Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at agricultural conference in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller will be one of several speakers at the 17th National Value-Added Agricultural Conference May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agricultural economics department at […]

AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Rebekah Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a third set of Quail Appreciation Days across Texas this spring for landowners, naturalists and others interested in actively stopping the decline of wild native quail through proper […]

AgriLife Extension sets Plant Appreciation Day at quail ranch

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu     ROBY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Plant Appreciation Day May 29 at the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch, located 10 miles west of Roby on U.S. Highway 180. The day starts with registration at […]

Annual AgriLife Extension Lunch-N-Learn series planned in Brown County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Brown County is conducting a Lunch-N-Learn Horticulture Series at the AgriLife Extension office in Brown County, 605 Fisk Ave. in Brownwood. Each program in the series will be held from noon to 1 p.m. The […]

Experts offer some key considerations for Texas cotton farmers preparing to plant

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With cotton prices projected to be sideways in the near term as oversupply continues to pressure prices, growers will have to evaluate all aspects of planting costs to boost profit margins in 2015, according to Texas […]

Private Pesticide Applicator Training set for May 8 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6524, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County and Angelo State University’s department of agriculture will conduct a Private Pesticide Applicator Training beginning at 1 p.m. May 8. The training will be in the Vincent Nursing and Physical Science Building, […]

Military caregiving webinar to focus on narcotic medicines given to service members

Event April 9 is open to all Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Understanding Narcotic Medications for Service Members” will be the focus of the next military caregiving professional development webinar at 10 a.m. April 9. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through […]

Wet weather may trigger serious wheat rust issues — or maybe not

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Drake, 325-653-4576, d-drake@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The prime wheat growing conditions throughout much of Texas this season should be a boon to most producers, but it could prove to be a bust for those not watching their crop closely, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. […]

Sorghum silage a suitable alternative to corn silage, with proper management

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DIMMITT – Sorghum silage can provide an alternative to corn silage, but not all sorghum silages are equal, according to two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialists. Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension dairy specialist in Dallas, and Dr. Ted […]

New farm trailer laws to be topic of AgriLife Extension program

Event set for April 13 in Brownwood Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Farm Trailer Laws program beginning at 6:30 p.m. April 13 at the Brown County Fairgrounds located at 4206 U.S. Highway 377 in Brownwood. “If you are involved […]