Texas A&M animal science faculty receive honors from American Society of Animal Science

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu

COLLEGE STATION – Faculty from the Texas A&M University department of science received honors from the American Society of Animal Science at its annual meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

Dr. Reinaldo F. Cooke, associate professor, received the 2018 ASAS Early Career Achievement Award. Cooke developed an internationally recognized academic program, resulting in methods to improve efficiency of beef operations in the U.S. and across the globe. The award recognizes an individual who has shown outstanding achievement as a young scholar and  working toward the mission of the society.

Dr. Guoyao Wu, distinguished professor and Texas A&M AgriLife Research Senior Faculty Fellow, received the 2018 ASAS Morrison Award. Wu discovered new pathways for amino acid metabolism in livestock species, especially those for the synthesis of arginine, polyamines and glycine that are critical to the development and function of the small intestine, vascular system and placenta.

Dr. G. Cliff Lamb, department head, received the 2018 ASAS Animal Physiology and Endocrinology Award. This award recognizes an individual who has contributed to and published outstanding work in the field of physiology and endocrinology during the last 10 years. This award is sponsored by the James W. Lauderdale Appreciation Club.

Dr. Tom H. Welsh, professor and AgriLife Research Faculty Fellow, was recipient of the 2018 ASAS Fellow Award for Research. The award recognizes a member of the society who has rendered very distinguished service to the animal industry and/or to the American Society of Animal Science and who has had continuous membership in the Society for a minimum of 25 years.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email