Texas Section Society for Range Management award winners recognized

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu
Contact: Ken Cearley, 806-677-5600, kcearley@ag.tamu.edu

FREDERICKSBURG – Individuals and teams made up of landowners and government agency personnel were recognized with awards at the Texas Section Society for Range Management annual meeting held recently in Fredericksburg.

Highlighting the meeting’s theme, “Building on our Heritage to Prepare for the Future,” presentations were made at the awards luncheon to recipients of the Outstanding Rangeland Stewardship, Outstanding Rangeland Management Fellow and Outstanding Contribution to Rangeland Management awards.

The awards were presented by Ken Cearley, Texas Section Society president and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Amarillo; Jeff Goodwin, first vice president, U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service, Gatesville; and Dr. John Walker, second vice president, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, San Angelo.

The Outstanding Rangeland Stewardship recognition went to Frank and Sims Price Ranch, Sterling City. The Outstanding Rangeland Management Award went to Werner Ranch, Ken and Rebecca Fine of Schneider Brahmans, Boerne.

The Fellow Award went to Reggie Quiett , NRCS, Vernon, and the Outstanding Contribution to Rangeland Management Award was presented to Dr. Dale Rollins, AgriLife Extension, San Angelo.

Selected as incoming officers and directors were: second vice president, Dr. Cody Scott, Angelo State University, San Angelo; and directors Dandy Kothmann, NRCS, Junction, and Dr. Jim Ansley, AgriLife Research, Vernon.

The following are other award winners and the categories they were recognized in:

– Technical Publication: “Improving Estimates of Rangeland Carbon Sequestration Potential in the U.S. Southwest,” Joel Brown, NRCS, Las Cruces, N.M.; Dr. Jay Angerer, AgriLife Research, Temple; Shawn W. Salley, Jornada Experimental Range, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, N.M.; Robert Blaisdell, retired, Center for Natural Resources Information Technology, Texas A&M University, College Station; and Jerry W. Stuth, deceased, AgriLife Research.

– Popular Publication: “Drivers of Vegetation Change on Texas Rangelands,” Ansley and Dr. Charles Hart, formerly AgriLife Research, Stephenville.

– Special Publication: “Shining Light on Manure Improves Livestock and Land Management,” Walker; Doug Tolleson, Arizona Cooperative Extension, Tucson, Ariz.; Steve Byrns, AgriLife Extension, San Angelo; and Phyllis Benge, AgriLife Research, San Angelo.

– NRCS: Mandi Ligon, Sweetwater.

– AgriLife Extension Agent: Robert Pritz, Abilene.

– Ag Science Teacher: Terry Baize, Hamilton.

– Outstanding Achievement Award: Jay Whiteside, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Corsicana.

– Outstanding Young Range Professional Award: Dr. Megan Clayton, AgriLife Extension, Corpus Christi.

– Special Recognition Award: Jason Runyen, John Metz and fire weather forecast staff, National Weather Service, Corpus Christi.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest