New report: ‘Genetically engineered’ crops not adverse to environment or human health

Texas A&M scientist involved in extensive study Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Stelly, 979-845-2745, stelly@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Genetically engineered crops have not hurt the environment and are not adversely affecting human health, according to a comprehensive study coordinated by the National Academy of Sciences. “Genetically Engineered Crops, Experiences and Prospects” is […]

AgriLife Extension to host Private Applicators License Training in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will conduct a Texas Department of Agriculture Private Applicators License Training on June 15. The training will be from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. […]

Forage on display at O.D. Butler Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – There was forage – and lots of it –  showcased at the recent O.D. Butler Field Day held at Camp Cooley Ranch in Franklin. Hundreds of Brazos Valley beef cattle producers attended the field day to learn more  about controlling weeds to boost forage yields, and viewed the […]

AgriLife Research scientist studies structures to boost tomato production in South Texas

WESLACO – To help revive the state’s sagging vegetable industry, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists in South Texas are looking at new cropping systems to improve and extend the tomato growing season. While the Rio Grande Valley’s fertile soils can produce tasty tomatoes for consumers, the harsh conditions of heat, insects and diseases can stand […]

Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

AgriLife Research triticale program moving forward with new lines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Baker, 806-677-5600, JBaker@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Triticale, a cross between wheat and rye, might be an “extending” option for producers grazing cattle in the Rolling Plains, said Jason Baker, Texas A&M AgriLife Research senior research associate in Amarillo, who has been studying the crop since 2002. “If you are […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 26 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – Pricing wheat and cattle at profitable levels has been challenging during 2016, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agricultural economist. The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference on July 26 will cover how producers in the […]

AgriLife Extension crop and livestock budget spreadsheets now available

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jerry Cornforth, 979-458-1804, cornforth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economists have updated crop and livestock budgets for 2016 to help farmers and ranchers plan and calculate expense and profit estimates for the current year. The budgets are available in spreadsheet format at http://bit.ly/1TZd7wA . “The […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 18

Dryland crops in South District show signs of stress Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Omar Montemayor, 956-487-2306, omar.montemayor@ag.tamu.edu Jaime Lopez, 830-334-0099, jaime.lopez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — Crop condition reports from the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s District 12, which includes the southernmost area of the state, varied and were relative to rain received by individual producers […]

Agricultural transportation focus of Austin Ag Forum

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Continued economic expansion coupled with a growing population has stressed Texas highway infrastructure, creating a set of challenges for agricultural production transportation throughout the Lone Star State, experts said. Challenges and Opportunities for the Texas Agricultural Transportation Infrastructure was the theme of the recent Ag Forum held in […]