Back-to-back grain grading workshops set May 6-7 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The 25th consecutive year of grain grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will include two one-day trainings May 6-7, according to Dr. Steve Amosson, AgriLife Extension economist. Each day will begin with registration at 8:30 a.m. followed by […]

Arbor Day Horticulture Symposium set April 25 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – An inaugural Arbor Day Horticulture Symposium conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County is set for April 25. “This program was set up to try to aid home gardeners as we move into the spring and summer season,” said […]

Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo to feature program on pasture leases, weed management

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SIMONTON – The second annual Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo scheduled May 13 in Simonton will feature presentations on the basics of pasture leases, according to organizers. The event, to be held at Twinwood Cattle Co., 4430 Guyler Road, will feature several management topics pertaining to beef cattle production, including […]

‘Preserving the Harvest’ classes set for May in Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jeanene Montgomery, 806-537-3882, j-montgomery@tamu.edu PANHANDLE – A series of three “Preserving the Harvest” food preservation classes will be held during May by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service at the War Memorial Building, 500 Main St., Panhandle. The classes will begin at 9 a.m. and end around noon each day. […]

Cottage food handler class set for April 23 in Canyon

Amended law opens new markets for home-based food businesses Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Farrell, 806-468-5543, jrfarrell@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – Home cooks wanting to sell their products can attend a “Food Handlers Cottage Foods Class” accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on April 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Ag industry, producers hear latest about 2014 farm bill

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas cattle producers will need to have documentation in hand as sign-up for federal disaster assistance begins April 15. Judith Canales, Texas state executive director for the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency, kicked off the recent 2014 Ag Forum in Austin, advising producers to schedule appointments with […]

AgriLife Extension to host cattle, wildlife conference April 25 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: J.R. Sprague, 806-862-4601, h-sprague@tamu.edu Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, Scott.Strawn@ag.tamu.edu Michael Wilkes, 806-868-3191, mcwilkes@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – A Beef Cattle, Range and Wildlife Conference will be held April 25 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Hemphill County, 10865 Exhibition Center Road in Canadian. The AgriLife […]

Professional food manager certification training course set for April 14-15 in Dumas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sue Owens, 806-935-2593, csowens@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – A Professional Food Manager Certification Training course will be offered April 14-15 at the Moore County Annex, Room 100, 310 East First Street in Dumas, by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Moore County. Cost is $125 and includes training, materials and […]

Online price basis tool for agricultural producers available from AgriLife Extension

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-, jmwelch@ag.tamu.edu Emmy Williams, 979-847-6143, emmywilliams@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s not as flashy as watching contract futures prices trade from red to green on the weekday exchange, but knowing the price basis for a commodity is an important aspect of marketing for agricultural producers, according to […]

Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture. Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention […]