AgriLife Extension offers food handler safety courses June 11 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, Edavis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct two food safety  programs accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services on June 11. The courses, both with the same curriculum, will be taught from 9:30-11:30 a.m. and again from 1:30-3:30 […]

Food preservation workshop set for June 4 in Austin

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605,  Sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will present a food preservation workshop June 4 in its offices at 1600-B Smith Road in Austin. The program will be from 9:30 a.m-noon and cover the basics of drying vegetables, fruits and […]

Military caregiving workshop May 4 to focus on communication

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Communication ‘In the Crunch’” is the next monthly military caregiving professional development webinar offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Military Program. The 60-minute webinar will begin at 10 a.m. May 4. The event is free and open […]

Lufkin program to help residents fight diabetes set for May 19-June 16

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Redus, 936-632-8239, joel.redus@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN — Diabetes is not curable, but it is manageable, said Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent Joel Redus, who serves Angelina County. AgriLife Extension will offer the Do Well, Be Well with Diabetes educational program in Angelina County to help […]

Annual eBeam workshop gives attendees access to technology

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suresh Pillai, 979-845-2994, spillai@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The National Center for Electron Beam Research at Texas A&M University in College Station hosted its seventh annual workshop recently to address the needs of the food, phytosanitary, agribusiness, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries. More than 30 attendees from five countries, including […]

Learn to cook easy, nutritious meals for the family May 20 in Sulphur Springs

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Johanna Hicks, 903-885-3443, jshicks@ag.tamu.edu SULPHUR SPRINGS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wants to help residents learn to prepare easy, nutritious and economical meals for their families. On May 20, AgriLife Extension agents from Hopkins, Rains and Wood counties will present Dinner Tonight “Cooking Through the Seasons” healthy […]

Webinar focusing on childhood disorders set for April 27

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “ADHD, Anxiety and Autism: Practical Approaches to Child Psychiatry” will be the next monthly military caregiving professional development webinar offered through the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Military Program. The webinar will begin at 10 a.m. April 27. The […]

Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up in Liberty Hill April 19

AgriLife Extension program focuses on easy, low-cost, nutritious meals LIBERTY HILL – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present a Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School April 19 in Liberty Hill. The event will be 6-8 p.m. at Fellowship Church, 3600 Ranch Road 1869. “Many people get overwhelmed when they think of having to plan […]

High tunnels on the High Plains

AgriLife Research eyes vegetables for improved water use Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – When planting season comes around this summer, Dr. Charlie Rush, Texas A&M AgriLife Research plant pathologist in Amarillo, won’t be planting traditional crops or in traditional fields. Rush is beginning a new project looking […]

Growing Your Health Summit set March 29 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A Growing Your Health Summit will be presented March 29 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas Hunger Initiative–Amarillo Region at the Hillside Christian Church North Grand Campus, 3508 N.E. 24th Ave., Amarillo. The event will begin with registration […]