Master Marketer Program to begin in January in Amarillo

AgriLife Extension economist: Seats will fill fast, so register early Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Agriculture producers must develop better marketing skills to improve their bottom line in times of greater market price volatility, and the Master Marketer Program is the place to get that training, said […]

Expert: Eagle Ford Shale boom will continue to fuel Texas rural communities

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-3845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Oil and gas drilling in the Eagle Ford Shale will continue to propel growth in rural Texas, but helping small businesses experience that same growth with a shortage of skilled labor will be a challenge, according […]

Texas crop, weather for Sept. 16, 2014

From too little rain, to too much rain, too early for South Texas Writer: Robert Burns, 903-312-3199, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After prolonged drought, South Texas producers are now struggling with too much moisture, according to Rod Santa Ana, Texas A&M AgriLife communications specialist based in Weslaco. On Sept. 16, the rains were continuing without […]

Sugarcane aphids confirmed on Southern High Plains

Floyd County find is region’s first   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, Contacts: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576,  ctallen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Pat Porter, 806-746-6101, p-porter@tamu.edu FLOYDADA — They’re hundreds of miles from the nearest sugarcane fields, nevertheless sugarcane aphids have now been positively identified in significant numbers on grain sorghum in Floyd County, said a Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Rebuilding the Beef Herd program set Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ed Schneider, 979-828-1112, robertson-tx@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – Brazos Valley cattle producers considering rebuilding cowherds will have a unique opportunity to hear a comprehensive economic analysis as well tips on developing a sound restocking plan Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch, according to organizers. The ranch is located at 4297 Camp […]

Multiple studies provide insight into drought tolerance of TAM wheat varieties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Shuyu Liu, 806-677-5600, SLiu@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Srirama Krishna Reddy, 806-677-5600, skreddy@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Drought is the most important constraint limiting wheat yields in the U.S. Southern High Plains, and the past four years of exceptional drought have provided a […]

AgriLife Extension names new South Texas agronomist

CORPUS CHRISTI –  Dr. Joshua McGinty has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agronomist for South Texas. McGinty will be headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Corpus Christi. “We are very pleased to have Dr. McGinty join our faculty,” said Dr. Mark McFarland, professor and associate […]

Texas fruit, high tunnel conferences scheduled in Bryan Oct. 6-8

BRYAN — Back-to-back conferences will be held in Bryan Oct. 6-8 for growers interested in fruit production and farming under “high tunnels,” according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension specialists. The third annual fruit conference will be 1-5 p.m.Oct. 6 and 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 7.  The second annual high tunnel meeting will be 8:30 a.m.-4:15 […]

AgriLife Extension sets two Concho Valley cotton field events

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Rick Minzenmayer, 325-365-5212,  r-minzenmayer@tamu.edu   BALLINGER – Concho Valley cotton producers will have two chances to learn what’s new in the West Texas cotton patch during upcoming field events in Runnels and Tom Green counties. The first is the Runnels County Turnrow Meeting set for 8:30 a.m. Sept. […]