Texas A&M working with industry to strengthen vegetable production program

Retailers express need for locally grown produce Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill McCutchen, 979-845-8486, bill.mccutchen@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas retailers want locally grown produce, and Texas A&M AgriLife is working to make that happen. Dr. Bill McCutchen, Texas A&M AgriLife Research executive associate director in College Station, and Joseph Bunting, United Supermarkets produce […]

Valley’s Master Gardener classes moving to cooler times

SAN BENITO – This year’s Master Gardener classes in Hidalgo and Cameron counties will move to the fall to avoid the area’s blistering heat, organizers said. “This is the first time Master Gardener classes will be held later in the year so we can take advantage of the cooler temperatures that provide our best growing […]

Greater Houston Plant Conference to highlight new plants coming on market

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Paul Winski, 281-855-5600, paul.winski@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON — From winter-hardy hibiscus to Earth-Kind plants, the Greater Houston Plant Conference will showcase varieties that garden enthusiasts will want to learn about, organizers said. The event will be 8 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Sept. 16 at the Trini Mendenhall Community Center, 1414 Wirt Road, Houston. […]

Rainwater harvesting takes center stage Aug. 11 in Eldorado

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Tait Cooper, 325-853-2132, tait.cooper@ag.tamu.edu Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2366, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu ELDORADO – As triple-digit heat and dry weather return to West Texas, the importance of rainwater harvesting will take center stage during a special workshop from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 11 in Eldorado. The Rainwater Harvesting program, conducted by the […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

AgriLife Extension, Myer’s Park team up to tout Earth-Kind principles

Park is venue for world’s most extensive Earth-Kind research trials   By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-540-2019, s-george3@tamu.edu Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Judy Florence, 972-548-4792, mpec@collincountytx.gov MCKINNEY – Myer’s Park and Event Center not only provides a beautiful backdrop for a variety of public and private events, it is also the […]

New Texas Superstar introduced: Brazilian Red Hots

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu Cynthia McKenney, 806-742-2838, cynthia.mckenney@ttu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Alternanthera varieties have been popular ornamental plants for decades, but the new Texas Superstar – Brazilian Red Hots – represents an exceptional new option with vigor and vibrant color, according to ornamental experts. Brazilian Red Hots is a […]

AgriLife Extension sets Texas Water Star Conference series in June

   Abilene, Midland, San Angelo to host water saving programs Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct three Texas Water Star Conferences in West Texas during June. Marvin Ensor, AgriLife Extension regional program leader at San Angelo, said the […]

Texas A&M to break ground on 7-acre outdoor classroom

Texas A&M’s first large-scale public teaching garden joins national network of high-quality university gardens Contacts: Dr. Doug Welsh, 979-862-1697, dougwelsh@tamu.edu Michaela Catalena, 979-458-5714, catalena@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION  – Thanks to the generous donations of former students and friends, Texas A&M University will break ground June 17 in College Station on the institution’s first large-scale public […]