Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 29

Conditions have gone from one extreme to the other for producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, c-trostle@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Many row crop producers around the state faced tough planting conditions, from cool ground temperatures to too much rain, that delayed or […]

Stiles Farm Field Day features drone technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu THRALL – The future of drone technology and its potential uses in Central Texas Blacklands farming operations were featured at the Stiles Farm Field Day held recently in Thrall. The field day, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, showcased the latest in technological […]

2016 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2016 Texas Agricultural Custom Rate survey of regional and state rates charged for custom agricultural operations. “Each year, AgriLife Extension receives many requests for prevailing rates for certain kinds of work […]

23rd Northeast Texas Horticulture Field Day a hit with horticulture enthusiasts

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – Master Gardeners Linda Brown and Brenda Kinney sat in the shade behind the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center’s main building, waiting for barbecue lunch to be served Thursday. The duo drove from Harrison County to join more than 250 attendees at […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 21

Sun, heat and wind drying out soil around Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Josh McGinty, 361-265-9203, jmcginty@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Soil moisture indexes around the state are beginning to drop as higher temperatures and sunny days mark summer’s arrival. Heat, sun and wind all affect soil moisture as […]

4-H veterinary camp provides hands-on training to aspiring youth

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Joe Mask, 979-845-4353, joe.mask@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aspiring youth wanting to enter the veterinary animal health profession recently received week-long training that included hands-on demonstrations with beef cattle and horses, plus tours of the Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in College Station. The event coincided […]

Stocked fish ponds more susceptible to oxygen depletion during summer months

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, billy.higginbotham@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert said landowners should watch for oxygen depletion in stock ponds as we enter the dog days of summer. Dr. Billy Higginbotham, AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist in Overton, said landowners with stocked fish ponds should be […]

Mazurkiewicz receives Medal of Merit from Republic of Poland

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, Regents Fellow and director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been awarded the Medal of Merit from the Republic of Poland. Mazurkiewicz was presented the highest honor given to […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 14

Sunshine and no rain have Texas producers working full speed ahead Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay production in East Texas kicked into high gear last week as multiple days of sun dried out fields and provided a window of opportunity for cutting, raking and baling. Dr. Vanessa […]

Poultry program in Fort Worth June 28 focuses on reducing heat stress for flocks

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fred Hall, 817-884-1946, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – Summer heat can zap the production quality and quantity of poultry flocks, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Flock owners can learn many best management practices for keeping hens cooler at a program scheduled from 6-7:30 p.m. June 28 […]