Animal emergency summit to be held July 30 in College Station

COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Animal Emergency Management Summit will be held  July 30 in Rooms 107A and 107B of the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 660 Raymond Stotzer Parkway, College Station. The summit, “Saving Pets Saves Human Lives,” is free for participants due to the support of PetSmart Charities. It […]

Pew Latin American Fellows Program awardee to work with Texas A&M AgriLife Research

COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Fausto Andrés Ortiz-Morea, a researcher from Universidad de la Amazonia in Colombia, has received funding from the Pew Latin American Fellows Program in the Biomedical Sciences to do research in conjunction with Texas A&M AgriLife Research. Ortiz-Morea was one of 10 researchers from six Latin American countries chosen. He and the […]

Texas A&M corn breeder looking to build a better bourbon

COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Seth Murray may have more than a casual interest in National Bourbon Day on June 14. Murray, Texas A&M AgriLife Research corn breeder and Eugene Butler Endowed Chair in the department of soil and crop sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station, has an ongoing research project aimed at producing […]

Tjoelker to lead Texas A&M AgriLife development, donor activities

COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M Foundation has named Allyson Tjoelker assistant vice president of development for Texas A&M AgriLife, effective June 1. Tjoelker will lead all development and donor activities for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences as well as Texas A&M University System state agricultural agencies ­­— the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension […]

Texas A&M’s Baltensperger to lead Council for Agricultural Science and Technology

AMES, Iowa – Dr. David Baltensperger, head of the soil and crop sciences department at Texas A&M University, was recently elected as the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology, or CAST, president-elect for 2019-2020. CAST is composed of scientific societies and many individual, student, company, nonprofit and associate society members. The organization’s board of directors […]

Lone Star Healthy Streams workshop slated for June 21 in Brenham

BRENHAM — The Mill Creek Watershed Partnership will host the Lone Star Healthy Streams Workshop June 21 at the Washington County Fairgrounds Sales Facility, 1305 E. Blue Bell Road in Brenham. The free workshop will be from 1-5 p.m., and light refreshments will be provided. Three general Texas Department of Agriculture continuing education credits will […]

Planning, hazard mitigation workshops slated for June 27-28 in Rockport, Brownsville

TEXAS GULF COAST — The Texas Citizen Planner Program will present two workshops — one in Rockport and one in Brownsville — on June 27-28 for officials involved with hazard planning and mitigation. The events will be simulcast from both locations, coordinators said. The times for both events will be from 9 a.m. to 4 […]

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training June 20 in Kyle

KYLE — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Healthy Lawns and Healthy Waters Program will host a residential rainwater harvesting and turf management training June 20 in Kyle. The free program will be from 1-5 p.m. at the Kyle Fire Department Station No.1, 210 W. Moore St. It is offered in collaboration with the Plum […]

Big Elm Creek water quality meeting set for June 18 in Rogers

ROGERS – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting a free public meeting June 18 in Rogers for anyone interested in joining a partnership to improve and protect water quality in the Big Elm Creek watershed. TWRI is part of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the College of […]

Texas A&M’s Murray finalist for Blavatnik National Award for Young Scientists

NEW YORK – Dr. Seth Murray, Eugene Butler Endowed Chair and Texas A&M AgriLife Research corn breeder at Texas A&M University in College Station, is a finalist for the prestigious Blavatnik National Award for Young Scientists. The honor is presented by the New York Academy of Sciences and recognizes America’s most innovative young scientists and […]