New Texas Superstar introduced: Whopper begonias

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@tylerpaper.com Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Wax begonias have long been a staple of Texas landscapes, but a recently introduced series has been distinguished as a bigger, brighter ornamental – Whopper begonias. Whopper begonias have been named a 2016 Texas Superstar plant by […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 3

AgriLife Extension specialist: Recent rainfall improved soil conditions for the bulk of Texas’ cotton fields By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION — Most cotton fields in southern and eastern portions of the state are faring well and recent rains have improved soil moisture indexes in portions of West […]

Searcy selected incoming president-elect of the American Society of Ag and Biological Engineers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, ssearcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the biological and engineering department at Texas A&M University, College Station, has been selected as the president-elect of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Searcy will begin a three-year term at the close of […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

May 16 Texas Ag Forum to feature agricultural transportation issues

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Agricultural transportation will be the focus of the 2016 Texas Ag Forum scheduled May 16 at the Hilton Austin Airport, organizers said. The forum will feature presentations from transportation experts and farm group representatives. “We thought it would be good to bring the agricultural and transportation experts […]

Rojo Ranch to feature walking tour of Katahdin sheep operation May 14

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu CALDWELL – A walking tour of the Rojo Ranch, a working Katahdin sheep operation, is set for May 14 from 9-10 a.m. in Caldwell. The ranch is located at 305 County Road 108. “This is a unique opportunity for area livestock producers to get a […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — April 26

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   Recent rains brought a ‘mixed bag’ for Texas producers COLLEGE STATION —  Precipitation from a mid-April storm system was good and bad for Texas farmers, according to the state climatologist. Heavy rains caused flooding in some areas of the state […]

Luling Foundation Field Day slated for May 19

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Julie Zimmerman, 512-398-3122, jzimmerman@ag.tamu.edu LULING – The 89th annual Luling Foundation Field Day will be held from 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. May 19 in Luling. Field day activities will include a tour of the foundation’s agriculture demonstration farm, speakers, practical demonstrations and an opportunity for networking, coordinators said. […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]