Save the Arroyo Fiesta set for Oct. 9

WESLACO  –  The second annual Save the Arroyo Fiesta and fundraiser will be held from 6-9 p.m. Oct. 9 at the Dargel Boats Showroom, 4110 N. Farm-to-Market Road493 in Donna. Hosted by the Arroyo Colorado Watershed Partnership, the event was created to raise awareness of the Arroyo Colorado, its watershed and the plans in place […]

Master Marketer Program to begin in January in Amarillo

AgriLife Extension economist: Seats will fill fast, so register early Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Agriculture producers must develop better marketing skills to improve their bottom line in times of greater market price volatility, and the Master Marketer Program is the place to get that training, said […]

Expert: Eagle Ford Shale boom will continue to fuel Texas rural communities

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-3845-3062, joutlaw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Oil and gas drilling in the Eagle Ford Shale will continue to propel growth in rural Texas, but helping small businesses experience that same growth with a shortage of skilled labor will be a challenge, according […]

Rebuilding the Beef Herd program set Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ed Schneider, 979-828-1112, robertson-tx@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – Brazos Valley cattle producers considering rebuilding cowherds will have a unique opportunity to hear a comprehensive economic analysis as well tips on developing a sound restocking plan Sept. 25 at Camp Cooley Ranch, according to organizers. The ranch is located at 4297 Camp […]

Ranch Management University fall session set Oct. 20-24 in College Station

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The intensive five-day Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Ranch Management University will be held Oct. 20-24 on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station. The workshop will meet in the G. Rollie White Visitor’s Center, 7707 Raymond Stotzer Parkway, said […]

High Plains gardening classes set Sept. 30, Oct. 7 and Oct. 14 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Potter County will offer the “Introduction to High Plains Gardening” for three consecutive Tuesdays, beginning Sept. 30. All classes will start at 6 p.m.at the AgriLife Extension offices for Potter County at 3301 E. 10th Ave. […]

Southwest Dairy Day to offer look at modern dairy Oct. 8 near Friona

Composting, irrigation, manure application demonstrations scheduled Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu FRIONA – The annual Southwest Dairy Day on Oct. 8 at the Del Rio Dairy near Friona will be hosted by the Gingg family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Del Rio Dairy, […]

Randall County Ag Show and Crops Tour set for Sept. 23 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The 38th annual Randall County Ag Show and Crops Tour is scheduled for Sept. 23 in Canyon, according to Dr. J. D. Ragland, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resource agent, Randall County. Registration, coffee and donuts will begin […]

Wildfire impact to be topic of Sept. 4 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Diana Doan-Crider, 979-845-1851, d-crider@tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Wildfires can have a huge impact on an area, but how is this determined? The next Texas Range Webinar conducted monthly by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit will answer that question. […]