Expert: U.S. agricultural trade to Cuba could exceed $1 billion

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2559, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist told members of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry that U.S. agricultural exports to Cuba could reach $1.2 billion annually if regulations are relaxed and some trade barriers are lifted. Dr. […]

Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day set for May 16 in Winkler County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Caleb Eaton, 432-943-2682, cleaton@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Necessary, 432-524-1421, amanda.necessary@ag.tamu.edu Dena Floyd, 432-586-2593, dena.floyd@ag.tamu.edu KERMIT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. May 16 on the YT Ranch near Kermit. Caleb Eaton, AgriLife Extension agent in Ward County and […]

Blackland Income Growth Conference changes location, date

2016 conference set for Jan. 5-6 at Waco Convention Center Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – The largest conference for farmers and ranchers in the Blacklands region will be changing locations and dates in 2016, according to organizers. For the past 53 years, the Blackland Income Growth Conference has provided producers with the latest […]

High Country Beef and Range Management Update slated for May 6 in Marfa

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu MARFA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the High Country Beef and Range Management Update from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. May 6 at the Marfa National Bank, 301 S. Highland Ave. in Marfa. The multi-county program will be […]

Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at agricultural conference in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller will be one of several speakers at the 17th National Value-Added Agricultural Conference May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agricultural economics department at […]

Experts offer some key considerations for Texas cotton farmers preparing to plant

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With cotton prices projected to be sideways in the near term as oversupply continues to pressure prices, growers will have to evaluate all aspects of planting costs to boost profit margins in 2015, according to Texas […]

Military caregiving webinar to focus on narcotic medicines given to service members

Event April 9 is open to all Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Understanding Narcotic Medications for Service Members” will be the focus of the next military caregiving professional development webinar at 10 a.m. April 9. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through […]

Sorghum silage a suitable alternative to corn silage, with proper management

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DIMMITT – Sorghum silage can provide an alternative to corn silage, but not all sorghum silages are equal, according to two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialists. Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension dairy specialist in Dallas, and Dr. Ted […]

Research seeks early detection of wheat streak mosaic virus

Experts: Identification could save producers water, money Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fekede Workneh, 806-354-5815, fworkneh@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – As spring growth of wheat begins, Texas A&M AgriLife Research studies indicate now might be the time to determine possible wheat streak mosaic virus infection […]

Trans-Pecos land use changes prompt multi-agency seminar

April 30 seminar set in Alpine Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu ALPINE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will join two other entities to conduct “Going, Going…Gone?: Changing Land Use in the Trans-Pecos and Its Impact on Ranching and Wildlife.” The seminar is set for 10 a.m.-2 p.m. April […]