AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be […]

AgriLife Extension’s South Plains District names new agents

  Wes Utley returns to Hockley County, Wade Howard transfers from Central Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service announced the addition of two agriculture and natural resources agents to its 20-county South Plains district. Wes Utley has resumed his former position as […]

Mazurkiewicz receives Medal of Merit from Republic of Poland

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, Regents Fellow and director of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, has been awarded the Medal of Merit from the Republic of Poland. Mazurkiewicz was presented the highest honor given to […]

AgriLife Extension hires new 4-H agent for Dallam, Hartley counties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bailee Wright, 806-244-4434, bailee.wright@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – Bailee Wright, a native of Wolfforth, has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H youth development agent for Dallam and Hartley counties, according to Brandon Dukes, AgriLife Extension district administrator in Amarillo. Wright will start June 6 in Potter […]

Schroeder receives President’s Award for Academic Advising

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ashlea Schroeder, senior academic advisor in the department of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station, recently received the 2016 President’s Award for Academic Advising. The award recognizes individuals who have exhibited qualities and practices that distinguish the nominee as an outstanding academic […]

Taylor retires after 32 years as superintendent of AgriLife Research station at Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Charles “Butch” Taylor, 325-387-3217, angora@sonoratx.net               SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora just celebrated its 100 year anniversary and for almost half that time, its current superintendent has been a mainstay at the 3,462-acre facility south of Sonora.            But after a 45-year history […]

Huang receives A&M System commercialization award for water treatment technology

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Yongheng Huang, 979-862-8031, yhuang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Yongheng Huang has received the 2016 Texas A&M Technology Commercialization Innovation Award for development of a novel chemical water treatment technology. The award recognizes researchers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation within the Texas A&M University System, according to […]

AgriLife Extension names new integrated pest management agent

  Joel Webb named to Runnels, Tom Green, Concho counties post Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu BALLINGER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Joel Webb as the integrated pest management agent for Runnels, Tom Green and Concho counties. Dr. Charles Allen, AgriLife Extension state integrated pest […]

Kay Ledbetter named Sigma Xi Science Communicator of the Year for Texas A&M

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Kay Ledbetter of Amarillo has been named Science Communicator of the Year by the Texas A&M University chapter of Sigma Xi, according to Dr. Bill Klemm, senior professor of neuroscience and Sigma Xi chairman of the award selection committee. Ledbetter has been writing […]

Searcy selected incoming president-elect of the American Society of Ag and Biological Engineers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Stephen Searcy, 979-845-3931, ssearcy@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Stephen Searcy, head of the biological and engineering department at Texas A&M University, College Station, has been selected as the president-elect of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Searcy will begin a three-year term at the close of […]