‘Growing good kids’ books recognized

Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-8565, seagraves@tamu.edu         COLLEGE STATION – The “Growing Good Kids – Excellence in Children’s Literature Award” has been conferred on three books, according to the American Horticultural Society and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s International Junior Master Gardener program.          The award recognizes children’s books that effectively promote an appreciation […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Williamson County residents invited to Step Up and Scale Down with 12-week program

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Williamson County will kick off a Step Up and Scale Down program Aug. 12 for county residents interested in getting to a healthier weight. The 12-week program consists of weekly lessons, weigh-ins and challenges to stay on […]

2016 season underway at farmers markets around the state

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Marco Palma, 979-845-5284, mapalma@tamu.edu Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu TYLER – A morning breeze ruffled the flaps of a circus-type tent bustling with customers buying locally produced goods from honey to banana bread to zucchinis and freshly shelled peas from the farmers who produced them. The Tyler Farmers Market was […]

Water quality monitoring plan development focus of July 28-29 workshop in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring Plan workshop for watershed coordinators and other water professionals July 28-29 in Austin. The workshop will be from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. July 28 and from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. […]

Educational summer meals program starts in San Benito

SAN BENITO – A second summer meals program in the Rio Grande Valley is feeding and educating youngsters on summer break who live in neighborhoods surrounding the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in San Benito. A similar program in Edinburg has been offering free meals and health education on Fridays. The Cameron County program […]

Bev Kellner receives Patriot Award award for support of military guard, reserve

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bev Kellner, 977-862-1782, bkellner@ag.tamu.edu Mike Guidry, 979-862-1901, mike.guidry@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program manager Bev Kellner was recently presented with the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Award for her support of the military by way of passenger safety programming. The award was […]

Rural leaders learn techniques, share ideas to improve communities

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Ronnie McDonald, 979-845-7808, r-mcdonald@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — A minister and two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service employees were honored for their efforts to improve lives in their communities during the annual Texas Rural Leadership Program conference. Rev. Victoria B. Griffin of Jacksonville was named Community Catalyst for her work […]

Fear of hunger grips kids at summer meals program in South Texas

EDINBURG – It’s not something one expects to hear from children in the U.S. —  concern about where their next meal will come from. But that’s exactly what organizers report hearing from youngsters attending the second annual Summer Meals for Our Neighboring Community program in Edinburg. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program is aimed […]