Avi-Lanche Jerseys to be featured at Southwest Dairy Day Oct. 20

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DALHART – The annual Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 20 at the Avi-Lanche Jerseys dairy will be hosted by the Richard Avila family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Avi-Lanche Jerseys is located north of Dalhart on U.S. Highway 385. “Southwest Dairy […]

QuickBooks training set for August in Amarillo, September in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course Aug. 24-25 and Aug. 29-30 in Amarillo, and then again Sept. 8-9 in Lubbock. The two-day trainings will run from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day at […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Texas Forest Country planning Stronger Economies Together program

Contact: Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A group of East Texas counties in the Texas Forest Country region has been selected by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development to participate in the Stronger Economies Together program. The program is designed to help multi-county teams strengthen skills and resources for collaborating on economic […]

Grass grazing, animal management school starts July 21in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The 10-month Hemphill County Grass Grazing and Animal Management School coordinated by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Hemphill County will kick off July 21 in Canadian. The school will meet for four hours each session on the third Thursday of […]

Windbreaks, wildlife, rainwater focus of small-acreage workshop July 28 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles at 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, Amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu Brian Scott, 806-651-3477, bscott@tfs.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The County Line Small Acreage Conservation Workshop, focused on how to create windbreaks, wildlife conservation, rainwater harvesting and small farming equipment maintenance, is set for July 28. The event is […]

Cattle, wheat pricing highlight July 26 conference in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference July 26 will cover how producers can meet pricing challenges in 2016 and prepare for 2017. The conference, sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Oklahoma Cooperative […]

Pre-plant wheat meeting set Aug. 12 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Potter County will host a Pre-Plant Wheat Meeting Aug. 12 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 Amarillo Blvd. West in Amarillo. “This meeting will offer timely, research-based information to aid producers […]

Brush identification, control topic of July 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush Identification and Control Measures will be the name of a July 7 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas […]

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold meeting on improving Tres Palacios water quality

PALACIOS — The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting July 7 in Palacios for anyone interested in improving and protecting the Tres Palacios Creek watershed along the Texas Gulf Coast, an institute scientist said. The Tres Palacios Watershed stakeholder meeting will be at 1:30 p.m. at the First United Methodist Church, 209 Lucas […]