Searcy selected incoming president-elect of the American Society of Ag and Biological Engineers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, ssearcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the biological and engineering department at Texas A&M University, College Station, has been selected as the president-elect of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Searcy will begin a three-year term at the close of […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

Wildlife Symposium slated for May 11 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-224-0366, dale.rankin@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – A Wildlife Symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. May 11 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Atascosa County, 25 E. 5th St. in Leming. The symposium on wildlife is being coordinated by AgriLife Extension offices in […]

May 16 Texas Ag Forum to feature agricultural transportation issues

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Agricultural transportation will be the focus of the 2016 Texas Ag Forum scheduled May 16 at the Hilton Austin Airport, organizers said. The forum will feature presentations from transportation experts and farm group representatives. “We thought it would be good to bring the agricultural and transportation experts […]

Rojo Ranch to feature walking tour of Katahdin sheep operation May 14

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu CALDWELL – A walking tour of the Rojo Ranch, a working Katahdin sheep operation, is set for May 14 from 9-10 a.m. in Caldwell. The ranch is located at 305 County Road 108. “This is a unique opportunity for area livestock producers to get a […]

Beef, forage symposium and cattleman’s meeting set for May 10 in Leming

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Atascosa, Bexar, Frio and Wilson counties and the Atascosa Cattleman’s Association will present a Beef and Forage Educational Symposium and the association’s annual meeting May 10 in Leming. The symposium will be from 9 a.m. to […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for May 5 in Pflugerville

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Roberto Vega, 512-990-6300, RobertoV@pflugervilletx.gov Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, DRichards@ag.tamu.edu PFLUGERVILLE–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.to 4 p.m. May 5 in Pflugerville for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Gilleland Creek watershed, coordinators said. The […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]

4-H Project Leaders Academy to be held May 21 at St. John Berchman’s in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-8459-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Prospective and enrolled 4-H project leaders are invited to attend the Project Leaders Academy May 21 for an in-depth look and training on 4-H programs in Bexar County, said coordinators. The academy will be from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at St. […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — April 26

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   Recent rains brought a ‘mixed bag’ for Texas producers COLLEGE STATION —  Precipitation from a mid-April storm system was good and bad for Texas farmers, according to the state climatologist. Heavy rains caused flooding in some areas of the state […]