Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

Borlaug Institute collaborating with other agricultural institutions to help Afghan farmers

Contact: Dr. Tim Davis, 979-847-5887, t-davis5@tamu.edu Dr. Elsa Murano, 979-845-4164, elsa.murano@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Over the past two years, the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, has been working with other U.S. land-grant universities to help improve the lives and livelihoods of farmers in Afghanistan. Through the U.S. Agency […]

Who’s been sleeping in my cave?

Research reveals porcupines prominent in many South Central Texas caves    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Roel Lopez, 210-277-0292, roel@tamu.edu Andrea Montalvo, 210-687-8898, aem595@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Researchers studying the impact of small mammals on cave habitats with endangered invertebrate species got a prickly surprise when they discovered large numbers of porcupines parading in […]

AgriLife researcher takes close look at ‘inflamm-aging’

Study examines role of ghrelin receptor in fat tissue inflammation and insulin resistance   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yuxiang Sun, 979-862-9143, Yuxiang.Sun@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists have proposed that inflammation is the harbinger of aging and central to the aging process, a phenomenon described as ‘inflamm-aging,’ said Dr. Yuxiang Sun. Sun, a faculty […]

Patil honored as fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society

Contact: Dr. Bhimu Patil, 979-458-8090, b-patil@email.tamu.edu RECIFE, Brazil — Dr. Bhimu Patil, director of Texas A&M University’s Vegetable and Fruit Improvement Center in College Station, has been named a fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society for “his exceptional research and international collaborations in the area of produce, health, food and nutritional security.” Patil was keynote […]

New Texas A&M researcher tracking nitrogen, nutrients in plant cells

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sakiko Okumoto, 979 845 8736, sokumoto@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Sakiko Okumoto has her eye, or specifically her microscope, trained on tiny protein-based fluorescent sensors that track amino acids in live plant cells. Okumoto is the newest faculty member in Texas A&M University’s soil and crop science department […]

Dr. Luc Berghman awarded Zoetis Fundamental Science Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luc Berghman, 979-847-7387, luc-r-berghman@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Luc Berghman, associate professor in the departments of poultry science and veterinary pathobiology at Texas A&M University in College Station and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, received a microscope from his biologist uncle when he was a child, and he’s been […]

Toolbox being created for South Texas vegetable producers

WESLACO – It’s an imaginary toolbox, but Dr. Ismael E. Badillo-Vargas wants to create one for South Texas growers to help them revive what was once a thriving vegetable industry in the Rio Grande Valley. It would contain both short- and long-term strategies to once again harvest vast fields of produce in Texas for local, […]

Energy department grants $2.5M for biorefinery waste use, renewable bioproduct study

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joshua Yuan, 979-845-3016, syuan@neo.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Department of Energy has granted $2.5 million for a Texas A&M AgriLife Research study to find ways to use biorefinery waste to make new, marketable products. “In the biorefinery field, we have a saying: You can make anything but […]

Inaugural Northeast Texas Wine Grape Growers Field Day and Tour set for July 14 in Harleton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu HARLETON – The first Northeast Texas Wine Grape Growers Field Day and Tour will be July 14 at Enoch’s Stomp Vineyard and Winery,871 County Road 4312 in Harleton. The event begins with registration at 8:30 a.m. followed by discussions by Texas A&M […]