Texas Section Society for Range Management completes 65th annual meeting at Alpine/Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   MARFA – The Texas Section Society for Range Management wrapped up their 65th state convention recently with one of the largest turnouts for this event in several years, organizers said. “We had a great annual meeting in Marfa and Alpine with […]

Texas crop, weather for Oct. 15, 2014

AgriLife Economist: ‘High’ 2014 feed grains stocks are really a return to average levels Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Though this year’s predicted bumper feed grains yields are driving down prices farmers see, the long-term result could add stability to what has been a very volatile market, according to a Texas A&M […]

Nov. 15 deadline for Pasture, Rangeland and Forage Insurance sign-up

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The deadline is nearing for Pasture, Rangeland and Forage Insurance, designed to provide livestock and hay producers protection against acreage losses, said DeDe Jones, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service risk management specialist in Amarillo. The 2015 sign-up and acreage reporting deadline for this […]

AgriLife Extension website features new aquaculture-related videos

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-862-1558, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Aquaculture Fisheries and Pond Management website unveiled last January has added four new video releases to their growing “school” of free pond management resources, said the site’s creator. Dr. Todd Sink, AgriLife […]

Growing dairy industry spotlighted at recent Southwest Dairy Day

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu FRIONA – Drought might have hurt the dairy industry in the Panhandle over the past few years, but a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist said signs are indicating the industry is growing once more. Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension dairy specialist in Dallas, […]

Private Land Stewardship Field Day set for Nov. 5 in Coryell County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Pasquale Swaner, 254-865-2414, s-swaner@tamu.edu Chelsea Dorward, 254-386-3919, chelsea.dorward@ag.tamu.edu Heath Lusty, 512-556-8271, rhlusty@ag.tamu.edu Mike Marshall, 254-865-2061, mmarshall@ag.tamu.edu   COPPERAS COVE – Two state agencies and one federal agency will conduct a multi-county Private Land Stewardship Field Day Nov. 5 at two sites in Coryell County. The collaborating agencies […]

Texas crop, weather for Oct. 7, 2014

Some Gulf Coast and Central Texas cotton yields two to four bales per acre High Plains Cotton ‘chugging along’ Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – While nearly all Gulf Coast and Central Texas cotton has been harvested, much of the Texas High Plains cotton is still two weeks away, according to Texas A&M […]

Super microscope amplifies Texas A&M researchers look at loblolly pine genetics

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Nurul Faridi, 979-862-3908, nfaridi@tamu.edu Dr. Claudio Casola, 979-845-8803, ccasola@tamu.edu Dr. C. Dana Nelson, 228-832-2747, dananelson@fs.fed.us COLLEGE STATION – A super microscope may have researchers at the Texas A&M University ecosystem science and management department moving one step closer to writing the final chapter and verse on the genomics […]

Lower Rio Grande Valley soil testing campaign runs through February

WESLACO  –  The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in the Lower Rio Grande Valley is offering its annual soil testing campaign through February, according to AgriLife Extension personnel. A campaign kickoff event has been scheduled for Oct. 16. “We’re encouraging all commercial agricultural producers in Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties to take part in this […]

Ranch Management University offers wildlife aspect

Five-day program set Oct. 20-24 on Texas A&M campus Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texans interested in wildlife management will find a wealth of information during the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Ranch Management University Oct. 20-24 on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station. […]