Coffee farm thriving in the Rio Grande Valley

Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO  —  A South Texas scientist is amazed that coffee plants from all over the world are growing so well in the subtropical conditions of the Rio Grande Valley. Just over a year ago, Dr. Juan Anciso, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service fruit and vegetable specialist, planted 200 […]

Bull Selection Seminar set for Nov. 3 at Santa Rosa Ranch in Crockett

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu CROCKETT – A Bull Selection Seminar is scheduled from 1-5 p.m. Nov. 3 at the Santa Rosa Ranch headquarters in Crockett. The ranch is located at 19300 Highway 21. The no–cost seminar will cover cattle breeds, breeding programs, visual selection, individual performance data, expected […]

Accurate diagnosis is the first step in addressing turfgrass problems

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chad Gulley, 903-590-2980, chad.gulley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu TYLER –  Calls have been pouring into Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent Chad Gulley’s office from homeowners whose grass is not faring well. Lawns are thinning, showing brown spots and showing other signs of pests and diseases, Gulley […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Sept. 27

Weather patterns likely mean warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  The Texas state climatologist said an expected La Niña winter weather pattern would probably not emerge and there likely will be warmer and drier conditions on average into 2017. Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, state climatologist, […]

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […]

Master Beekeeper program continues with fall testing Nov. 3 in Belton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mary Reed, 979-845-9713 or by email at mary.reed@tamu.edu BELTON — The Texas Master Beekeepers certification program’s fall test is open for apprentice and advanced level testing Nov. 3 in Belton, according to Texas Master Beekeeping Board member Mary Reed. The exam will be held at the Bell County Expo […]

Child Passenger Safety Week ends with free car seats, expert advice

AgriLife Extension to conduct free child passenger safety seat checks Sept. 23 Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contact: Joanne Ureste, 956-383-1026, Joanne.Ureste@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO —  Children don’t do well in car accidents, and according to statistics from the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, auto accidents are one of the leading causes of death for children. […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 20, 2016

Wildlife populations looking good for most of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Cathey, 979-845-7370, jccathey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Wildlife populations around the state appear in good shape after mid-August rains created good conditions going into fall and winter, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. Dr. James Cathey, […]

Weaning calves before auction reduces stress and could increase profits

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@tamu.edu OVERTON –  Spring-born calves will soon be arriving at auction markets, but producers should consider a weaning plan that will help keep calves healthier and happier, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle specialist in Overton. Dr. Jason Banta said weaning […]

Results show water well testing in Texas is important

Contacts: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu ALICE  —  Results of recent private water well screenings in five South Texas counties underscored the importance of regular testing of private water wells, said a Texas Well Owner Network official. “Through these screenings, we identified several contaminants that could potentially cause illnesses or other […]