Livestock outlook, horticulture marketing highlight A&M ag economics tailgate Sept. 12

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging Issues in Livestock and Horticulture Marketing will be the featured seminar presentation scheduled from 1:30-2:30 p.m. Sept. 12 as part of the Texas A&M University department of agricultural economics tailgate activities at the AgriLife Center in College Station. The AgriLife […]

Expert: Managing pastures doesn’t only mean growing grass

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu AMARILLO – What a pasture should look like – whether a waving sea of grass or one with diverse vegetation – depends on the cattleman’s final goal and actions taken before rain falls, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service range specialist. “With the rains […]

Cow Country Congress set for Oct. 23 at Maysel Ranch in Fairfield

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Erin Davis, 903-389-3436, erin.davis@ag.tamu.edu FAIRFIELD – Area beef producers will learn how to prepare cattle for feedlots and hear the latest in feral hog management at the Cow Country Congress 2015, scheduled Oct. 23 at Maysel Ranch near Fairfield. The ranch is located east of Fairfield off of State […]

Texas crop, weather for Aug. 25, 2015

Hot, still cloudy days result in farm pond fish kills Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A combination of weather patterns is causing wholesale die-offs of fish in many East and North Texas farm ponds and lakes, according to Dr. Billy Higginbotham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist, Overton. Most of the […]

Livestock producers urged to watch for toxic plants

Extreme heat, dry conditions can lead to possible losses Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tam Garland, 979-845-3414, tgarland@tvmdl.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Extreme heat and dry conditions can lead to a shortage of grass, and an opportunity to consume toxic plants and forages found in Texas rangelands. Livestock producers should be aware of potential […]

Texas crop, weather for Aug. 18, 2015

Incidences of cattle theft continue to rise Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cattle prices continued their upward climb in the past week, according Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service regional reports. And as cattle prices continued to be high, the rate of cattle rustling was rising. “The rates of cattle theft have been […]

AgriLife Extension hires Josh Kouns for Baylor County agriculture position

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Josh Kouns, 940-889-5581, josh.kouns@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – Josh Kouns has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Baylor County, according to Miles Dabovich, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Vernon. Kouns will begin training Aug. 17 in Palo Pinto County and start in […]

Key performance indicators can lead to cattle profits

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, s-bevers@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Key performance indicators have been used in business applications for many years, but not so much in cattle operations. Stan Bevers, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service economist in Vernon, discussed 13 key performance indicators, also known as KPIs, at the Texas A&M […]

Bountiful rains bring abundant weeds; wildfires sure to follow

Management before dry-down critical Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu AMARILLO – Record rainfall will almost certainly lead to a dangerous wildfire year if proper management actions are not taken before everything dries down, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist. “We’ve had a phenomenal year for rainfall, and […]

Back-to-back sheep, goat events offer unique educational opportunity

  San Angelo events set Aug. 28-29 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “Something for everybody interested in sheep and goat production” best describes dual educational events slated for Aug. 28-29 in San Angelo, organizers said. “Committees planning both events have been tasked with providing information specific […]