AgriLife Extension offers estate planning workshop in Menard

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787,  lbrown@ag.tamu.edu   MENARD – The Texas AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a farm and ranch estate planning workshop from 9 a.m.-noon on Dec. 4 in the Murchison/Whitehead Memorial Building in Menard. Lisa Brown, AgriLife Extension agent in Menard County, said the featured speaker for […]

Experts: Think outside the box when selecting replacement cattle

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRENHAM – With cattle prices at record highs, ranchers looking to build back beef cattle herds need to take careful consideration of the composition of replacement heifers to yield top-quality calves, according to experts. About 200 cattle producers attended the recent 43rd South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic in Brenham, hearing […]

Cattle Trails Cow-Calf Conference set for Dec. 2 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Bob LeValley, 580-255-0546, bob.levalley@okstate.edu LAWTON, Okla. – The annual Cattle Trails Cow-Calf Conference, a joint effort between theTexas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service, will be held Dec. 2. The conference will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. at […]

AgriLife Research sets rangeland prescribed burn training for February and March

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ray Hinnant, 979-820-1778, ray.hinnant@gmail.com SONORA – The Academy for Ranch Management will host two rangeland burning schools in February and March at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research station located on State Highway 55 between Sonora and Rocksprings. A Prescribed Rangeland Burning School will be held Feb. 19-21, according to […]

Texas crop, weather for Nov. 18, 2014

Freeze came at just about the right time for South Plains cotton Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The first hard freeze for the South Plains and Lubbock area came on Nov. 13 -14, about 10 days later than average, which was timely for finishing up the area’s cotton, according to a Texas […]

Coastal Bend Beef Cattle Field Day set Dec. 5 in Taft

TAFT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Nueces and San Patricio counties, along with the Nueces/San Patricio Livestock Task Force, will host the Coastal Bend Beef Cattle Field Day from 7:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Dec. 5. The field day will be held at the Danny Wendland Farms, 7717 County Road 3963 in Taft. Program registration […]

Expert: Amid historic-high cattle prices, producers can capture extra dollars

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Levi Russell, 361-265-9203, lrussell@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Though cattle prices have reached historic highs, there could be potential to make extra dollars and possibly add more young cows to a herd at current prices, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist. Dr. Levi Russell, AgriLife Extension economist […]

Texas crop, weather for Nov. 11, 2014

Arctic blast unlikely to hurt newly emerged wheat Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – It’s highly unlikely the sub-freezing weather will damage any of the state’s winter wheat crop, even newly emerged plants, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. “It would have to get pretty darn cold for it to […]

Multi-county Land and Livestock Conference set for Dec. 3 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Brady Rose Evans, 325-732-4304, Brady.Evans@ag.tamu.edu Trevor Dickschat, 325-597-1295, trevor.dickschat@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4737, lisa.brown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Land and Livestock Conference on Dec. 3 at the Heart of Texas Event Center, 804 San Angelo Highway, Brady. The program, to be conducted […]

AgriLife Extension Range and Pasture Update Workshop set for Nov. 18 in Sonora

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu   SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Range and Pasture Workshop on Nov. 18 at the Sutton County Civic Center, 1700 N. Crockett Ave. in Sonora. The workshop, a joint program among the AgriLife Extension offices in […]