Watershed courses June 13-14 will spotlight stakeholder engagement in Dallas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu DALLAS – The Texas Watershed Planning Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife Research are co-hosting a two-course series on watershed stakeholder engagement for water and natural resources professionals June 13-14 in Dallas. “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips […]

Riparian and stream ecosystem workshop set for May 24 in Arlington

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Fred Hall, 817-884-1941, fmhall@ag.tamu.edu Aaron Hoff, 817-493-5581, Hoffa@trinityra.org ARLINGTON–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a workshop from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. May 24 in Arlington for area residents interested in land and water stewardship in the Village Creek-Lake Arlington watershed, coordinators said. The […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

Multi-county West Texas Livestock and Range Conference slated for May 26 in Big Spring

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu     Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu    BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the West Texas Livestock and Range Conference May 26 at the Broughton Agriculture Complex on the Howard College campus in Big Spring. The conference will open with registration at 8 a.m. […]

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in three June workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Three Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock leases will be held in June in Stillwater, Oklahoma, Fort Worth and Amarillo. The free workshops will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and funded by the Southern Extension Risk Management […]

Fire Appreciation Day set for May 24 at Roby

  AgriLife Extension, Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch to host event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu              ROBY – A Fire Appreciation Day to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch is set from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. May 24. The […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop set for May 24 in Cameron

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu CAMERON – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop for the Little River will be held May 24 at the Cameron Youth Expo Center, 301 S. Houston Ave. in Cameron. The workshop, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be from 10 a.m. to […]

Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]

AgriLife Research station at Sonora celebrated 100-year birthday in style

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu              SONORA – Mild temperatures and azure blue skies over recently rain-kissed green pastures all came together April 23 to greet the almost 400 supporters of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station who helped celebrate the facilities’ 100-year anniversary.            “It was a great day,” said […]