AgriLife Extension, Texas Beef Council to conduct Beef 706 program in Alpine

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu ALPINE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, the Texas Beef Council, and Sul Ross State University will conduct Beef 706, a free quality assurance program organizers say is designed to help growers raise a safe, top quality product […]

Four inducted into Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry at Texas A&M

  Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Rister, 979-845-3801, e-rister@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Four business professionals were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University during a reception and dinner at the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM ’56 Equine Complex. Dr. Ed Rister, […]

Texas State Chemist headquarters set to expand in College Station

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Office of the Texas State Chemist, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, is expanding its headquarters at Texas A&M University in College Station, adding more than 10,000 square-feet of laboratory testing facilities and an underground containment system, agency officials said. A groundbreaking ceremony was held recently […]

Crockett County Ag Producers Workshop slated for May 21 in Ozona

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Aaron Renfroe, 325-392-2721, arenfroe@ag.tamu.edu OZONA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Crockett County Ag Producers Workshop from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. May 21 at the Crockett County Convention Center in Ozona. “This will be a very ranch-focused workshop,” said Aaron Renfroe, AgriLife Extension agent in Crockett […]

Texas grain industry reduces aflatoxin risk

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Grain industry representatives are touting the effectiveness of the One Sample Strategy, a standardized testing method for aflatoxin. The program is administered by the Office of the Texas State Chemist, part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research. The program has received support from a number of grain groups […]

Future of the cattle market, trends to be featured at 2015 Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 3-5

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Historic high prices in the cattle market and future trends will be one of many important topics discussed in-depth at the 2015 Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled Aug. 3-5 at Texas A&M University in College Station. Dr. Darrell Peel, […]

‘Basics of Homemade Wine’ program on tap for May 29

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-467-6575, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu HELOTES – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Backyard Basics series program will present “The Basics of Homemade Wine” from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 29 at the Gardens at Old Town Helotes, 15060 Antonio Drive in Helotes. “For years, AgriLife Extension horticulturists have taught home […]

HEB establishes endowment for Texas A&M department of agricultural economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – An endowment has been established by HEB in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University to provide fellowships for students pursuing graduate degrees and research in the economics of food supply chain management. A reception was held recently on […]

Aggie Processed Meat School teaches art and science of making popular retail products

Writer:  Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-3935, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 25 meat processors and hobby sausage-makers recently attended the Aggie Processed Meat School held at Texas A&M University in College Station. “The goal of this is to help meat processors and people involved in food service understand the science […]

Texas well-owner training set for May 28 in Double Bayou

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu DOUBLE BAYOU — Anyone interested in private water-well management in the Double Bayou watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training May 28 in Double Bayou. “It’s great to have a TWON workshop here in the Double Bayou watershed, so that folks have an opportunity to learn more […]