Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

AgriLife Research station at Sonora celebrated 100-year birthday in style

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu              SONORA – Mild temperatures and azure blue skies over recently rain-kissed green pastures all came together April 23 to greet the almost 400 supporters of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station who helped celebrate the facilities’ 100-year anniversary.            “It was a great day,” said […]

Rojo Ranch to feature walking tour of Katahdin sheep operation May 14

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, c-tittle@tamu.edu CALDWELL – A walking tour of the Rojo Ranch, a working Katahdin sheep operation, is set for May 14 from 9-10 a.m. in Caldwell. The ranch is located at 305 County Road 108. “This is a unique opportunity for area livestock producers to get a […]

Red, white, blue beef cattle system aims to improve calving efficiency

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – A patriotic color scheme used in a cattle production system study aims to make cow-calf production more efficient and ultimately produce more pounds of beef with fewer acres, according to researchers. The project is part of a broader scope of research studies […]

Key performance indicators help identify more profitable areas for ranchers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, s-bevers@tamu.edu FORT WORTH – Viewed as a report card for a cattle operation, key performance indicators, also known as KPIs, can assist beef producers in measuring factors crucial to an operation. Stan Bevers, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist, Vernon, discussed KPIs at the 2016 Texas […]

Production and Financial Benchmarking Workshops for sheep producers set

  Workshops will strive to create production database for profitability Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Sheep producers serious about turning a profit should plan to participate in any of four upcoming free Production and Financial Benchmarking Workshops, organizers said. The four workshops, […]

Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series starts May 4 in Anson

  First session: Improving Herd Genetics and Reproduction Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu    Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu   ANSON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will kick off their new Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series May 4 with Session 1, Improving Herd Genetics and Reproduction. The session will be at Horn […]

High Country Beef and Range Update slated for May 4 in Fort Davis

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu FORT DAVIS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has set the High Country Beef and Range Management Update for May 4 in the second floor courtroom of the Jeff Davis County Courthouse in Fort Davis. The program will start with registration at 8:30 […]

Time draws near for AgriLife Research station at Sonora’s 100-year celebration

  April 23 event to offer old-time fun, education and fellowship Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Barring catastrophic flooding or some other major event, the April 23 centennial celebration of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora will continue as planned coordinators said. “I suspect a […]

Beef cattle producers should seek every pound of gain possible

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Mac Young, 361-265-9203, amyoung@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – In a high or low cattle market environment, capturing the most pounds per calf affects a producer’s bottom line, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Mac Young, AgriLife Extension economist in Corpus Christi, told attendees at the recent Texas and […]