Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 30

Pecan crops appear on track for slightly better than average year Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, lstein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Hit and miss rains and a bumper 2015 crop could mean a hit-or-miss 2016 for pecan producers around the state, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. Larry […]

Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation increases support of AgriLife Research programs in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, c-long@tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M AgriLife Research programs in Overton will expand with generous support from a long-time benefactor – the Bruce McMillan Jr. Foundation. The foundation’s board of directors and the administration of AgriLife Research announced that a 446-acre farm on Texas Highway 135 […]

Fall armyworms are on the march

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Fall armyworms are on the march in parts of Texas. Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents in a few of the agency’s districts have reported increased armyworm activity in hayfields and pastures over the past few weeks. Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, AgriLife Extension forage […]

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate, seminar set Sept. 3

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – International influences on the cotton, grain market outlook and a discussion on study abroad programs will be the featured seminar presentations scheduled from 10-11 a.m. Sept. 3 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities. The […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 24

Recent rains likely to boost hay production outlook Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4008, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Good quality cuttings of hay could be in the future for hay producers across the state following widespread rains. Dr. Larry Redmon, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader, College Station, said spring […]

Breeding soundness exams can prevent a financial wreck at the ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The importance of a breeding soundness exam in herd bulls can prevent costly revenue losses, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Stan Bevers, AgriLife Extension economist in Vernon, shared the data from a large New Mexico ranch recently during the 62nd Texas A&M Beef […]

Plan ahead for fall and winter forages

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Mid- and late August is a good time for producers to plan ahead for winter forages, said Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension forage specialist in Overton. Since most fall, winter and spring forages perform best when planted in late September through […]

Health benefits of beef brisket discussed at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas barbecue is famous for beef brisket and as a bonus for barbecue fans, it has many healthful traits, said Dr. Stephen Smith, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientist. Ground beef produced from the brisket contains high levels of oleic acid, which increases levels of HDL or good […]

Soil and Irrigation Conservation Workshop slated Aug. 24 in Weslaco

WESLACO – Agricultural producers throughout the Rio Grande Valley are invited to spend half a day with experts on new technologies in soil and water management, funding opportunities and financial technical support for farming operations, organizers said. The Soil Health and Irrigation Conservation Workshop will be held from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 24 […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 17

Changing weather patterns likely to keep state’s drought in check Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contacts: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu WESLACO – An offshoot of the changing weather system that produced severe and unprecedented flooding in Louisiana should persist throughout most of Texas, helping to check or even eliminate drought conditions that had been […]