Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland

Organizers: Speaker lineup includes the best in the business Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu MIDLAND – Horse enthusiasts of all genres should make tracks to the Permian Basin Horse Short Course set for May 16 in Midland, according to organizers who promise to feature some of the top equine experts […]

Range management workshop set for May 1 in Seymour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Martin Shaw, 940-889-5581, martin.shaw@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – The Baylor County Range Management Workshop will be May 1 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Baylor County, 500 N. Main St. in Seymour. “The program is designed to help producers make decisions on the control of mesquite and prickly […]

Wheat field day set for May 13 at AgriLife Research Chillicothe Station

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Steven Sparkman, 940-663-6301, sdsparkman@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Hardeman County Wheat Field Tour will be held at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Chillicothe Station on May 13. Registration begins at 9 a.m., and the program will conclude with lunch at 11:50 a.m., according to Steven […]

Expert: U.S. agricultural trade to Cuba could exceed $1 billion

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2559, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist told members of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry that U.S. agricultural exports to Cuba could reach $1.2 billion annually if regulations are relaxed and some trade barriers are lifted. Dr. […]

Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day set for May 16 in Winkler County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Caleb Eaton, 432-943-2682, cleaton@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Necessary, 432-524-1421, amanda.necessary@ag.tamu.edu Dena Floyd, 432-586-2593, dena.floyd@ag.tamu.edu KERMIT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. May 16 on the YT Ranch near Kermit. Caleb Eaton, AgriLife Extension agent in Ward County and […]

Veteran AgriLife Extension entomologist retires

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Rick Minzenmayer, 325-365-5212, r-minzenmayer@tamu.edu   BALLINGER – Richard “Rick” Minzenmayer, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service integrated pest management entomologist for Runnels and Tom Green counties, will retire April 27, culminating a 30-year career with the agency. Minzenmayer has held his current position, which also includes parts of Concho and […]

Two grain grading workshops set for May 5-6 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The 26th consecutive year of grain grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held May 5-6, according to Dr. Steve Amosson, AgriLife Extension economist in Amarillo. The back-to-back, day-long trainings will begin with registration at 8:30 a.m. […]

Texas crop, weather for April 21, 2015

Heavy rains continue to benefit wheat but delay other plantings Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More rainstorms swept over much of the state, leaving fields too soggy to work in many areas, but generally benefiting wheat, pastures and rangeland, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel. Planting of corn, cotton, rice, […]

Blackland Income Growth Conference changes location, date

2016 conference set for Jan. 5-6 at Waco Convention Center Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – The largest conference for farmers and ranchers in the Blacklands region will be changing locations and dates in 2016, according to organizers. For the past 53 years, the Blackland Income Growth Conference has provided producers with the latest […]

Big Country’s Multi-County Wheat Tour slated for May 1

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Multi-County Wheat Tour beginning at 8:30 a.m. May 1 at the Taylor County variety plots located off State Highway 351 on County Road 52, also known as Mesquite Lane. Robert Pritz, AgriLife Extension agent […]