Wildfire impact to be topic of Sept. 4 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Diana Doan-Crider, 979-845-1851, d-crider@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Wildfires can have a huge impact on an area, but how is this determined? The next Texas Range Webinar conducted monthly by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit will answer that question. […]

Crops/weed management tour set for Sept. 8 near White Deer

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Brandon McGinty,806-669-8033, b-mcginty@tamu.edu Jody Bradford, 806-537-3882, jmbradfo@ag.tamu.edu WHITE DEER – A Crops/Weed Management Tour, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Carson and Gray counties, will be held Sept. 8, starting at the Carson County Gin west of White Deer. The program will begin at 10:30 […]

4-H and Biggest Loser star call attention to healthy youth lifestyles

Trek across Panhandle to include four stops Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Area 4-H’ers will join NBC’s Biggest Loser season 14 finalist Joe Ostaszewski this summer on his “Riding It Forward” cross-country bike tour to raise awareness for healthy living across America. Ostaszewski, a former Florida State University […]

AgriLife Extension sets two meetings: crops on Aug. 21, cattle on Aug. 28

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3726, John.Villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Swisher County Ag Committee will conduct two producer programs in late August. A Swisher County Sorghum and Corn Tour is set for Aug. 21, and a Stocker Cattle Workshop will be Aug. 28. Both have a $10 […]

Garden enthusiasts to gather for Greater Houston Plant Conference Sept. 12

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Paul Winski, 281-855-5600, Paul.Winski@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON — Trees and shrubs, annuals and perennials, marketing trends, breeding programs and plant trials — all will be discussed by industry experts at the Greater Houston Plant Conference Sept. 12. The event will be from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. at the Texas A&M […]

Two invasive brush species focus of Aug. 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Alyson McDonald, 432-336-8585, akmcdonald@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – “Huisache and Juniper – How to Treat!,” the next Texas Range Webinar conducted monthly by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit, is set for Aug. 7. This […]

Improving soil health, no-till practices topic of Aug. 14 four-county field day

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – A Rolling Plains field tour, “Practices to Improve Soil Health and Soil/Water Conservation,” will be held Aug. 14 by Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Natural Resources Conservation Service and local Soil and Water Conservation districts. Registration will begin at […]

Weed management meeting set for July 29 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – A Randall County Producer Weed Management Update Meeting will be held from 9-11 a.m. July 29 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. Brown Road, Canyon. The program, sponsored by […]

Panhandle Ranch Management set Aug. 18 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu Dustin Sanders, 806-226-3021, dustin.sanders@ag.tamu.edu Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Panhandle Ranch Management” will be presented Aug. 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Potter, Randall, Armstrong and Oldham counties. The free program will begin with […]