March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Balancing life will be focus of March 4 webinar for military caregivers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The next military caregiving professional development webinar  titled “Working to Balance Life” will be conducted at 10 a.m. March 4. This is one of the monthly webinars offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s  Military Program to […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams program set March 25 in Copperas Cove

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu COPPERAS COVE – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop is planned for March 25 at the Copperas Cove Independent School District Board Room, 703 W. Avenue D in Copperas Cove. The Lone Star Healthy Streams program aims to educate Texas livestock producers and landowners on how to best protect Texas waterways from bacterial contamination associated with livestock […]

AgriLife Extension to offer ‘Right-of-Way’ meeting March 24 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rick Auckerman, 806-364-3573, r-auckerman@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The annual “ROW” Conference for right-of-way management, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is set for March 24 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 W. Amarillo Blvd. in Amarillo. There is a $10 registration fee. The program will […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]

Austin Trainings offered to irrigation professionals

Expert: Winter is the time to prepare for spring, summer conservation measures Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Two trainings to help professional irrigators and water conservation staff save water will be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Feb. 24-25 at the Lower Colorado River Authority Dalchau Service Center, 3505 Montropolis Drive, […]

McLennan County Small Grain Tour scheduled April 24

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu McGREGOR – The McLennan County Small Grain Tour is set for 8 a.m. April 24 beginning at 2662 Plainview Road in McGregor. The tour is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in McLennan, Limestone, Hamilton, Falls, Coryell, Bosque and Bell counties. Three general continuing education units will […]

Local food training set for April 16 on Texas A&M campus

Focus on cottage foods, organic certification and publications Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A “Production, Marketing and Sales of Local Food” training will be held April 16 in the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM `56 Equine Complex at Texas A&M University in College Station. The event is […]

National Value-Added Agriculture Conference May 18-20 in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – The 17th National Value-Added Agriculture Conference is scheduled for May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University. The theme of the conference […]