Inaugural Northeast Texas Wine Grape Growers Field Day and Tour set for July 14 in Harleton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu HARLETON – The first Northeast Texas Wine Grape Growers Field Day and Tour will be July 14 at Enoch’s Stomp Vineyard and Winery,871 County Road 4312 in Harleton. The event begins with registration at 8:30 a.m. followed by discussions by Texas A&M […]

Agriculture Apps seminar set for July 22 in Fort Worth

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946; fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — More and more producers use smartphones as an important farm management tool, and a July 22 Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program will cover some of the newest and best agricultural phone applications available. “Having access to farm records and management tools […]

Science on a Sphere offers fun, free educational experience in College Station this summer

Contact: Rebecca Hamilton, 979-845-3792, rebecca.hamilton@ag.tamu.edu            COLLEGE STATION — Science on a Sphere on the Texas A&M campus offers 500 new ways to see Earth and other planets, said exhibit organizers. The interactive demonstration, one of only three traveling SOS exhibits in the world, will be available free to the public now through Aug. 15 at the […]

Experts: GMOs important weapon in fight against global hunger

Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Peter Murano, 979-862-7955, peter.murano@ag.tamu.edu Julie Borlaug, 214-597-1009 COLLEGE STATION — In a recently released 400-plus page report, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine reviewed hundreds of studies and decades of disease data and reached the conclusion genetically modified organisms pose no increased risk to human health. […]

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers develop dietary cancer prevention strategies related to stem cells

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-0419, r-chapkin@tamu.edu Eunjoo Kim, 979-845-0448, kim10023@tamu.edu Robert Fuentes, 979-845-0448, nfuentes2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife scientists have found a way to use novel combinations of dietary compounds to selectively delete damaged stem cells and suppress cancer-causing cell signaling. “This research is necessitated by the fact […]

Cancer research boosted by $400K grant to Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Xiuren Zhang, 979-845-1012,  xiuren.zhang@tamu.edu Dr. Jean-Philippe Pellois,  979-845-0101, pellois@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Two scientists with Texas A&M AgriLife Research will share almost $400,000 for cancer research granted by the Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas. The research institute was established in 2007 to “expedite innovation in cancer research […]

AgriLife Research scientist studies structures to boost tomato production in South Texas

WESLACO – To help revive the state’s sagging vegetable industry, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists in South Texas are looking at new cropping systems to improve and extend the tomato growing season. While the Rio Grande Valley’s fertile soils can produce tasty tomatoes for consumers, the harsh conditions of heat, insects and diseases can stand […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

Four-wire electric fence system best control of deer access to food plots

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, billy.higginbotham@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Landowners have a few options to protect forage plots and gardens from browsing deer,  but the electric four-wire system appears to work best, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist. Dr. Billy Higginbotham, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist in Overton, said […]

Understanding lock for cellular trap door may lead to better disease treatment

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jean-Philippe Pellois, 979-845-0101, pellois@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — A team of researchers who two years ago announced a “Trojan horse” method of entering a cell without harming it have now found, in effect, the lock to the cellular “trap door.” The research, led by Dr. Jean-Philippe Pellois, appears in […]