Results show water well testing in Texas is important

Contacts: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu ALICE  —  Results of recent private water well screenings in five South Texas counties underscored the importance of regular testing of private water wells, said a Texas Well Owner Network official. “Through these screenings, we identified several contaminants that could potentially cause illnesses or other […]

Water quality training Oct. 13 in McKinney to focus on Lavon Lake watershed

Contacts: Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Galen Roberts, 469-626-4637, groberts@ntmwd.com Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu MCKINNEY – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Lavon Lake watershed will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 13 at Myers Park and Event Center. The center is located at 7117 County Road 166 in McKinney. The […]

Water quality training Oct. 4 will focus on Lake O’ the Pines, Big Cypress watersheds

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Doug Weir, 903-665-2421, doug.weir@ag.tamu.edu Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, dr-reeves@tamu.edu JEFFERSON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and water management related to the Lake O’ the Pines and Big Cypress watersheds will be held from 8 a.m.-noon Oct. 4 at the Jefferson Tourism and Visitor Center, 305 E. Austin […]

Texas A&M awards endowed professorship to Briske

COLLEGE STATION – The Thomas M. O’Connor Endowed Professorship has been awarded to Dr. David D. Briske in the Texas A&M University department of ecosystem science and management in College Station, effective Sept. 1. Briske has demonstrated a level of competence and leadership in rangeland science through scholarly and professional activities that is above and […]

Wheat producers advised to take advantage of existing soil nitrogen

COLLEGE STATION – As producers across the state are planting winter wheat, it is important they consider crediting soil nitrogen in their management plans, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. Dr. Jake Mowrer, AgriLife Extension state soil fertility specialist in College Station, said producers can save money in fertilizer costs by taking […]

Texas A&M awards endowed professorship to Kreuter

COLLEGE STATION – The Joan Negley Kelleher Endowed Professorship has been awarded to Dr. Urs Kreuter in the Texas A&M University department of ecosystem science and management, effective Sept. 1. Kreuter has demonstrated a high level of competence and leadership in range science through scholarly and professional activities above and beyond that normally expected of […]

Reappearance of rodent thought extinct causes warm, fuzzy frenzy among conservationists

Texas A&M faculty, students continue active role in international Red List work Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Thomas Lacher, 979-845-5750, tlacher@tamu.edu Nicolette Roach, 510-520-0649,  nroach@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – What do an international gathering of some 10,000 people, a small fuzzy animal thought to be extinct for a century and Texas A&M University have […]

Aquatic vegetation identification, management focus of Sept. 1 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aquatic Vegetation Management will be the topic of a Sept. 1 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series […]

Developing technology offers researchers advancement without man hours, machine harvesting

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s been said a picture is worth a thousand words. But for Dr. Seth Murray, the images captured by an unmanned aerial vehicle or self-propelled ground vehicle could be worth more than a thousand man hours. The images can then lead to […]

Texas Master Naturalist program offers new printed curriculum

   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Pearl Meuth, 979-845-7294, mpmeuth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Master Naturalist program has a new training curriculum that’s hot off the press, a Texas A&M official said. Mary Pearl Meuth, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service associate at College Station who works with the statewide program affiliated […]