Basics of Aquaponics workshop slated Sept. 24 in Corpus Christi

CORPUS CHRISTI  —  Whether for hobby or profit, anybody interested in starting their first aquaponics project can attend an introductory workshop, the Basics of Aquaponics, from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Sept. 24 in Corpus Christi. The workshop, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Nueces and San Patricio counties, will be held at the […]

Livestock outlook, horticulture marketing highlight A&M ag economics tailgate Sept. 12

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging Issues in Livestock and Horticulture Marketing will be the featured seminar presentation scheduled from 1:30-2:30 p.m. Sept. 12 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities at the AgriLife Center in College Station. The AgriLife […]

Grain bin safety and entrapment rescue clinic set Sept. 3 in Paris

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu PARIS – The dangers of working in grain bins hit home to Northeast Texas residents on March 4 when 32-year-old Paul Chelius suffocated in a bin of soybeans, said Mike Morrow, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for Lamar County. In response to the tragedy, family and friends of Chelius, […]

Natural resources conference aimed at women landowners in the Edwards Plateau

Event set for Oct. 5-6 in Fredericksburg Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – Women may not be in the majority when it comes to landowners in Texas, but they are certainly a growing number. And, one the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service would […]

Cow Country Congress set for Oct. 23 at Maysel Ranch in Fairfield

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Erin Davis, 903-389-3436, erin.davis@ag.tamu.edu FAIRFIELD – Area beef producers will learn how to prepare cattle for feedlots and hear the latest in feral hog management at the Cow Country Congress 2015, scheduled Oct. 23 at Maysel Ranch near Fairfield. The ranch is located east of Fairfield off of State […]

Northern 4-H Academy hosting open house Aug. 29 in Brenham

Contact: Kara Matheney, 979-277-6212, kjmatheney@ag.tamu.edu BRENHAM – The Northern 4-H Academy will host Road Map to Success with 4-H from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Aug. 29 at the Blinn College Student Center, 902 College Ave. in Brenham. Texas 4-H is the youth component of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Attendees will learn how […]

Sorghum tour set for Sept. 9 near Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-373-0713, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will jointly host a sorghum tour near Bushland on Sept. 9. The program will begin at 9 a.m. and end around 11:30 a.m. The first stop will […]

Mini ag conference set for Sept. 1 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu J.R. Sprague, 806-862-4601, h-sprague@tamu.edu Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, Scott.Strawn@ag.tamu.edu Michael Wilkes, 806-868-3191, mcwilkes@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The Hemphill County Mini Ag Conference will be Sept. 1 in the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Exhibition Center, 10865 Exhibition Center Road, Canadian. This conference will feature topics on hot […]

Empowering military caregivers topic of Aug. 19 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Empowering Those We Help: Building Trust and Credibility” is the title of the next military caregiving professional development webinar set for 10 a.m. Aug. 19. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop set Aug. 20 in Edna

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu EDNA – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop is set for Aug. 20 at the Jackson County Services Building, 411 N. Wells in Edna. The free workshop will be from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., with lunch provided. Three general continuing education credits will be […]