Feed efficiency focus of online contest

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-2053, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A feed efficiency online contest will help cattle producers better understand the merits of measuring residual feed intake and behavior of beef cattle, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Dan Hale, AgriLife Extension meat specialist, and his […]

Texas Section, Society for Range Management annual meeting Oct. 7-9 at Marfa/Alpine

  Event will also include the Rancher’s Workshop slated for Oct. 6-7   Writer, Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu   MARFA – Educational field tours, international talks, a Rancher’s Workshop and social networking are all adding up to make the 65th Annual Texas Section, Society for Range Management’s annual meeting […]

AgriLife Extension sets Oct. 7 farm bill decision-making program in Fort Stockton

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: David Disselhorst, 432-336-2541, david.disselhorst@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm bill producer education and decision aid program from 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Oct. 7 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Center, 1618 Airport Dr., Fort Stockton. “This program’s […]

Texas A&M Agricultural and Food Policy Center launches online farm bill decision aid tool

New tool will assist with 2014 farm bill program decisions Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Agricultural and Food Policy Center at Texas A&M University is part of a $3 million education grant in providing online decision aids to assist farmers with the 2014 farm […]

2014 Texas cotton crop expected to be steady

Large world supply of cotton expected to keep prices down Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Supply is the controlling factor of cotton prices heading into harvest season, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Dr. John Robinson, AgriLife Extension cotton marketing economist in College […]

Nature appreciation to highlight AgriLife Extension workshop

  Oct. 23 event set for Fort Davis   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-295-0342, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-249-0265, l-boswell@tamu.edu   FORT DAVIS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Presidio and Brewster/Jeff Davis counties and the Chihuahuan Desert Nature Center are collaborating on a Nature Appreciation Workshop set […]

Intensification focus of Eng Foundation Symposium

Cattle industry representatives hear latest research on expanding cowherd Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tryon Wickersham, 979-845-1541, tryon@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Record cattle prices resulting from all-time low cow numbers in the U.S. is signaling expansion among ranchers across the country, according to experts. However, land availability and available capital are challenges in […]

Applied nutrition modeling producing beef more profitably, helping reduce methane emissions in feedlots

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Tedeschi, 979-845-5062, luis.tedeschi@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Nutritional modeling systems developed in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University have helped participating Texas feedlot operators keep feed costs in check and produce beef more profitably. Now, these models have the potential to be applied to help […]

Rural Entrepreneurship chair established at Texas A&M ag economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ed Rister has been named the inaugural holder of the M. Edward Rister ’74 Chair in Rural Entrepreneurship, according to Dr. Parr Rosson, head of the agricultural economics department at Texas A&M University. Rister is professor and associate head of […]

Expert: Eagle Ford Shale boom will continue to fuel Texas rural communities

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-3845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Oil and gas drilling in the Eagle Ford Shale will continue to propel growth in rural Texas, but helping small businesses experience that same growth with a shortage of skilled labor will be a challenge, according […]