AgriLife Research scientist studies structures to boost tomato production in South Texas

WESLACO – To help revive the state’s sagging vegetable industry, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists in South Texas are looking at new cropping systems to improve and extend the tomato growing season. While the Rio Grande Valley’s fertile soils can produce tasty tomatoes for consumers, the harsh conditions of heat, insects and diseases can stand […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

AgriLife Research triticale program moving forward with new lines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Baker, 806-677-5600, JBaker@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Triticale, a cross between wheat and rye, might be an “extending” option for producers grazing cattle in the Rolling Plains, said Jason Baker, Texas A&M AgriLife Research senior research associate in Amarillo, who has been studying the crop since 2002. “If you are […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 26 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – Pricing wheat and cattle at profitable levels has been challenging during 2016, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agricultural economist. The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference on July 26 will cover how producers in the […]

Symposium to cover topics from land and water rights to estate planning May 20 in Lufkin

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cary Sims, 936.632.8239, cary.sims@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN  — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Angelina County will host a symposium on May 20 for residents with questions on topics ranging from land and water rights to estate planning and lease negotiations. The event, titled Land, Water and Wealth: Legal and […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 18

Dryland crops in South District show signs of stress Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Omar Montemayor, 956-487-2306, omar.montemayor@ag.tamu.edu Jaime Lopez, 830-334-0099, jaime.lopez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — Crop condition reports from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s District 12, which includes the southernmost area of the state, varied and were relative to rain received by individual producers […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for May 24 in Arlington

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Fred Hall, 817-884-1941, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu Aaron Hoff, 817-493-5581, Hoffa@trinityra.org ARLINGTON–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. May 24 in Arlington for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Village Creek-Lake Arlington watershed, coordinators said. The […]

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in three June workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Three Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock leases will be held in June in Stillwater, Oklahoma, Fort Worth and Amarillo. The free workshops will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and funded by the Southern Extension Risk Management […]

Wheat producers eye canola in crop rotations

AgriLife variety plots provide planting, seeding rate information Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941 ext. 207, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is conducting several studies on canola in both the Rolling Plains […]