Coffee farm thriving in the Rio Grande Valley

Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO  —  A South Texas scientist is amazed that coffee plants from all over the world are growing so well in the subtropical conditions of the Rio Grande Valley. Just over a year ago, Dr. Juan Anciso, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service fruit and vegetable specialist, planted 200 […]

Accurate diagnosis is the first step in addressing turfgrass problems

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu TYLER –  Calls have been pouring into Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent Chad Gulley’s office from homeowners whose grass is not faring well. Lawns are thinning, showing brown spots and showing other signs of pests and diseases, Gulley […]

Backyard Basics Expo helps people learn self-reliance, preserve the past

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the Backyard Basics Expo held recently at the Oppenheimer Academic Center at San Antonio College. The expo, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, emphasizes self-reliance and the production, preparation and […]

Chickens in Your Backyard program hatches Oct. 13 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-845-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will host a Chickens in Your Backyard program from 10 a.m. – noon Oct. 13 at its office at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. “Many people benefit from the fun and rewarding experience of […]

East Texas Garden Lecture Series continues Oct. 8 in Tyler

  TYLER — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Smith County will continue its 2016 East Texas Garden Lecture Series Oct. 8 with a program on bulbs for southern climates and companion plants. A bulb, shrub and tree sale will follow the lecture. Brent Heath of Brent and Becky’s Bulbs in Gloucester, Virginia, will […]

Three fall vegetable gardening programs to be offered in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County will present three free vegetable gardening programs in San Antonio during the fall. The first program, It’s More Than the Spring!, will be from 10:30 a.m.-noon Sept. 10 at Milberger’s Landscape Nursery, 3920 N. […]

Future of flowers topic of Ellison floriculture fall lecture Sept. 12

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-3277, c-hall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Innovations Ensuring the Future of Flowers will be the topic for Jim Daly, featured speaker for the Ellison International Floriculture Chair Distinguished Lecture Series event, coordinators said. The lecture Sept. 12 begins with a 2 p.m. reception for Daly, Smithers-Oasis Floralife […]

AgriLife Extension to present two fall gardening programs in Dallas during September

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stephen Hudkins, 214-904-3050, stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present two programs in its Gardening By the Yard fall gardening series this September in Dallas. The programs will be from 9 a.m.-noon at Raincatcher’s Garden, Midway Hills Christian Church, 11001 Midway […]

Program for beginner farmers and gardeners set for Sept. 22-23

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – An educational event for beginning farmers and gardeners is set for Sept. 22-23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053 N. in Overton. The Beginning Farmer and Gardener Conference will feature several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Beekeeping program slated for Sept. 8 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600 or drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will present To Bee or Not To Bee, an introductory program on beekeeping, from 10 a.m.-noon Sept. 8 at its office at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. Topics will include bee anatomy, society […]