Wheat harvest, research successful in the High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Something can be learned from every wheat harvest, but Texas A&M AgriLife Research wheat breeder Dr. Jackie Rudd said it is just “fun” to see the success of this year’s bounty. After four years of drought, a battle with stripe rust and […]

Windbreaks, wildlife, rainwater focus of small-acreage workshop July 28 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu Austin Voyles at 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, Amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu Brian Scott, 806-651-3477, bscott@tfs.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The County Line Small Acreage Conservation Workshop, focused on how to create windbreaks, wildlife conservation, rainwater harvesting and small farming equipment maintenance, is set for July 28. The event is […]

Leasing options boil down to risk, compensation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Austin Voyles, 806-373-0713, Austin.voyles@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Leasing is a common option for individuals who want to participate in agricultural operations but don’t own land or want to expand their operation. Both the landlord and tenant may have a variety of reasons to enter into a lease agreement, said Austin […]

Trans-Pecos Wildlife Conference promises answers to wide range of questions

  AgriLife Extension, others set Aug. 3-5 event in Alpine Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576, John.Tomecek@ag.tamu.edu ALPINE – Organizers of the 2016 Trans-Pecos Wildlife Conference promise an exciting new program for this year’s event set for Aug. 3-5 in Alpine. “This multi-agency opportunity will be a hard-hitting, high-quality educational experience […]

Brush identification, control topic of July 7 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Brush Identification and Control Measures will be the name of a July 7 natural resources webinar conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service ecosystem science and management unit. The webinar is a part of the Texas […]

Range, brush program set for July 7 in Brownwood

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a range and brush management program beginning at 4 p.m. July 7 at the Brown County Fairgrounds, 4206 U.S. Highway 377 South in Brownwood. Scott Anderson, AgriLife Extension agent in Brown County, said the […]

New discovery may improve future mosquito control

  AgriLife Research scientist’s  paper outlines a new mechanism of sugar feeding aversion Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Patricia Pietrantonio,  979-845-9728, p-pietrantonio@tamu.edu                 COLLEGE STATION – Major rainfall across most of Texas triggering hordes of mosquitos coupled with seemingly constant mosquito-related Zika virus media reports from around the globe may have set the […]

AgriLife Extension to host Private Applicators License Training in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will conduct a Texas Department of Agriculture Private Applicators License Training on June 15. The training will be from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Kuhlman Extension Center, 200 N. […]

AgriLife Extension offers Southern High Plains Scout School

  ‘Bug scout’ training set May 25 in Lubbock Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-746-6101, Suhas.Vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Southern High Plains Scout School on May 25 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, 1102 E. Farm-to-Market Road 1294, Lubbock. The training, […]

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in three June workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Three Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock leases will be held in June in Stillwater, Oklahoma, Fort Worth and Amarillo. The free workshops will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and funded by the Southern Extension Risk Management […]