East Texas Field Day in Overton June 23 to feature hundreds of ornamental varieties

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – This year’s East Texas Horticultural Field Day will feature more than 500 varieties of ornamental plants and vegetables for public viewing, along with discussions by experts at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton. The event, slated for June 23, […]

Beef Quality Assurance training set for June 21 in Center

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lane Dunn, 936-598-7744, jldunn@ag.tamu.edu CENTER — A Beef Quality Assurance Training will be held June 21 in Center. The training is a collaborative effort between the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and Texas Beef Council. The program will be held at the John […]

Forage on display at O.D. Butler Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – There was forage – and lots of it –  showcased at the recent O.D. Butler Field Day held at Camp Cooley Ranch in Franklin. Hundreds of Brazos Valley beef cattle producers attended the field day to learn more  about controlling weeds to boost forage yields, and viewed the […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 24

Rains continue to bring mixed bag to producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, c-gulley@tamu.edu TYLER — Each step farmer Malcolm Williams took into his pasture announced the presence of water and soft, saturated topsoil. He left his flatbed truck at the gate knowing it wouldn’t make it far […]

Pesticide applicator class set for June 8 in Tarrant County

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — Training for Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator licenses will be held June 8 in the Fort Worth Room at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County. Training begins promptly at 5:30 p.m. and will be completed by 9:30 p.m. “The four-hour training […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course set for Aug.1-3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After a historic run in beef cattle prices, producers are left with many decisions regarding the future of the cattle market, consumer demand and long-term weather projections, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle expert. These topics and more […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 26 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – Pricing wheat and cattle at profitable levels has been challenging during 2016, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agricultural economist. The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference on July 26 will cover how producers in the […]