Media Advisory: 62nd Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1-3 in College Station

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 62nd Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course is scheduled Aug. 1-3 on the campus of Texas A&M University. Multiple sessions throughout the three-day event will focus on beef cattle production, management, market outlooks and the future of the industry. During the general session scheduled for 1:30 […]

Now is the time to plan for small grains planting

  AgriLife Extension program in Brownwood offers decision-making help Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu     BROWNWOOD – With small grains planting season fast approaching and deer season not far behind, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Brown County has set a Wheat, Oats, Deer Plot Workshop for 6 […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 26

Wildfire threat increases amid hot, arid conditions around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-862-3013, t-vestal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – New growth from spring and early summer rains are causing wildfire concern as summer heat and dry conditions have turned much of Texas into a tinderbox. Dr. Andy Vestal, Texas A&M […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Summertime pond management requires planning and caution

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, b-higginbotham@tamu.edu OVERTON – Phone calls about out-of-control aquatic vegetation are a common midsummer occurrence, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife and fisheries specialist Dr. Billy Higginbotham. However, he said, pond owners should proceed with caution when treating aquatic weeds in ponds where fish are […]

New AgriLife Extension assistant named in Taylor County

  Thomas Cunningham assumed agriculture and natural resources/4-H post July 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service named Thomas Cunningham the new AgriLife Extension assistant for agriculture and natural resources/4-H in Taylor County effective July 15. The announcement was made by AgriLife Extension […]

Dr. Douglas Tolleson named to AgriLife Research station post at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Douglas Tolleson, 325-387-3168, Douglas.Tolleson@ag.tamu.edu            SONORA – After more than three decades, the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora is changing leadership.            Dr. Douglas Tolleson, who is no stranger to the Texas A&M University System or its AgriLife Research or Texas A&M […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]

Rainwater harvesting takes center stage Aug. 11 in Eldorado

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Tait Cooper, 325-853-2132, tait.cooper@ag.tamu.edu Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2366, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu ELDORADO – As triple-digit heat and dry weather return to West Texas, the importance of rainwater harvesting will take center stage during a special workshop from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 11 in Eldorado. The Rainwater Harvesting program, conducted by the […]

AgriLife Research remote sensing technology aims to solve critical crop diseases

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Alex Thomasson, 979-458-3598, thomasson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sensor technology could possibly solve many challenges of crop production,  and Texas A&M AgriLife Research faculty are aggressively attempting to find new solutions. Dr. Alex Thomasson, an AgriLife Research biological and agricultural engineer, and Dr. Seth Murray, AgriLife Research corn breeder, […]