AgriLife Extension engineer awarded double honors during summer meeting

  Dr. Dana Porter named engineer of the year, receives group’s president’s citation Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dana Porter, 806-746-6101, d-porter@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service engineer who said she much prefers nominating colleagues for honors, received two of her own during the 2016 Annual International Meeting of the […]

Statewide AgriLife Extension weed specialist retires after 27 years

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul Baumann, p-baumann@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Weed problems in crops have been the focus of Dr. Paul Baumann for more than 27 years. But as of Aug. 31, he’ll be turning his interests to retirement. Baumann, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state weed specialist in College Station, […]

Bevers hanging up his AgriLife Extension marketing cap

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Stan Bevers, 940-552-9941 ext. 231, Stan.Bevers@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Stan Bevers has had a front row seat on the commodity and cattle market roller coaster for many years, but now he’s ready to step off. He will retire Aug. 31. Bevers has been an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife […]

Gully retires after 23-year AgriLife Extension career

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Judy Gully, 325-653-4576, jk-gully@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Judy Gully, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service regional program leader for the agency’s West Region, will complete her 23-year career with the agency on Aug. 31. Gully has led the family and consumer sciences programming efforts across the 23-county West Central […]

Patil honored as fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society

Contact: Dr. Bhimu Patil, 979-458-8090, b-patil@email.tamu.edu RECIFE, Brazil — Dr. Bhimu Patil, director of Texas A&M University’s Vegetable and Fruit Improvement Center in College Station, has been named a fellow by the Brazilian Horticulture Society for “his exceptional research and international collaborations in the area of produce, health, food and nutritional security.” Patil was keynote […]

New Texas A&M researcher tracking nitrogen, nutrients in plant cells

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Sakiko Okumoto, 979 845 8736, sokumoto@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Sakiko Okumoto has her eye, or specifically her microscope, trained on tiny protein-based fluorescent sensors that track amino acids in live plant cells. Okumoto is the newest faculty member in Texas A&M University’s soil and crop science department […]

Gilliam moving from AgriLife Extension’s Archer County office to Hardeman County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Justin Gilliam, 940-663-6301, j-gilliam@tamu.edu QUANAH – With more than 15 years of experience, Justin Gilliam has started as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Hardeman County. “Justin brings experience to the Hardeman County program,” said Miles Dabovich, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Vernon. “His background with […]

Leader in Texas A&M AgriLife plant breeding process dies

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Sweeten, 806-677-5600, j-sweeten@tamu.edu VERNON – Texas A&M AgriLife Research lost a tremendous asset July 27 when Steve Brown, Texas Foundation Seed Service program director in Vernon, was killed in a car accident. Funeral arrangements are being handled by Sullivan Funeral Home, 1801 Houston St. in Vernon. Visitation […]

Abbreviated rodeo career steers Texas man to national intercollegiate coach of the year

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Al Wagner, 979-845-7023, a-wagner@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — It’s often said that when one gate closes another one opens. But that can be hard to fathom at 20-something. Al Wagner had his heart set on wrestling steers and riding bulls and bareback horses on the rodeo circuit while a […]

Harness named to Investment News Top 40

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nathan Harness, 979-845-2527, nharness@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Nathan Harness, director of the TD Ameritrade Financial Planning program at Texas A&M University, has been named to Investment News 40 Under 40, which recognizes the top 40 leading individuals in the financial advice industry. The selection criteria, according to […]