AgriLife Extension sets Barley Crops Tour June 5 near Muleshoe

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Curtis Preston, 806-272-4583, c-preston@tamu.edu MULESHOE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Parmer and Bailey counties will conduct a Barley Crops Tour on June 5 near Muleshoe. To get to the barley trial, drive 9 miles east of Muleshoe on U.S. Highway 70; then go north on […]

Properly maintained fence lines will be topic of June 4 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: James Jackson, 254-968-4144, JamesR.Jackson@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – “How to Manage Mixed Brush in Fence Lines and Pastures” will be the topic for the June 4 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the […]

Texas, New Mexico collaborate on June 23 sheep and goat symposium

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Travis Whitney, 325-653-4576, trwhitney@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo and the New Mexico State University Animal and Range Sciences department at Las Cruces will conduct a sheep and goat symposium June 23 in Ruidoso, New Mexico. The symposium will […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop set June 23 in Nacogdoches

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu NACOGDOCHES – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop is set for June 23 at the Nacogdoches County Expo Center, 3805 N.W. Stallings Drive in Nacogdoches. The free workshop will be from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. A catered lunch will be provided, but an RSVP […]

Stiles Farm Field Day scheduled June 16 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@tamu.edu THRALL – Management of new technology in cotton, plus methods used to reduce planting populations in grain sorghum, will be part of several presentations scheduled for the 52nd Stiles Farm Field Day scheduled June 16 at the Stiles Farm Foundation in Thrall. The Stiles Farm […]

Four inducted into Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry at Texas A&M

  Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Rister, 979-845-3801, e-rister@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Four business professionals were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University during a reception and dinner at the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM ’56 Equine Complex. Dr. Ed Rister, […]

Prescribed burning workshop set for Aug. 6-8 near Sonora

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ray Hinnant, 979-820-1778, ray.hinnant@gmail.com SONORA – The Academy for Ranch Management is offering a basic prescribed burning workshop Aug. 6-8 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Sonora Station located on State Highway 55 between Sonora and Rocksprings. The basic course is open to those wanting to learn about the […]

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set for July 28 in Lawton

Texas and Oklahoma Extension to jointly host event Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Okla. – While it appears parts of Texas and Oklahoma have started to move out of the four-year drought, no one knows what future environmental conditions hold, said a Texas A&M AgriLife […]

MEDIA ADVISORY: Texas A&M to host Global Soil Security Symposium on May 19-21

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Cristine Morgan, 979-845-3603, cmorgan@ag.tamu.edu Andrea Koch, andrea.koch@sydney.edu.au COLLEGE STATION – The Global Soil Security Symposium will be held May 19-21 on the Texas A&M University campus as a part of the declaration of 2015 as the International Year of Soils by the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization’s […]

School integrated pest management training set for June 11 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Janet Hurley, 877-747-6872, 972-952-9213, ja-hurley@tamu.edu AMARILLO – A regional one-day “School IPM Program” for integrated pest management coordinators will be held June 11 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 W. Amarillo Blvd., Amarillo. Janet Hurley, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program specialist for school integrated […]