Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 24

Recent rains likely to boost hay production outlook Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4008, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Good quality cuttings of hay could be in the future for hay producers across the state following widespread rains. Dr. Larry Redmon, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader, College Station, said spring […]

Gully retires after 23-year AgriLife Extension career

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Judy Gully, 325-653-4576, jk-gully@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Judy Gully, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service regional program leader for the agency’s West Region, will complete her 23-year career with the agency on Aug. 31. Gully has led the family and consumer sciences programming efforts across the 23-county West Central […]

AgriLife Extension sets two public Zika educational programs in Brown County Aug. 29

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a pair of Zika educational programs for the public on Aug. 29 in Brown County. The first program, sponsored by the City of Brownwood, will be at 4 p.m. at the Adams Street Community […]

Breeding soundness exams can prevent a financial wreck at the ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The importance of a breeding soundness exam in herd bulls can prevent costly revenue losses, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Stan Bevers, AgriLife Extension economist in Vernon, shared the data from a large New Mexico ranch recently during the 62nd Texas A&M Beef […]

Plan ahead for fall and winter forages

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Mid- and late August is a good time for producers to plan ahead for winter forages, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension forage specialist in Overton. Since most fall, winter and spring forages perform best when planted in late September through […]

Annual AgriLife ram test will start Sept. 12

     Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu  SAN ANGELO – The 2016-2017 annual Ram Performance Test conducted by Texas A&M will begin Sept. 12 with delivery of the Rambouillet rams to the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, north of San Angelo on […]

Health benefits of beef brisket discussed at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas barbecue is famous for beef brisket and as a bonus for barbecue fans, it has many healthful traits, said Dr. Stephen Smith, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist. Ground beef produced from the brisket contains high levels of oleic acid, which increases levels of HDL or good […]

Future Texas agriculture leaders begin two-year study

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program recently held in College Station Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Josh Louder stood in amazement, watching the speed and efficiency of local watermelons being sorted and packed by a team of personnel at a facility near College Station recently. Louder, like […]

Backyard poultry producers should take precautions against salmonella

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Craig Coufal, 979-845-4319, cdcoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Exposure to salmonella from live poultry can be prevented if producers take the necessary precautions, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The popularity of backyard poultry flocks has increased over the last several years, but recent outbreaks of […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 9

Vegetable crops were faring well under prime conditions in 2016 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Samuel Zapata, 956-968-5581, samuel.zapata@ag.tamu.edu; Dr. Robert Hogan, 830-278-9151, rhogan@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – It will be some time before Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have a solid tally for total vegetable acres planted and their value to producers, but […]