Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo to feature program on pasture leases, weed management

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SIMONTON – The second annual Upper Gulf Coast Ranch Expo scheduled May 13 in Simonton will feature presentations on the basics of pasture leases, according to organizers. The event, to be held at Twinwood Cattle Co., 4430 Guyler Road, will feature several management topics pertaining to beef cattle production, including […]

Ag industry, producers hear latest about 2014 farm bill

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas cattle producers will need to have documentation in hand as sign-up for federal disaster assistance begins April 15. Judith Canales, Texas state executive director for the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency, kicked off the recent 2014 Ag Forum in Austin, advising producers to schedule appointments with […]

AgriLife Extension sets multi-county wheat tour for May 2 in Taylor County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu   ABILENE – Several Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices will collaborate on the annual Multi-County Wheat Tour beginning at 8:30 a.m. May 2 at the Taylor County variety plots located off State Highway 351 on County Road 52, also known as Mesquite Lane. Participants […]

AgriLife Extension sets five Quail Appreciation Day programs in May

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct five Quail Appreciation Day programs across the state in May to bring landowners, naturalists and other enthusiasts abreast of the current quail population decline and present some possible remedies, the programs’ coordinator said. […]

Private applicator training/testing set for May 2 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Angelo State University’s agriculture department will conduct a training May 2 for individuals needing a Texas Department of Agriculture private applicators license. The training and subsequent testing will begin at 1 p.m. in room 263 […]

Online price basis tool for agricultural producers available from AgriLife Extension

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-, jmwelch@ag.tamu.edu Emmy Williams, 979-847-6143, emmywilliams@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s not as flashy as watching contract futures prices trade from red to green on the weekday exchange, but knowing the price basis for a commodity is an important aspect of marketing for agricultural producers, according to […]

Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture. Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention […]

Canola showcased at College Station field day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cneely@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Canola field varieties were in full bloom amidst a backdrop of sunny skies and breezy conditions at the recent Texas A&M University field laboratory near College Station. “Our trials look beautiful right now,” said Dr. Clark Neely, Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Neighbor Meeting Neighbor Spring Field Day set for April 12 at Sonora

Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles “Butch” Taylor, 325-387-3168, angora@sonoratx.net, Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, sutton-tx@tamu.edu or Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   SONORA – Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Edwards Plateau landowners are hosting the second Neighbor Meeting Neighbor Spring Field Day April 12 at the AgriLife Research station […]

Hale selected to receive Distinguished Achievement Award

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Dan Hale, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service meat specialist and professor in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive a 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award for Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education and Professional Development. The award is given by Texas A&M […]