Stiles Farm Field Day features drone technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu THRALL – The future of drone technology and its potential uses in Central Texas Blacklands farming operations were featured at the Stiles Farm Field Day held recently in Thrall. The field day, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, showcased the latest in technological […]

AgriLife Extension law specialist: Agricultural leases need to be in writing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Get it in writing. That may be the single most important message conveyed at a series of Rancher Leasing Workshops, which culminated in Amarillo recently, according to presenters. The workshops were hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Oklahoma State University and […]

2016 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2016 Texas Agricultural Custom Rate survey of regional and state rates charged for custom agricultural operations. “Each year, AgriLife Extension receives many requests for prevailing rates for certain kinds of work […]

Annual forage crop insurance sign-up deadline in July

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu\ AMARILLO – Although recent rains have livestock producers looking at green pastures, most know it can turn dry quickly and may want protection against drought loss on annual forage crops, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The first deadline to sign up for the Rainfall Index – […]

Mazurkiewicz receives Medal of Merit from Republic of Poland

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, Regents Fellow and director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been awarded the Medal of Merit from the Republic of Poland. Mazurkiewicz was presented the highest honor given to […]

Annual field day Aug. 10 to feature vegetables, human health

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Susan O’Shaughnessy, 806-356-5770, susan.oshaughnessy@ars.usda.gov AMARILLO – Parts of the Summer Crops Field Day will have a new look and feel this year as vegetables, high tunnels and the human health connection with agriculture are highlighted, along with traditional research projects. The Aug. 10 […]

Corn crop irrigation management key to bottom line

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Too much water doesn’t help corn producers make more crop; too little water also takes away from yields. Ongoing Texas A&M AgriLife Research studies are determining a formula for finding the right amount for the right results with other best management practices. […]

Twenty-four business professionals selected for Texas agricultural leadership program

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-four individuals have been selected for the Texas Agriculture Lifetime Leadership program Class XV. The two-year program, led by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is an intensive study of agriculture worldwide that equips people in the agriculture industry to […]

AgriLife Extension experts: Excess moisture causing crop losses across Texas

Wheat sprouting, yellowing cotton, stunted corn could reduce yields Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Clark B. Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Gaylon Morgan. 979-845-2425, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Thomas Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – In any situation, too much of a good thing can be […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — June 7

Heavy spring rains have home gardens looking good Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Roy Flora, 936-334-3230, roy.flora@ag.tamu.edu LIBERTY — Plenty of moisture could mean a good year for home gardeners looking to save money on vegetables and fruits, but it could also mean an emergence of problems such as weeds, pests and disease, according […]