Stiles Farm Field Day June 21 to feature drone technology, sugarcane aphid update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu  THRALL – The future of drone technology in Texas Blacklands agriculture will be one of the featured programs at the June 21 Stiles Farm Field Day. The 53rd annual field day will also feature an update on the sugarcane aphid, plus programs on nitrogen application […]

Fun Shoot benefiting Gray County 4-H set for June 18

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Jeffcoat, 806-440-5113, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A Fun Shoot benefitting the Gray County 4-H program has been set for June 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Gray County and the Pampa Trap and Skeet Club. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the shooting at 9 […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 26 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – Pricing wheat and cattle at profitable levels has been challenging during 2016, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agricultural economist. The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference on July 26 will cover how producers in the […]

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in three June workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Three Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock leases will be held in June in Stillwater, Oklahoma, Fort Worth and Amarillo. The free workshops will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and funded by the Southern Extension Risk Management […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop set for May 24 in Cameron

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu CAMERON – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop for the Little River will be held May 24 at the Cameron Youth Expo Center, 301 S. Houston Ave. in Cameron. The workshop, presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be from 10 a.m. to […]

Military caregiving workshop May 4 to focus on communication

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Communication ‘In the Crunch’” is the next monthly military caregiving professional development webinar offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Military Program. The 60-minute webinar will begin at 10 a.m. May 4. The event is free and open […]

Fayette County Cow/Calf Clinic and Trade Show set for May 6 in La Grange

LA GRANGE — Beef cattle producers on the rebound from the Texas drought are urged to attend the Fayette County Cow/Calf Clinic and Trade Show May 6 at the Fayette County Fairgrounds in La Grange. The fairgrounds are located at 400 W. Fairgrounds Road. The event is presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]

Learn to cook easy, nutritious meals for the family May 20 in Sulphur Springs

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Johanna Hicks, 903-885-3443, jshicks@ag.tamu.edu SULPHUR SPRINGS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wants to help residents learn to prepare easy, nutritious and economical meals for their families. On May 20, AgriLife Extension agents from Hopkins, Rains and Wood counties will present Dinner Tonight “Cooking Through the Seasons” healthy […]

Time draws near for AgriLife Research station at Sonora’s 100-year celebration

  April 23 event to offer old-time fun, education and fellowship Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Barring catastrophic flooding or some other major event, the April 23 centennial celebration of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora will continue as planned coordinators said. “I suspect a […]