Summertime pond management requires planning and caution

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, b-higginbotham@tamu.edu OVERTON – Phone calls about out-of-control aquatic vegetation are a common midsummer occurrence, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife and fisheries specialist Dr. Billy Higginbotham. However, he said, pond owners should proceed with caution when treating aquatic weeds in ponds where fish are […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 19

Heat stress noted among many dryland crops as high temperatures persist Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu Dr. Ted Wilson, 409-752-3045, lt-wilson@tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Heat is stressing crops, pastures and gardens throughout Texas. The majority of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service districts reported daytime temperatures exceeding the high 90s, with […]

AgriLife Research remote sensing technology aims to solve critical crop diseases

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Alex Thomasson, 979-458-3598, thomasson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sensor technology could possibly solve many challenges of crop production,  and Texas A&M AgriLife Research faculty are aggressively attempting to find new solutions. Dr. Alex Thomasson, an AgriLife Research biological and agricultural engineer, and Dr. Seth Murray, AgriLife Research corn breeder, […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

2016 season underway at farmers markets around the state

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Marco Palma, 979-845-5284, mapalma@tamu.edu Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu TYLER – A morning breeze ruffled the flaps of a circus-type tent bustling with customers buying locally produced goods from honey to banana bread to zucchinis and freshly shelled peas from the farmers who produced them. The Tyler Farmers Market was […]

Texas Forest Country planning Stronger Economies Together program

Contact: Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A group of East Texas counties in the Texas Forest Country region has been selected by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development to participate in the Stronger Economies Together program. The program is designed to help multi-county teams strengthen skills and resources for collaborating on economic […]

McGregor Research Center serving as ‘nexus’ of Texas A&M AgriLife beef initiative

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – It’s billed by some as a best kept secret, but nestled back off Farm-to-Market Road 773 in McGregor lies the nexus of activity for Texas A&M AgriLife’s sustainable beef solutions research. This type of research provides science-based recommendations to help ranchers maintain […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 12

Texas livestock producers feeling the heat Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Paschal, 361-265-9203, j-paschal@tamu.edu; Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bruce.carpenter@ag.tamu.edu; Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu CORPUS CHRISTI – Texas cattle and livestock are starting to feel the heat as summer temperatures climb past 100 degrees. Dr. Joe Paschal, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service […]

Blackland Income Growth Conference set for Dec. 13-14 in Waco

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ronald Woolley, 254-968-4144, ronald.woolley@ag.tamu.edu WACO – The Blackland Income Growth Conference, the largest conference for Central Texas Blacklands region farmers and ranchers, will be held at an earlier date than in the past to accommodate the region’s producers, according to organizers. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service conference is […]

Youth program to be offered at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Youth can learn more about the beef industry, including a virtual tour of a feedlot and packing operations, during a special hands-on program held in conjunction with the Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course on Aug. 1-2 at Texas A&M University […]