AgriLife Extension offers Southern High Plains Scout School

  ‘Bug scout’ training set May 25 in Lubbock Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-746-6101, Suhas.Vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Southern High Plains Scout School on May 25 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1102 E. Farm-to-Market Road 1294, Lubbock. The training, […]

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in three June workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Three Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock leases will be held in June in Stillwater, Oklahoma, Fort Worth and Amarillo. The free workshops will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and funded by the Southern Extension Risk Management […]

Wheat producers eye canola in crop rotations

AgriLife variety plots provide planting, seeding rate information Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941 ext. 207, pdelaune@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu CHILLICOTHE – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is conducting several studies on canola in both the Rolling Plains […]

AgriLife Extension entomologist: Monitor and treat early for cotton thrips

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – With cotton planting underway across the High Plains, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist is warning producers to be on the lookout for thrips and be prepared to treat. The most critical time for controlling thrips is the first two weeks […]

Private applicator license training set May 17 in Brownwood

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has set a Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator license training for 9 a.m. May 17 in Brownwood. The training will be in the AgriLife Extension office in Brown County located at 605 Fisk Ave. […]

Fire Appreciation Day set for May 24 at Roby

  AgriLife Extension, Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch to host event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu              ROBY – A Fire Appreciation Day to be conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch is set from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. May 24. The […]

Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]