Bull Selection Seminar set for Nov. 3 at Santa Rosa Ranch in Crockett

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu CROCKETT – A Bull Selection Seminar is scheduled from 1-5 p.m. Nov. 3 at the Santa Rosa Ranch headquarters in Crockett. The ranch is located at 19300 Highway 21. The no–cost seminar will cover cattle breeds, breeding programs, visual selection, individual performance data, expected […]

Oct. 6 webinar to focus on managing land for hunting, grazing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, tomecek@tamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Managing Land for Hunting and Grazing will be the topic of the Oct. 6 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Sept. 27

Weather patterns likely mean warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  The Texas state climatologist said an expected La Niña winter weather pattern would probably not emerge and there likely will be warmer and drier conditions on average into 2017. Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, state climatologist, […]

AgriLife Extension engineer awarded double honors during summer meeting

  Dr. Dana Porter named engineer of the year, receives group’s president’s citation Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dana Porter, 806-746-6101, d-porter@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service engineer who said she much prefers nominating colleagues for honors, received two of her own during the 2016 Annual International Meeting of the […]

Planting sorghums early might help reduce sugarcane aphid damages

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, EBynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Every year is a learning year right now for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists and anyone else dealing with the sugarcane aphid, both on grain sorghum and forage sorghum in the Texas High Plains. “We have a lot more information about […]

Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Carr Ranch Gathering Oct.21 at the Bill and Dusty Carr Sale Facility, 6720 Farm-to-Market Road 97. The facility is located 8 miles west of Floresville. The program is free. Registration will be […]

Armyworms are on the march

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Armyworms are now on the march, decimating huge swaths of Texas crops and pastures, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist at San Angelo.                 Dr. Charles Allen said reports of damage are streaming into his office and to […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Chronic wasting disease meetings set for Dalhart, Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Several chronic wasting disease informational meetings will be held in the Panhandle in September by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Animal Health Commission. These informational meetings, which will address chronic wasting disease management, new […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 20, 2016

Wildlife populations looking good for most of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Cathey, 979-845-7370, jccathey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Wildlife populations around the state appear in good shape after mid-August rains created good conditions going into fall and winter, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. Dr. James Cathey, […]