Water quality training May 7 in Kosse to focus on Navasota River

David Groschke, 254-729-5314, dwgroschke@ag.tamu.edu Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, michael.kuitu@ag.tamu.edu KOSSE – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality issues related to the Navasota River will be held from 1-5 p.m. May 7 at the Kosse Community Center, 200 Texas 14 in Kosse. The workshop is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Expert: U.S. agricultural trade to Cuba could exceed $1 billion

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2559, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist told members of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry that U.S. agricultural exports to Cuba could reach $1.2 billion annually if regulations are relaxed and some trade barriers are lifted. Dr. […]

Blackland Income Growth Conference changes location, date

2016 conference set for Jan. 5-6 at Waco Convention Center Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – The largest conference for farmers and ranchers in the Blacklands region will be changing locations and dates in 2016, according to organizers. For the past 53 years, the Blackland Income Growth Conference has provided producers with the latest […]

Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at agricultural conference in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller will be one of several speakers at the 17th National Value-Added Agricultural Conference May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agricultural economics department at […]

Landowner issue conference set May 8 in Lufkin

Topics to include estate planning, groundwater issues and fracturing facts Writer: Robert Burns, 903-312-3199, rd-burns@tamu.eduu LUFKIN – “The Value of Land,” a conference on issues affecting landowners, will be held May 8 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Angelina County, 2201 S. Medford Drive in Lufkin. Topics will include: — Issues Affecting […]

Experts offer some key considerations for Texas cotton farmers preparing to plant

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gmorgan@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With cotton prices projected to be sideways in the near term as oversupply continues to pressure prices, growers will have to evaluate all aspects of planting costs to boost profit margins in 2015, according to Texas […]

Military caregiving webinar to focus on narcotic medicines given to service members

Event April 9 is open to all Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Understanding Narcotic Medications for Service Members” will be the focus of the next military caregiving professional development webinar at 10 a.m. April 9. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through […]

Sorghum silage a suitable alternative to corn silage, with proper management

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DIMMITT – Sorghum silage can provide an alternative to corn silage, but not all sorghum silages are equal, according to two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialists. Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension dairy specialist in Dallas, and Dr. Ted […]

Research seeks early detection of wheat streak mosaic virus

Experts: Identification could save producers water, money Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fekede Workneh, 806-354-5815, fworkneh@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – As spring growth of wheat begins, Texas A&M AgriLife Research studies indicate now might be the time to determine possible wheat streak mosaic virus infection […]

Natural resources, wildlife workshop set April 23-24 in Kerrville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – An extensive educational program on managing natural resources and wildlife is set for April 23-24 at the Inn of the Hills Resort and Conference Center in Kerrville. The conference, which will begin on April 23 with a […]