AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

May 16 Texas Ag Forum to feature agricultural transportation issues

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Agricultural transportation will be the focus of the 2016 Texas Ag Forum scheduled May 16 at the Hilton Austin Airport, organizers said. The forum will feature presentations from transportation experts and farm group representatives. “We thought it would be good to bring the agricultural and transportation experts […]

Rojo Ranch to feature walking tour of Katahdin sheep operation May 14

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu CALDWELL – A walking tour of the Rojo Ranch, a working Katahdin sheep operation, is set for May 14 from 9-10 a.m. in Caldwell. The ranch is located at 305 County Road 108. “This is a unique opportunity for area livestock producers to get a […]

Landowner participation sought for Wildfire Response Workshop in San Angelo

  Understanding major wildfire protocols to be discussed at May 7 program Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu             SAN ANGELO – Continued rains and optimum grass-growing conditions across much of West Texas are setting the stage for a potentially catastrophic wildfire season, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — April 26

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   Recent rains brought a ‘mixed bag’ for Texas producers COLLEGE STATION —  Precipitation from a mid-April storm system was good and bad for Texas farmers, according to the state climatologist. Heavy rains caused flooding in some areas of the state […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]

Rainwater harvesting program set for May 17 in Monahans

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu MONAHANS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a Healthy Lawns and Healthy Waters rainwater harvesting program May 17 in Ward County, said program coordinators. The event will be from 5:30-8:30 p.m. at the Ward County Convention Center, 400 E. 4th St. in […]

Predator management and trapping program slated for May 6 in Rocksprings

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: James Crockett, 830‐683‐4310, James.Crockett@ag.tamu.edu. ROCKSPRINGS – A Predator Management Workshop and Trapping Demonstration will be presented May 6 in Rocksprings. The program, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices for Edwards and Sutton counties, will be from 8:30 a.m.-2 p.m. at the Edwards County Park Building. There […]

Key performance indicators help identify more profitable areas for ranchers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, s-bevers@tamu.edu FORT WORTH – Viewed as a report card for a cattle operation, key performance indicators, also known as KPIs, can assist beef producers in measuring factors crucial to an operation. Stan Bevers, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist, Vernon, discussed KPIs at the 2016 Texas […]