Rural Entrepreneurship chair established at Texas A&M ag economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ed Rister has been named the inaugural holder of the M. Edward Rister ’74 Chair in Rural Entrepreneurship, according to Dr. Parr Rosson, head of the agricultural economics department at Texas A&M University. Rister is professor and associate head of […]

Expert: Eagle Ford Shale boom will continue to fuel Texas rural communities

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-3845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Oil and gas drilling in the Eagle Ford Shale will continue to propel growth in rural Texas, but helping small businesses experience that same growth with a shortage of skilled labor will be a challenge, according […]

Sugarcane aphids confirmed on Southern High Plains

Floyd County find is region’s first   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, Contacts: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576,  ctallen@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Pat Porter, 806-746-6101, p-porter@tamu.edu FLOYDADA — They’re hundreds of miles from the nearest sugarcane fields, nevertheless sugarcane aphids have now been positively identified in significant numbers on grain sorghum in Floyd County, said a Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Rebuilding the Beef Herd program set Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ed Schneider, 979-828-1112, robertson-tx@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – Brazos Valley cattle producers considering rebuilding cowherds will have a unique opportunity to hear a comprehensive economic analysis as well tips on developing a sound restocking plan Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch, according to organizers. The ranch is located at 4297 Camp […]

Memorial service scheduled for Texas A&M animal science professor killed in car accident

Contact: Courtney Coufal, 979-845-1542, cacoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Marcel Amstalden, associate professor of physiology of reproduction in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University, died Sept. 3 from injuries sustained in a car accident. Amstalden, 44, was traveling near Hallettsville when the accident occurred. Visitation will be held Wednesday, Sept. 10 from […]

Southwest Dairy Day to offer look at modern dairy Oct. 8 near Friona

Composting, irrigation, manure application demonstrations scheduled Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu FRIONA – The annual Southwest Dairy Day on Oct. 8 at the Del Rio Dairy near Friona will be hosted by the Gingg family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Del Rio Dairy, […]

Farm bill, rural community opportunities highlight ag economics A&M-Rice tailgate festivities Sept. 13

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  COLLEGE STATION – An overview of the new farm bill, plus a presentation on economic opportunities for rural communities will highlight Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics football tailgate activities Sept. 13. The program and tailgate event will be held at the Texas A&M AgriLife Center, 556 John Kimbrough […]

Center on Conflict and Development to showcase international documentary

Contact: Melanie Balinas, 979-458-9399,mbalinas@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION – “Virunga,” the internationally acclaimed film uncovering the deadly confrontation of natural resource extraction and community interests in one of Africa’s world heritage sites, will be screened at 6:30 p.m. Sept. 11 at the Palace Theater in Bryan. Coordinators said the event celebrates the designation by the Texas A&M […]

Texas cotton industry mourns the loss of Dr. Carl Anderson

Longtime Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist pioneered marketing clubs Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-862-1563, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Carl Anderson, considered by his peers as Texas’ leading cotton marketing authority and one of the nation’s leading cotton analysts, passed away Aug. 30 at the age of 82. Anderson, […]

AgriLife Extension sets swine PEDv seminar for youth exhibitors, parents

  Lubbock educational program Sept. 17 to discuss new swine virus prior to show season   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1680, rj-scott@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the PEDv Seminar beginning at 6 p.m. Sept. 17 at the Bayer Museum of Agriculture, 1121 Canyon Lake […]