Forage producers face annual battle with weeds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu It’s an annual battle to address range and pasture weeds, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Cool-season weeds have fully matured, and warm-season weeds are emerging amid wet spring conditions and creating problems for some forage producers, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension […]

AgriLife, Rio Farms host South Texas row crops field day May 24

MONTE ALTO  –  As South Texas row crops producers prepare to harvest what could be above-average yields this year, they’ll be gathering at an annual field day soon to learn more about plant breeding efforts for the future and the commodity market, organizers say. The Grain Sorghum, Corn, Sesame and Soybean Field Day will be […]

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course set for Aug.1-3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After a historic run in beef cattle prices, producers are left with many decisions regarding the future of the cattle market, consumer demand and long-term weather projections, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle expert. These topics and more […]

AgriLife Extension crop and livestock budget spreadsheets now available

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jerry Cornforth, 979-458-1804, cornforth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have updated crop and livestock budgets for 2016 to help farmers and ranchers plan and calculate expense and profit estimates for the current year. The budgets are available in spreadsheet format at http://bit.ly/1TZd7wA . “The […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 18

Dryland crops in South District show signs of stress Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Omar Montemayor, 956-487-2306, omar.montemayor@ag.tamu.edu Jaime Lopez, 830-334-0099, jaime.lopez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — Crop condition reports from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s District 12, which includes the southernmost area of the state, varied and were relative to rain received by individual producers […]

Agricultural transportation focus of Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Continued economic expansion coupled with a growing population has stressed Texas highway infrastructure, creating a set of challenges for agricultural production transportation throughout the Lone Star State, experts said. Challenges and Opportunities for the Texas Agricultural Transportation Infrastructure was the theme of the recent Ag Forum held in […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

Four-wire electric fence system best control of deer access to food plots

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Billy Higginbotham, 903-834-6191, billy.higginbotham@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Landowners have a few options to protect forage plots and gardens from browsing deer,  but the electric four-wire system appears to work best, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist. Dr. Billy Higginbotham, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist in Overton, said […]

Two inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Mark Miller (‘87) and John Miller (‘90) were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry in the Texas A&M University agricultural economics department in College Station. The induction was held during a reception and dinner at Texas A&M as […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 10

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Dykes, 979-845-9714, mdykes@tamu.edu Beekeepers are as busy as their bees this spring COLLEGE STATION — Beekeepers have been making their annual rounds pollinating crops for Texas producers, according to Texas Apiary Inspection Service chief inspector Mark Dykes, College Station. Dykes said beekeepers typically trek to California in early […]