Live cattle selection, evaluation to be featured at Oct. 17 Brazos Valley Beef and Forage Expo

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu BRYAN – Beef cattle selection and a live animal evaluation will be featured as part of the Brazos Valley Beef and Forage Expo scheduled Oct. 17 from 9 a.m. -2:30 p.m. at the Brazos County Expo, 5827 Leonard Road in Bryan. Cost is $20 and […]

Feed efficiency focus of online contest

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-2053, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A feed efficiency online contest will help cattle producers better understand the merits of measuring residual feed intake and behavior of beef cattle, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Dan Hale, AgriLife Extension meat specialist, and his […]

Texas Section, Society for Range Management annual meeting Oct. 7-9 at Marfa/Alpine

  Event will also include the Rancher’s Workshop slated for Oct. 6-7   Writer, Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu   MARFA – Educational field tours, international talks, a Rancher’s Workshop and social networking are all adding up to make the 65th Annual Texas Section, Society for Range Management’s annual meeting […]

Texas A&M Agricultural and Food Policy Center launches online farm bill decision aid tool

New tool will assist with 2014 farm bill program decisions Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Agricultural and Food Policy Center at Texas A&M University is part of a $3 million education grant in providing online decision aids to assist farmers with the 2014 farm […]

2014 Texas cotton crop expected to be steady

Large world supply of cotton expected to keep prices down Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Supply is the controlling factor of cotton prices heading into harvest season, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Dr. John Robinson, AgriLife Extension cotton marketing economist in College […]

Intensification focus of Eng Foundation Symposium

Cattle industry representatives hear latest research on expanding cowherd Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tryon Wickersham, 979-845-1541, tryon@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Record cattle prices resulting from all-time low cow numbers in the U.S. is signaling expansion among ranchers across the country, according to experts. However, land availability and available capital are challenges in […]

AgriLife Extension names new District 7 administrator

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sg-ballabina@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Marty Gibbs as the new District Extension Administrator in District 7 effective Oct. 13. The announcement was made by Dr. Susan Ballabina, AgriLife Extension interim associate director for county programs […]

AgriLife Extension sets wheat/stocker cattle program for Oct. 14 in Cross Plains

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jerry Warren, 325-854-5835, jwarren@ag.tamu.edu Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu   CROSS PLAINS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a multi-county stocker cattle and wheat program beginning at 6 p.m. Oct. 14 at the Cross Plains Community Center, 108 North Beech St. in Cross Plains. The program […]

Applied nutrition modeling producing beef more profitably, helping reduce methane emissions in feedlots

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Tedeschi, 979-845-5062, luis.tedeschi@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Nutritional modeling systems developed in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University have helped participating Texas feedlot operators keep feed costs in check and produce beef more profitably. Now, these models have the potential to be applied to help […]

Rural Entrepreneurship chair established at Texas A&M ag economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ed Rister has been named the inaugural holder of the M. Edward Rister ’74 Chair in Rural Entrepreneurship, according to Dr. Parr Rosson, head of the agricultural economics department at Texas A&M University. Rister is professor and associate head of […]