Natural resources stewardship conference set for April 14-15 in Kerrville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – The third annual Bennett Trust Resource Stewardship Conference is scheduled for April 14-15 at the Inn of the Hills Resort and Conference Center in Kerrville. The conference is funded by the Ruth and Eskel Bennett Endowment and […]

AgriLife Extension to offer Earth-Kind Landscape Design School in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – An Earth-Kind Landscape Design School will be offered March 3-5 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County. “Anyone interested in learning how to design, plant and manage a landscape that is beautiful and low maintenance is welcome to attend,” […]

Texas A&M Plant Breeding Symposium set for Feb. 18

On-campus and webinar attendance offered Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brian Pfeiffer, pfeiffer@tamu.edu  or pbsymposium@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION – Healthier Food for a Healthier World, the second annual Texas A&M Plant Breeding Symposium, will be presented Feb. 18 by Texas A&M University graduate students. The one-day research conference is open to the public and will […]

Home and garden show set for Feb. 27-28 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 940-716-8610, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Arts Alive 2016 Home and Garden Festival on Feb. 27-28 will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Wichita County and the Wichita County Master Gardeners Association. The annual home and garden show will be in the […]

Four States Agricultural Exposition set Feb. 11 in Texarkana

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu TEXARKANA – The Four States Agricultural Exposition will be held 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Feb. 11 at the Four States Fairgrounds in Texarkana, Arkansas, said Dr. Brian Triplett, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for Red River County. The exposition is a joint effort between AgriLife Extension and the […]

Managing prickly pear to be topic of Feb. 4 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu James Jackson, 254-968-4144, JamesR.Jackson@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Prickly pear management will be the topic of a Feb. 4 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series […]

‘Right-of-Way’ meeting set for Feb. 23 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rick Auckerman, 806-364-3573, r-auckerman@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The annual “ROW” Conference for right-of-way management, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is set for Feb. 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 W. Amarillo Blvd. in Amarillo. There is a $10 registration fee. The program […]

Feed-grain marketing workshop to be offered Feb. 10-11 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – With 2016 shaping up to be a tough marketing year, producers should attend Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s “Developing This Year’s Marketing Plan for Feed Grains” workshop Feb. 10-11 in Amarillo, according to an AgriLife Extension economist. At least adequate-to-surplus supplies of […]

AgriLife Extension sets Wild Pig Management Workshop for Feb. 24 in Burnet County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Helcel, 512-554-3785, josh.helcel@tamu.edu             BURNET – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Wild Pig Management Workshop for landowners and the public from 8 a.m.-2 p.m. Feb. 24 in Burnet.            The workshop will be held in the AgriLife Extension office at 1701 E. Polk St., Suite 12, […]

East Texas Turfgrass Conference set Feb. 4 at Overton

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu OVERTON — The East Texas Turfgrass Conference has been scheduled for Feb. 4 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Overton, 1710 Farm-to-Market Road 3053. The annual conference is primarily for professional grounds and landscape managers for local school districts and city parks and recreation departments, said […]