AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team wins national 4-H wool judging contest

  National FFA contest top honor goes to Hondo FFA Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu     SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H wool judging team nabbed the top spot to win the 56th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held recently in Sonora.   The contest and its […]

4-H veterinary camp provides hands-on training to aspiring youth

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Joe Mask, 979-845-4353, joe.mask@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aspiring youth wanting to enter the veterinary animal health profession recently received week-long training that included hands-on demonstrations with beef cattle and horses, plus tours of the Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in College Station. The event coincided […]

4-H’ers statewide join effort to raise money for Eli’s Fund

Fund has goal of helping military veterans and their animals By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jana Barrett, 979-845-6533, jcbarrett@ag.tamu.edu Barbara “Barbie” Wymore, 361-668-5705, barbara.wymore@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, Kyle.McManus@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mike Moore, 361-993-7388 COLLEGE STATION – As part of Texas 4-H Statewide Community Service Project, 4-H members from throughout the state are rallying behind an […]

AgriLife Extension hires new 4-H agent for Dallam, Hartley counties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bailee Wright, 806-244-4434, bailee.wright@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – Bailee Wright, a native of Wolfforth, has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H youth development agent for Dallam and Hartley counties, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. Wright will start June 6 in Potter […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

79th Annual Wool and Mohair Show slated for June 14-16 in Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576,   Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The 79th Annual Wool and Mohair Show is set for June 14-16 in the Sutton County 4-H Civic Center in Sonora. It is held in conjunction with the 56th National 4-H Wool Judging, 16th FFA Wool Judging contests and other ranch-related […]

Georgetown 4-H team advances to national model rocketry finals

4-H Trail Blazers will travel to Washington D.C. for Team America Rocketry Challenge By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Janecka, wajsaj86@gmail.com GEORGETOWN — Members from the Georgetown 4-H Trail Blazers have qualified to compete in the national finals of the 14th annual Team America Rocketry Challenge. The team of Mark Janecka, Joshua Thayer and […]

4-H Project Leaders Academy to be held May 21 at St. John Berchman’s in San Antonio

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-8459-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Prospective and enrolled 4-H project leaders are invited to attend the Project Leaders Academy May 21 for an in-depth look and training on 4-H programs in Bexar County, said coordinators. The academy will be from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at St. […]

Texas 4-H center offers variety of summer camps for youth of all ages, interests

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jenny Wilder, 325-784-5482, Jenny.Wilder@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — The Texas 4-H Conference Center in Brownwood has released its 2016 summer program schedule. The center, which is owned by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is at 5600 Farm-to-Market Road 3021 near Brownwood. It is located on 78 acres on the western […]

Texas Brigades registration deadline looms

  March 15 is cutoff for popular youth camps Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Aimee Carrasco, 855-892-7447, aimeeramiro@live.com Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The March 15 registration deadline for the Texas Brigades wildlife leadership camps conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is fast approaching, said Dr. Dale Rollins, AgriLife […]