Texas A&M recreation, park and tourism science department celebrates 50th anniversary

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gary Ellis, 979-845-6018, gellis1@tamu.edu Debbie Barnes, 979-845-7324, Deborah.barnes@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The recreation, park and tourism sciences department of the Texas A&M University System recently held a 50th anniversary celebration attended by almost 300 people, including faculty, staff and former and current students. The celebration, which took place […]

Ballabina named AgriLife Extension’s executive associate director  

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sg-ballabina@tamu.edu        COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Susan Ballabina was named executive associate director for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service during this week’s Texas A&M University System Board of Regents meeting in College Station. “Dr. Ballabina’s devotion to the AgriLife Extension mission of improving the lives of […]

4-H Project Leaders Academy to be held May 21 at St. John Berchman’s in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-8459-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Prospective and enrolled 4-H project leaders are invited to attend the Project Leaders Academy May 21 for an in-depth look and training on 4-H programs in Bexar County, said coordinators. The academy will be from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at St. […]

Texas 4-H center offers variety of summer camps for youth of all ages, interests

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jenny Wilder, 325-784-5482, Jenny.Wilder@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — The Texas 4-H Conference Center in Brownwood has released its 2016 summer program schedule. The center, which is owned by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is at 5600 Farm-to-Market Road 3021 near Brownwood. It is located on 78 acres on the western […]

Symposium to cover topics from land and water rights to estate planning set for May 20

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cary Sims, 936.632.8239, cary.sims@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN  — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Angelina County will host a symposium on May 20 for residents with questions on topics ranging from land and water rights to estate planning and lease negotiations. The event, titled Land, Water and Wealth: Legal and […]

Learn to cook easy, nutritious meals for the family May 20 in Sulphur Springs

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Johanna Hicks, 903-885-3443, jshicks@ag.tamu.edu SULPHUR SPRINGS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wants to help residents learn to prepare easy, nutritious and economical meals for their families. On May 20, AgriLife Extension agents from Hopkins, Rains and Wood counties will present Dinner Tonight “Cooking Through the Seasons” healthy […]

AgriLife Extension experts inform Texans on protecting from Zika, other mosquito-borne diseases

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologists are informing Texans on how to protect themselves from the mosquito vectors that spread Zika and other diseases. VIDEO: Protecting from Zika and Other Mosquito-Borne Diseases “The ongoing […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 20, 2016

Corn and sorghum appear on track in 2016 COLLEGE STATION — Corn and sorghum crops appear to be on time and on track to produce average yields for producers around the state, said Ronnie Schnell, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state cropping systems specialist, College Station. Corn acreage is a little behind the five-year average, […]

Stocking new ponds with fish is a process

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Spring is a good time for landowners with new ponds to begin stocking fish but a planned approach is recommended, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension fisheries specialist Todd Sink. “A lot of people think you just put fish in a pond […]

Riparian and stream education program slated for April 27 in Jefferson

JEFFERSON — The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. April 27 in Jefferson for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Big Cypress Creek watershed, coordinators said. The morning session will be at the Jefferson Transportation Center, 305 E. […]