4-H and Biggest Loser star call attention to healthy youth lifestyles

Trek across Panhandle to include four stops Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Area 4-H’ers will join NBC’s Biggest Loser season 14 finalist Joe Ostaszewski this summer on his “Riding It Forward” cross-country bike tour to raise awareness for healthy living across America. Ostaszewski, a former Florida State University […]

AgriLife Extension’s Tom Green County 4-H team takes national wool judging honors

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Tom Green County 4-H senior wool judging team was named this year’s top youth judging team in the nation with their win of the 54th annual National 4-H Wool Judging Contest held in Sonora.   The contest and its […]

AgriLife Extension hires new 4-H agent for Moore County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Haley Sprague, 806-935-2594, haley.sprague@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – Haley Sprague has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H and youth development agent for Moore County, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. “”We are excited to have Haley as part of the District 1 […]

Youth scholarships awarded at 2014 Blackland Income Growth Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – Scholarships were recently awarded to outstanding 4-H members at the 2014 Blackland Income Growth Conference held at the Extraco Events Center in Waco. The scholarships were presented during the conference luncheon that featured Dr. Doug Steele, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service director, as the keynote speaker. Receiving $1,000 […]

Texas Brigades summer camp registration starts now

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Helen Holdsworth, 855-TXBRIGS (855-892-7447), hholdsworth@texas-wildlife.org SAN ANGELO – Registration for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Texas Brigades summer wildlife leadership camps program has begun, said Dr. Dale Rollins, camp coordinator. “Summer seems a long way off with these ‘Blue Northers’ whipping across […]

Smartt named new state AgriLife Extension sheep and goat assistant

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Frank Craddock, 325-653-4576, f-craddock@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Joshua Smartt became the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state sheep and goat assistant effective Jan. 21. Smartt is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. He will work primarily with 4-H sheep and […]

Dr. Buddy Faries receives Vice Chancellor’s Award for Extension Education

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Floron “Buddy” Faries, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader for veterinary medicine in College Station, has been presented a Vice Chancellor’s Award in Excellence in the Extension Education category. Established in 1980, the Vice Chancellor’s Award recognizes the commitment and outstanding contributions of faculty and […]

Ragland receives double award recognition from Texas A&M AgriLife

AgriLife agent awarded both Superior Service and Vice Chancellor awards CANYON – Dr. J.D. Ragland, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for agriculture and natural resources in Randall County, has received the agency’s Superior Service Award for County Extension Agents and the Vice Chancellor’s Award in Excellence for County Agent. The awards were presented Jan. […]

Randall County Dream Team receives AgriLife Extension Superior Service Award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J.D. Ragland, 806468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Randall County Dream Team Program has received the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Superior Service Award for Diversity. The award was presented Jan. 8 during the agency’s Centennial Conference in College Station. Recognized with the Randall County Dream Team Program were: […]

AgriLife Extension hires Sanders for Armstrong County agent position

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dustin Sanders, 806-226-3021, dustin.sanders@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Dustin Sanders, a native of Claude, has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Armstrong County, effective Jan. 6, according Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. Sanders will spend January participating in […]