Church garden in Dallas helps people grow in togetherness

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stephen Hudkins, 214-952-0619,  Stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu Jeff Raska, 214-904-3050, jwraska@ag.tamu.edu Rev. Anthony Nolan, 214-288-0566, abnolan@sbcglobal.net Lisa Patterson, lisaapatterson@att.net DALLAS – More than plants have taken root in the raised beds situated behind Paradise Missionary Baptist Church. Along with the vegetables in the community garden at this house of worship in the […]

Rainwater harvesting takes center stage Aug. 11 in Eldorado

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Tait Cooper, 325-853-2132, tait.cooper@ag.tamu.edu Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2366, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu ELDORADO – As triple-digit heat and dry weather return to West Texas, the importance of rainwater harvesting will take center stage during a special workshop from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 11 in Eldorado. The Rainwater Harvesting program, conducted by the […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Growing better tomatoes topic of Aug. 5 workshop

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Kevin Crosby, 979-845-7012, k-crosby@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — A workshop on tomato production improvement will be held from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 5, according to Dr. Kevin Crosby, Texas A&M AgriLife Research horticulturist in College Station. The free workshop will be held at the Texas A&M Horticultural Teaching, Research and […]

Junior Master Gardener training to be July 27-29 in San Antonio

Program trains educators, volunteers on youth gardening Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, Ruby.Zavala@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Youth Gardens Program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Bexar County is now accepting applications for its summer Junior Master Gardener Adult Leader Training. The training is designed for educators and volunteers and will […]

New Texas Superstar introduced: Basham’s Party Pink crape myrtle

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bill Welch, 979-845-8564, wc-welch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Crape myrtles have been one of the most popular ornamental plants in the U.S. since they were introduced around 1790 by the French botanist Andre Michaux, said Dr. Bill Welch, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service landscape horticulturist in College Station.  A Texas-born […]

23rd Northeast Texas Horticulture Field Day a hit with horticulture enthusiasts

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – Master Gardeners Linda Brown and Brenda Kinney sat in the shade behind the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center’s main building, waiting for barbecue lunch to be served Thursday. The duo drove from Harrison County to join more than 250 attendees at […]

Composting with worms will be topic of July 16 program at Zilker Botanical Gardens

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Easy Composting with Worms, one of the Saturday Seminars at Zilker Botanical Gardens, will be held from 10 a.m.- noon July 16 at the gardens, located at 2220 Barton Springs Road, Austin. The program is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

AgriLife Extension experts team up for Earth-Kind turfgrass trials in North Texas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Matt Elmore, 972-952-9220, matthew.elmore@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-540-2019, s-george3@tamu.edu Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts has initiated the first research trials on ornamental turfgrass varieties applying Earth-Kind landscaping principles, which emphasize environmental responsibility through water conservation and limited […]