Record cattle prices create opportunities to increase profit margins

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course to outline strategies, management for producers Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Record cattle prices are creating opportunities for producers to increase revenue and several of these strategies will be discussed at the 60th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled […]

Texas A&M Financial Planning Program receives $25,000 TD Ameritrade Institutional grant

Writer: Blair Fannin 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gene Nelson, 979-862-2527, nelsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Financial Planning program in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University has received a $25,000 grant from TD Ameritrade Institutional. The announcement was made Monday at the New York Stock Exchange. Faculty member Nathan Harness and Mariel Braun, […]

Miller elected to Texas Plant Protection Association Board of Directors

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Travis Miller, 979-845-7907, td-miller@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Travis Miller, interim associate director for state operations with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been elected to the board of directors for the Texas Plant Protection Association. “We are extremely pleased to have Dr. Miller join our group […]

New AgriLife Extension agent named in Sherman County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact; Alexa Reed, 806-366-2081, alexa.reed@ag.tamu.edu STRATFORD – Alexa Reed is returning to the Texas A&M family of state agencies in her new position as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Sherman County, effective Aug. 11, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in […]

South Texas study results show Brahman, crossbred influence receive higher premiums

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Levi Russell, 361-265-9203, lrussell@tamu.edu CORPUS CHRISTI – Data from a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service South Texas study shows Brahman and British crossbred cattle add significant value to breeding stock in South Texas and performed best in terms of sale price. “The research here shows the value of […]

Corn producers need to watch for southern rust

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu  COLLEGE STATION – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service plant pathologist recently met with corn growers at a field day near College Station discussing southern rust, a foliar disease that can be problematic for growers and threaten yields. Dr. Tom Isakeit shared practical advice […]

2014 Eng Symposium to feature cow-calf production system innovation

Contact: Courtney Coufal, 979-845-1542, cacoufal@tamu.edu Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Though high cattle prices may tempt cattle producers to expand herds, rising prices for land, fuel and feed still have some reconsidering expansion, according to experts. Opportunities for efficient expansion will be discussed in-depth at the 2014 Dr. Kenneth and Caroline […]

AgriLife Extension offers pesticide applicator training in Canyon

Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will be conducting a Pesticide Applicator Training from 9-11 a.m. July 31 at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. Brown Road in Canyon. The training is the first required step for anyone interested in obtaining a […]

QuickBooks courses scheduled in Amarillo and Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Jay Yates, 806-746-6101, jayates@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer QuickBooks Pro computer short courses for the 13th year on Aug. 26-27 in Amarillo and Sept. 16-17 in Lubbock. The trainings will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day […]

AgriLife Extension to begin farm program educational effort in the High Plains

Meetings scheduled July 10-Aug. 20 Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be providing an extensive farm bill educational effort in upcoming months, said agency experts in Amarillo. While sign-up for the new farm bill program is still […]