Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Educational summer meals program starts in San Benito

SAN BENITO – A second summer meals program in the Rio Grande Valley is feeding and educating youngsters on summer break who live in neighborhoods surrounding the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in San Benito. A similar program in Edinburg has been offering free meals and health education on Fridays. The Cameron County program […]

Fear of hunger grips kids at summer meals program in South Texas

EDINBURG – It’s not something one expects to hear from children in the U.S. —  concern about where their next meal will come from. But that’s exactly what organizers report hearing from youngsters attending the second annual Summer Meals for Our Neighboring Community program in Edinburg. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program is aimed […]

Hopkins returns to AgriLife Extension as agent in Haskell County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Darlene Hopkins, 940-864-2658, Darlene.hopkins@ag.tamu.edu HASKELL – After more than 15 years away from the agency, Darlene Hopkins has returned to the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service as the family and consumer sciences agent for Haskell County. Hopkins, a native of Seagraves, spent 10 years in King, Dickens and Stephens […]

AgriLife Extension offers food handler safety courses June 11 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, Edavis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct two food safety  programs accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on June 11. The courses, both with the same curriculum, will be taught from 9:30-11:30 a.m. and again from 1:30-3:30 […]

Food preservation workshop set for June 4 in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605,  Sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will present a food preservation workshop June 4 in its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The program will be from 9:30 a.m-noon and cover the basics of drying vegetables, fruits and […]

Military caregiving workshop May 4 to focus on communication

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Communication ‘In the Crunch’” is the next monthly military caregiving professional development webinar offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Military Program. The 60-minute webinar will begin at 10 a.m. May 4. The event is free and open […]

Lufkin program to help residents fight diabetes set for May 19-June 16

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Redus, 936-632-8239, joel.redus@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN — Diabetes is not curable, but it is manageable, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent Joel Redus, who serves Angelina County. AgriLife Extension will offer the Do Well, Be Well with Diabetes educational program in Angelina County to help […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]