Bexar County 4-H’ers pick up ‘STEAM’ heading into fall classes

4-H programs provide unique educational opportunities for minority, at-risk students Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Recent 4-H summer programs in Bexar County helped minority and at-risk students gain life skills and expand their horizons as they began a new school year this fall, said Dr. Melinda Garcia, […]

Athletic coach hired as new AgriLife Extension 4-H agent in Wichita County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Donny Gray, 940-716-8610, Donny.gray@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – Donny Gray may have spent years as a football coach, but he doesn’t expect to have a difficult time transitioning to his new position as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H youth development agent in Wichita County. “We are pleased to […]

Hopkins returns to AgriLife Extension as agent in Haskell County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Darlene Hopkins, 940-864-2658, Darlene.hopkins@ag.tamu.edu HASKELL – After more than 15 years away from the agency, Darlene Hopkins has returned to the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service as the family and consumer sciences agent for Haskell County. Hopkins, a native of Seagraves, spent 10 years in King, Dickens and Stephens […]

AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team wins national 4-H wool judging contest

  National FFA contest top honor goes to Hondo FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu     SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H wool judging team nabbed the top spot to win the 56th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held recently in Sonora.   The contest and its […]

4-H veterinary camp provides hands-on training to aspiring youth

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Joe Mask, 979-845-4353, joe.mask@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aspiring youth wanting to enter the veterinary animal health profession recently received week-long training that included hands-on demonstrations with beef cattle and horses, plus tours of the Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in College Station. The event coincided […]

4-H’ers statewide join effort to raise money for Eli’s Fund

Fund has goal of helping military veterans and their animals By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jana Barrett, 979-845-6533, jcbarrett@ag.tamu.edu Barbara “Barbie” Wymore, 361-668-5705, barbara.wymore@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, Kyle.McManus@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mike Moore, 361-993-7388 COLLEGE STATION – As part of Texas 4-H Statewide Community Service Project, 4-H members from throughout the state are rallying behind an […]

AgriLife Extension hires new 4-H agent for Dallam, Hartley counties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bailee Wright, 806-244-4434, bailee.wright@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – Bailee Wright, a native of Wolfforth, has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H youth development agent for Dallam and Hartley counties, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. Wright will start June 6 in Potter […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

79th Annual Wool and Mohair Show slated for June 14-16 in Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576,   Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The 79th Annual Wool and Mohair Show is set for June 14-16 in the Sutton County 4-H Civic Center in Sonora. It is held in conjunction with the 56th National 4-H Wool Judging, 16th FFA Wool Judging contests and other ranch-related […]

Georgetown 4-H team advances to national model rocketry finals

4-H Trail Blazers will travel to Washington D.C. for Team America Rocketry Challenge By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Janecka, wajsaj86@gmail.com GEORGETOWN — Members from the Georgetown 4-H Trail Blazers have qualified to compete in the national finals of the 14th annual Team America Rocketry Challenge. The team of Mark Janecka, Joshua Thayer and […]