New Texas Crops Newsletter offered by AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is now offering a monthly Texas Crops Newsletter to provide timely and multi-discipline crop management information to Texas producers, consultants and allied industries. The inaugural newsletter was distributed Feb. 13, and each of the following […]

March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Balancing life will be focus of March 4 webinar for military caregivers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The next military caregiving professional development webinar  titled “Working to Balance Life” will be conducted at 10 a.m. March 4. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s  Military Program to […]

2014 farm bill discussed in-depth at Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Industry leaders representing Texas’ major commodities as well as Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and university experts discussed and evaluated in detail the 2014 farm bill at the recent 2015 Ag Forum in Austin recently. The event marked 30 years of an open forum to discuss issues affecting […]

AgriLife Extension to present ‘From the Hitch Pin to the Closing Wheels’

Planter pro to highlight March 11 Castro County program Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Nancy Andersen, 806-647-4115,  nancy.andersen@agnet.tamu.edu DIMMITT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the planter clinic “From the Hitch Pin to the Closing Wheels” from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. March 11 at the Castro County Expo, 405 S.E. 4th St. […]

Texas Farmers encouraged to contact local Farm Service Agency office

Feb. 27 is deadline for base and yield information update Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas farmers are reminded to contact local U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency offices to update base and yield information by Feb. 27, as agriculture industry officials discussed the 2014 Farm Bill in depth at the recent Ag […]

Annual Llano Estacado Crops Conference slated for March 6 in Muleshoe

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Curtis Preston, 806-272-4583, c-preston@tamu.edu MULESHOE – The Llano Estacado Crops Conference conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for March 6 at the Bailey County Electric Cooperative, 601 E. American Blvd. in Muleshoe. The conference will start with an 8-8:30 a.m. registration and conclude at noon […]

AgriLife Extension to offer cotton market outlook seminar in Floyd County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Cristen Brooks, 806-983-4912, cristen.brooks@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a cotton market outlook and risk management seminar from 9 a.m.-3 p.m. March 11 in the Floyd County Unity Center in Floydada. “This will be an important meeting for area producers as many crop commodity […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]