Avi-Lanche Jerseys to be featured at Southwest Dairy Day Oct. 20

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu DALHART – The annual Southwest Dairy Day set for Oct. 20 at the Avi-Lanche Jerseys dairy will be hosted by the Richard Avila family and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Avi-Lanche Jerseys is located north of Dalhart on U.S. Highway 385. “Southwest Dairy […]

QuickBooks training set for August in Amarillo, September in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer the Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Course Aug. 24-25 and Aug. 29-30 in Amarillo, and then again Sept. 8-9 in Lubbock. The two-day trainings will run from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day at […]

Cattle market outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 1

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A comprehensive cattle market outlook will be one of the featured presentations during the general session of the 62nd Beef Cattle Short Course at Texas A&M University in College Station Aug. 1-3. During the Aug. 1 general session, Duane Lenz, market […]

Grass grazing, animal management school starts July 21in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The 10-month Hemphill County Grass Grazing and Animal Management School coordinated by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Hemphill County will kick off July 21 in Canadian. The school will meet for four hours each session on the third Thursday of […]

McGregor Research Center serving as ‘nexus’ of Texas A&M AgriLife beef initiative

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Sawyer, 979-862-7679, j-sawyer@tamu.edu McGREGOR – It’s billed by some as a best kept secret, but nestled back off Farm-to-Market Road 773 in McGregor lies the nexus of activity for Texas A&M AgriLife’s sustainable beef solutions research. This type of research provides science-based recommendations to help ranchers maintain […]

Windbreaks, wildlife, rainwater focus of small-acreage workshop July 28 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles at 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, Amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu Brian Scott, 806-651-3477, bscott@tfs.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The County Line Small Acreage Conservation Workshop, focused on how to create windbreaks, wildlife conservation, rainwater harvesting and small farming equipment maintenance, is set for July 28. The event is […]

Leasing options boil down to risk, compensation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Leasing is a common option for individuals who want to participate in agricultural operations but don’t own land or want to expand their operation. Both the landlord and tenant may have a variety of reasons to enter into a lease agreement, said Austin […]

Cattle, wheat pricing highlight July 26 conference in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941, sbevers@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference July 26 will cover how producers can meet pricing challenges in 2016 and prepare for 2017. The conference, sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Oklahoma Cooperative […]

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 6, 2016

State’s grape yields, quality looking better than expected Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5600, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Jim Kamas, 830-990-4046, jim.kamas@ag.tamu.edu Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0103, fmpontasch@tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Whether table grapes or grapes for winemaking, growers throughout the state are seeing or expecting good harvests in spite of early season […]

Blackland Income Growth Conference set for Dec. 13-14 in Waco

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ronald Woolley, 254-968-4144, ronald.woolley@ag.tamu.edu WACO – The Blackland Income Growth Conference, the largest conference for Central Texas Blacklands region farmers and ranchers, will be held at an earlier date than in the past to accommodate the region’s producers, according to organizers. The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service conference is […]