Herbicide applications on mesquite, brush topic of May 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Preparing for Mesquite and Mixed Brush Herbicide Applications will be the topic of a May 5 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part […]

AgriLife Extension expert: Conditions right for black flies

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – Reports of black flies are increasing as recent rains created favorable conditions for the swarming, biting pest, according to Dr. Sonja Swiger, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist, Stephenville. Black flies aren’t like run-of-the-mill house flies or other biting flies, such as horn […]

New turfgrass handbook available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Casey Reynolds, 979-845-0603, casey.reynolds@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Homeowners and professional turfgrass managers now have a new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service publication available to help them when selecting herbicides, insecticides and fungicides to control common turfgrass pests. Weed, Insect, and Disease Control in Turfgrass was authored by AgriLife […]

AgriLife Extension sets May 6 Quail Appreciation Day in Montague County

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Justin Hansard, 940-894-2831, j-hansard@tamu.edu            NOCONA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Montague and Clay counties will conduct a Quail Appreciation Day from 8:30 a.m.-3:45 p.m. May 6. The program will start at the Nocona Community Center and then travel to the Goolsby Ranch, located on […]

AgriLife Research entomologist testing potato psyllids for insecticide resistance

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A growing resistance of potato psyllids to the neonicotinoid classification of insecticides has Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, Texas A&M AgriLife Research entomologist in Amarillo, looking to the future. The potato psyllid is a tiny insect with sucking, piercing mouthparts that transmits a disease […]

Stephenville brush management workshop features ‘one stop shop’ for landowner information

  AgriLife Extension event to highlight available brush management options Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: James Jackson 254-968-4144, Jamesr.Jackson@ag.tamu.edu             STEPHENVILLE – An information clearinghouse would best describe the May 12 Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Cross Timbers Brush Management Symposium, organizers said.            The event is set for 9 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. at […]

Time draws near for AgriLife Research station at Sonora’s 100-year celebration

  April 23 event to offer old-time fun, education and fellowship Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Barring catastrophic flooding or some other major event, the April 23 centennial celebration of the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Station at Sonora will continue as planned coordinators said. “I suspect a […]

AgriLife Extension sets private-applicators training in Menard

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu MENARD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has scheduled a private-pesticide applicators training in Menard for those seeking a Texas Department of Agriculture license. The training will be from 1:30-5 p.m. May 5 in the Menard County Courthouse, located at 206 E. San […]

Private Pesticide Applicator Training set May 6 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County and Angelo State University’s department of agriculture will conduct a Private Pesticide Applicator Training beginning at 1 p.m. May 6 in San Angelo. The training will be in Room 241 […]

Brown County Ag Day slated for April 26

  AgriLife Extension event set for Brown County Fairgrounds Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu   Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu   BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service annual Brown County Ag Day is set for April 26 at the Brown County Fairgrounds located at 4206 U.S. Highway 377 in Brownwood. The program will […]