Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Balancing life will be focus of March 4 webinar for military caregivers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The next military caregiving professional development webinar  titled “Working to Balance Life” will be conducted at 10 a.m. March 4. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s  Military Program to […]

2014 farm bill discussed in-depth at Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Industry leaders representing Texas’ major commodities as well as Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and university experts discussed and evaluated in detail the 2014 farm bill at the recent 2015 Ag Forum in Austin recently. The event marked 30 years of an open forum to discuss issues affecting […]

Water quality training March 25 in Dublin will focus on Leon River

DUBLIN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and availability issues related to the Leon River will be held from 1-5 p.m. March 25 at the Rotary Building, 126 E. Blackjack St. in Dublin. The workshop is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation […]

Texas Farmers encouraged to contact local Farm Service Agency office

Feb. 27 is deadline for base and yield information update Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas farmers are reminded to contact local U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency offices to update base and yield information by Feb. 27, as agriculture industry officials discussed the 2014 Farm Bill in depth at the recent Ag […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]

Austin Trainings offered to irrigation professionals

Expert: Winter is the time to prepare for spring, summer conservation measures Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Two trainings to help professional irrigators and water conservation staff save water will be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Feb. 24-25 at the Lower Colorado River Authority Dalchau Service Center, 3505 Montropolis Drive, […]

Storage options for hay discussed at Blackland Income Growth Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Stephen Hammack, 254-968-4144, shammack@ag.tamu.edu WACO – There are several management considerations regarding hay storage and reducing feed loss, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle specialist. Dr. Stephen Hammack, AgriLife Extension beef cattle specialist emeritus, Stephenville, shared his perspective – as well as AgriLife Extension […]

AgriLife Extension sets Vector Abatement and Mitigation Workshops across the state

  Workshops currently slated from Feb. 26 to April 30 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu   STEPHENVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct 11 Vector Abatement and Mitigation Workshops across the state in the coming months, according to coordinators. “The workshops, all with the same curriculum, […]

McLennan County Small Grain Tour scheduled April 24

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu McGREGOR – The McLennan County Small Grain Tour is set for 8 a.m. April 24 beginning at 2662 Plainview Road in McGregor. The tour is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in McLennan, Limestone, Hamilton, Falls, Coryell, Bosque and Bell counties. Three general continuing education units will […]