Texas A&M to break ground on 7-acre outdoor classroom

Texas A&M’s first large-scale public teaching garden joins national network of high-quality university gardens Contacts: Dr. Doug Welsh, 979-862-1697, dougwelsh@tamu.edu Michaela Catalena, 979-458-5714, catalena@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION  – Thanks to the generous donations of former students and friends, Texas A&M University will break ground June 17 in College Station on the institution’s first large-scale public […]

East Texas Field Day in Overton June 23 to feature hundreds of ornamental varieties

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – This year’s East Texas Horticultural Field Day will feature more than 500 varieties of ornamental plants and vegetables for public viewing, along with discussions by experts at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton. The event, slated for June 23, […]

AgriLife Extension sets June 2 gardening program in Mertzon

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2711, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu MERTZON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a gardening program from 2-4 p.m. June 2 at the Mertzon Community Center, 112 W. Duncan Ave. in Mertzon. Laci Kennedy, AgriLife Extension agent in Irion County, said the free program will feature Allison Watkins, […]

Poultry program set for May 31 in Tarrant County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – A backyard poultry program will be held from 6-7:30 p.m. May 31 in the Fort Worth Room of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County, 200 Taylor St., Suite 500 in Fort Worth. The event is free and open […]

AgriLife Extension experts: Time for pecan growers to scout, treat for casebearer

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-267-9151, lstein@ag.tamu.edu Bill Ree, 979-845-6800, w-ree@tamu.edu UVALDE – Now is the time for pecan growers to look for and possibly spray to kill an insect pest that poses a threat to their crop, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts. “One of the most destructive infesting […]

Rainwater Harvesting Made Easy program set for June 18 in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Rainwater Harvesting Made Easy program will be held from 9 a.m. to noon June 18 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office at 3355 Cherry Ridge Drive in San Antonio. The program will be presented by AgriLife Extension and the […]

New Texas Superstar introduced: Whopper begonias

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@tylerpaper.com Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Wax begonias have long been a staple of Texas landscapes, but a recently introduced series has been distinguished as a bigger, brighter ornamental – Whopper begonias. Whopper begonias have been named a 2016 Texas Superstar plant by […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 3

AgriLife Extension specialist: Recent rainfall improved soil conditions for the bulk of Texas’ cotton fields By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION — Most cotton fields in southern and eastern portions of the state are faring well and recent rains have improved soil moisture indexes in portions of West […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]

Rainwater harvesting program set for May 17 in Monahans

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu MONAHANS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a Healthy Lawns and Healthy Waters rainwater harvesting program May 17 in Ward County, said program coordinators. The event will be from 5:30-8:30 p.m. at the Ward County Convention Center, 400 E. 4th St. in […]