Brush identification, control topic of July 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush Identification and Control Measures will be the name of a July 7 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas […]

AgriLife Extension law specialist: Agricultural leases need to be in writing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Get it in writing. That may be the single most important message conveyed at a series of Rancher Leasing Workshops, which culminated in Amarillo recently, according to presenters. The workshops were hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Oklahoma State University and […]

Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will hold June 25 workshop for wetlands project

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu HARLINGEN — An educational workshop on the Ramsey Park Wetland Expansion project will be held June 25, according to program organizers. The free workshop will be from  8 a.m.- noon at the Hugh Ramsey Nature Park, 1001 S. Loop 400 in Harlingen. It will be presented by the Arroyo Colorado […]

Volunteers needed to help plant new wetland area

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu         HOUSTON — Adults and children ages 12 and older are invited to help plant the shoreline of the new lake at Exploration Green, 1800 Reseda Drive, Houston.         Planting times will be 9 a.m.-noon June 18 and 25, according to Mary Carol Edwards, […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership to hold meeting June 23

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO–The Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will host a steering committee meeting June 23 to discuss the latest draft update to the Arroyo Colorado Watershed Protection Plan, said Jaime Flores, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program coordinator for the Texas Water Resources Institute. The meeting is set for 5-7 p.m. in […]

Water quality training June 21 will focus on Lake Conroe and area watersheds

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu    Michael Heimer, 936-539-7822, michael.heimer@ag.tamu.edu Michael Potter, 936-539-7824, mpotter@ag.tamu.edu CONROE– A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and water management related to Lake Conroe and other area watersheds will be held from 1-5 p.m. June 21 at the San Jacinto River Authority main office. The office is located at […]

AgriLife Extension’s Living Waters Conference July 13 in Junction

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Sam Silvers, 325-446-2620, gssilvers@ag.tamu.edu             JUNCTION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Living Waters Conference from 8 a.m.-2 p.m. July 13 at the Coke Stevenson Center, 440 N. U.S. Highway 83 in Junction. “We’ve had a wonderful spring with abundant moisture, but we […]

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold three meetings on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting three meetings this summer for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios watershed stakeholder meetings will be June 14, July 7 and Aug. 9. All three meetings will be at […]

Watershed courses June 13-14 will spotlight stakeholder engagement in Dallas

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu DALLAS – The Texas Watershed Planning Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife Research are co-hosting a two-course series on watershed stakeholder engagement for water and natural resources professionals June 13-14 in Dallas. “Getting in Step – Top 10 Outreach Tips […]