Aggie Processed Meat School teaches art and science of making popular retail products

Writer:  Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-3935, dhale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 25 meat processors and hobby sausage-makers recently attended the Aggie Processed Meat School held at Texas A&M University in College Station. “The goal of this is to help meat processors and people involved in food service understand the science […]

Texas well-owner training set for May 28 in Double Bayou

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu DOUBLE BAYOU — Anyone interested in private water-well management in the Double Bayou watershed is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training May 28 in Double Bayou. “It’s great to have a TWON workshop here in the Double Bayou watershed, so that folks have an opportunity to learn more […]

Beginning Rancher Educational Program scheduled June 9-10 at Texas A&M

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Hairgrove, 979-458-3216, tbhairgrove@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Beginning Rancher Educational Program is scheduled June 9-10 at the O.D. Butler Jr. Animal Science Complex at Texas A&M University in College Station. The free workshop is open to those who have entered the ranching business over the past 10 […]

Time to bust the myths about seat belts

Click It or Ticket campaign set for May 18-31 Contact: Bev Kellner, 979-862-1782, bkellner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – When it comes to wearing seat belts, some motorists incorrectly think they are protected by the size of their vehicle, their seating position or where they are driving, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. The truth […]

Forage plots, new equipment to be featured at O.D. Butler Field Day May 15

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – New forage planting and harvesting equipment, plus demonstration plots, will be featured at the 29th annual O.D. Butler Forage Field Day scheduled May 15 at Circle X Land & Cattle Company Camp Cooley Ranch Division. The ranch is located at 4297 Camp Cooley […]

Patch burning for targeted rangeland control will be featured in May 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Picking the time and place to conduct a prescribed patch burn for maximum rangeland brush management will be the topic of the May 7 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. […]

Grafting and Pruning Workshop set for May 5 in Medina

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Sam Womble, 830-796-7755, s-womble@tamu.edu MEDINA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be hosting a Fruit and Nut Tree Grafting and Pruning Workshop from 9-11 a.m. May 5 at Love Creek Apple Orchard in Medina. The orchard is located at 13495 State Highway 16. “Participants can expect to […]

Student Media Grant Program projects showcased at AgriLife Center reception

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – 2014 Student Media Grant Program recipients Michael Petriello and Ryan Vroegindewey recently showcased their travel grant projects during a recent reception at the AgriLife Center on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station. The Student Media Grant Program is an annual photojournalism grant awarded to students […]

Advanced metering infrastructure system workshops set for Weslaco, Corpus Christi

Contact: Dr. Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Advanced metering infrastructure system trainings for water utilities are set for May 13 in Weslaco and May 14 in Corpus Christi. Dr. Allen Berthold, Texas Water Resources Institute research scientist in College Station, said the trainings are open to municipal employees interested in learning more about various […]

Water quality training May 7 in Kosse to focus on Navasota River

David Groschke, 254-729-5314, dwgroschke@ag.tamu.edu Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, michael.kuitu@ag.tamu.edu KOSSE – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality issues related to the Navasota River will be held from 1-5 p.m. May 7 at the Kosse Community Center, 200 Texas 14 in Kosse. The workshop is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]