AgriLife Extension names new Floyd County agent

  Cristen Brooks accepts agriculture and natural resources post   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu   FLOYDADA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Cristen Brooks the new agriculture and natural resources agent for Floyd County. The announcement was made by Floyd County Judge Penny Golightly and Michael […]

New AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agent hired for Armstrong County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Billie Peden, 806-226-3021, billie.peden@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Billie Peden has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer science agent for Armstrong County, effective Aug. 18, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. “We are very excited to have Billie join the […]

New AgriLife Extension agent hired in Dickens County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chase Witt, 806-623-5552, chase.witt@ag.tamu.edu DICKENS – Chase Witt will begin his new position with Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Aug. 18 as the agriculture and natural resources agent for Dickens County, according to Miles Dabovich, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Vernon. “We are excited to bring Chase aboard to […]

Gary Smith rejoins Texas A&M animal science faculty

Contact: Courtney Coufal, 979-249-6301, cacoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Gary Smith has rejoined the Texas A&M University department of animal science as a visiting professor in College Station. Smith previously worked at Texas A&M as professor from 1969-1982 and head of the department of animal science from 1982-1990. In addition, effective July 1, Smith also […]

AgriLife Extension names new McCulloch County agent

  Dickschat is new agriculture and natural resources agent Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Durham, 325-653-4576, ms-durham@tamu.edu   BRADY – Trevor Dickschat has been named the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for McCulloch County. The announcement naming Dickschat to the post was made recently by McCulloch County […]

Faries wraps up full circle in career of caring for animals, teaching others

COLLEGE STATION — Parents who noticed early on a compassion for animals – and several mentors along the way – led Dr. Floron “Buddy” Faries from a young boy on his “Old McDonald” childhood farm to a career as veterinarian in private practice, college professor and ultimately state veterinarian for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. […]

Annual AgriLife Sheep and Goat Field Day set for Sept. 4 at San Angelo

  Two veteran AgriLife Extension staffers to be honored   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – “Today’s Ranching Perspectives” will be the theme for this year’s 41st annual Sheep and Goat Field Day set Sept. 4 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at […]

Libo Shan recognized by U.S. plant biologists societywith Charles Albert Shull Award

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact:  Dr. Libo Shan, lshan@tamu.edu,  979-845-8818 COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Libo Shan of College Station, Texas A&M AgriLife Research molecular biologist, has earned the Charles Albert Shull Award from the American Society of Plant Biologists. “I feel extremely honored to be selected as the recipient of this prestigious award,” Shan […]

Searcy elected to Texas Plant Protection Association board

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, s-searcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the department of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M University, has been elected to the Texas Plant Protection Association board of directors. “We are extremely pleased to have Dr. Searcy join our group of outstanding […]

Texas A&M Financial Planning Program receives $25,000 TD Ameritrade Institutional grant

Writer: Blair Fannin 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gene Nelson, 979-862-2527, nelsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Financial Planning program in the department of agricultural economics at Texas A&M University has received a $25,000 grant from TD Ameritrade Institutional. The announcement was made Monday at the New York Stock Exchange. Faculty member Nathan Harness and Mariel Braun, […]