Annual East Texas Regional Forage Conference set for Aug. 25 in Marshall

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Randy Reeves, 903-758-3345, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu MARSHALL — The annual East Texas Regional Forage Conference has been set for Aug. 25  in Marshall. The event is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service District 5 County Agricultural Agents Association. The conference begins at 8:30 a.m. with registration and ends at […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 26

Wildfire threat increases amid hot, arid conditions around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-862-3013, t-vestal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – New growth from spring and early summer rains are causing wildfire concern as summer heat and dry conditions have turned much of Texas into a tinderbox. Dr. Andy Vestal, Texas A&M […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Summertime pond management requires planning and caution

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, b-higginbotham@tamu.edu OVERTON – Phone calls about out-of-control aquatic vegetation are a common midsummer occurrence, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife and fisheries specialist Dr. Billy Higginbotham. However, he said, pond owners should proceed with caution when treating aquatic weeds in ponds where fish are […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]

AgriLife Research remote sensing technology aims to solve critical crop diseases

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Alex Thomasson, 979-458-3598, thomasson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sensor technology could possibly solve many challenges of crop production,  and Texas A&M AgriLife Research faculty are aggressively attempting to find new solutions. Dr. Alex Thomasson, an AgriLife Research biological and agricultural engineer, and Dr. Seth Murray, AgriLife Research corn breeder, […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

Northeast Texas grape growers gather in Harleton to learn, share

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu HARLETON — Altus Koegelenberg, owner and operator of Enoch’s Stomp Vineyard and Winery in Harleton, planted his first vine in 2005 when growing wine grapes in East Texas was a fledgling idea. In little more than a decade, he has expanded the vineyard to include […]

2016 season underway at farmers markets around the state

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Marco Palma, 979-845-5284, mapalma@tamu.edu Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu TYLER – A morning breeze ruffled the flaps of a circus-type tent bustling with customers buying locally produced goods from honey to banana bread to zucchinis and freshly shelled peas from the farmers who produced them. The Tyler Farmers Market was […]

East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference to offer tips, tricks for amateur and expert growers

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON — The inaugural East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference will offer professional and amateur producers tips on everything from wildlife management to vegetable and fruit production and marketing. The event will be Aug. 19 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, […]