […]