Carpenter inducted into Meat Industry Hall of Fame

Contact: Maggie Tucker, 979-845-1542, maggie.tucker@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Zerle Carpenter, Texas A&M University professor emeritus of animal science and director emeritus of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, was recently inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame. Carpenter was among six inductees selected from more than 75 nominations encompassing all areas of red […]

Ranchers hear key factors to growing forage at rebuilding beef herd symposium

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – Ranchers should be mindful of three important components of pasture health when considering restocking beef cattle, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Larry Redmon, AgriLife Extension state forage specialist in College Station, said water, fertilizer and protection are […]

Economist: Low agricultural commodity prices, potential rising rates could lead to land value declines

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Levi Russell, 361-265-9203, lrussell@tamu.edu CORPUS CHRISTI – Recent declines in commodity prices combined with the potential for rising interest rates could trigger a decline in agricultural land prices in coming months, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Dr. Levi Russell, AgriLife Extension economist in […]

Private Land Stewardship Field Day set for Nov. 5 in Coryell County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Chelsea Dorward, 254-386-3919, chelsea.dorward@ag.tamu.edu Heath Lusty, 512-556-8271, rhlusty@ag.tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu   COPPERAS COVE – Two state agencies and one federal agency will conduct a multi-county Private Land Stewardship Field Day Nov. 5 at two sites in Coryell County. The collaborating agencies […]

2014 farm bill, online decision-aid training event Oct. 27 in Atlanta

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu ATLANTA – A one-day 2014 farm bill overview and producer aid demonstration and training is scheduled from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Oct. 27 at the Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, 165 Courtland St., in Atlanta, Georgia. There is no cost to attend the training, but registration is required. To register, visit […]

Water the focus of 2014 Texas Plant Protection Association conference in Bryan

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – Future use of water and its impact on agriculture will be the focus of the 2014 Texas Plant Protection Association conference scheduled Dec. 10-11 at the Brazos Center, 3232 Briarcrest Drive in Bryan. “Water availability is paramount for agricultural production and certainly is of utmost concern to everyone […]

South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic and Trade Show scheduled Oct. 24

Contact: Kara Matheney, 979-277-6212, kjmatheney@ag.tamu.edu BRENHAM –The 43rd annual South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic and Trade Show is scheduled Oct. 24 at the Washington County Fairgrounds sales facility in Brenham. Registration is $20 and will be held from 7:15-8 a.m. the day of the event. “All area producers are encouraged to attend to receive information […]

2014 Cow Country Congress to feature weed identification, Center Ranch tour

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Jo Smith, 936-544-7502, Jo.Smith@ag.tamu.edu CENTERVILLE – Weed and huisache control methods, plus a tour of the Center Ranch, headline the 2014 Cow Country Congress scheduled Oct. 24 at the Center Ranch, 3582 Farm-to-Market Road 811 in Centerville. Jo Smith, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for Houston County, said […]

Live cattle selection, evaluation to be featured at Oct. 17 Brazos Valley Beef and Forage Expo

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu BRYAN – Beef cattle selection and a live animal evaluation will be featured as part of the Brazos Valley Beef and Forage Expo scheduled Oct. 17 from 9 a.m. -2:30 p.m. at the Brazos County Expo, 5827 Leonard Road in Bryan. Cost is $20 and […]

Feed efficiency focus of online contest

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-2053, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A feed efficiency online contest will help cattle producers better understand the merits of measuring residual feed intake and behavior of beef cattle, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Dan Hale, AgriLife Extension meat specialist, and his […]