Bull Selection Seminar set for Nov. 3 at Santa Rosa Ranch in Crockett

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu CROCKETT – A Bull Selection Seminar is scheduled from 1-5 p.m. Nov. 3 at the Santa Rosa Ranch headquarters in Crockett. The ranch is located at 19300 Highway 21. The no–cost seminar will cover cattle breeds, breeding programs, visual selection, individual performance data, expected […]

Oct. 6 webinar to focus on managing land for hunting, grazing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, tomecek@tamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Managing Land for Hunting and Grazing will be the topic of the Oct. 6 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of […]

Chronic wasting disease meetings set for Dalhart, Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Several chronic wasting disease informational meetings will be held in the Panhandle in September by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Animal Health Commission. These informational meetings, which will address chronic wasting disease management, new […]

Child Passenger Safety Week ends with free car seats, expert advice

AgriLife Extension to conduct free child passenger safety seat checks Sept. 23 Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contact: Joanne Ureste, 956-383-1026, Joanne.Ureste@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO —  Children don’t do well in car accidents, and according to statistics from the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, auto accidents are one of the leading causes of death for children. […]

Property finances, wildlife components to be addressed at October women’s conference

FREDERICKSBURG – Women landowners, whether young and inheriting property or older and working on the family business, need to be empowered to make their own financial and stewardship decisions, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service leader said. “Women in Wildlife Conservation – Resources to Set a Stewardship Path,” hosted by AgriLife Extension Oct. 3-4 at […]

CenTex Beef Cattle Symposium set for Sept. 30 in Groesbeck

GROESBECK – The 9th Annual CenTex Beef Cattle Symposium will be held Sept. 30 at the Groesbeck Convention Center, 106 E. Navasota St. in Groesbeck. The event is hosted by beef and forage committees from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Bell, Bosque, Coryell, Falls, Hamilton, Hill, Johnson, Limestone and McLennan counties. Registration is […]

Tri-County Cattle Workshop set for Sept. 13 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 940-716-8610, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – Optimizing efficiency in cattle production will be the theme of the Tri-County Cattle Workshop hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Sept. 13 in Wichita Falls. “Cattle Feeding Decisions for Efficient Production Cost” is set for 6-8 p.m. in the Region 9 Education […]

Aquatic vegetation identification, management focus of Sept. 1 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, Todd.Sink@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Aquatic Vegetation Management will be the topic of a Sept. 1 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series […]

Forage sorghum silage tour set for Sept. 8 near Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-373-0713, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will jointly host a forage sorghum silage tour near Bushland on Sept. 8. “No matter what your goals are in your operation, with 101 different varieties in […]