Forage on display at O.D. Butler Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – There was forage – and lots of it –  showcased at the recent O.D. Butler Field Day held at Camp Cooley Ranch in Franklin. Hundreds of Brazos Valley beef cattle producers attended the field day to learn more  about controlling weeds to boost forage yields, and viewed the […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 24

Rains continue to bring mixed bag to producers around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, c-gulley@tamu.edu TYLER — Each step farmer Malcolm Williams took into his pasture announced the presence of water and soft, saturated topsoil. He left his flatbed truck at the gate knowing it wouldn’t make it far […]

Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course set for Aug.1-3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After a historic run in beef cattle prices, producers are left with many decisions regarding the future of the cattle market, consumer demand and long-term weather projections, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle expert. These topics and more […]

AgriLife Extension crop and livestock budget spreadsheets now available

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jerry Cornforth, 979-458-1804, cornforth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have updated crop and livestock budgets for 2016 to help farmers and ranchers plan and calculate expense and profit estimates for the current year. The budgets are available in spreadsheet format at http://bit.ly/1TZd7wA . “The […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 18

Dryland crops in South District show signs of stress Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Omar Montemayor, 956-487-2306, omar.montemayor@ag.tamu.edu Jaime Lopez, 830-334-0099, jaime.lopez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — Crop condition reports from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s District 12, which includes the southernmost area of the state, varied and were relative to rain received by individual producers […]

Agricultural transportation focus of Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Continued economic expansion coupled with a growing population has stressed Texas highway infrastructure, creating a set of challenges for agricultural production transportation throughout the Lone Star State, experts said. Challenges and Opportunities for the Texas Agricultural Transportation Infrastructure was the theme of the recent Ag Forum held in […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

Multi-county West Texas Livestock and Range Conference slated for May 26 in Big Spring

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu     Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu    BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the West Texas Livestock and Range Conference May 26 at the Broughton Agriculture Complex on the Howard College campus in Big Spring. The conference will open with registration at 8 a.m. […]