Texas A&M AgriLife rainwater harvesting course opens to public

Contact: Karen Sanders, 972-952-9671, Karen.sanders@tamu.edu DALLAS — Individuals and industry professionals are invited to attend Rainwater University 2015, scheduled for April 7-9 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Dallas, 17360 Coit Road. Rainwater University is an instructional series on the latest techniques and industry standards for effective collection, storage and use […]

Strawberry field day/tomato grafting workshop set March 21 at Overton

Participants will learn how to graft heirloom tomatoes to hybrid rootstock Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu OVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Kilgore College will host a strawberry field day and a tomato grafting workshop March 21 at the Kilgore College Demonstration Farm, 2211 Texas Highway 135, about 2 miles northeast of […]

Second installment of East Texas Garden Lecture Series set March 14

Kordes roses and American sustainability rose trials on the program Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu TYLER – The second of six seminars in the East Texas Garden Lecture Series will be held March 14 at Chamblee’s Rose Nursery, 10926 U.S. Highway 69 N., Tyler. “Come to this morning program to learn about the newest, easy-care […]

AgriLife Extension hosting sorghum meetings in Dimmitt and Levelland

Regional events set for March 26, April 6 Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Sorghum Education: Soil, Irrigation and Weed Management will be the focus of two regional sorghum meetings planned for March 26 and April 6 in Dimmitt and Levelland, respectively, by the Texas  A&M AgriLife Extension Service. […]

Small grains meeting set March 25 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – The 2015 small grains educational meeting in Oldham County has been scheduled for March 25 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office there. “Our program will focus on dryland aspects of wheat and grain sorghum production, along with sorghum forage and silage,” […]

College and Career Expo designed to avoid education catastrophes

KINGSVILLE —  The 14th annual College and Career Exposition will be held from 8:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. March 6 at the J.K. Northway Exposition Center in Kingsville. The event draws an annual attendance of over 2,000 students for the purpose of educating students, their parents and the community about “the reality of tomorrow’s career market,” […]

Hill Country landowners offered natural resources workshop April 23-24

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – New, relatively new or absentee landowners in the Hill Country will have an opportunity to get an extensive education on managing natural resources at the second annual Bennett Land Stewardship Conference April 23-24. “Keys to Hill Country […]

March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Balancing life will be focus of March 4 webinar for military caregivers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The next military caregiving professional development webinar  titled “Working to Balance Life” will be conducted at 10 a.m. March 4. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s  Military Program to […]