Panhandle Ranch Management set Aug. 18 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu Dustin Sanders, 806-226-3021, dustin.sanders@ag.tamu.edu Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Panhandle Ranch Management” will be presented Aug. 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Potter, Randall, Armstrong and Oldham counties. The free program will begin with […]

AgriLife Extension’s Master Naturalist Program to offer volunteer training

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michelle Haggerty, 830-896-2504, mhaggerty@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas Master Naturalist program will offer volunteer training courses  conducted by 10 of their chapters across the state beginning in August, organizers said. The Texas Master Naturalist program has 44 Texas chapters whose goal is to develop a corps of well-informed volunteers […]

Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 8 at Del Rio Dairy near Friona

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu FRIONA – The date and location for the annual Southwest Dairy Day have been set, said Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension state dairy specialist in Dallas. This year it will be held Oct. 8 at the Del Rio Dairy near […]

Summer Agriculture Update Meeting set for July 22 in Haskell

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Westbrook, 940-864-2546, Jason.Westbrook@ag.tamu.edu HASKELL – A Summer Agriculture Update Meeting will be held on July 22 at the Haskell Expo Center, 200 South Ave. B in Haskell. The meeting will be sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Haskell County, Dow AgroSciences, DuPont and Farm Credit […]

AgriLife Extension offers pesticide applicator training in Canyon

Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will be conducting a Pesticide Applicator Training from 9-11 a.m. July 31 at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. Brown Road in Canyon. The training is the first required step for anyone interested in obtaining a […]

QuickBooks courses scheduled in Amarillo and Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Jay Yates, 806-746-6101, jayates@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer QuickBooks Pro computer short courses for the 13th year on Aug. 26-27 in Amarillo and Sept. 16-17 in Lubbock. The trainings will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day […]

AgriLife Research potato breeding field day set for July 17 near Springlake

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-845-3828, cmiller@ag.tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – The annual Potato Field Day featuring the Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program and hosted by cooperator Bruce Barrett will be July 17. Attendees should assemble at 10 a.m. at Springlake Potato Sales, located 12.5 miles north of Littlefield and […]

Septic System Maintenance Workshop set for July 29 in Killeen

KILLEEN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Lampasas River Watershed Partnership are offering a free training on septic system maintenance for homeowners from 6-8 p.m. July 29. The training will be held at the Texas A&M Central Texas main campus building, 1001 Leadership Place in Killeen. “This course […]

Training on winter pasture production set Aug. 12

Predicted El Niño improves winter pasture prospects this fall Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu OVERTON — With the likelihood of a moderately strong El Niño this fall, the prospects for winter pasture are better than they have been in years, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. To help beef and forage producers […]

Denton County agricultural land evaluation class set for July 8

Many new landowners may be unaware they qualify for an ag exemption Contact: Brandon Boughen, 940-349-2894, brandon.boughen@agnet.tamu.edu DENTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Denton County and the Denton County AgriLife Extension agriculture committee will hold an agricultural land evaluation class from 6 to 9 p.m. July 8 at the Joseph A. Carroll […]