Rainwater harvesting takes center stage Aug. 11 in Eldorado

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Tait Cooper, 325-853-2132, tait.cooper@ag.tamu.edu Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2366, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu ELDORADO – As triple-digit heat and dry weather return to West Texas, the importance of rainwater harvesting will take center stage during a special workshop from 9 a.m.-noon Aug. 11 in Eldorado. The Rainwater Harvesting program, conducted by the […]

Vegetable preservations class set July 29 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsey Eicke, 806-267-2692, chelsey.eicke@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – Summer gardens are starting to produce, but eating the vegetables as fast as they are picked might not be an option for some. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Oldham County will be hosting an all-day class on methods of preservation July […]

Ground breaks for The Gardens, unique outdoor classroom, public green space at Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Garden trowels pushed into potting soil at Texas A&M University today marked the beginning of The Gardens, a space officials said will be unique in its offerings for students and the general public. More than 200 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony, which included a variety of garden activities. Construction […]

AgriLife Extension, Myer’s Park team up to tout Earth-Kind principles

Park is venue for world’s most extensive Earth-Kind research trials   By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Steve George, 972-540-2019, s-george3@tamu.edu Dr. Greg Church, 972-548-4232, gtchurch@ag.tamu.edu Judy Florence, 972-548-4792, mpec@collincountytx.gov MCKINNEY – Myer’s Park and Event Center not only provides a beautiful backdrop for a variety of public and private events, it is also the […]

New Texas Superstar introduced: Brazilian Red Hots

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu Cynthia McKenney, 806-742-2838, cynthia.mckenney@ttu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Alternanthera varieties have been popular ornamental plants for decades, but the new Texas Superstar – Brazilian Red Hots – represents an exceptional new option with vigor and vibrant color, according to ornamental experts. Brazilian Red Hots is a […]

AgriLife Extension sets Texas Water Star Conference series in June

   Abilene, Midland, San Angelo to host water saving programs Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct three Texas Water Star Conferences in West Texas during June. Marvin Ensor, AgriLife Extension regional program leader at San Angelo, said the […]

Texas A&M to break ground on 7-acre outdoor classroom

Texas A&M’s first large-scale public teaching garden joins national network of high-quality university gardens Contacts: Dr. Doug Welsh, 979-862-1697, dougwelsh@tamu.edu Michaela Catalena, 979-458-5714, catalena@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION  – Thanks to the generous donations of former students and friends, Texas A&M University will break ground June 17 in College Station on the institution’s first large-scale public […]

AgriLife Extension sets June 2 gardening program in Mertzon

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Laci Kennedy, 325-835-2711, laci.kennedy@ag.tamu.edu MERTZON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a gardening program from 2-4 p.m. June 2 at the Mertzon Community Center, 112 W. Duncan Ave. in Mertzon. Laci Kennedy, AgriLife Extension agent in Irion County, said the free program will feature Allison Watkins, […]

New Texas Superstar introduced: Whopper begonias

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@tylerpaper.com Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Wax begonias have long been a staple of Texas landscapes, but a recently introduced series has been distinguished as a bigger, brighter ornamental – Whopper begonias. Whopper begonias have been named a 2016 Texas Superstar plant by […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]