Beef Quality Assurance training set for June 21 in Center

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lane Dunn, 936-598-7744, jldunn@ag.tamu.edu CENTER — A Beef Quality Assurance Training will be held June 21 in Center. The training is a collaborative effort between the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and Texas Beef Council. The program will be held at the John […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 24

Rains continue to bring mixed bag to producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, c-gulley@tamu.edu TYLER — Each step farmer Malcolm Williams took into his pasture announced the presence of water and soft, saturated topsoil. He left his flatbed truck at the gate knowing it wouldn’t make it far […]

Pesticide applicator class set for June 8 in Tarrant County

Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH — Training for Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator licenses will be held June 8 in the Fort Worth Room at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County. Training begins promptly at 5:30 p.m. and will be completed by 9:30 p.m. “The four-hour training […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course set for Aug.1-3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After a historic run in beef cattle prices, producers are left with many decisions regarding the future of the cattle market, consumer demand and long-term weather projections, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle expert. These topics and more […]

AgriLife Extension crop and livestock budget spreadsheets now available

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jerry Cornforth, 979-458-1804, cornforth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have updated crop and livestock budgets for 2016 to help farmers and ranchers plan and calculate expense and profit estimates for the current year. The budgets are available in spreadsheet format at http://bit.ly/1TZd7wA . “The […]

Poultry program set for May 31 in Tarrant County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – A backyard poultry program will be held from 6-7:30 p.m. May 31 in the Fort Worth Room of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tarrant County, 200 Taylor St., Suite 500 in Fort Worth. The event is free and open […]

Symposium to cover topics from land and water rights to estate planning May 20 in Lufkin

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cary Sims, 936.632.8239, cary.sims@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN  — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Angelina County will host a symposium on May 20 for residents with questions on topics ranging from land and water rights to estate planning and lease negotiations. The event, titled Land, Water and Wealth: Legal and […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 18

Dryland crops in South District show signs of stress Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Omar Montemayor, 956-487-2306, omar.montemayor@ag.tamu.edu Jaime Lopez, 830-334-0099, jaime.lopez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — Crop condition reports from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s District 12, which includes the southernmost area of the state, varied and were relative to rain received by individual producers […]