2016 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2016 Texas Agricultural Custom Rate survey of regional and state rates charged for custom agricultural operations. “Each year, AgriLife Extension receives many requests for prevailing rates for certain kinds of work […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 21

Sun, heat and wind drying out soil around Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Josh McGinty, 361-265-9203, jmcginty@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Soil moisture indexes around the state are beginning to drop as higher temperatures and sunny days mark summer’s arrival. Heat, sun and wind all affect soil moisture as […]

4-H veterinary camp provides hands-on training to aspiring youth

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Joe Mask, 979-845-4353, joe.mask@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aspiring youth wanting to enter the veterinary animal health profession recently received week-long training that included hands-on demonstrations with beef cattle and horses, plus tours of the Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in College Station. The event coincided […]

Stocked fish ponds more susceptible to oxygen depletion during summer months

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, billy.higginbotham@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert said landowners should watch for oxygen depletion in stock ponds as we enter the dog days of summer. Dr. Billy Higginbotham, AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist in Overton, said landowners with stocked fish ponds should be […]

Mazurkiewicz receives Medal of Merit from Republic of Poland

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, Regents Fellow and director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been awarded the Medal of Merit from the Republic of Poland. Mazurkiewicz was presented the highest honor given to […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 14

Sunshine and no rain have Texas producers working full speed ahead Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay production in East Texas kicked into high gear last week as multiple days of sun dried out fields and provided a window of opportunity for cutting, raking and baling. Dr. Vanessa […]

Twenty-four business professionals selected for Texas agricultural leadership program

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-four individuals have been selected for the Texas Agriculture Lifetime Leadership program Class XV. The two-year program, led by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is an intensive study of agriculture worldwide that equips people in the agriculture industry to […]

AgriLife strike teams respond to flooding along the Brazos

Writers: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu; Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John O’Connell, 979-864-1558, john.oconnell@ag.tamu.edu Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, rick.machen@ag.tamu.edu   Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.eduANGLETON — Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent strike teams continue response efforts to help with hundreds of livestock and companion animals displaced by flooding along the Brazos River. Two holding/shelter facilities and […]

Tractor, cattle working, Brush Busters demonstrations planned for Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Live cattle working, tractor equipment and Brush Busters demonstrations are among several activities planned for the 62nd Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled Aug. 1-3 at Texas A&M University in College Station. All demonstrations will be Aug. 3 at […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 7

Heavy spring rains have home gardens looking good Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Roy Flora, 936-334-3230, roy.flora@ag.tamu.edu LIBERTY — Plenty of moisture could mean a good year for home gardeners looking to save money on vegetables and fruits, but it could also mean an emergence of problems such as weeds, pests and disease, according […]