AgriLife Extension entomologists provide advice for women regarding Zika virus

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – Initially, the Zika virus was considered a “mild” disease, but public health officials have become increasingly concerned that pregnant women who contract Zika can pass the virus to their unborn babies, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers develop dietary cancer prevention strategies related to stem cells

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-0419, r-chapkin@tamu.edu Eunjoo Kim, 979-845-0448, kim10023@tamu.edu Robert Fuentes, 979-845-0448, nfuentes2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife scientists have found a way to use novel combinations of dietary compounds to selectively delete damaged stem cells and suppress cancer-causing cell signaling. “This research is necessitated by the fact […]

New AgriLife Extension fact sheet gives buzz on indoor flies

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – It’s getting close to fly season again and a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication will help people identify different types of indoor flies, understand their biology and, most importantly, learn how to eliminate them. “Next to ants, flies may be […]

AgriLife Extension urging Texans to Click It or Ticket

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bev Kellner, 979-862-1782, bkellner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – This year’s Click It or Ticket Campaign will be May 23 – June 5, which includes the Memorial Day weekend, and a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service safety expert is urging drivers throughout the state to take a few seconds to save […]

AgriLife Extension supporting National Hurricane Preparedness Week

Agency has publications for hurricane, other disaster and emergency preparedness By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-862-3013, t-vestal@tamu.edu Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavangh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – This year, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has named May 15-21 National Hurricane Preparedness Week and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking this opportunity […]

Food preservation workshop set for June 4 in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605,  Sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will present a food preservation workshop June 4 in its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The program will be from 9:30 a.m-noon and cover the basics of drying vegetables, fruits and […]

Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! program teaches youth about gardening, nutrition, physical activity

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, ruby.zavala@ag.tamu.edu Rosemary Fuentes, 210-631-0400, rosemary.fuentes@ag.tamu.edu Angela “Angie” Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – For the past two and a half months, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel have been making a difference in the lives of 542 third-graders at 10 elementary schools throughout Bexar County by […]

Lufkin program to help residents fight diabetes set for May 19-June 16

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Redus, 936-632-8239, joel.redus@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN — Diabetes is not curable, but it is manageable, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent Joel Redus, who serves Angelina County. AgriLife Extension will offer the Do Well, Be Well with Diabetes educational program in Angelina County to help […]

AgriLife Extension experts inform Texans on protecting from Zika, other mosquito-borne diseases

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists are informing Texans on how to protect themselves from the mosquito vectors that spread Zika and other diseases. VIDEO: Protecting from Zika and Other Mosquito-Borne Diseases “The ongoing […]