AgriLife Extension to host tomato, pepper workshop May 8 in Amarillo

Experts to discuss growing and preserving  Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Amy Wagner, 806-373-0713, aewagner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A “Growing Tomatoes and Peppers” workshop will be hosted at 6:30 p.m. May 8 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Potter County at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, […]

Texas A&M University Stock Horse Team named 2014 National Champion

Contacts: Dr. Dennis Sigler, 979-862-3595, dsigler@tamu.edu Victoria Pilger, victoriapilger@tamu.edu LOVELAND, Colo. – The Texas A&M University Stock Horse team was named the 2014 National Champion Collegiate Stock Horse Team at the American Stock Horse Association Intercollegiate Championship Show held recently in Loveland, Colo. The Texas A&M team was undefeated throughout this season. The team also […]

Peanut breakthrough involved Texas A&M AgriLife scientists

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Burow, 806-746-6101, mburow@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK– A Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist said the recent release of the first peanut genome sequences to the public by the International Peanut Genome Initiative should have major effects on Texas peanut production for years to come.   “This release is important […]

Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo to feature program on pasture leases, weed management

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SIMONTON – The second annual Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo scheduled May 13 in Simonton will feature presentations on the basics of pasture leases, according to organizers. The event, to be held at Twinwood Cattle Co., 4430 Guyler Road, will feature several management topics pertaining to beef cattle production, including […]

Ag industry, producers hear latest about 2014 farm bill

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas cattle producers will need to have documentation in hand as sign-up for federal disaster assistance begins April 15. Judith Canales, Texas state executive director for the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency, kicked off the recent 2014 Ag Forum in Austin, advising producers to schedule appointments with […]

High Tunnel Strawberry Field Day slated for April 26 at Lubbock

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Russ Wallace 806-746-6101, rwwallace@ag.tamu.edu   LUBBOCK– Persons interested in high tunnel strawberry production should make plans to attend the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service High Tunnel Strawberry Field Day from 9:30 a.m.-noon April 26 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Lubbock. The center is […]

Online price basis tool for agricultural producers available from AgriLife Extension

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-, jmwelch@ag.tamu.edu Emmy Williams, 979-847-6143, emmywilliams@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s not as flashy as watching contract futures prices trade from red to green on the weekday exchange, but knowing the price basis for a commodity is an important aspect of marketing for agricultural producers, according to […]

Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture. Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention […]

Canola showcased at College Station field day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cneely@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Canola field varieties were in full bloom amidst a backdrop of sunny skies and breezy conditions at the recent Texas A&M University field laboratory near College Station. “Our trials look beautiful right now,” said Dr. Clark Neely, Texas A&M AgriLife […]

AgriLife Extension’s Lower Rolling Plains Agricultural Conference set for April 9 in Snyder

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Zach Wilcox, 325-236-6912, s-wilcox@tamu.edu Greg Gruben, 325-573-5423, g-gruben@tamu.edu   SNYDER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the annual multi-county Lower Rolling Plains Agricultural Conference from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. April 9 at the Scurry Coliseum, 900 E. Coliseum Drive in Snyder.   “This annual conference […]