New Texas Crops Newsletter offered by AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is now offering a monthly Texas Crops Newsletter to provide timely and multi-discipline crop management information to Texas producers, consultants and allied industries. The inaugural newsletter was distributed Feb. 13, and each of the following […]

March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Balancing life will be focus of March 4 webinar for military caregivers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The next military caregiving professional development webinar  titled “Working to Balance Life” will be conducted at 10 a.m. March 4. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s  Military Program to […]

2014 farm bill discussed in-depth at Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Industry leaders representing Texas’ major commodities as well as Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and university experts discussed and evaluated in detail the 2014 farm bill at the recent 2015 Ag Forum in Austin recently. The event marked 30 years of an open forum to discuss issues affecting […]

Dr. Melinda Garcia selected 4-H coordinator for Bexar and Harris counties project

Project will focus on nutrition, technology, higher education, urban agriculture for at-risk individuals SAN ANTONIO – Dr. Melinda Garcia has been appointed as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H Youth Development Program specialist to coordinate the Children, Youth and Families at Risk, or CYFAR, project in Bexar and Harris counties, said Dr. Chris Boleman, […]

Texas Farmers encouraged to contact local Farm Service Agency office

Feb. 27 is deadline for base and yield information update Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas farmers are reminded to contact local U.S. Department of Agriculture-Farm Service Agency offices to update base and yield information by Feb. 27, as agriculture industry officials discussed the 2014 Farm Bill in depth at the recent Ag […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]

Austin Trainings offered to irrigation professionals

Expert: Winter is the time to prepare for spring, summer conservation measures Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Two trainings to help professional irrigators and water conservation staff save water will be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Feb. 24-25 at the Lower Colorado River Authority Dalchau Service Center, 3505 Montropolis Drive, […]

Storage options for hay discussed at Blackland Income Growth Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Stephen Hammack, 254-968-4144, shammack@ag.tamu.edu WACO – There are several management considerations regarding hay storage and reducing feed loss, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle specialist. Dr. Stephen Hammack, AgriLife Extension beef cattle specialist emeritus, Stephenville, shared his perspective – as well as AgriLife Extension […]