Hale and Swisher Crops Conference set for April 14 in Plainview

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Blayne Reed, 806-291-5267, blayne.reed@ag.tamu.edu John Villalba, 806-995-3721, john.villalba@agnet.tamu.edu PLAINVIEW – The annual Hale and Swisher Crops Conference, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in the two counties, will be held from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. April 14 at the Justice Center Assembly Room, 225 Broadway St. in […]

Results of annual Texas wheat producer survey released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cneely@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Results from Texas wheat producers who were surveyed in December and January regarding the number of acres of wheat planted and to be planted by variety for the 2015 crop year are now available. The survey was coordinated between the Texas […]

Marbling research shows healthy fat in beef has benefits

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Beef with reasonable marbling and juicy taste is preferred among consumers, and industry leaders continue to monitor how to consistently produce a product with these traits. A recent research article addresses the biology and biochemistry of beef marbling and its effects on production systems, carcass and fat […]

AgriLife Extension’s Lower Rolling Plains Agricultural Conference set for April 1 in Snyder

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Zach Wilcox, 325-236-6912, s-wilcox@tamu.edu Greg Gruben, 325-573-5423, g-gruben@tamu.edu SNYDER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Lower Rolling Plains Agricultural Conference from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. April 1 at the Scurry Coliseum, 900 E. Coliseum Drive in Snyder. “This conference highlights ag-related issues facing our […]

AgriLife Research study opens doors for increases in Texas corn yields, aflatoxin resistance

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A ground-breaking Texas A&M AgriLife Research-led study on corn has identified useful gene variations for yield increases, drought tolerance and aflatoxin resistance that could make a real difference to Texas producers in the years to come, according to researchers. The study, […]

Longtime Stiles Farm manager set to retire

Archie Abrameit helped Stiles Farm pioneer conservation tillage in Blacklands Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Archie Abrameit, 512-898-2214, ah-abrameit@tamu.edu THRALL – As only the second Stiles Farm Foundation manager in its history, Archie Abrameit says he has always viewed the 2,600-acre Stiles Farm as a “validation center” for Blacklands farmers in Central and South […]

AgriLife Extension expert warns of possible rust epidemic in Texas wheat crop

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cneely@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ron French, 806-677-5644, rdfrench@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Early sightings of stripe rust in wheat could indicate 2015 might see an epidemic in infections, according to two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialists. Texas producers and AgriLife Extension specialists and agents have observed leaf […]

2015 Aggie Processed Meat Technology School set April 22-24 in College Station

Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-3935, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 2015 Aggie Processed Meat Technology School will be held April 22-24 at Texas A&M University in College Station. Dr. Dan Hale, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service meat specialist, said based on input from past participants, the school has been expanded by one additional day. “Anyone […]

Spring Forage Workshop set for April 8 in McGregor

Contact: Shane McLellan, 254-757-5180, s-mclellan@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A spring forage workshop hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in McLennan, Bell and Coryell counties will be held from 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m. April 8 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Center, at McGregor. Cost is $20 and includes lunch. Three Texas Department of Agriculture […]

Texas corn producers should know their expectations before planting 2015 crop

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Lackluster grain prices in 2014 have Texas farmers hoping for something a little better as spring planting gets underway in the Lone Star State, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Dr. Mark Welch, grains economist in College Station, […]