Sugarcane aphid research aimed at planting timing, variety selection

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The “whens” and the “whats” of the sugarcane aphid are fueling the research of Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, Texas A&M AgriLife entomologist. For example, when are they most damaging, and what grain sorghum varieties do they prefer? With the support of Texas Grain […]

Texas A&M working with industry to strengthen vegetable production program

Retailers express need for locally grown produce Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas retailers want locally grown produce, and Texas A&M AgriLife is working to make that happen. Dr. Bill McCutchen, Texas A&M AgriLife Research executive associate director in College Station, and Joseph Bunting, United Supermarkets produce […]

Texas wheat variety ‘Picks’ for High Plains, Rolling Plains released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has released its “Picks” of annual grain wheat varieties for the 2016-2017 cropping season in the High Plains and […]

Future Texas agriculture leaders begin two-year study

Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program recently held in College Station Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Josh Louder stood in amazement, watching the speed and efficiency of local watermelons being sorted and packed by a team of personnel at a facility near College Station recently. Louder, like […]

Swisher County Feed Grain Tour set for Aug. 25 in Happy

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3721, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu HAPPY — The  Swisher County Feed Grains Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Swisher County Ag Committee is set for Aug. 25 at Happy. Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m. at the Happy Community Center, a mile southeast of […]

New Texas A&M researcher tracking nitrogen, nutrients in plant cells

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sakiko Okumoto, 979 845 8736, sokumoto@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Sakiko Okumoto has her eye, or specifically her microscope, trained on tiny protein-based fluorescent sensors that track amino acids in live plant cells. Okumoto is the newest faculty member in Texas A&M University’s soil and crop science department […]

Cattle to crops: Randall County Crops Tour set Aug. 30

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The 40th annual Randall County Crops Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for Aug. 30 at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 North Brown Road, Canyon. “We have a good program lined up that offers something for […]

Big Country Wheat Conference set Aug. 18 in Abilene

Biennial event meant to ready producers for the fast approaching season ABILENE – Alternative crop options and the latest in new technology will headline this year’s Big Country Wheat Conference in Abilene, organizers said. The biennial event conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held Aug. 18 in the Big Country Hall […]

Toolbox being created for South Texas vegetable producers

WESLACO – It’s an imaginary toolbox, but Dr. Ismael E. Badillo-Vargas wants to create one for South Texas growers to help them revive what was once a thriving vegetable industry in the Rio Grande Valley. It would contain both short- and long-term strategies to once again harvest vast fields of produce in Texas for local, […]

Texas cotton crop on target for 7 million bales

Prices to remain steady for short term Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With few catalysts to spark a rally in cotton prices over the near term, farmers can expect prices to hover between 65 cents and 78 cents over the next few months, according to a […]