Hill Country landowners offered natural resources workshop April 23-24

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu Dr. Rick Machen, 830-278-9151, r-machen@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – New, relatively new or absentee landowners in the Hill Country will have an opportunity to get an extensive education on managing natural resources at the second annual Bennett Land Stewardship Conference April 23-24. “Keys to Hill Country […]

March 5 webinar to highlight alternative ranching options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Thinking outside the box rather than just ranching the traditional way will be the topic of the March 5 webinar by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. “Alternative Ranching Options” is next […]

Master Marketer program celebrates 20 years

Producers find value in the risk management training Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, JMWelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – When a Master Marketer class is offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, seats fill up fast. That’s because the program, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is making a […]

Silage trials show forage type and variety selection key to yield and quality

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.Bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Ongoing Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service sorghum silage trials have revealed forage type and variety are key considerations to optimizing both quantity and quality, according to two specialists. Dr. Jourdan Bell, AgriLife Extension agronomist in Amarillo, said […]

Annual Ram Performance Test Field Day and Sale set for March 18 in San Angelo

AgriLife Extension’s new state sheep and goat specialist on program Writer: Steve Byrns 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The annual Ram Performance Test Field Day and Sale, conducted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been set for March 18 at the Texas […]

Texas crop, weather for Feb. 24, 2015

Stripe and leaf rust infestation on wheat early and heavy Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – There have been considerably more reports of both leaf and stripe rust on wheat than is normal for this time of year, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agronomist. “There’s been a number of reports […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams program set March 25 in Copperas Cove

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Brown, 979-862-8072, matthew.brown@ag.tamu.edu COPPERAS COVE – A Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop is planned for March 25 at the Copperas Cove Independent School District Board Room, 703 W. Avenue D in Copperas Cove. The Lone Star Healthy Streams program aims to educate Texas livestock producers and landowners on how to best protect Texas waterways from bacterial contamination associated with livestock […]

Texas crop, weather for Feb. 18, 2015

Despite rains, many reservoirs lower this year than last Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The drought may have receded in much of Texas, but reservoir levels are, if anything, worse in many areas than they were a year ago, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. “If we look at […]

Six-county wildlife program and tour slated for April 9 in Menard

  AgriLife Extension program to offer cornucopia of topics   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Cody Bridges, 325-347-6459, cody.bridges@ag.tamu.edu   MENARD – The Texas AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Multi-County Wildlife Program and Tour from 8 a.m.-3:30 p.m. April 9 at the Murchison/Whitehead Memorial Youth Complex in Menard. “Following registration, we will go […]

Workshop for farm/ranch women set for April and May in Fort Worth

Risk management and planning focus of program Contact: Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jljohnson@tamu.edu Marian Ross, 817-884-1294, m-ross@tamu.edu Laura Miller, 817-884-1296, lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – New U.S. census data indicates that more women in Texas are managing farms today than since 2007, and a series of workshops is scheduled in Fort Worth to help cater to […]