Annual forage crop insurance sign-up deadline in July

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu\ AMARILLO – Although recent rains have livestock producers looking at green pastures, most know it can turn dry quickly and may want protection against drought loss on annual forage crops, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. The first deadline to sign up for the Rainfall Index – […]

AgriLife agencies plan sheep and goat doubleheader in San Angelo

    August 19-20 events to feature the latest in sheep, goat technology, management, marketing Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu . SAN ANGELO – Plans are fast coming together for a Texas A&M AgriLife sheep and goat doubleheader featuring two events that planners tout as […]

Range, brush program set for July 7 in Brownwood

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a range and brush management program beginning at 4 p.m. July 7 at the Brown County Fairgrounds, 4206 U.S. Highway 377 South in Brownwood. Scott Anderson, AgriLife Extension agent in Brown County, said the […]

Twenty-four business professionals selected for Texas agricultural leadership program

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-four individuals have been selected for the Texas Agriculture Lifetime Leadership program Class XV. The two-year program, led by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is an intensive study of agriculture worldwide that equips people in the agriculture industry to […]

Tractor, cattle working, Brush Busters demonstrations planned for Beef Cattle Short Course

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Live cattle working, tractor equipment and Brush Busters demonstrations are among several activities planned for the 62nd Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course scheduled Aug. 1-3 at Texas A&M University in College Station. All demonstrations will be Aug. 3 at […]

AgriLife Extension sets June 17 beef cattle marketing, economics program in Abilene

  Program is final segment of the Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conclude their new Big Country Beef Cattle Improvement Series June 17 with Session 3, Marketing and Economics. The session will be at Abilene […]

Livestock Indemnity Program available for producers affected by Texas floods

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Livestock producers who have animal death losses due to the Texas floods can apply for federal aid, according to state agriculture officials. The Livestock Indemnity Program administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture provides benefits to livestock producers for livestock deaths in excess of normal mortality caused […]

Apps for rangeland management will be topic of June 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rangeland Apps will be the topic of a June 2 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas Range Webinar Series scheduled […]

Forage on display at O.D. Butler Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FRANKLIN – There was forage – and lots of it –  showcased at the recent O.D. Butler Field Day held at Camp Cooley Ranch in Franklin. Hundreds of Brazos Valley beef cattle producers attended the field day to learn more  about controlling weeds to boost forage yields, and viewed the […]

AgriLife Research triticale program moving forward with new lines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Baker, 806-677-5600, JBaker@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Triticale, a cross between wheat and rye, might be an “extending” option for producers grazing cattle in the Rolling Plains, said Jason Baker, Texas A&M AgriLife Research senior research associate in Amarillo, who has been studying the crop since 2002. “If you are […]