Water well owner training set for Aug. 18 in Crowley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CROWLEY — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Aug. 18 in Crowley. The training, which is free and open to the public, will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Crowley Recreation Center, 405 S. Oak St., said Drew Gholson, Texas […]

Rainwater harvesting takes center stage Aug. 11 in Eldorado

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Tait Cooper, 325-853-2132, tait.cooper@ag.tamu.edu Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2366, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu ELDORADO – As triple-digit heat and dry weather return to West Texas, the importance of rainwater harvesting will take center stage during a special workshop from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 11 in Eldorado. The Rainwater Harvesting program, conducted by the […]

Permian Basin Oil and Gas Stewardship Conference marks fourth year

  AgriLife Extension program set for Aug. 5 in Kermit Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Caleb Eaton, 432-943-2682, cleaton@ag.tamu.edu KERMIT –The Permian Basin Oil and Gas Stewardship Conference, now in its fourth year, is set from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Aug. 5 in Kermit. The multi-county Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program will be at […]

Brush control no help for water supplies, lake sedimentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bradford Wilcox, 979-458-1899, BWilcox@tamu.edu Dr. Matthew Berg, 979-450-9671, mbergtamu@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION – Brush control has many benefits, including restoration of wildlife habitat and potentially improved livestock grazing, but water supply enhancement should not necessarily be considered one of them. That’s the conclusion of a new Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Windbreaks, wildlife, rainwater focus of small-acreage workshop July 28 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles at 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, Amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu Brian Scott, 806-651-3477, bscott@tfs.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The County Line Small Acreage Conservation Workshop, focused on how to create windbreaks, wildlife conservation, rainwater harvesting and small farming equipment maintenance, is set for July 28. The event is […]

Brush identification, control topic of July 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush Identification and Control Measures will be the name of a July 7 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas […]

AgriLife Extension law specialist: Agricultural leases need to be in writing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Get it in writing. That may be the single most important message conveyed at a series of Rancher Leasing Workshops, which culminated in Amarillo recently, according to presenters. The workshops were hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Oklahoma State University and […]

Meetings July 14 will focus on Navasota River watershed planning effort

Discussions will address watershed management needs, improving water quality By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Edward Schneider, 979-828-4270, e-schneider@tamu.edu Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board are hosting two public meetings […]

Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership will hold June 25 workshop for wetlands project

Contact: Jaime Flores, 956-969-5607, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu HARLINGEN — An educational workshop on the Ramsey Park Wetland Expansion project will be held June 25, according to program organizers. The free workshop will be from  8 a.m.- noon at the Hugh Ramsey Nature Park, 1001 S. Loop 400 in Harlingen. It will be presented by the Arroyo Colorado […]

Volunteers needed to help plant new wetland area

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu         HOUSTON — Adults and children ages 12 and older are invited to help plant the shoreline of the new lake at Exploration Green, 1800 Reseda Drive, Houston.         Planting times will be 9 a.m.-noon June 18 and 25, according to Mary Carol Edwards, […]