Range management workshop set for May 1 in Seymour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Martin Shaw, 940-889-5581, martin.shaw@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – The Baylor County Range Management Workshop will be May 1 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Baylor County, 500 N. Main St. in Seymour. “The program is designed to help producers make decisions on the control of mesquite and prickly […]

Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day set for May 16 in Winkler County

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Caleb Eaton, 432-943-2682, cleaton@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Necessary, 432-524-1421, amanda.necessary@ag.tamu.edu Dena Floyd, 432-586-2593, dena.floyd@ag.tamu.edu KERMIT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Sandhills Wildlife Appreciation Day from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. May 16 on the YT Ranch near Kermit. Caleb Eaton, AgriLife Extension agent in Ward County and […]

Rolling Plains Quail Appreciation Day set May 1 in Stamford

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Jason Westbrook, 940-864-2658, jason.westbrook@ag.tamu.edu Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu   STAMFORD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Jones and Haskell counties will conduct the 2015 Rolling Plains Quail Appreciation Day from 8:30 a.m. – 3:45 p.m. May 1 at the Bunkhouse, located west of U.S. Highway […]

Veteran AgriLife Extension entomologist retires

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Rick Minzenmayer, 325-365-5212, r-minzenmayer@tamu.edu   BALLINGER – Richard “Rick” Minzenmayer, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service integrated pest management entomologist for Runnels and Tom Green counties, will retire April 27, culminating a 30-year career with the agency. Minzenmayer has held his current position, which also includes parts of Concho and […]

Texas crop, weather for April 21, 2015

Heavy rains continue to benefit wheat but delay other plantings Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More rainstorms swept over much of the state, leaving fields too soggy to work in many areas, but generally benefiting wheat, pastures and rangeland, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel. Planting of corn, cotton, rice, […]

AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Rebekah Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a third set of Quail Appreciation Days across Texas this spring for landowners, naturalists and others interested in actively stopping the decline of wild native quail through proper […]

Wild turkey field day set for May 1 in Anderson County

AgriLife Extension, Texas Parks and Wildlife to conduct collaborative effort Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Truman Lamb, 903-723-3735, Truman.Lamb@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-865-2061, Andrew.James@ag.tamu.edu TENNESSEE COLONY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will conduct a multi-county Land Stewardship Practices for Wild Turkey Field Day from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. […]

Texas crop, weather for April 14, 2015

Cotton plantings a week to 10 days behind Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Only about 5 percent of Texas cotton is planted, down from the five-year average of 12 percent for this time of year, according to the latest weekly reports from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel across the state. But […]

AgriLife Extension plans insect scouting school April 23 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas Panhandle Scout School hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held April 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 6500 Amarillo Blvd. West, Amarillo. The training is open to anyone interested in learning about […]

AgriLife Extension sets Plant Appreciation Day at quail ranch

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Becky Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu     ROBY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Plant Appreciation Day May 29 at the Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch, located 10 miles west of Roby on U.S. Highway 180. The day starts with registration at […]