AgriLife Extension to offer three programs on Zika, mosquito management

Programs to be held Aug. 25, Aug. 30 in San Antonio Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 20-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County will be presenting three educational programs on Zika and mosquito reduction at its office in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square office […]

Gully retires after 23-year AgriLife Extension career

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Judy Gully, 325-653-4576, jk-gully@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Judy Gully, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service regional program leader for the agency’s West Region, will complete her 23-year career with the agency on Aug. 31. Gully has led the family and consumer sciences programming efforts across the 23-county West Central […]

AgriLife Extension sets two public Zika educational programs in Brown County Aug. 29

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a pair of Zika educational programs for the public on Aug. 29 in Brown County. The first program, sponsored by the City of Brownwood, will be at 4 p.m. at the Adams Street Community […]

Seminar Sept. 22 in Austin will address Zika and mosquito management

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County is presenting an informational seminar on Zika from 10 a.m. to noon Sept. 22 at its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The seminar is free and open to the public. It will […]

Backyard poultry producers should take precautions against salmonella

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Craig Coufal, 979-845-4319, cdcoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Exposure to salmonella from live poultry can be prevented if producers take the necessary precautions, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The popularity of backyard poultry flocks has increased over the last several years, but recent outbreaks of […]

Educating the public about Zika is now AgriLife Extension’s ‘priority-one’

  Unprecedented  statewide campaign involves all Texas county staffs Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, m-merchant@tamu.edu  or Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu                   COLLEGE STATION – Educating the public to protect themselves from Zika has become “priority one” for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, a state leader said.  AgriLife Extension […]

‘Growing good kids’ books recognized

Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-8565, seagraves@tamu.edu         COLLEGE STATION – The “Growing Good Kids – Excellence in Children’s Literature Award” has been conferred on three books, according to the American Horticultural Society and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s International Junior Master Gardener program.          The award recognizes children’s books that effectively promote an appreciation […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Williamson County residents invited to Step Up and Scale Down with 12-week program

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Williamson County will kick off a Step Up and Scale Down program Aug. 12 for county residents interested in getting to a healthier weight. The 12-week program consists of weekly lessons, weigh-ins and challenges to stay on […]