Apps for rangeland management will be topic of June 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rangeland Apps will be the topic of a June 2 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series scheduled […]

New report: ‘Genetically engineered’ crops not adverse to environment or human health

Texas A&M scientist involved in extensive study Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Stelly, 979-845-2745, stelly@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Genetically engineered crops have not hurt the environment and are not adversely affecting human health, according to a comprehensive study coordinated by the National Academy of Sciences. “Genetically Engineered Crops, Experiences and Prospects” is […]

Beef Quality Assurance training set for June 21 in Center

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lane Dunn, 936-598-7744, jldunn@ag.tamu.edu CENTER — A Beef Quality Assurance Training will be held June 21 in Center. The training is a collaborative effort between the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and Texas Beef Council. The program will be held at the John […]

AgriLife Extension to host Private Applicators License Training in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will conduct a Texas Department of Agriculture Private Applicators License Training on June 15. The training will be from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. […]

Forage on display at O.D. Butler Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – There was forage – and lots of it –  showcased at the recent O.D. Butler Field Day held at Camp Cooley Ranch in Franklin. Hundreds of Brazos Valley beef cattle producers attended the field day to learn more  about controlling weeds to boost forage yields, and viewed the […]

Taylor retires after 32 years as superintendent of AgriLife Research station at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Charles “Butch” Taylor, 325-387-3217, angora@sonoratx.net               SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora just celebrated its 100 year anniversary and for almost half that time, its current superintendent has been a mainstay at the 3,462-acre facility south of Sonora.            But after a 45-year history […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 24

Rains continue to bring mixed bag to producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, c-gulley@tamu.edu TYLER — Each step farmer Malcolm Williams took into his pasture announced the presence of water and soft, saturated topsoil. He left his flatbed truck at the gate knowing it wouldn’t make it far […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

AgriLife, Rio Farms host South Texas row crops field day May 24

MONTE ALTO  –  As South Texas row crops producers prepare to harvest what could be above-average yields this year, they’ll be gathering at an annual field day soon to learn more about plant breeding efforts for the future and the commodity market, organizers say. The Grain Sorghum, Corn, Sesame and Soybean Field Day will be […]