Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

Wildlife Symposium slated for May 11 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-224-0366, dale.rankin@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – A Wildlife Symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. May 11 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Atascosa County, 25 E. 5th St. in Leming. The symposium on wildlife is being coordinated by AgriLife Extension offices in […]

AgriLife Research station at Sonora celebrated 100-year birthday in style

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu              SONORA – Mild temperatures and azure blue skies over recently rain-kissed green pastures all came together April 23 to greet the almost 400 supporters of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station who helped celebrate the facilities’ 100-year anniversary.            “It was a great day,” said […]

May 16 Texas Ag Forum to feature agricultural transportation issues

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Agricultural transportation will be the focus of the 2016 Texas Ag Forum scheduled May 16 at the Hilton Austin Airport, organizers said. The forum will feature presentations from transportation experts and farm group representatives. “We thought it would be good to bring the agricultural and transportation experts […]

Rojo Ranch to feature walking tour of Katahdin sheep operation May 14

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu CALDWELL – A walking tour of the Rojo Ranch, a working Katahdin sheep operation, is set for May 14 from 9-10 a.m. in Caldwell. The ranch is located at 305 County Road 108. “This is a unique opportunity for area livestock producers to get a […]

Beef, forage symposium and cattleman’s meeting set for May 10 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Atascosa, Bexar, Frio and Wilson counties and the Atascosa Cattleman’s Association will present a Beef and Forage Educational Symposium and the association’s annual meeting May 10 in Leming. The symposium will be from 9 a.m. to […]

Fayette County Cow/Calf Clinic and Trade Show set for May 6 in La Grange

LA GRANGE — Beef cattle producers on the rebound from the Texas drought are urged to attend the Fayette County Cow/Calf Clinic and Trade Show May 6 at the Fayette County Fairgrounds in La Grange. The fairgrounds are located at 400 W. Fairgrounds Road. The event is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for […]

Landowner participation sought for Wildfire Response Workshop in San Angelo

  Understanding major wildfire protocols to be discussed at May 7 program Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu             SAN ANGELO – Continued rains and optimum grass-growing conditions across much of West Texas are setting the stage for a potentially catastrophic wildfire season, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]