2017 Vice Chancellor’s Awards in Excellence presented

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu

COLLEGE STATION –  Vice Chancellor’s Awards in Excellence honors were presented to several statewide faculty and staff of Texas A&M AgriLife during a ceremony Jan. 9 on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station.

The awards, established in 1980, recognize the commitment and outstanding contributions of faculty and staff across Texas A&M AgriLife.

“These awards represent the highest level of achievement for our organization,” said Dr. Mark Hussey, vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences at Texas A&M. “They recognize a commitment to excellence and to the land-grant mission of teaching, research, Extension and service. The entire Texas A&M AgriLife administrative leadership is extremely proud of the accomplishments of our faculty, staff and students.”

The categories, names of recipients and name of specific award were: 

– Teaching

Dr. Chavela M. Carr, instructor in the department of biochemistry and biophysics, teaching; L. Clay Eastwood, graduate student teaching assistant, department of animal science, graduate student teaching.

– Research

Dr. Stephen B. Smith, Texas A&M AgriLife Research Faculty Fellow, department of animal science, College Station, research; Jimmy Trinh, graduate research assistant, department of biochemistry and biophysics, College Station, graduate student research.

– Extension Education

Rachel A. Bauer, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent, Bastrop County; Dr. Ellen R. Jordan, AgriLife Extension state dairy specialist, Dallas, AgriLife Extension Specialist/Program Specialist Serving State or Region.

– Service

Andrew B. “Drew” Crocker, Texas A&M Forest Service staff forester II, forest inventory and analysis, Kerrville, Public Service in Forestry; Dr. Pamela J. Ferro, Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory microbiology branch chief, College Station, Diagnostic Services.

– Special Services

Dr. David W. Forrest, professor of reproductive physiology, departments of animal science and large animal clinical sciences, College Station.

– Staff

Dee Ann Schneider, director of procurement and HUB coordinator, Texas A&M AgriLife Administrative Services, AgriLife Services Staff; Sherry F. Coronado, business administrator I, department of biochemistry and biophysics, College Station, Business and Operational Staff; Elke Ritz Aguilar, administrative coordinator II, department of leadership, education and communications, College Station, Business and Operational Staff; and Kirk Jessup, senior research associate, Amarillo, Technical and Programmatic Staff.

– Diversity

Dr. Chanda D. Elbert, department of agricultural leadership, education and communications, College Station.

– International Involvement

Dr. Amanda Stronza, associate professor, department of recreation, park and tourism sciences, College Station.

– Administration

Dr. C. Wayne Smith, graduate advisor, associate department head and professor of cotton breeding, department of soil and crop sciences, College Station.

– Collaboration

P-20 Partnership, including Dr. Kim D. Alexander, superintendent of schools, Roscoe Collegiate Independent School District, Roscoe; Roy Bartles, chief technology and information officer, Western Texas College, Snyder;  Dr. Gary E. Briers, professor, department of agricultural leadership, education, and communications, College Station; Dr. John Dedwylder, DVM, co-owners and managing partners of Collegiate EduVet, Veterinary Teaching Hospital Practice, Roscoe; Dr. Darrell Dromgoole, associate professor and AgriLife Extension specialist, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension strategic partnerships and engagement, department of agricultural leadership, education, and communications; and Dr. Glen C. Shinn, professor emeritus, department of agricultural leadership, education and communications, principal of Global Consulting Solutions, Bryan.

– Team

Children, Youth and Families At-Risk team consisting of Fralonda Aubrey, AgriLife Extension agent, urban youth development, Harris County; Dr. Sonja Davis, AgriLife Extension agent for family and community health, Harris County; Dromgoole, principal investigator; Dr. Melinda Garcia, program coordinator and 4-H youth development specialist, AgriLife Extension, Bexar County; Dr. Allen Malone, former AgriLife Extension director, Harris County; Dr. Manuel Piña Jr., evaluator and associate professor, department of agricultural leadership, education and communications, College Station.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email