Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan Accepted by EPA

Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Phyllis Dyer, 940-552-9941, pmdyer@ag.tamu.edu VERNON–The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Buck Creek Watershed Protection Plan as meeting the agency’s guidelines for watershed-based plans and effectively outlining a strategy to reduce nonpoint source pollution in the watershed, according to a Texas Water Resources Institute official. “This acceptance comes after […]

Record cattle prices create opportunities to increase profit margins

Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course to outline strategies, management for producers Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Record cattle prices are creating opportunities for producers to increase revenue and several of these strategies will be discussed at the 60th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled […]

Texas crop, weather for July 22, 2014

Hay situation good in east, southeast, iffy in others Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – While some parts of Texas have been lucky when it comes to hay production, others will likely have an expensive go at feeding cattle this winter, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. “We’ve been blessed […]

Panhandle Ranch Management set Aug. 18 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nathan Carr, 806-373-0713, rncarr@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles, 806-267-2692, Austin.Voyles@ag.tamu.edu Dustin Sanders, 806-226-3021, dustin.sanders@ag.tamu.edu Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu AMARILLO – “Panhandle Ranch Management” will be presented Aug. 18 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Potter, Randall, Armstrong and Oldham counties. The free program will begin with […]

New AgriLife Extension agent named in Sherman County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact; Alexa Reed, 806-366-2081, alexa.reed@ag.tamu.edu STRATFORD – Alexa Reed is returning to the Texas A&M family of state agencies in her new position as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Sherman County, effective Aug. 11, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in […]

Texas crop, weather for July 15, 2014

Sugarcane aphids found early in northeast Texas sorghum fields Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s not too late to control sugarcane aphids on northeast Texas sorghum fields, but it will be very soon, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. “The aphids just showed up here in northeast Texas the […]

South Texas study results show Brahman, crossbred influence receive higher premiums

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Levi Russell, 361-265-9203, lrussell@tamu.edu CORPUS CHRISTI – Data from a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service South Texas study shows Brahman and British crossbred cattle add significant value to breeding stock in South Texas and performed best in terms of sale price. “The research here shows the value of […]

Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 8 at Del Rio Dairy near Friona

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, d-nusser@tamu.edu FRIONA – The date and location for the annual Southwest Dairy Day have been set, said Dr. Ellen Jordan, AgriLife Extension state dairy specialist in Dallas. This year it will be held Oct. 8 at the Del Rio Dairy near […]

2014 Eng Symposium to feature cow-calf production system innovation

Contact: Courtney Coufal, 979-845-1542, cacoufal@tamu.edu Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Though high cattle prices may tempt cattle producers to expand herds, rising prices for land, fuel and feed still have some reconsidering expansion, according to experts. Opportunities for efficient expansion will be discussed in-depth at the 2014 Dr. Kenneth and Caroline […]

QuickBooks courses scheduled in Amarillo and Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Jay Yates, 806-746-6101, jayates@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer QuickBooks Pro computer short courses for the 13th year on Aug. 26-27 in Amarillo and Sept. 16-17 in Lubbock. The trainings will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day […]