Program for beginner farmers and gardeners set for Sept. 22-23

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – An educational event for beginning farmers and gardeners is set for Sept. 22-23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053 N. in Overton. The Beginning Farmer and Gardener Conference will feature several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Beekeeping program slated for Sept. 8 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600 or drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will present To Bee or Not To Bee, an introductory program on beekeeping, from 10 a.m.-noon Sept. 8 at its office at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. Topics will include bee anatomy, society […]

Earth-Kind trials bring touch of nature to downtown Rockwall

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Williams, 972-204-7660, twilliam@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-952-9217, steve.george@ag.tamu.edu ROCKWALL – Between the Rockwall County Courthouse and Rockwall County Library and their adjacent parking lots, an Earth-Kind research garden provides a welcome reminder of natural beauty amidst the concrete and asphalt. “We have planted 23 different cultivars of dwarf […]

Texas tomato growers slicing into vegetable market with fresh fruit all fall

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Kevin Crosby, 979-845-7012, k-crosby@tamu.edu          COLLEGE STATION – Tomatoes are the Type B’s of the vegetable world: Laid-back, creative, collaborative.         Want a slice on a burger? Fine. Chopped into a salad? Great. Pureed and slathered over a pizza crust? Yum. Steeped in a winter stew? Ahhhh.         […]

East Texas Garden Lecture Series will continue Sept. 10 in Tyler

 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Learn your beneficial and pest insects Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu TYLER — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Smith County will continue its 2016 East Texas Garden Lecture Series Sept. 10 with a program on beneficial and pest insects. Erfan […]

Backyard poultry producers should take precautions against salmonella

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Craig Coufal, 979-845-4319, cdcoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Exposure to salmonella from live poultry can be prevented if producers take the necessary precautions, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The popularity of backyard poultry flocks has increased over the last several years, but recent outbreaks of […]

Valley’s Master Gardener classes moving to cooler times

SAN BENITO – This year’s Master Gardener classes in Hidalgo and Cameron counties will move to the fall to avoid the area’s blistering heat, organizers said. “This is the first time Master Gardener classes will be held later in the year so we can take advantage of the cooler temperatures that provide our best growing […]

Greater Houston Plant Conference to highlight new plants coming on market

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Paul Winski, 281-855-5600, paul.winski@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON — From winter-hardy hibiscus to Earth-Kind plants, the Greater Houston Plant Conference will showcase varieties that garden enthusiasts will want to learn about, organizers said. The event will be 8 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Sept. 16 at the Trini Mendenhall Community Center, 1414 Wirt Road, Houston. […]

Earth-Kind plants ‘prosper’ as environmentally sound choices

Dwarf shrubs, grasses growing in Prosper offer low-maintenance landscaping alternatives Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-540-2019, s-george3@tamu.edu PROSPER – Earth-Kind trials of dwarf ornamental plants in the town of Prosper, near Dallas, will provide valuable information on how to conserve water and reduce chemical use in […]

2016 Texas Superstar brochures are being distributed throughout Texas

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The new Texas Superstar guide to strong and stunning plants for Texans created by Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Department of Agriculture is now being distributed throughout the state. To be designated a […]