Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — September has been designated National Preparedness Month and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is supporting preparedness efforts by offering tips to Texans on how they can prepare for and recover from a disaster or emergency. “This is a particularly good […]

Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School will be presented from 6-8 p.m. Oct. 18 at the Whitley Theological Center, 285 Oblate Drive in San Antonio. The school is being conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County, the Prairie […]

Child Passenger Safety Week ends with free car seats, expert advice

AgriLife Extension to conduct free child passenger safety seat checks Sept. 23 Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contact: Joanne Ureste, 956-383-1026, Joanne.Ureste@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO —  Children don’t do well in car accidents, and according to statistics from the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, auto accidents are one of the leading causes of death for children. […]

Don’t be fooled by student loan forgiveness misinformation

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nancy Granovsky, 979-845-1869, ngranovsky@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – While there are genuine student loan forgiveness programs available, they do not apply to every type of student loan and they are not “instant or magical,” said Nancy Granovsky, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family economic specialist, College Station. According to U.S. […]

Water quality training Oct. 4 will focus on Lake O’ the Pines, Big Cypress watersheds

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Doug Weir, 903-665-2421, doug.weir@ag.tamu.edu Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, dr-reeves@tamu.edu JEFFERSON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and water management related to the Lake O’ the Pines and Big Cypress watersheds will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 4 at the Jefferson Tourism and Visitor Center, 305 E. Austin […]

Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

AgriLife Extension to present home food preservation workshop Oct. 1 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605, sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will present a food preservation workshop from 9:30 a.m.-noon Oct. 1 at its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The program will cover the basics of drying vegetables, fruits and herbs, said […]

New AgriLife Research scientists take aim at Zika

Pair head entomology team tasked with stopping the virus Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Zach Adelman, 979-458-3107, zachadel@.tamu.edu Dr. Kevin Myles, 979-458-3110, mylesk@.tamu.edu Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2510, dragsdale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Today’s news is flooded with reports on Zika; none of them good…until now. Texas A&M AgriLife Research has fielded a Zika team […]

AgriLife Extension to offer three programs on Zika, mosquito management

Programs to be held Aug. 25, Aug. 30 in San Antonio Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 20-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County will be presenting three educational programs on Zika and mosquito reduction at its office in Suite 208 of the Conroy Square office […]