AgriLife Research scientist named Crop Science Society of America Fellow

Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE — Dr. James P. Muir, Texas A&M AgriLife Research plant scientist Stepenville, has been named a Crop Science Society of America Fellow for 2014. The award will be formally presented at the society’s annual meeting, which will be held Nov. 3 in Long Beach, California. Being named a fellow […]

Texas A&M soil and crop researchers, students recognized with awards

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3469, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Frank Hons, 979-845-3477, f-hons@tamu.edu Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists and students with Texas A&M University’s department of soil and crop sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will be recognized for their outstanding research during the annual meeting of the […]

Texas A&M AgriLife Research-led zebra chip disease control effort honored by USDA

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu WASHINGTON – A multi-state effort led by Texas A&M AgriLife Research to control the potato psyllid and reduce losses from zebra chip disease of potato will be recognized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture-National Institute of Food and Agriculture. The federal program being honored […]

Carpenter inducted into Meat Industry Hall of Fame

Contact: Maggie Tucker, 979-845-1542, maggie.tucker@ag.tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Zerle Carpenter, Texas A&M University professor emeritus of animal science and director emeritus of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, was recently inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame. Carpenter was among six inductees selected from more than 75 nominations encompassing all areas of red […]

AgriLife Extension agent moving from Potter to Randall County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Amy Wagner, 806-468-5543, aewagner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Amy Wagner has been hired as the new family and consumer sciences agent for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County and will begin Oct. 1. She currently holds a similar position in Potter County. Wagner began her AgriLife Extension career in […]

AgriLife Extension names new District 7 administrator

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sg-ballabina@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Marty Gibbs as the new District Extension Administrator in District 7 effective Oct. 13. The announcement was made by Dr. Susan Ballabina, AgriLife Extension interim associate director for county programs […]

Rural Entrepreneurship chair established at Texas A&M ag economics

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ed Rister has been named the inaugural holder of the M. Edward Rister ’74 Chair in Rural Entrepreneurship, according to Dr. Parr Rosson, head of the agricultural economics department at Texas A&M University. Rister is professor and associate head of […]

AgriLife Specialist: Need to recycle water? ‘Give the ground first shot at it’

Dr. Anish Jantrania will focus on sustainable and intelligent water infrastructure Writer: Robert Burns, 903-312-3199, rd-burns@tamu.edu TEMPLE – The key to solving some of Texas’ water shortage problems may be as simple as teaching homeowners and cities how to efficiently and cleanly return wastewater to the ground, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Specialist. […]

Akey named interim director at Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory

COLLEGE STATION — On Sept. 3, the Texas A&M System Board of Regents named Dr. Bruce L. Akey interim director of the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory. Akey began as executive deputy director at the lab in June of this year. “Dr. Akey has many years of outstanding leadership in veterinary diagnostics,” said Dr. […]

Beckham transitions to full-time director of the Institute for Infectious Animal Diseases

COLLEGE STATION — Dr. Tammy Beckham, who has been director of the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory since 2008, will transition into a full-time role as director of the Institute for Infectious Animal Diseases, effective immediately. Leadership of the institute was added to Beckham’s duties in 2010. The institute and diagnostic lab are part […]